Login time limit

News, updates, like or dislike

Moderators: Mug UK, Silver Surfer, Moderator Team

User avatar
catmando
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 956
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 9:56 pm
Location: London, UK

Login time limit

Postby catmando » Fri Apr 20, 2018 2:25 pm

Can the login time limit be increased or be made indefinite?

I was logged in for less than 30 mins today and had to log back in again, didn't even close my tab.
Atari Falcon Tos 4.04 | 14mb | IDE CF 2GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62 | 4mb | HxC Slim SD 8GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62/2.06 | 4mb | Floppy A-B Mod | IDE SD 4GB
Atari STFM
Android Devices (Running Hataroid and SToid)

Atari Forum Wiki - Use it before asking

User avatar
spiny
Disk Imager Supreme
Disk Imager Supreme
Posts: 2441
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 11:53 pm
Location: just outside bristol
Contact:

Re: Login time limit

Postby spiny » Fri Apr 20, 2018 3:19 pm

there isn't a login time limit as far as I know.

I've been logged in here on my work pc for about 2 years.

do you have something running on your pc that regularly strips cookies ?

User avatar
Foxie
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 354
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 7:12 pm

Re: Login time limit

Postby Foxie » Fri Apr 20, 2018 4:20 pm

I have this problem too. If I click "remember me" it will sometimes remember for a few hours, but randomly logs out. If I don't click it, I last only 10-20 minutes.

My cookies are cleared when the browser closed, but not cleared when open.

User avatar
catmando
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 956
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 9:56 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: Login time limit

Postby catmando » Fri Apr 20, 2018 8:35 pm

spiny wrote:there isn't a login time limit as far as I know.

I've been logged in here on my work pc for about 2 years.

do you have something running on your pc that regularly strips cookies ?




I login on my phone, my ipad and my laptop and it never stays logged in no matter what device I use.
Atari Falcon Tos 4.04 | 14mb | IDE CF 2GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62 | 4mb | HxC Slim SD 8GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62/2.06 | 4mb | Floppy A-B Mod | IDE SD 4GB
Atari STFM
Android Devices (Running Hataroid and SToid)

Atari Forum Wiki - Use it before asking

User avatar
npomarede
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1233
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: France

Re: Login time limit

Postby npomarede » Fri Apr 20, 2018 9:15 pm

Foxie wrote:I have this problem too. If I click "remember me" it will sometimes remember for a few hours, but randomly logs out. If I don't click it, I last only 10-20 minutes.

My cookies are cleared when the browser closed, but not cleared when open.

I have the exact same behaviour.
But I wonder if this doesn't depend on the browser ? On one pc using firefox, I'm never logged out ; but when using Opera, I'm randomly un-logged, even if I look at the cookie, it has a valid expiration date, so I don't understand.

Also, I never see this behaviour on some other phpBB boards on which I choose also "remember me".
So, there seems to be sthg different with atari-forum.
I agree this is rather annoying :(

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12290
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Login time limit

Postby wongck » Sat Apr 21, 2018 12:43 am

I use the "remember me" tick.
I would say that 98% of the time it will remember me. I use Chrome & close it, shutdown my PC every day.
However, last week I remembered I have to re-login at least once.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63/CTPCI+ATI+RTL8139+USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
catmando
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 956
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 9:56 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: Login time limit

Postby catmando » Sat Apr 21, 2018 7:52 am

I use chrome on my devices
Atari Falcon Tos 4.04 | 14mb | IDE CF 2GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62 | 4mb | HxC Slim SD 8GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62/2.06 | 4mb | Floppy A-B Mod | IDE SD 4GB
Atari STFM
Android Devices (Running Hataroid and SToid)

Atari Forum Wiki - Use it before asking

User avatar
spiny
Disk Imager Supreme
Disk Imager Supreme
Posts: 2441
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 11:53 pm
Location: just outside bristol
Contact:

Re: Login time limit

Postby spiny » Sat Apr 21, 2018 8:16 am

Could be a browser thing then. I use Firefox on my PC's and phone and never get logged out.

User avatar
npomarede
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1233
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: France

Re: Login time limit

Postby npomarede » Sat Apr 21, 2018 10:06 am

Note that Opera is based on chrome engine, so maybe the common point is chrome ; but still it doesn't tell why this behaviour is so frequent only with atari-forum in our cases.

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3931
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Login time limit

Postby joska » Sat Apr 21, 2018 10:20 am

I have seen this on other phpbb forums as well.
Jo Even

Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
Foxie
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 354
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 7:12 pm

Re: Login time limit

Postby Foxie » Sat Apr 21, 2018 6:15 pm

spiny wrote:Could be a browser thing then. I use Firefox on my PC's and phone and never get logged out.


I use Firefox here, and I still get the logging out.

User avatar
charles
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 2234
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 12:11 am
Location: ont. Canada
Contact:

Re: Login time limit

Postby charles » Sat Apr 21, 2018 11:00 pm

I am getting this god damn same thing on a lot of my pages I navigate to...slower logons and navigation on some sites too!
music pages ,,,yahoo groups ebay etc etc
somethings happened to our internet ,
almost like a full on usage sequester from the u.s. government ???
are we being constantily monitored just for using the public internet?
atari is my lifestyle,not a hobby.
HOLD ON ! ! !,
Im printing unreadable characters ...!

User avatar
npomarede
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1233
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: France

Re: Login time limit

Postby npomarede » Sun Apr 22, 2018 10:38 am

Please, let's not go off-topic, this is about "remember me" option behaviour on atari-forum.com.
What some users reported with the "remember me" option has nothing to do with the state of internet and whether you're being monitor or not.

ThorstenOtto
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 272
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

Re: Login time limit

Postby ThorstenOtto » Sun Apr 22, 2018 11:03 am

Foxie wrote:I use Firefox here, and I still get the logging out.


I use Firefox too (on linux), and never get logged out, not even after a reboot. So that seems more a problem of the browser settings than a problem of the forum.

User avatar
npomarede
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1233
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: France

Re: Login time limit

Postby npomarede » Sun Apr 22, 2018 11:38 am

Just as an example : I posted here at 11:38, then I came back at 13:30 (now) and I was not logged anymore, had to log again.
This is really strange, as the cookie used by atari forum are rather "simple" (3 cookies) and they all have an expiration date in 1 year, so I don't know what makes them "invalid" sometimes.
This would need to look at the http server traces to see if there's any trace when autologin fails in such cases.

ThorstenOtto
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 272
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

Re: Login time limit

Postby ThorstenOtto » Sun Apr 22, 2018 11:57 am

maybe the cookie relevant settings help:

Screenshot_20180422_135304.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12290
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Login time limit

Postby wongck » Sun Apr 22, 2018 12:07 pm

I would check the PC for any special clean-up tools (like CCleaner or similar) or settings in the browser to clean up after use.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63/CTPCI+ATI+RTL8139+USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
npomarede
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1233
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: France

Re: Login time limit

Postby npomarede » Sun Apr 22, 2018 4:56 pm

wongck wrote:I would check the PC for any special clean-up tools (like CCleaner or similar) or settings in the browser to clean up after use.

In my case, this is under Linux, no need for such clean-up tools, and this happens sometimes during the same session, ie without even restarting the PC or exiting the browser.

User avatar
Foxie
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 354
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 7:12 pm

Re: Login time limit

Postby Foxie » Sun Apr 22, 2018 8:00 pm

npomarede wrote:In my case, this is under Linux, no need for such clean-up tools, and this happens sometimes during the same session, ie without even restarting the PC or exiting the browser.


It always happens under the same session for me. I don't think I have anything installed which periodically cleans cookies. It's almost as if the site isn't accepting the cookie. The one relevant thing I do have installed is Adblock.

Rustynutt
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 411
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon
Contact:

Re: Login time limit

Postby Rustynutt » Sun Apr 22, 2018 9:24 pm

Same here under Opera and Win 7, same on my Android and Windows and Symbian phones for as long as I remember.
There are some Win progs that will "keep you logged in", never tried, figured it was a server/software thing.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12290
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Login time limit

Postby wongck » Sun Apr 22, 2018 10:57 pm

Ok, so whole of Sunday (my timezone) I was in & out without any issues.
This morning (monday), I was logged out and I need to logon in again.
The only thing my windoze did was the weekly virus scan, no virus found.
I don't think it goes deleting cookies. I don't think there was any patch either.
Go figure.

I also visit using my phone and the work PC, and those I do not want to auto logon, so I remember to logoff if I do login. They did not affect my home pc settings. Case in point over last night, I did not visit using my phone & definitely not at work :wink:
I do not think AF will keep a list of clients visited & logons, so it may just use cookies. I may be wrong.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63/CTPCI+ATI+RTL8139+USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
npomarede
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1233
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: France

Re: Login time limit

Postby npomarede » Mon Apr 23, 2018 8:27 pm

Here's an example under Opera linux, without restarting anything (only thing I did was to close atari-forum tab, then reopen it later)
When reopening a new tab, atari-forum asks me to log again.
This is the content of the 3 cookies stored by atari-forum :

Code: Select all

Name:   phpbb_atariforum_k
Content:
Domain: .atari-forum.com
Path:   /
Send for:       Any kind of connection
Accessible to script:   No (HttpOnly)
Created:        Monday, April 23, 2018 at 9:33:13 PM
Expires:        Tuesday, April 23, 2019 at 9:33:14 PM

Code: Select all

Name:   phpbb_atariforum_sid
Content:        3dfa75bbfef12d48483417b2d5108c76
Domain: .atari-forum.com
Path:   /
Send for:       Any kind of connection
Accessible to script:   No (HttpOnly)
Created:        Monday, April 23, 2018 at 9:33:13 PM
Expires:        Tuesday, April 23, 2019 at 9:33:14 PM

Code: Select all

Name:   phpbb_atariforum_u
Content:        1
Domain: .atari-forum.com
Path:   /
Send for:       Any kind of connection
Accessible to script:   No (HttpOnly)
Created:        Monday, April 23, 2018 at 9:33:13 PM
Expires:        Tuesday, April 23, 2019 at 9:33:14 PM


As you can see, they all have a valid date, but still the aulogin doesn't work.

User avatar
charles
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 2234
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 12:11 am
Location: ont. Canada
Contact:

Re: Login time limit

Postby charles » Mon Apr 23, 2018 11:04 pm

well mine acts like im logged in
(passive browsing and launching the site),
but then I go to post and it makes me log back in ??????
atari is my lifestyle,not a hobby.
HOLD ON ! ! !,
Im printing unreadable characters ...!


Social Media

     

Return to “Website Discussions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests