Menu system for harddisk AUTO folder? ==> RELEASED

All about ST/STE games

Moderators: simonsunnyboy, Mug UK, Doctor Bob Gordon, ICS, Moderator Team

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4867
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Menu system for harddisk AUTO folder? ==> RELEASED

Postby simonsunnyboy » Tue Nov 17, 2015 6:35 pm

Is there a menu system available that can be placed in the AUTO folder of the harddisk?
To simply launch harddisk patches without desktop clicking etc?
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/ - STOT: http://www.npoi.de/stot/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

Jabber: simonsunnyboy@atari-jabber.org

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: Menu system for harddisk AUTO folder?

Postby exxos » Tue Nov 17, 2015 7:03 pm

Wasn't there "super boot" which did things like that ? I think you could set profiles of stuff you wanted to boot from the auto folder.. I know I used to have it, but it probably was 15 years ago now..
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4867
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Menu system for harddisk AUTO folder?

Postby simonsunnyboy » Tue Nov 17, 2015 7:11 pm

Normally those boot tools only manage juggling auf AUTO order and ACCs.
I have more of a HxC like manager in mind - a nice list without much hazzle. Maybe a missing tool?
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/ - STOT: http://www.npoi.de/stot/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

Jabber: simonsunnyboy@atari-jabber.org

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: Menu system for harddisk AUTO folder?

Postby exxos » Tue Nov 17, 2015 7:16 pm

SUPERBT.zip


have a look at the doc see if it does what you want... Its the only one I know of..
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

User avatar
Atari74user
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 204
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2009 8:00 pm

Re: Menu system for harddisk AUTO folder?

Postby Atari74user » Tue Nov 17, 2015 8:51 pm

There's also XBOOT III which for my money is the best of the boot managers. Not sure it can do what you are after exactly, but it is an essential for me, to allow me to set up profiles or 'Sets' to run with certain software which are picky with various attributes of my set up. Disabling ACCs where needed, disabling OverScan where needed, disabling NVDI etc so I don't have to meddle with settings constantly, just click a button at boot up.

Image

Documentation can be found here, and Google is your friend: http://dev-docs.atariforge.org/files/XBoot.pdf
Last edited by Atari74user on Tue Nov 17, 2015 10:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Atari Falcon 14mb, 68882, Dual 8gb CF & Steinberg FDI
Atari Jaguar, Rotary controller, Skunkboard & Cat Box
Atari 520STFM 4mb, TOS 2.06 switcher, OverScan, GigaFile, PARCP-USB, Unicorn-USB, System Solutions MiniS HD, SyQuest drives, ICD Link II, PhatBoy MIDI Controller, Philip Rees 5M MIDI merge box, Soundpool M04, Steinberg MIDEX, SMP II, Emagic Log 3, C-Lab Unitor 2, Combiner & Export expanders

User avatar
SoundDoctor
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 287
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 7:24 pm

Re: Menu system for harddisk AUTO folder?

Postby SoundDoctor » Tue Nov 17, 2015 10:24 pm

XBoot 3.10 is the mutz nuts. If you're running it on a F030, TT, Mega, or have a Dallas RTC chip in your ST you should patch it to cure the whacky Y2K date mash up. DDP Translations did a little patch prog.
TT030 4mb/16mb/1Gb, Coco. Falcon 030 Stock 14mb (Lynxman), 1Gb CF. Falcon 030 Stock 14mb (Atari) 170mb IDE. Mega 1 (mash up labelled Mega 4) 4mb (Frontier XtraRam w/ SIPPs) ICD ADSpeed ST OverScan. Mega 4 (currently dead), Mega 2, 520 STe (SIPPs), 520 STFM.

AtariZoll
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2961
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Menu system for harddisk AUTO folder?

Postby AtariZoll » Wed Nov 18, 2015 8:30 am

I made in past simple util for AUTO run from hard drive:
ARUNH.ZIP

Main purpose of it is launching SW what works properly only from AUTO folder. May help too when RAM is tight, because in case of AUTO run more free RAM is available.
I don't find Desktop navigation and launch as hard + of course when there is lot of SW on disk, user needs to well organize directories.
Idea about game launching menu popped up couple times. I think that hard part of it is doing good, user friendly navigation system, and good look.
As today hard disk patches mostly work fine with Desktop launch, AUTO run is not mandatory. So, may do even GEM program (not runnable from AUTO, but may be set to start automatically) for that purpose.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
There is way to stop global warming.

User avatar
catmando
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 929
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 9:56 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: Menu system for harddisk AUTO folder?

Postby catmando » Wed Nov 18, 2015 8:58 am

exxos wrote:Wasn't there "super boot" which did things like that ? I think you could set profiles of stuff you wanted to boot from the auto folder.. I know I used to have it, but it probably was 15 years ago now..



Yep, used to use superboot too, you hold down some keys at boot time and it'll give you a menu to select the programs you want to load.
Atari Falcon Tos 4.04 | 14mb | IDE CF 2GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62 | 4mb | HxC Slim SD 8GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62/2.06 | 4mb | Floppy A-B Mod | IDE SD 4GB
Atari STFM
Android Devices (Running Hataroid and SToid)

Atari Forum Wiki - Use it before asking

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4867
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Menu system for harddisk AUTO folder?

Postby simonsunnyboy » Wed Nov 18, 2015 5:19 pm

AUTO run is not required but nice to have, Desktop requires a mouse which is sometimes not available and ugly to use (e.q. ST set up in the living room on a very small table).

The mentioned bootmanagers all copy stuffs around and rename files which is not necessary and in my case not desired.

What I want to have (and probably will have to develop) is:

- nice but simple keyboard navigable list of programs
- change to drive letter for selected program e.q. E:
- change into given directory e.q. \GAMES\A\ARKANOID\
- run selected .PRG/.TOS file ARKANOID.TOS

Only other requirements would be speaker on/off for Falcon and 8/16Mhz for those harddisk games without special Falcon menu. Nothing too fancy, the list of programs could be handedited for a start with a generator later added.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/ - STOT: http://www.npoi.de/stot/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

Jabber: simonsunnyboy@atari-jabber.org

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4867
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Menu system for harddisk AUTO folder?

Postby simonsunnyboy » Sun Apr 10, 2016 10:43 am

I started to do my own..it is ugly and I may request graphical assistance later.

grab0003.png


What works:
- place program in AUTO folder, bypass menu if desired (no holding down of special hotkeys during boot to select games!)
- display menu listing
- help screen
- ST reset (F10 key now instead of ESC, I have to change the gfx)

What does not work:
- running something different than Exolon patched by Klaz as provided
- changing drives and directories
- Falcon support (might do, untested)

Future plan:
- listing database loaded from .CSV file

The whole thing is made with Vincent's cross compiler and is mainly C99 code. Program executor derived from routines by MSD/POV.

More to come slowly....

This will be your next major Paradize release on ST.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/ - STOT: http://www.npoi.de/stot/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

Jabber: simonsunnyboy@atari-jabber.org

User avatar
dlfrsilver
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1421
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 1:41 am
Contact:

Re: Menu system for harddisk AUTO folder?

Postby dlfrsilver » Sun Apr 10, 2016 12:08 pm

Good idea Simon :)
Now SPS France representative since the 19th of June 2014. Proud to be an SPS member !

User avatar
crashman
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 160
Joined: Sat May 29, 2010 2:23 am
Location: Vilanova i la Geltrú - Barcelona
Contact:

Re: Menu system for harddisk AUTO folder?

Postby crashman » Sun Apr 10, 2016 8:46 pm

Really nice!
That it's a really good idea and I would be using it for sure.
As you say it's like the HxC for the hard drive.
When my machines go on exhibit, that could be very useful!
Keep on going!
Oh! And I offer my machines for betatesting.
260ST, 520ST, 520ST+, 520STFM, 1040STE, 4160STE, STACY 2, MEGA ST2, MEGA ST4, MEGA STE, TT030, FALCON030, FALCON030 with Centurbo 2rB, Firebee
SH204, Megafile 30, Megafile 60, Megafile 44
SM124, SM125, SM146, SC1224, SC1435
Satandisk, Ultrasatan, HxC SD, Hxc SD Slim, NetUSBee, CosmosEX, Gotek HxC, MicroCosmos
2600VCS, LYNX, LYNX II, JAGUAR

User avatar
CiH
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1098
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2004 4:34 pm
Location: Middle Earth (Npton) UK
Contact:

Re: Menu system for harddisk AUTO folder?

Postby CiH » Sun Apr 10, 2016 9:20 pm

Great idea Simon,

Everything that Crashman said :-)
"Where teh feck is teh Hash key on this Mac?!"

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4867
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Menu system for harddisk AUTO folder?

Postby simonsunnyboy » Mon Apr 11, 2016 4:55 pm

No promises, but a version with .csv support might be ready next weekend. You may betatest at your leisure then. :)
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/ - STOT: http://www.npoi.de/stot/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

Jabber: simonsunnyboy@atari-jabber.org

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3683
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Menu system for harddisk AUTO folder?

Postby joska » Mon Apr 11, 2016 4:58 pm

I like this idea, but why "F1...Help screen" when your keyboard has a key that say "Help"?
Jo Even

Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4867
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Menu system for harddisk AUTO folder?

Postby simonsunnyboy » Mon Apr 11, 2016 5:50 pm

joska wrote:I like this idea, but why "F1...Help screen" when your keyboard has a key that say "Help"?


Nowadays F1 is in use...but the HELP key will also work.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/ - STOT: http://www.npoi.de/stot/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

Jabber: simonsunnyboy@atari-jabber.org

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4867
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Menu system for harddisk AUTO folder?

Postby simonsunnyboy » Thu Apr 14, 2016 6:41 pm

I have a betatest version with .CSV support here for you. 2 Klaz patches are included but feel free to experiment.

The parser for the CSV database is not very fault tolerant as of yet. Please experiment with grdually adding entries.
- First column is the displayed entry, up to 36 chars.
- Second column contains a full path name with drive letter and directory.
- a semicolon ; is the field seperator
- lines may end in CR/LF and LF

If the drive is omitted, the menu will launch from the current drive, e.q. C if the tool runs from C.

This is only a betatest so please do not upload the binaries anywhere yet. Your mileage may vary :)

harddisk_menu_beta_2016-04-14.zip
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/ - STOT: http://www.npoi.de/stot/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

Jabber: simonsunnyboy@atari-jabber.org

User avatar
crashman
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 160
Joined: Sat May 29, 2010 2:23 am
Location: Vilanova i la Geltrú - Barcelona
Contact:

Re: Menu system for harddisk AUTO folder?

Postby crashman » Mon Apr 18, 2016 12:20 pm

Hi Simonsunnyboy!

I've been trying a little bit your App.
Mainly on Steem, as been busy this weekend, but enough to say that it is working very good.
I got a bit tired though, to keep on pressing F10.
I know it's of use if you have other soft in the HD, but could it be possible to add some option on the CSV or another config file, so we can skip pressing F10 to get to the menu?
Oh! and on Steem, ESC didn't reset the ST.

regards
260ST, 520ST, 520ST+, 520STFM, 1040STE, 4160STE, STACY 2, MEGA ST2, MEGA ST4, MEGA STE, TT030, FALCON030, FALCON030 with Centurbo 2rB, Firebee
SH204, Megafile 30, Megafile 60, Megafile 44
SM124, SM125, SM146, SC1224, SC1435
Satandisk, Ultrasatan, HxC SD, Hxc SD Slim, NetUSBee, CosmosEX, Gotek HxC, MicroCosmos
2600VCS, LYNX, LYNX II, JAGUAR

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4867
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Menu system for harddisk AUTO folder?

Postby simonsunnyboy » Mon Apr 18, 2016 3:41 pm

Thanks for your feedback!
- An option to always drop into the menu is planned, likely it will work by placing an empty file with a special name into the root directory. Maybe the option will only revert the behaviour, e.q. press F10 to continue the AUTO boot (some games still might require launching from the desktop).
- My first code used ESC for the reset but that has been replaced by F10 by now. The graphics are mockups sofar.

A version with less flicker and more stable .CSV parser will come up this week.

If anyone is willing to help with graphics, please get in touch.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/ - STOT: http://www.npoi.de/stot/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

Jabber: simonsunnyboy@atari-jabber.org

User avatar
TheNameOfTheGame
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1057
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Re: Menu system for harddisk AUTO folder?

Postby TheNameOfTheGame » Mon Apr 18, 2016 3:57 pm

Interesting project. Will be following the development for sure! :cheers:

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4867
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Menu system for harddisk AUTO folder?

Postby simonsunnyboy » Sat Apr 23, 2016 12:53 pm

Here is another fresh beta release, graphics will update with an official one at a later date. I mainly miss documentation, better graphics and maybe some more features.

grab0001.png


This version has
- more stable CSV support
- optional configuration file (press F2 in menu to change options, if auto save is not selected, you can save a configuration from there too)
- F10 goes to menu or desktop by configuration

Please report on issues and hopefully it is a helpful utility :)

release-2016-04-23.zip
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/ - STOT: http://www.npoi.de/stot/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

Jabber: simonsunnyboy@atari-jabber.org

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3683
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Menu system for harddisk AUTO folder?

Postby joska » Sat Apr 23, 2016 4:48 pm

simonsunnyboy wrote: better graphics


Maybe switch to med-res and use an anti-aliased font? That would look really good IMO.
Jo Even

Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4867
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Menu system for harddisk AUTO folder?

Postby simonsunnyboy » Tue May 03, 2016 4:59 pm

joska wrote:
simonsunnyboy wrote: better graphics


Maybe switch to med-res and use an anti-aliased font? That would look really good IMO.


Medium res is noted, maybe if I can procure a suitable font routine. I'd love to have a proportional font in this case but I lack a suitable text routine for this.


I also gave my tool a try today on my Falcon and I can report that it should work correct with VGA. I hope it also does for RGB as it is the old Paradize video setup code ported to C ;)

It also works well with HDDriver boot drive switching, I created E:\AUTO, place FPATCH2 and HDMENU inside, put a small e:\HDMENU.CSV in place - and everything worked ok as desired.

Side note, if i boot the desktop with drive E as boot drive, it gets booted from C:\ with ACCs. Is this a Hddriver feature or a TOS fail?
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/ - STOT: http://www.npoi.de/stot/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

Jabber: simonsunnyboy@atari-jabber.org

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4867
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Menu system for harddisk AUTO folder? ==> RELEASED

Postby simonsunnyboy » Wed May 18, 2016 5:25 pm

Today I have finished the first offical release so here it is together witha README file.

Keep bug reports coming!

There are some new features:
- nicer screen
- pagewise navigation
- database search
- configuration menu

release-2016-05-18.zip


README.txt


Enjoy and STay Atari! :)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/ - STOT: http://www.npoi.de/stot/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

Jabber: simonsunnyboy@atari-jabber.org

User avatar
AtariCrypt
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 354
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 5:04 pm
Location: Lancashire, England
Contact:

Re: Menu system for harddisk AUTO folder? ==> RELEASED

Postby AtariCrypt » Wed May 18, 2016 6:05 pm

Booting up the ST right now - thank you :cheers:
Steve
AtariCrypt ... ST/e gaming https://ataricrypt.blogspot.com


Social Media

     

Return to “Games - General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests