R0X ZER0

All about ST/STE games

Moderators: simonsunnyboy, Mug UK, ICS, Doctor Bob Gordon, Moderator Team

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12497
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: R0X ZER0

Postby wongck » Thu Nov 08, 2018 11:31 pm

Tomchi wrote:https://youtu.be/2-Xmvj6Q-N4

Thanks for making the video.
Been wanting to see how it looks like, really very nice. :thumbs:
I don't have an STE and don't have a jaq thingy... so I just watch the YT.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63/CTPCI+ATI+RTL8139+USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2250
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: R0X ZER0

Postby calimero » Fri Nov 09, 2018 7:54 am

Game looks awesome! I looking forward to try it as soon as I get jagpad...


I have question regarding music: music in i tro is pure AY 3 chanell sounds? Is it possible to play such music on standard ST?
And in game music is also AY but sound effects are STe DMA samples? Why sound effect sometimes are skiped?

Thanks for explanation :)
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X

User avatar
Frank B
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 974
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 1:28 am
Location: Boston

Re: R0X ZER0

Postby Frank B » Fri Nov 09, 2018 8:08 am

That looks like a very good *commercial* quality release! NICE!

User avatar
Tomchi
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 390
Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2006 5:17 pm
Location: Au bord de la rivière
Contact:

Re: R0X ZER0

Postby Tomchi » Fri Nov 09, 2018 8:27 am

calimero wrote:Game looks awesome! I looking forward to try it as soon as I get jagpad...


I have question regarding music: music in i tro is pure AY 3 chanell sounds? Is it possible to play such music on standard ST?
And in game music is also AY but sound effects are STe DMA samples? Why sound effect sometimes are skiped?

Thanks for explanation :)


Thx.
Stu music is plain ym with timers yes, just grab the sndh in the datas.rz folder ;)
Regarding sound effects, it uses native DMA replay, allowing one sample at a time so that it chews no CPU time.

User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2250
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: R0X ZER0

Postby calimero » Fri Nov 09, 2018 9:36 am

Perfect! I love it :)

Complete game look high end, very professionally.

but doesn't STe have two channels? It should be able to play two samples without CPU, right?
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X

User avatar
Tomchi
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 390
Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2006 5:17 pm
Location: Au bord de la rivière
Contact:

Re: R0X ZER0

Postby Tomchi » Fri Nov 09, 2018 2:20 pm

nope

User avatar
AtariCrypt
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 376
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 5:04 pm
Location: Lancashire, England
Contact:

Re: R0X ZER0

Postby AtariCrypt » Fri Nov 09, 2018 2:33 pm

Yeah, I too figured the same as calimero :/
Whatever, this is a fabulous and TOUGH game!! Great release!!

User avatar
Stefan jL
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1265
Joined: Thu May 09, 2002 3:21 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: R0X ZER0

Postby Stefan jL » Fri Nov 09, 2018 5:16 pm

I thought the reason why it play one digital sound at the time was to have it as mono... same sound on right and left channel.
Image

User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2250
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: R0X ZER0

Postby calimero » Fri Nov 09, 2018 7:13 pm

So on STe you need to use CPU if you want to have two chanels??
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X

User avatar
Cyprian
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1518
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: R0X ZER0

Postby Cyprian » Fri Nov 09, 2018 8:48 pm

calimero wrote:So on STe you need to use CPU if you want to have two chanels??


there is one DMA chanel with interlaved data for left and right chanel - LRLRLR
Jaugar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
SDrive / PAK68/3 / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Steem SSE / Aranym / Saint
http://260ste.appspot.com/

junosix
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 253
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 3:22 pm
Location: Plymouth

Re: R0X ZER0

Postby junosix » Sat Nov 10, 2018 3:02 am

Wow, this looks hell of a cool! Well done.

junosix
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 253
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 3:22 pm
Location: Plymouth

Re: R0X ZER0

Postby junosix » Sun Nov 11, 2018 10:05 pm

Just dragged the STE out and had a go, very polished game!

MM41
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 108
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 2:36 pm
Location: France

Re: R0X ZER0

Postby MM41 » Tue Nov 13, 2018 9:54 pm

After 20 minutes of intensive playing,
in three words great, great ,great !!!
Bravo Tomchi :cheers:

User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1215
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: R0X ZER0

Postby MasterOfGizmo » Sun Nov 25, 2018 3:10 pm

This definitely needs a Jagpad? How many buttons are required? Does it use the number pad part of the Jagpad?
MIST board, FPGA based Atari STE and more: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2401
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece
Contact:

Re: R0X ZER0

Postby christos » Sun Nov 25, 2018 3:55 pm

MasterOfGizmo wrote:This definitely needs a Jagpad? How many buttons are required? Does it use the number pad part of the Jagpad?


It uses 3 keys, a,b,c. So i guess a mega drive pad should be enough. But it couldnt just run on the mouse port with a two button joystick.
Felix qui potuit rerum cognoscere causas.
My Atari blog

STOT Email address: stot(NoSPAM)atari(DOT)org

User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1215
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: R0X ZER0

Postby MasterOfGizmo » Sun Nov 25, 2018 6:57 pm

The question is: If I map a usb joystick to the STEs extra joystick port in the MIST board, how many buttons do I have to map to make the game work? Three buttons a, b and c is perfectly fine. I can also map two more to start and select buttons. But I don't know of any usb gamepad with enough buttons to map the keypad as well. So if the ordinary control buttons are sufficient then I'll see what I can do ....
MIST board, FPGA based Atari STE and more: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

User avatar
Tomchi
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 390
Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2006 5:17 pm
Location: Au bord de la rivière
Contact:

Re: R0X ZER0

Postby Tomchi » Sun Nov 25, 2018 9:12 pm

For now it just uses A,B and C of the jagpad


(Concerning the routine that reads a usb pad to the PORT A, it also only uses 3 buttons , but that is not what you asked :P)

User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1807
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: R0X ZER0

Postby Eero Tamminen » Thu Dec 06, 2018 11:05 pm

At beginning it's hard at normal level, once one gets some bonuses, it gets easier.

For some reason the Credits screen overscan doesn't work properly with EmuTOS, only with real STE TOS. Could some interrupt handler in EmuTOS be slower?

User avatar
Tomchi
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 390
Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2006 5:17 pm
Location: Au bord de la rivière
Contact:

Re: R0X ZER0

Postby Tomchi » Fri Dec 07, 2018 10:37 am

Eero Tamminen wrote: For some reason the Credits screen overscan doesn't work properly


Yeah, I had same issue with a version of HATARI, this screen is 100% Gfa, as it was a bit of a rush before SV, I didn't investigate further as the stuff works on the real thing ...

User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1807
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: R0X ZER0

Postby Eero Tamminen » Sat Dec 08, 2018 11:03 pm

If you're interested, Hatari profiler would easily tell where the time goes.

Just invoke Hatari debugger in credits screen, do "profile on" and "continue". After a while invoke debugger again and "profile save profile.txt", and you can see from the "profile.txt" dissassembly annotations where the time went, and how much TOS used of it. Comparing TOS address areas CPU usage against TOS v1.6 would show where the differences are (EmuTOS 512k version come with debug symbols so one can see interrupt routine names and don't need to guess).

(I can do that at some point if you're not interested yourself investigate.)

User avatar
Tomchi
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 390
Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2006 5:17 pm
Location: Au bord de la rivière
Contact:

Re: R0X ZER0

Postby Tomchi » Sun Dec 09, 2018 4:57 pm

Not that I'm not interested, just what you wrote is as understandable to me as chinese :P

Anyway, I bet for some wrong screen address and/or memory allocation

sandord
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2018 1:42 am

Re: R0X ZER0

Postby sandord » Wed Dec 12, 2018 11:28 am

Tomchi wrote:For now it just uses A,B and C of the jagpad


(Concerning the routine that reads a usb pad to the PORT A, it also only uses 3 buttons , but that is not what you asked :P)


I'm really curious how to wire that up... :wink:

User avatar
npomarede
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1259
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: France

Re: R0X ZER0

Postby npomarede » Wed Dec 12, 2018 4:42 pm

Tomchi wrote:Not that I'm not interested, just what you wrote is as understandable to me as chinese :P

Anyway, I bet for some wrong screen address and/or memory allocation

Hi
nothing that complicated and no need to invoke the profiler (that would give no indication in that specific case, as sync-locked demo changing the background color are disabling OS completely anyway).
The solution is in fact quite simple : emutos starts in 60 Hz, but the credits screen requires 50 Hz to work correctly (ie 512 cycles per line)
Most european TOS are starting in 50 Hz, so the credits screen is OK, but you would get the same error with a US TOS.
R0X should just set video freq to 50 Hz at start and everything will go well with all TOSes

Nicolas

User avatar
vhenares
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2016 10:43 am

Re: R0X ZER0

Postby vhenares » Wed Dec 12, 2018 8:36 pm

I have been able to test it in the Hatari emulator, because I do not have JagPad. Being able to use it with the original ST keyboard would be very useful and easy. If I can help or contribute something, here I am available. Thank you.

User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1807
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: R0X ZER0

Postby Eero Tamminen » Fri Dec 14, 2018 1:02 am

npomarede wrote:The solution is in fact quite simple : emutos starts in 60 Hz, but the credits screen requires 50 Hz to work correctly (ie 512 cycles per line)
Most european TOS are starting in 50 Hz, so the credits screen is OK, but you would get the same error with a US TOS.


Thanks, I hadn't noticed that 512k version with the default multi-language setting used 60Hz. Hatari "info osheader" claimed it to use PAL instead of NTSC.

R0X Zero Credits screen works fine with e.g. UK variant of 256k EmuTOS, or if one uses EmuTOS tos-lang-change tool to change 512k EmuTOS default language e.g. to UK one:
https://github.com/emutos/emutos/blob/m ... g-change.c


Social Media

     

Return to “Games - General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests