Page 2 of 2

Re: New Internal Falcon PSU for CT60, CT60e, CT63...

Posted: Mon Feb 05, 2018 9:30 pm
by joska
Have you seen this?

Re: New Internal Falcon PSU for CT60, CT60e, CT63...

Posted: Mon Feb 05, 2018 10:05 pm
by troed
I had forgotten all about it :D Will print and see - thanks for the reminder!

/Troed

Re: New Internal Falcon PSU for CT60, CT60e, CT63...

Posted: Mon Feb 05, 2018 10:16 pm
by Atari74user
That skipped me by, that's pretty cool too, thanks! I just spent 5 mins moving the STL around on my laptop because it looked so nice!
I think I might need to get out more 8O
:cheers:

Re: New Internal Falcon PSU for CT60, CT60e, CT63...

Posted: Mon May 20, 2019 10:10 am
by alexh
Did this project get completed? I would really like a good quality internal PSU in my falcon 060

Re: New Internal Falcon PSU for CT60, CT60e, CT63...

Posted: Mon May 20, 2019 11:08 am
by GoldenGrahams
Hi, I remember reading this thread last year and thinking what a great project it was. So did 10p6 ever...

a) Release the 3D printable files for the PSU mount and the power/switch mount...?
b) Clarify exactly which PSU (or pico power brick) can be mounted to his 'PSU mount'. I'm sure the power brick that came with my genuine Pico PSU had no mounting points that match the 4 screw mounts on the 'PSU mount' pictured at the start of this thread. Please explain.

Thanks.

Re: New Internal Falcon PSU for CT60, CT60e, CT63...

Posted: Mon May 20, 2019 4:22 pm
by leech
GoldenGrahams wrote:Hi, I remember reading this thread last year and thinking what a great project it was. So did 10p6 ever...

a) Release the 3D printable files for the PSU mount and the power/switch mount...?
b) Clarify exactly which PSU (or pico power brick) can be mounted to his 'PSU mount'. I'm sure the power brick that came with my genuine Pico PSU had no mounting points that match the 4 screw mounts on the 'PSU mount' pictured at the start of this thread. Please explain.

Thanks.

I thought Joska posted something; http://atari-forum.com/viewtopic.php?f= ... 25#p316663 I've printed this, it fits nicely.

Re: New Internal Falcon PSU for CT60, CT60e, CT63...

Posted: Sat May 25, 2019 7:43 am
by GoldenGrahams
leech wrote:
GoldenGrahams wrote:Hi, I remember reading this thread last year and thinking what a great project it was. So did 10p6 ever...

a) Release the 3D printable files for the PSU mount and the power/switch mount...?
b) Clarify exactly which PSU (or pico power brick) can be mounted to his 'PSU mount'. I'm sure the power brick that came with my genuine Pico PSU had no mounting points that match the 4 screw mounts on the 'PSU mount' pictured at the start of this thread. Please explain.

Thanks.

I thought Joska posted something; http://atari-forum.com/viewtopic.php?f= ... 25#p316663 I've printed this, it fits nicely.


Yes I've printed Joskas plastic psu/switch cover and am taking a look at that now, but what about the metal PSU (brick) mount and psu/switch cover combo by 10p6 at the start of THIS thread?

It is the idea of securing the PSU brick of the PicoPSU INSIDE the Falcon that really interests me.

Re: New Internal Falcon PSU for CT60, CT60e, CT63...

Posted: Sun Jun 09, 2019 2:51 pm
by leech
Has 10p6 disappeared? He also had designs of a ne Jaguar controller that looked fantastic.

Re: New Internal Falcon PSU for CT60, CT60e, CT63...

Posted: Sun Jun 09, 2019 8:55 pm
by mpattonm
I hate to dissapoint you guys, but its physically impossible to fit original PSU in CT60 accelerated Falc. Besides, original PSU is not compatible with CT60/e and while there are 3rd party COTS internal PSUs that might eventually fit inside and provide compatibble voltages, they do not work. Making a sutable bracket is actually the most simple part.

Re: New Internal Falcon PSU for CT60, CT60e, CT63...

Posted: Mon Jun 10, 2019 9:05 am
by alexh
mpattonm wrote:I hate to dissapoint zou guzs, but its phzsicalz impossible to fit original PSU in CT60 accelerated Falc. Besides, original PSU is not compatible with CT60e

This thread is about the design of a new internal PSU compatible electrically and physically with the Falcon030 desktop case and CT60e. It is NOT about using the old one.

mpattonm wrote:while there are 3rd party COTS internal PSUs that might eventually fit be compatible, they do not work.

What does that mean?

Re: New Internal Falcon PSU for CT60, CT60e, CT63...

Posted: Mon Jun 10, 2019 11:09 am
by jd
Personally when my Falcon PSU died I never replaced it but took the internal PCB power connector outside the case and had a flying lead with a plug on it. I could then plug any ATX PSU into it. Extenal PSU I know but I could just extend the wires and hide it but I knew I would always have a rock solid easily replaceable PSU and that is something the Falcon needs to have.

Also frees up space in case for future upgrades etc.

Re: New Internal Falcon PSU for CT60, CT60e, CT63...

Posted: Fri Jun 14, 2019 6:47 am
by mpattonm
alexh wrote:
mpattonm wrote:while there are 3rd party COTS internal PSUs that might eventually fit be compatible, they do not work.

What does that mean?

Right. What I meant is there is no COTS AC/DC power supply that is known to be compatible with CT60. Basically, none of them (to my knowledge) works.

Re: New Internal Falcon PSU for CT60, CT60e, CT63...

Posted: Fri Jun 14, 2019 7:29 am
by joska
GoldenGrahams wrote:Yes I've printed Joskas plastic psu/switch cover and am taking a look at that now, but what about the metal PSU (brick) mount and psu/switch cover combo by 10p6 at the start of THIS thread?


That design does not work, simply because the CT60 will not power on by switching on the PSU as that design does. Also, finding an ATX PSU small enough to fit inside the Falcon case is not easy.

GoldenGrahams wrote:It is the idea of securing the PSU brick of the PicoPSU INSIDE the Falcon that really interests me.


While I appreciate the original look of such a solution (I like my Ataris to look as standard as possible) there are two big advantages in an external power brick - it frees up space inside for the future SuperVidel and it moves the main heatsource out of the Falcon. But if you really want an internal brick I think the easiest solution is a PicoPSU and a small, internal 12V PSU.