Doom for TT030.

All about ST/STE games

Moderators: simonsunnyboy, Mug UK, ICS, Doctor Bob Gordon, Moderator Team

User avatar
Atarieterno
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 711
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2016 3:40 pm
Location: Spain

Doom for TT030.

Postby Atarieterno » Sun Mar 11, 2018 2:23 pm

Hi guys;
I've seen on YouTube this video of "Doom for Atari TT", and excuse my ignorance about adaptations of games but: where are there links to download games like Doom or Quake for Atari ?, is it real or is it a fake?
I have TT and Falcon (without accelerating) and I would like to try them.
Greetings.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V0pDN4dPYZg

Doom_cover_art.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
ST/fm/e, STacy, Mega ST/e, TT, Falcon, C-Lab MKX... and more music tools.

Moulinaie
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 186
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 9:34 pm

Re: Doom for TT030.

Postby Moulinaie » Sun Mar 11, 2018 3:14 pm

This is a reality:

Patrice Mandin (a french guy) made the adaptation:

http://patrice.mandin.pagesperso-orange ... -jeux.html

Guillaume.

User avatar
Atarieterno
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 711
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2016 3:40 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Doom for TT030.

Postby Atarieterno » Sun Mar 11, 2018 5:22 pm

Moulinaie wrote:This is a reality:

Patrice Mandin (a french guy) made the adaptation:
http://patrice.mandin.pagesperso-orange ... -jeux.html
Guillaume.


Thanks for answering, Guillaume.

José Antonio.
ST/fm/e, STacy, Mega ST/e, TT, Falcon, C-Lab MKX... and more music tools.

kcr2000
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2012 8:20 am

Re: Doom for TT030.

Postby kcr2000 » Sun Mar 11, 2018 8:09 pm

It's real, but not playable at this speed on the TT...
For a stock Falcon BadMood is the best Doom.
CLAB Falcon MK2 CT60e 14MB/512MB 2x32GB CF FPU, Atari Falcon 030 14MB FPU, Atari TT030 10MB ST 256MB TT Crazy Dots 2 ThunderStorm 8GB IDE CF, Atari TT030 10MB ST 64MB TT Megavision 300, Atari Mega STE 4MB Crazy Dots, Atari Stacy 4 16MHz, Atari 1040 STE 4MB UltraSatan, Atari 520 STE, misc STf, STFM, 1040, 520, 260, Atari PC1, Atari PC5, Portfolio, NetUSBees etc. + misc 8-Bit Ataris

User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1700
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: Doom for TT030.

Postby Eero Tamminen » Tue Mar 13, 2018 6:59 pm

Purely CPU based Quake ports are even less playable than CPU based Doom ports.

BadMood runs at playable speed because it has highly optimized rendering engine written from scratch to take full advantage of both Falcon CPU & DSP (by a person why had written games for living, both for Atari and e.g. for Playstation). I think in total it took several man years of effort, that was freely contributed to Atari users. Falcon DSP is more powerful than the CPU, without it BadMood couldn't be even nearly as fast as it's now.

BadMood supports (at least it supported at some point during its development) both Doom I and Doom II WADs. Doom II WADs are generally more complex (more things visible at the same time, so more calculations & rendering needed) and therefore clearly slower than Doom I WADs.

DML had also code for *rendering* Quake levels on Falcon, but that didn't include any game play support (in BadMood, Doom game logic calculations took about half of the CPU cycles, and it includes some simplifications e.g. to sound propagation, compared to PC version).

User avatar
julyan
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2018 8:40 am

Re: Doom for TT030.

Postby julyan » Tue Mar 27, 2018 8:41 am

Moulinaie wrote:This is a reality:

Patrice Mandin (a french guy) made the adaptation:

http://patrice.mandin.pagesperso-orange ... -jeux.html


Thanks for the clarification!
I should pay attention both on my work and those slots. I guess that's the whole secret how to play free black jack games. I shoud remember to be more careful there.

User avatar
mrbombermillzy
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 123
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2016 9:24 am

Re: Doom for TT030.

Postby mrbombermillzy » Tue May 22, 2018 6:28 pm

Eero Tamminen wrote:Purely CPU based Quake ports are even less playable than CPU based Doom ports.


How about the Wolfenstein port then? If anything, its too fast for the TT! :)

It can be picked up from Ray/TSCC.

I know its not quite Quake or Doom, which was the original request, but its less painful to play on stock hardware. (No pain at all on the TT.)

User avatar
boratintheuk
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2018 12:37 am

Re: Doom for TT030.

Postby boratintheuk » Wed Jun 20, 2018 6:24 pm

How does BadMooD even run so well on a stock Falcon? It's basically unplayable on any Amiga or Mac with a 68030 and it looks just as good as the 386 if not better. I'm still an Atari noob over here so forgive me.

jury
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 274
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 11:11 am
Location: Poland

Re: Doom for TT030.

Postby jury » Thu Jun 21, 2018 6:14 am

boratintheuk wrote:How does BadMooD even run so well on a stock Falcon? It's basically unplayable on any Amiga or Mac with a 68030


Its not the Falcon 68030 "responsible" for this ( Atari TT has faster 68030 and it does not help run Doom better )
It plays this way on Falcon as many calculations are done by the second processor:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Motorola_56000

AnthonyJ
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 8:16 am

Re: Doom for TT030.

Postby AnthonyJ » Thu Jun 21, 2018 8:49 am

boratintheuk wrote:How does BadMooD even run so well on a stock Falcon? It's basically unplayable on any Amiga or Mac with a 68030 and it looks just as good as the 386 if not better. I'm still an Atari noob over here so forgive me.


Eero essentially answered above. The two key things are that the Falcon's DSP is a very powerful co-processor (which is not just for sound), and it has a completely custom rendering engine written by a talented developer that takes full advantage of the Falcon's hardware, rather than a simple "port + optimise" of id's code.

User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1700
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: Doom for TT030.

Postby Eero Tamminen » Sat Jun 23, 2018 5:14 pm

BadMood custom rendering engine requires also game data to be pre-processed to a more optimal format, before game starts. Its sound engine (soft synth + sound mixing) is also a custom one.

On the upside, custom rendering engine allows additional features like mouse look (in ID SW that came only with Quake), 16-bit graphics instead of 8-bit (*), and transparency.

(*) On Atari Falcon, 16-bit graphics are nearly as fast as 8-bit graphics for game like this, because unlike Amiga, Falcon doesn't support chunky 8-bit format, only planar 8-bit mode.

mikro
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1582
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Doom for TT030.

Postby mikro » Sat Jun 23, 2018 7:02 pm

Eero Tamminen wrote:unlike Amiga, Falcon doesn't support chunky 8-bit format, only planar 8-bit mode.

I guess you meant here like Amiga. :) Chunky mode is possible only with a gfx card, like on Falcon.


Social Media

     

Return to “Games - General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests