STEEM & other emulators Newbie needs help

No topic. Everything you want to speak about. Please just stay courteous.

Moderators: Mug UK, Silver Surfer, Moderator Team

wizbit
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 9:36 am

STEEM & other emulators Newbie needs help

Postby wizbit » Sun Dec 24, 2006 9:48 am

Hi all,

I've played with Speccy and Amiga emulators for some years and just got hold of STEEM. I can get everything running Ok but have a couple of questions for expert users if you don't mind (not sure this is the right place to ask :oops: )

1. How do I save an ST game I'm playing. e.g I'm playing RISK and want to save the game as one would when using the original ST so that I can continue with the game at a later date. How do I do this please? (In the Speccy emulator there is a straight forward pull down menu where the file can be easily saved as as a snaphot)

2. On the Empire Strikes Back crack the game crashes at the same point with error codes and little bombs appear on the screen at level 3. Is there a fix for this as this is a brilliant game which I remember playing when it was in the arcades years ago.

Many thanks for any help or advice

Regards

Wizbit

ps merry Christmas :)

User avatar
daeghnao
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 479
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 12:41 pm
Location: York, UK
Contact:

Re: STEEM Newbie needs help

Postby daeghnao » Sun Dec 24, 2006 10:05 am

wizbit wrote:Hi all,

I've played with Speccy and Amiga emulators for some years and just got hold of STEEM. I can get everything running Ok but have a couple of questions for expert users if you don't mind (not sure this is the right place to ask :oops: )

1. How do I save an ST game I'm playing. e.g I'm playing RISK and want to save the game as one would when using the original ST so that I can continue with the game at a later date. How do I do this please? (In the Speccy emulator there is a straight forward pull down menu where the file can be easily saved as as a snaphot)


If you want to just use the game's own save-game feature, you'll need to make sure you have a copy of the disk image in a writable format such as .ST, then just do whatever you normally do within the game to save.

If you want the emulator to make an image of the memory so that you can resume at a later stage, use the memory snapshot icon on the toolbar. It's a picture of a memory chip and a camera.

Steem has an option (on by default on the one I installed on Linux here) where it saves a snapshot when it exits and resumes from that snapshot when you run it again.

2. On the Empire Strikes Back crack the games crashes at the same point with error codes and little bombs appear on the screen at level 3. Is there a fix for this as this is a brilliant game which I remember playing when it was in the arcades years ago.

Many thanks for any help or advice

Regards

Wizbit


I'd suggest looking for a different crack, or trying a different ROM image. It's apparently on (at least) Automation 1, Fuzion 1, and Zuul 18.

User avatar
Grunaki
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 786
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2006 9:45 pm
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Contact:

Postby Grunaki » Sun Dec 24, 2006 2:12 pm

Wizbit - Ask Paul Daniels for some help! ;)

(Sorry, couldn't resist!) ;)
Thermopylae is now an Enemy Island!

User avatar
WillieSea
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 255
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 8:47 pm
Location: Idaho

Re: STEEM Newbie needs help

Postby WillieSea » Sun Dec 24, 2006 8:53 pm

wizbit wrote:2. On the Empire Strikes Back crack the game crashes at the same point with error codes and little bombs appear on the screen at level 3. Is there a fix for this as this is a brilliant game which I remember playing when it was in the arcades years ago.


You can find Atari ST versions of it on these images:
- Automation 001
- Enigma Menu disk 028
- Fuzion 001
- Vectronix 036
- Zuul 018
- Star Wars - The Empire Strikes Back
They can all be found here:
http://www.planetemu.net/index.php?sect ... machine=34

If you like the original arcade, try the MAME emulator:
http://www.romnation.net/srv/roms/mame/e.html

wizbit
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 9:36 am

Postby wizbit » Sat Dec 30, 2006 10:05 am

Thanks very much for your replies. Have now saved games as a snapshot using the chip/camera icon.

Have found another crack of the star wars games which works OK.
What a great site this is

Have downloaded MAME from the link which was kindly supplied however the Robbyroto & Gridlee ROMS don't seem to download from the MAME32 site link. Is there anywhere else I can get these?

Cheers

Wizbit :P

User avatar
keili
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1287
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2004 7:29 pm
Location: Germany, near Leer
Contact:

Postby keili » Sat Dec 30, 2006 11:56 am

Planetemu also has a MAME-section. You may find them there.
TI 99/4A, C64, 800XL, 260ST, 520ST, 520ST+, 1040ST, 1040 STE, Mega ST1, Mega ST2, Mega STe, Apple IIsi

User avatar
bodkinz
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 791
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: London

Postby bodkinz » Sat Dec 30, 2006 2:11 pm

Wizbit try :

http://www.globalroms.com/mame/0-page1.shtml

hope that helps :)
someone post something, i'm bored :)

User avatar
keili
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1287
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2004 7:29 pm
Location: Germany, near Leer
Contact:

Postby keili » Sat Dec 30, 2006 2:28 pm

Or take these, just had a look and they're small. Mh, not much Atari-related :wink: .
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
TI 99/4A, C64, 800XL, 260ST, 520ST, 520ST+, 1040ST, 1040 STE, Mega ST1, Mega ST2, Mega STe, Apple IIsi

User avatar
WillieSea
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 255
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 8:47 pm
Location: Idaho

Postby WillieSea » Sat Dec 30, 2006 3:33 pm

Does anybody know of a good forum for Mame?
I ask because I have some roms I have been trying to find for several years to piece together a working copy with no luck.

D i g D u g is one of them. On audit, I get this message:
136007.109 256 bytes NOT FOUND

User avatar
bodkinz
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 791
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: London

Postby bodkinz » Sat Dec 30, 2006 4:47 pm

Have you got the latest version of the main program?... if not then you need it... sometimes the roms get updated or their drivers change.. and a new version of that rom is needed.. if you grab v0.110 and add your roms to it, you can then see which need updating... etc etc...

:)

sorry , this is going way off topic :ehum:

Just tried digdug on v0.110 from Planetemu... runs fine :)
someone post something, i'm bored :)

User avatar
WillieSea
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 255
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 8:47 pm
Location: Idaho

Postby WillieSea » Sat Dec 30, 2006 7:24 pm

Uhmm, do you have a direct link to the ROM selection area? I have difficulty with French... (as in I can't read it) :?
Is the v0.110 the version of Mame? I have Mame32 0.87, tried to get the new one with my FilePlanet username, but they wont let me get it until I upgrade to a subscription. Is there anywhere else to get the new one?
[Edit- Okay, I just found a download on PlanetEmu. Thanks!]

I could'nt find the Atari ST roms either until somebody posted a link to the rom index page for the ST.
Last edited by WillieSea on Sat Dec 30, 2006 8:04 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
nobogod
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 194
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 12:58 pm
Location: Athens, Greece
Contact:

...

Postby nobogod » Sat Dec 30, 2006 7:57 pm

Just go Here and look at the table called "Roms" (It's just above "Articles" table)

Or go There and select a letter at the top.

wizbit
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 9:36 am

Postby wizbit » Tue Jan 02, 2007 12:33 pm

Sorry for getting you lot off topic :oops: but thanks to you guys I've now got hooked on MAME.....fantastic!

User avatar
Mug UK
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 11437
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 7:16 pm
Location: Stockport (UK)
Contact:

Postby Mug UK » Tue Jan 02, 2007 3:54 pm

MAME is more than a little bit addictive :)

Up to 52 Gigs worth on my copy at home and it's still a few versions out of date - but with some spare time, ClrMAME and access to some decent newsgroups, I'll be able to get the gaps filled.............. eventually :)
My main site: http://www.mug-uk.co.uk - slowly digging up the bits from my past (and re-working a few): Atari ST, Sega 8-bit (game hacks) and NDS (Music ripping guide).

I develop a free Word (for Windows) add-in that's available for Word 2007 upwards. It's a fix-it toolbox that will allow power Word users to fix document errors. You can find it at: http://www.mikestoolbox.co.uk

User avatar
keili
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1287
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2004 7:29 pm
Location: Germany, near Leer
Contact:

Postby keili » Tue Jan 02, 2007 5:34 pm

They've added 6 chd's of 4GB in MAME0.111. Just to let you know, what you're looking for, Mug :wink: .
If you find jolycdae.zip, please let ma know. It's hard to find.
TI 99/4A, C64, 800XL, 260ST, 520ST, 520ST+, 1040ST, 1040 STE, Mega ST1, Mega ST2, Mega STe, Apple IIsi

User avatar
guythp
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 157
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2003 8:03 pm
Location: east england

Postby guythp » Tue Jan 02, 2007 11:51 pm

52Gig!.. Bloody hell!.. I stopped around v0.81 as it had Most of the games I loved playing (and loads more beside) all on one CDR.

Have they got Raiden II working properly yet?.. Or Buggy Boy?
The Hairy Pies

User avatar
WillieSea
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 255
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 8:47 pm
Location: Idaho

Postby WillieSea » Wed Jan 03, 2007 12:16 am

guythp, Neither of those games are in working condition yet.

When I updated to v.111 from v.087, many of my games would not work anymore. I had to re-download the new? version of them. They worked fine on v.087, but would not work with v.111.

The snapshots are stored different also. So all my new snapshots I have to rename and remove from the folders it is put in to get them to work. Its a pain in the backside.

And some of the roms will not work anymore. Worked fine in .087 but not in .111, mabey it is just me though.

I would like to find a working Area51.zip, I have been looking for years.

User avatar
guythp
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 157
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2003 8:03 pm
Location: east england

Postby guythp » Wed Jan 03, 2007 2:49 am

This is it WillieSea, that does seem to be the problem with MAME from some time back. As a result you spend some time downloading NEW working roms for old games. This is why I stopped trying to be up-to-date for old arcade games a few years ago. Besides, raiden II is on the pc and I can play buggy boy on the ST or via DC caSTaway. :wink:
The Hairy Pies

wizbit
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 9:36 am

Postby wizbit » Thu Jan 04, 2007 10:05 am

"Ha ha this-a-way, ha ha that-a-way....."

I can do spells you know :wink:


Grunaki wrote:Wizbit - Ask Paul Daniels for some help! ;)

(Sorry, couldn't resist!) ;)

User avatar
Willabong
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 1:24 am
Location: The Land of Song

Postby Willabong » Sun Jan 07, 2007 12:01 am

Sorry to keep this subject going, but I just downloaded the latest MAME emulator (called Final Burn), and some ROMS including OUTRUN which my wife loved playing in the arcades years ago.
But when you click on the LOAD button in MAME, there is no way to load any ROM that is not in the list that pops up.....So how do I load ROMS not in this list please?????
Death is natures way of telling you to slow down!

User avatar
bodkinz
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 791
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: London

Postby bodkinz » Sun Jan 07, 2007 12:44 am

grab the latest "proper MAME" MAME32.... depending on your persuasion.......
depends on what OS you are using... but MAME32 for windows
someone post something, i'm bored :)

User avatar
Willabong
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 1:24 am
Location: The Land of Song

Postby Willabong » Sun Jan 07, 2007 1:15 am

Done that! But most of the ROMS will not run! :?
Death is natures way of telling you to slow down!

User avatar
bodkinz
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 791
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: London

Postby bodkinz » Sun Jan 07, 2007 2:32 am

need to grab the most recent updated roms too then :)

I'm sure I posted a link earlier in this thread

Final Burn????

ermm MAME v0.111 i think is the latest???
someone post something, i'm bored :)

User avatar
Grunaki
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 786
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2006 9:45 pm
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Contact:

Postby Grunaki » Sun Jan 07, 2007 5:22 am

Final Burn isn't MAME - it's a different Arcade Emulation project altogether.

They're also working on integrating laser-disc games like 'Space Ace' and 'Dragon's Lair' into the next build of MAME.
Thermopylae is now an Enemy Island!

User avatar
WillieSea
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 255
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 8:47 pm
Location: Idaho

Postby WillieSea » Sun Jan 07, 2007 5:51 am

Wow! The laser disc games...

On another note, where would a person find these mysterious CHD files? And If I do find them, are they specific to the version of mame you have running, like alot of the games? I have v.111 of mame32.


Social Media

     

Return to “Chat forum [ENG]”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron