PS2 - ST mouse converts now taking pre-orders

Latest news in the Atari world

Moderators: Mug UK, Silver Surfer, Moderator Team

Postby simonsunnyboy » Wed Aug 31, 2005 6:55 am

No need to argue, I'm still waiting for someone who is willing to order for me as well. That will eliminate all problems (which probably aren't probs anyway).
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/ - STOT: http://www.npoi.de/stot/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

Jabber: simonsunnyboy@atari-jabber.org
User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 4348
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany

Postby stimpy » Wed Aug 31, 2005 8:36 am

exxos wrote:
MadDonna wrote:Is it possible to create this for a keyboard too? or is that a complete different kind of game.


PeST is a plug and play option, replaceing the keyboard requires hardware hacks internal to the ST... this is not what this project is about.


http://fujiman.no-ip.com Eiffel interface, requires no hacks to the internals, requires no driver either. PS2 mouse and keyboard support, with 2x Atari ST joystick support and lots of "extras" for adventurous people.
User avatar
stimpy
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
 
Posts: 250
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 2:47 pm
Location: Somerset, UK

Postby MadDonna » Wed Aug 31, 2005 12:52 pm

I made a mistake about the costs of paying, if you stay in the Euro zone, it does not have costs for you. That was a measure from the central european government because banks lost a way to earn money for exchanging money. So the no-cost in international ordering is only in the Euro zone.
1 Atari 520ST, 1 Atari 1040STf, 1 Atari 1040 STfm, 2 Atari 1040 STe, 2 Atari Mega 1, 1 Atari Mega ST 2, 1 Mega STe, 1 Megafile 30, 1 Megafile with an IBM 1Gb replacement, 2 Atari TT030 and 1 Falcon
Image
User avatar
MadDonna
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
 
Posts: 478
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 2:13 pm
Location: Alkmaar, The Netherlands

Postby exxos » Wed Aug 31, 2005 3:42 pm

Womble wrote:I like the design but have one suggestion - could there not be a PS2 port on the adaptor itself instead of a load of wire to an external one? By the time you plug in a mouse you have about 2 metres of mouse cable.


We was going to have this at first, while it all fits, the PS2 plug however does not.. People like the idea of a extender cable, it will only be a few inches long anyway. So the choice was made to use the extender cable... Works for some people and does not work for others, you can't please *everyone*. If you don't like it don't order one, simple as that. Alison is doing a handfull of external types also. Though there won't be many.

While on the subject, after the closing date (end of next month) The buy option will go and boards counted and made. There maybe a few left over. Orders will be shipped off early the following month.

future orders will be in a batch of about 25 like the ordering now.. We may sell the chips programmed for those who want to construct thier own custom version.

As for these ordering problems, if someone wants to order a batch of 20 or 25 adapters then E-mail me.. I can combine postage to save a little. maybe even though in a couple of free extras for the bulk orders. If someone wants to buy in bulk and sell them, then I have no problem with that. Whoever does that will probably want to add something on the price for thier time, though it should still be cheaper than international payments for some people..

I could do with knowing pretty soon is someone wants to be a distributor somewhere, please note to get better prices they need to purchase a lot of them. I could do with knowing how many will be needed as I need to plan the panel layout over the next week or so. There is no use in me producing the panal if I will have to start again becasue of more orders. So if anyones interested in bulk buys then please contact me ASAP.
1MB STFM 1.44FD - 4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE 1.44FD 16mhz - Falcon 030 CT60 4GB SCSI - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://exxos.www.idnet.com/IMPULSE/atari/last/
http://atari-forum.com/stos/
http://pest.atari.org
User avatar
exxos
Atari God
Atari God
 
Posts: 1944
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England

Postby exxos » Wed Aug 31, 2005 3:54 pm

http://fujiman.no-ip.com Eiffel interface, requires no hacks to the internals, requires no driver either. PS2 mouse and keyboard support, with 2x Atari ST joystick support and lots of "extras" for adventurous people.[/quote]


You still have to dismatle your ST to fit it. PeST is a easy plug and play idea. I now effile just plugs in, though not everybody wants to replace the keyboard aswell....

Also remember this is a project and myself and Alison designed for our needs, we are just offering this to other people when we get our own modules made.
1MB STFM 1.44FD - 4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE 1.44FD 16mhz - Falcon 030 CT60 4GB SCSI - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://exxos.www.idnet.com/IMPULSE/atari/last/
http://atari-forum.com/stos/
http://pest.atari.org
User avatar
exxos
Atari God
Atari God
 
Posts: 1944
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England

Postby exxos » Thu Sep 01, 2005 3:00 pm

I've added in a option to bulk buy lots of 25 for the price of 20. Cheaper on shipping for the bulk amount also. Anyone can purchase these and sell in thier country, but only discounts on the bulk orders of 25.

Is somone wants to build up some orders in thier country they can purchase the bulk amount direct form me and sell them on for whatever price they want. They will also get discount (5 free adapters) so whoever will always make something for thier time.

Someone may want to keep a stock of them to sell in thier country for people who have problems ordering direct from me and ship items more local.
1MB STFM 1.44FD - 4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE 1.44FD 16mhz - Falcon 030 CT60 4GB SCSI - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://exxos.www.idnet.com/IMPULSE/atari/last/
http://atari-forum.com/stos/
http://pest.atari.org
User avatar
exxos
Atari God
Atari God
 
Posts: 1944
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England

Postby Total Eclipse » Fri Sep 02, 2005 10:02 am

Exxos, did you eventually design the interface to work on both ST's and Amiga's?
You raise the blade, you make the change, you re-arrange me 'til I'm sane.
You lock the door, and throw away the key. There's someone in my head but it's not me.
User avatar
Total Eclipse
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2004 2:20 pm
Location: Sheepy Magna, UK

Postby exxos » Fri Sep 02, 2005 4:33 pm

Yes and no, the programming has been done, but neither myself or Alison has a Amiga to actually try and debug. Alison did do a shout out for anyone who has a Amiga though nobody replied, moreso it would have to be someone known IE can trust! So at the moment there is not much we can do unless there is someone local to staffordshire who does not mind lending us a Amiga for a week...

chris
1MB STFM 1.44FD - 4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE 1.44FD 16mhz - Falcon 030 CT60 4GB SCSI - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://exxos.www.idnet.com/IMPULSE/atari/last/
http://atari-forum.com/stos/
http://pest.atari.org
User avatar
exxos
Atari God
Atari God
 
Posts: 1944
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England

Postby ijor » Fri Sep 02, 2005 8:18 pm

Btw exxos (or just anybody), I've been asked the following and I'm not sure: The original Atari mouse have any pull-up or pull-downs on the button signals ?

I see in the schematics that are pulldowns on the motherboard side, but not sure about the mouse side.
ijor
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
 
Posts: 2394
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 7:52 pm

Postby simonsunnyboy » Sun Sep 04, 2005 3:06 pm

After seeing the following
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll? ... 8550563&ru
I'm sure that you're doing really good work.

This looks very professional to me, both the device and printed instruction sheet!

Still hoping to find someone who will order one for me through his Paypal account ;)
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/ - STOT: http://www.npoi.de/stot/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

Jabber: simonsunnyboy@atari-jabber.org
User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 4348
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany

Postby exxos » Sun Sep 04, 2005 3:18 pm

yeah, Alison is doing some external types aswell, I think she got those wired for the MEGA ST ? . I've never had a mega but I think alison had a picture of it plugged into the side of one somewhere. You can use it on the ST still if you use a 9DB lead...

I'm hoping the PCB's will arrive towards the end of the week! I'm looking forward to using a PS2 mouse on my Falcon thats for sure :-)
1MB STFM 1.44FD - 4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE 1.44FD 16mhz - Falcon 030 CT60 4GB SCSI - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://exxos.www.idnet.com/IMPULSE/atari/last/
http://atari-forum.com/stos/
http://pest.atari.org
User avatar
exxos
Atari God
Atari God
 
Posts: 1944
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England

Postby Mug UK » Sun Sep 04, 2005 8:12 pm

exxos wrote:yeah, Alison is doing some external types aswell, I think she got those wired for the MEGA ST ? . I've never had a mega but I think alison had a picture of it plugged into the side of one somewhere. You can use it on the ST still if you use a 9DB lead...


That's what I'm hoping for as I got a Mega STE :) Got a nice Microsoft Intellimouse sat waiting for a new home :)
Having sold 99.9% of my 1300+ collection of originals, I'm taking a bit of a back seat on the forum. I'll still do the front-of-house admin tasks as and when they're required but, for now, I'm enjoying my Xbox 360 time too much :)

Image
User avatar
Mug UK
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 11002
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 7:16 pm
Location: Heaton Chapel (UK)

Postby exxos » Sun Sep 04, 2005 9:51 pm

I am onl yusing a cheap PS2 mouse here, I dont like the optical ones, I've tried a lot of them and never get on with um, always seem to be in the middle of routing a long copper track on a PCB and the mouse goes mad and draws random lines all over the screen, I like my old tech stuff ;-)
User avatar
exxos
Atari God
Atari God
 
Posts: 1944
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England

Postby Total Eclipse » Mon Sep 05, 2005 7:58 am

exxos wrote:Yes and no, the programming has been done, but neither myself or Alison has a Amiga to actually try and debug. Alison did do a shout out for anyone who has a Amiga though nobody replied, moreso it would have to be someone known IE can trust! So at the moment there is not much we can do unless there is someone local to staffordshire who does not mind lending us a Amiga for a week...

chris


Which part of staffordshire? :)

I'm in North Warwickshire myself, and can lend you an Amiga if it would help?
You raise the blade, you make the change, you re-arrange me 'til I'm sane.
You lock the door, and throw away the key. There's someone in my head but it's not me.
User avatar
Total Eclipse
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2004 2:20 pm
Location: Sheepy Magna, UK

Postby exxos » Mon Sep 05, 2005 8:40 am

chris[/quote]

Which part of staffordshire? :)

I'm in North Warwickshire myself, and can lend you an Amiga if it would help?[/quote]


I am in Uttoxeter, Alison is down cambridge way I think. It would help to get a Amiga, though I dont think its worth doing any amout of traveling for it, not sure where warwicksire if, sounds very far to me ;-)

I think what we will have to do is once this ST version has been done and shipped out, to ask how many people actually want a Amiga version first... Would probably have to sell 10 of them just to break even with the travel cost of the Amiga alone... But we shall see after the ST ones are all sorted out :-)

Chris
User avatar
exxos
Atari God
Atari God
 
Posts: 1944
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England

Postby Total Eclipse » Mon Sep 05, 2005 9:57 am

No worries. I'm just a few miles east of Tamworth, so there's a few miles between us.

I'll probably hang on for a version that runs on both computers - I'm thinking to the future, as both my Amigas and ST are boxed up in the loft at the moment. It'll be worth getting one of these, to avoid the inevitable moment in 5 years time, where I set up the computers, and can't find a working mouse amongst them!

Have you tried asking on any of the Amiga forums to gague interest?
You raise the blade, you make the change, you re-arrange me 'til I'm sane.
You lock the door, and throw away the key. There's someone in my head but it's not me.
User avatar
Total Eclipse
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2004 2:20 pm
Location: Sheepy Magna, UK

Postby exxos » Mon Sep 05, 2005 3:39 pm

No not tried Amiga forums, dont actually know of any infact!

I don't know if there will be a dual version or a seperate Amiga version... its probable that there will be a seperate version just for Amigas. Still will be the same PCB etc, though adding a switch would mean a new PCB, cost of a new switch etc, you soon bump up the price of silly things. Cheapest way is to re-use the PeST design and make it work on Amiga by itself...

Will keep a look out for Amiga users though, there must be one somewhere closer :)

Chris
User avatar
exxos
Atari God
Atari God
 
Posts: 1944
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England

Postby Total Eclipse » Tue Sep 06, 2005 7:47 am

Chris

I tend to lurk around the English Amiga Board (as do a few other people around here, as far as I can tell).

I can pose the question for you if you like?

If you're going down the seperate interface route, that's fine. It sounded quite interesting to have the option to select the mode at startup though 8)
You raise the blade, you make the change, you re-arrange me 'til I'm sane.
You lock the door, and throw away the key. There's someone in my head but it's not me.
User avatar
Total Eclipse
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2004 2:20 pm
Location: Sheepy Magna, UK

Postby MadDonna » Tue Sep 06, 2005 8:48 am

Yep that sounds good for me too, I can use one for my Amiga's too. I hope only that PayPal, who promised me to send a new password in 7 days, works as soon as possible so that I can order.
1 Atari 520ST, 1 Atari 1040STf, 1 Atari 1040 STfm, 2 Atari 1040 STe, 2 Atari Mega 1, 1 Atari Mega ST 2, 1 Mega STe, 1 Megafile 30, 1 Megafile with an IBM 1Gb replacement, 2 Atari TT030 and 1 Falcon
Image
User avatar
MadDonna
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
 
Posts: 478
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 2:13 pm
Location: Alkmaar, The Netherlands

Previous

Return to News & Announcements

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests