Retro gaming: your thoughts?

No topic. Everything you want to speak about. Please just stay courteous.

Moderators: Mug UK, Silver Surfer, Moderator Team

Retro gaming: your thoughts?

Postby TKM21 » Mon Feb 27, 2012 8:54 pm

Hello there!

I’m a student from Staffordshire University in his final year of study. I’m doing my final year project on retro games and how much they impact games of today. I’d like to know what you guys think about retro games.

Feel free to talk about anything retro, like why you like retro to your favourite retro game. Talk about modern games as well if you want. It will all help!

Thanks in advance for the help!
TKM21
Atarian
Atarian

Re: Retro gaming: your thoughts?

Postby Mug UK » Mon Feb 27, 2012 9:56 pm

If you're free over the Easter Weekend, I suggest a visit to the Coalville Discovery Museum in Leicestershire. The Retro Computer Museum are having a 2-day event and you can see all manner of machines from recent-ish (PS2, Xbox) through to Commodore PET machines and ZX81 (but souped-up ZX81s mind!).

More info -> viewtopic.php?f=28&t=22868
Having sold 99.9% of my 1300+ collection of originals, I'm taking a bit of a back seat on the forum. I'll still do the front-of-house admin tasks as and when they're required but, for now, I'm enjoying my Xbox 360 time too much :)

Mug UK
Administrator
Administrator

Postby nativ » Mon Feb 27, 2012 10:11 pm

Before I discovered videogames... I was quite happy with the penny arcade @ Wookey hole or the 2p /10p drop at the seaside... Retro is just a fashion, videogames are 'engineered' products, and as long as they are able to be run they won't grow old...

I could argue that modern systems are retro because they don't do things as efficiently as they're aged counterparts. Granted that new hardware can do emulation but why do I need a 2.4 dual core Intel machine to emulate a Dreamcast? that runs @233?