PS2 - ST mouse converts now taking pre-orders

Latest news in the Atari world

Moderators: Mug UK, Silver Surfer, Moderator Team

PS2 - ST mouse converts now taking pre-orders

Postby exxos » Thu Aug 18, 2005 1:53 pm

Hi all,

We are now taking pre-orders fo the project now named "PeST".

You can order here http://www.aqtq39.dsl.pipex.com/ps2.htm

the offical page is http://www.cps-electronics.co.uk/web/PS2.htm (will update shortly)

We need to get a number of orders before PCB's will be made at factory. We will count the number of orders towards the end of next month 30/09/05 approx. Orders at that time will be produced.

Alison will be setting up a store on Ebay for those who wish to buy though there. Probably benefit UK orders mostly. Alison will post more detials on that in due course.

Documents and specs will also be posted in a few days.

Chris
User avatar
exxos
Atari God
Atari God
 
Posts: 1944
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England

Postby RetroGamerUK » Thu Aug 18, 2005 7:41 pm

Now someone was asking about these devices recently.........

:o
User avatar
RetroGamerUK
RetroLamerUK
RetroLamerUK
 
Posts: 2901
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 6:37 pm
Location: Northwest England.

Re: PS2 - ST mouse converts now taking pre-orders

Postby MadDonna » Sat Aug 27, 2005 3:36 pm

exxos wrote:We are now taking pre-orders fo the project now named "PeST".


the pest? Dutch word for the plague. A decease that killed more than 9 million people in europe alone. Very funny to use that for a project.
1 Atari 520ST, 1 Atari 1040STf, 1 Atari 1040 STfm, 2 Atari 1040 STe, 2 Atari Mega 1, 1 Atari Mega ST 2, 1 Mega STe, 1 Megafile 30, 1 Megafile with an IBM 1Gb replacement, 2 Atari TT030 and 1 Falcon
Image
User avatar
MadDonna
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
 
Posts: 478
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 2:13 pm
Location: Alkmaar, The Netherlands

Postby exxos » Sat Aug 27, 2005 5:25 pm

pest as in , pest as in erm, well a pest as in me, as I keep fiddling with the thing and alison ends up doing a new version, hence im the pest :P ah but actually its "P" for PS2 "ST" for well "ST" :P "e" as in , ermmm :P
1MB STFM 1.44FD - 4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE 1.44FD 16mhz - Falcon 030 CT60 4GB SCSI - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://exxos.www.idnet.com/IMPULSE/atari/last/
http://atari-forum.com/stos/
http://pest.atari.org
User avatar
exxos
Atari God
Atari God
 
Posts: 1944
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England

Postby RetroGamerUK » Sat Aug 27, 2005 5:28 pm

I really can't understand why all users don't reveal the Town or at least the County or State that they live in.

Whereabouts in the UK are you exxos?
Maybe some users would prefer to buy one in person with hard cash??

(This post is not off topic ok? 8O)
User avatar
RetroGamerUK
RetroLamerUK
RetroLamerUK
 
Posts: 2901
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 6:37 pm
Location: Northwest England.

Postby exxos » Sat Aug 27, 2005 9:05 pm

I'm in staffordshire, if any UK users want to collect in person then get in touch, though for the sake a a couple quid postage hardely seems worth the trouble IMO.
1MB STFM 1.44FD - 4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE 1.44FD 16mhz - Falcon 030 CT60 4GB SCSI - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://exxos.www.idnet.com/IMPULSE/atari/last/
http://atari-forum.com/stos/
http://pest.atari.org
User avatar
exxos
Atari God
Atari God
 
Posts: 1944
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England

Postby MadDonna » Mon Aug 29, 2005 1:32 am

exxos wrote:pest as in , pest as in erm, well a pest as in me, as I keep fiddling with the thing and alison ends up doing a new version, hence im the pest :P ah but actually its "P" for PS2 "ST" for well "ST" :P "e" as in , ermmm :P


PS2 4ST? Do you have a picture how it looks now?
1 Atari 520ST, 1 Atari 1040STf, 1 Atari 1040 STfm, 2 Atari 1040 STe, 2 Atari Mega 1, 1 Atari Mega ST 2, 1 Mega STe, 1 Megafile 30, 1 Megafile with an IBM 1Gb replacement, 2 Atari TT030 and 1 Falcon
Image
User avatar
MadDonna
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
 
Posts: 478
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 2:13 pm
Location: Alkmaar, The Netherlands

Postby exxos » Mon Aug 29, 2005 8:09 am

The prototype images on on the website, the final board will be a fraction longer due to cable restraints, it will be enclosed in a black sleeve when PCB's arrive.
1MB STFM 1.44FD - 4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE 1.44FD 16mhz - Falcon 030 CT60 4GB SCSI - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://exxos.www.idnet.com/IMPULSE/atari/last/
http://atari-forum.com/stos/
http://pest.atari.org
User avatar
exxos
Atari God
Atari God
 
Posts: 1944
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England

Postby Mug UK » Tue Aug 30, 2005 7:06 am

The following pics were put into the comp.sys.atari.st newsgroup yesterday .. looking very fine it is too..

http://www.retro.dial.pipex.com/chris/DSCF4865.JPG

http://www.retro.dial.pipex.com/chris/DSCF4877.JPG

(big pics if you're on dial-up ..800K each)
Having sold 99.9% of my 1300+ collection of originals, I'm taking a bit of a back seat on the forum. I'll still do the front-of-house admin tasks as and when they're required but, for now, I'm enjoying my Xbox 360 time too much :)

Image
User avatar
Mug UK
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 11002
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 7:16 pm
Location: Heaton Chapel (UK)

Postby simonsunnyboy » Tue Aug 30, 2005 7:29 am

Does that big casing on the plug do fit under the 1040 or Falcon keyboard? Looks neat otherwise and plug'n'play.

And is anyone willing to import and sell this adaptor in Germany for EUR?
I don't trust PayPal at all. Or would you take bank transfer via BIC/IBAN from Germany as well?
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/ - STOT: http://www.npoi.de/stot/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

Jabber: simonsunnyboy@atari-jabber.org
User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 4348
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany

Postby MadDonna » Tue Aug 30, 2005 8:26 am

Me too, I want one too, but also via normal bank account
1 Atari 520ST, 1 Atari 1040STf, 1 Atari 1040 STfm, 2 Atari 1040 STe, 2 Atari Mega 1, 1 Atari Mega ST 2, 1 Mega STe, 1 Megafile 30, 1 Megafile with an IBM 1Gb replacement, 2 Atari TT030 and 1 Falcon
Image
User avatar
MadDonna
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
 
Posts: 478
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 2:13 pm
Location: Alkmaar, The Netherlands

Postby Mug UK » Tue Aug 30, 2005 8:31 am

Just pre-ordered mine ... total cost is £18.38 because of the VAT added at the end (might be worth adding that to your site Chris, so people are aware).

All I need to do is get a small table set up and I can unpack my Mega STE and get it up and running ready for the new PS2 mouse :)
Having sold 99.9% of my 1300+ collection of originals, I'm taking a bit of a back seat on the forum. I'll still do the front-of-house admin tasks as and when they're required but, for now, I'm enjoying my Xbox 360 time too much :)

Image
User avatar
Mug UK
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 11002
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 7:16 pm
Location: Heaton Chapel (UK)

Postby MadDonna » Tue Aug 30, 2005 11:04 am

Can't order now, I can't remember my paypal account password. And it needs 7 days for them to send it to me.
1 Atari 520ST, 1 Atari 1040STf, 1 Atari 1040 STfm, 2 Atari 1040 STe, 2 Atari Mega 1, 1 Atari Mega ST 2, 1 Mega STe, 1 Megafile 30, 1 Megafile with an IBM 1Gb replacement, 2 Atari TT030 and 1 Falcon
Image
User avatar
MadDonna
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
 
Posts: 478
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 2:13 pm
Location: Alkmaar, The Netherlands

Postby exxos » Tue Aug 30, 2005 4:37 pm

Ahh yeah, there is VAT but it onyl covers paypal costs, its not 17.5% VAT (I dont actually charge for that anyways)...

International orders have slipped up somewhere so will have to fix that..... there is a FAQ which explains things somewhere on the site.

Orders end next month, the 30th, so thats plenty of time for people to order. After that date bulk buys no longer happen so the price will have to go up.. will see what happens at the end of next month, though I think thats plenty of time for everyone to get sorted :)
1MB STFM 1.44FD - 4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE 1.44FD 16mhz - Falcon 030 CT60 4GB SCSI - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://exxos.www.idnet.com/IMPULSE/atari/last/
http://atari-forum.com/stos/
http://pest.atari.org
User avatar
exxos
Atari God
Atari God
 
Posts: 1944
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England

Postby simonsunnyboy » Tue Aug 30, 2005 5:06 pm

The page only offers credit card which is no option for me either.
Does anyone order from Germany and we can come up with some sort of German distributor?

As I'd really like to buy 3 of those... (1 STFM, 1 Falcon, 1 spare)
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/ - STOT: http://www.npoi.de/stot/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

Jabber: simonsunnyboy@atari-jabber.org
User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 4348
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany

Postby MadDonna » Tue Aug 30, 2005 5:13 pm

Is it possible to create this for a keyboard too? or is that a complete different kind of game.
1 Atari 520ST, 1 Atari 1040STf, 1 Atari 1040 STfm, 2 Atari 1040 STe, 2 Atari Mega 1, 1 Atari Mega ST 2, 1 Mega STe, 1 Megafile 30, 1 Megafile with an IBM 1Gb replacement, 2 Atari TT030 and 1 Falcon
Image
User avatar
MadDonna
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
 
Posts: 478
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 2:13 pm
Location: Alkmaar, The Netherlands

Postby exxos » Tue Aug 30, 2005 9:51 pm

I know there are a few people around the world who do not have access to paypal to credit card....

the only thing really is to find someone who can pay for them or send sterling cash via recorded delivery....

the only other option would be kinda like that you say, find someone who you know and trust, send you cash to them, and have them paypal the cash to me.... I dont personally tust anyone to do anythign like that though..

from what I can tell it only costs £3.30 for international signed, IMHO, would be easier just to do that and send cash to me... ordering a few of them makes it worth while I think also.... it works out with postage just over £18, proably best to make it a £20 note ;-) sending coins will cost a lot to post anyway so you wouldn't actually loose out... I think...

Euro's is a option, not sure if there are euro notes of 1Euro or not... but does not help people out either..... exchange rates for other currencys is a bit of a pin also... even more so if people get charged for the conversion... it soon adds up into a big mess...

I can't really think of any "good" way around it all :-( the only easy sure fire way is just to post sterling cash to me, normally packages are insured for signed for £30 so in theory it should be safe.... people however live in fear of the postal services... we know our postal guys pretty well, we have UPS,TNT,royalmail, regualr post,USPS, amtrax, you name it we know the post guy rather well... I have stuff arriving each day from all over the world and not lost a single package *yet*
1MB STFM 1.44FD - 4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE 1.44FD 16mhz - Falcon 030 CT60 4GB SCSI - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://exxos.www.idnet.com/IMPULSE/atari/last/
http://atari-forum.com/stos/
http://pest.atari.org
User avatar
exxos
Atari God
Atari God
 
Posts: 1944
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England

Postby MadDonna » Tue Aug 30, 2005 10:29 pm

I have bought some Amiga books and C compilers via a normal bank payment from somebody who lives in Belgium, The only thing you need to know of the person is his IBAN and BIC number and the persons name and place where he lives. And there are no extra costs for sending you money via a normal banktransfer in the EU.
1 Atari 520ST, 1 Atari 1040STf, 1 Atari 1040 STfm, 2 Atari 1040 STe, 2 Atari Mega 1, 1 Atari Mega ST 2, 1 Mega STe, 1 Megafile 30, 1 Megafile with an IBM 1Gb replacement, 2 Atari TT030 and 1 Falcon
Image
User avatar
MadDonna
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
 
Posts: 478
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 2:13 pm
Location: Alkmaar, The Netherlands

Postby beeka » Wed Aug 31, 2005 12:03 am

MadDonna wrote:The only thing you need to know of the person is his IBAN and BIC number and the persons name and place where he lives. And there are no extra costs for sending you money via a normal banktransfer in the EU.


I suggest finding the small print of your bank's terms and conditions, just to be safe.... Even the staff at my local branch aren't sure how it works, only they are pretty sure it costs something. All their bits of paper suggested it was about the same as depositing a cheque for Euros. IIRC, it was about £5 for anything under £100.

Steve.
User avatar
beeka
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
 
Posts: 136
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 9:10 pm
Location: Hampshire, United Kingdom

Postby PaulB » Wed Aug 31, 2005 12:43 am

MadDonna wrote:And there are no extra costs for sending you money via a normal banktransfer in the EU.


The last time I tried to send money via bank transfer to Germany (bic/iban) I was told by 3 different banks (including my own) that the charge was £25. I only wanted to send the guy £13!

The reason is that banks in the UK didn't use bic/iban numbers but now my bank also has a bic/iban number but there's no way to send money to europe through them without a charge. The easiest way was to send Euros concealed in a envelope. I don't know if it's just as hard to transfer money from Europe to the UK using banks though.
User avatar
PaulB
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
 
Posts: 2167
Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2002 10:56 pm
Location: You Kay

Postby simonsunnyboy » Wed Aug 31, 2005 5:47 am

At least inside the Euro zone BIC/IBAN transfers seem to be free of charge. I remember paying someone in Austria and the Netherlands via BIC/IBAN without getting charged by my bank.
As always you UK guys have to be special... bah.

The point to find someone to trust is to find a distributor here ;)
I personally trust postage of cash the same way as PayPal: no way.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/ - STOT: http://www.npoi.de/stot/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

Jabber: simonsunnyboy@atari-jabber.org
User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 4348
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany

Postby exxos » Wed Aug 31, 2005 6:31 am

MadDonna wrote:Is it possible to create this for a keyboard too? or is that a complete different kind of game.


PeST is a plug and play option, replaceing the keyboard requires hardware hacks internal to the ST... this is not what this project is about.
1MB STFM 1.44FD - 4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE 1.44FD 16mhz - Falcon 030 CT60 4GB SCSI - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://exxos.www.idnet.com/IMPULSE/atari/last/
http://atari-forum.com/stos/
http://pest.atari.org
User avatar
exxos
Atari God
Atari God
 
Posts: 1944
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England

Postby Womble » Wed Aug 31, 2005 6:40 am

I like the design but have one suggestion - could there not be a PS2 port on the adaptor itself instead of a load of wire to an external one? By the time you plug in a mouse you have about 2 metres of mouse cable.
User avatar
Womble
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
 
Posts: 542
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 6:51 pm
Location: Melbourne, The Land Down Under

Postby exxos » Wed Aug 31, 2005 6:40 am

simonsunnyboy wrote:At least inside the Euro zone BIC/IBAN transfers seem to be free of charge. I remember paying someone in Austria and the Netherlands via BIC/IBAN without getting charged by my bank.
As always you UK guys have to be special... bah.

The point to find someone to trust is to find a distributor here ;)
I personally trust postage of cash the same way as PayPal: no way.


The banks are going to send your cash for free ? I doubt it somehow.. I do wire transfers to bulk order from overseas manufactures, you have to fill out forms etc... I could accept wire payments though it will cost you a lot more in transaction costs than anyother way... I think people will just have to post the cash as this is the cheapest option, doing things "how you like" is going to cost you a lot more and nobody is better off other than the banks.

I really don't know why people live in fear of the postal services, I haven't lost a single package in the last 15 years... packages arrive and go out each day here. Sorry to say it but you don't have a lot of choice if you want a low cost transaction charge.. Either that or get someone to buy module on your behalf.
1MB STFM 1.44FD - 4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE 1.44FD 16mhz - Falcon 030 CT60 4GB SCSI - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://exxos.www.idnet.com/IMPULSE/atari/last/
http://atari-forum.com/stos/
http://pest.atari.org
User avatar
exxos
Atari God
Atari God
 
Posts: 1944
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England

Postby Womble » Wed Aug 31, 2005 6:50 am

Seems to be the magic "20". To transfer my account contents to NZ from Oz cost me AU$20 (about 6 quid) and to transfer overseas from NZ costs NZ$20 (about 7 quid).
User avatar
Womble
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
 
Posts: 542
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 6:51 pm
Location: Melbourne, The Land Down Under

Next

Return to News & Announcements

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AhrefsBot, CommonCrawl [Bot] and 2 guests