"Metroid"

All about ST/STE games

Moderators: simonsunnyboy, Mug UK, ICS, Doctor Bob Gordon, Moderator Team

"Metroid"

Postby Zamuel_a » Wed Feb 10, 2010 10:04 pm

I have been developing a game for a few years now (have written alittle about it in the coding forum). It's just a fun project that I have been working on then I haven't had much else to do:) I have always liked the Metroid games and since it's hard to make a good conversion I wanted to make my own "Metroid" game. It's a platform action game with the same adventure style as in Metroid and with many similaritys (morph ball mode for example).
I have made a playable demo version now so I thought I could upload it . It's just a very simple world with some of the tile graphics ripped from Super Metroid. The sprites are made by me and the mainsprite takes over 400k with all animations so it will be a big game!
It is a STE only and uses the hardware scroller and the blitter. I change 8 colors in the palette for every 16 line (every tile line) so there can be 104 colors on screen at once (it won't show in the demo version). The remaining 8 colors in the palette are static for the entire display and has to be used for all sprites, since they can't have there colors changing if they move around:)
It needs 4Mb (which shouldn't be a problem today) and you NEED a 2 button joystick since I couldn't solve the problem with jumping/point gun up/shooting with just one button. I have testat a SEGA mastersystem pad and genesis(megadrive) pad and they work. It has to be connected to the mouse port.
I STEEM I mapped the arrow keys for joy port 0 (mouse) and then L-shift for port 0 fire button (shoot in the game) and L-CTRL for port 1 fire button (jump in the game)
Just unzip the GAME map to the harddrive and run GAME.PRG and it should work.
I have tested it on both STEEM and a real machine and it works fine.
There are some bugs and this is just an early demo version.