New Internal Falcon PSU for CT60, CT60e, CT63...

Latest news in the Atari world

Moderators: Mug UK, Silver Surfer, Moderator Team

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4337
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: New Internal Falcon PSU for CT60, CT60e, CT63...

Postby joska » Mon Feb 05, 2018 9:30 pm

Have you seen this?
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
troed
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1438
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:20 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: New Internal Falcon PSU for CT60, CT60e, CT63...

Postby troed » Mon Feb 05, 2018 10:05 pm

I had forgotten all about it :D Will print and see - thanks for the reminder!

/Troed

User avatar
Atari74user
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 321
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2009 8:00 pm

Re: New Internal Falcon PSU for CT60, CT60e, CT63...

Postby Atari74user » Mon Feb 05, 2018 10:16 pm

That skipped me by, that's pretty cool too, thanks! I just spent 5 mins moving the STL around on my laptop because it looked so nice!
I think I might need to get out more 8O
:cheers:
Atari Falcon 14mb, 68882, Dual 8gb CF, Steinberg FDI & Analog 8
Atari Jaguar, Rotary controller, Skunkboard & Cat Box
Atari 520STFM 4mb, TOS 2.06 switcher, OverScan, GigaFile, PARCP-USB, Unicorn-USB, System Solutions MiniS HD, SyQuest drives, ICD Link II, PhatBoy MIDI Controller, Philip Rees 5M MIDI merge box, SoundPool MO4, Steinberg MIDEX, SMP II, Emagic Log 3, C-Lab Unitor 2, Combiner & Export expanders

User avatar
alexh
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2723
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: UK - Oxford
Contact:

Re: New Internal Falcon PSU for CT60, CT60e, CT63...

Postby alexh » Mon May 20, 2019 10:10 am

Did this project get completed? I would really like a good quality internal PSU in my falcon 060

GoldenGrahams
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2015 4:15 pm

Re: New Internal Falcon PSU for CT60, CT60e, CT63...

Postby GoldenGrahams » Mon May 20, 2019 11:08 am

Hi, I remember reading this thread last year and thinking what a great project it was. So did 10p6 ever...

a) Release the 3D printable files for the PSU mount and the power/switch mount...?
b) Clarify exactly which PSU (or pico power brick) can be mounted to his 'PSU mount'. I'm sure the power brick that came with my genuine Pico PSU had no mounting points that match the 4 screw mounts on the 'PSU mount' pictured at the start of this thread. Please explain.

Thanks.

User avatar
leech
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1208
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: New Internal Falcon PSU for CT60, CT60e, CT63...

Postby leech » Mon May 20, 2019 4:22 pm

GoldenGrahams wrote:Hi, I remember reading this thread last year and thinking what a great project it was. So did 10p6 ever...

a) Release the 3D printable files for the PSU mount and the power/switch mount...?
b) Clarify exactly which PSU (or pico power brick) can be mounted to his 'PSU mount'. I'm sure the power brick that came with my genuine Pico PSU had no mounting points that match the 4 screw mounts on the 'PSU mount' pictured at the start of this thread. Please explain.

Thanks.

I thought Joska posted something; http://atari-forum.com/viewtopic.php?f= ... 25#p316663 I've printed this, it fits nicely.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (VBXE, U1MB, Stereo POKEY)
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

GoldenGrahams
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2015 4:15 pm

Re: New Internal Falcon PSU for CT60, CT60e, CT63...

Postby GoldenGrahams » Sat May 25, 2019 7:43 am

leech wrote:
GoldenGrahams wrote:Hi, I remember reading this thread last year and thinking what a great project it was. So did 10p6 ever...

a) Release the 3D printable files for the PSU mount and the power/switch mount...?
b) Clarify exactly which PSU (or pico power brick) can be mounted to his 'PSU mount'. I'm sure the power brick that came with my genuine Pico PSU had no mounting points that match the 4 screw mounts on the 'PSU mount' pictured at the start of this thread. Please explain.

Thanks.

I thought Joska posted something; http://atari-forum.com/viewtopic.php?f= ... 25#p316663 I've printed this, it fits nicely.


Yes I've printed Joskas plastic psu/switch cover and am taking a look at that now, but what about the metal PSU (brick) mount and psu/switch cover combo by 10p6 at the start of THIS thread?

It is the idea of securing the PSU brick of the PicoPSU INSIDE the Falcon that really interests me.

User avatar
leech
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1208
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: New Internal Falcon PSU for CT60, CT60e, CT63...

Postby leech » Sun Jun 09, 2019 2:51 pm

Has 10p6 disappeared? He also had designs of a ne Jaguar controller that looked fantastic.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (VBXE, U1MB, Stereo POKEY)
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

mpattonm
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 396
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 8:52 am
Location: Czech republic
Contact:

Re: New Internal Falcon PSU for CT60, CT60e, CT63...

Postby mpattonm » Sun Jun 09, 2019 8:55 pm

I hate to dissapoint you guys, but its physically impossible to fit original PSU in CT60 accelerated Falc. Besides, original PSU is not compatible with CT60/e and while there are 3rd party COTS internal PSUs that might eventually fit inside and provide compatibble voltages, they do not work. Making a sutable bracket is actually the most simple part.
Last edited by mpattonm on Fri Jun 14, 2019 6:41 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
alexh
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2723
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: UK - Oxford
Contact:

Re: New Internal Falcon PSU for CT60, CT60e, CT63...

Postby alexh » Mon Jun 10, 2019 9:05 am

mpattonm wrote:I hate to dissapoint zou guzs, but its phzsicalz impossible to fit original PSU in CT60 accelerated Falc. Besides, original PSU is not compatible with CT60e

This thread is about the design of a new internal PSU compatible electrically and physically with the Falcon030 desktop case and CT60e. It is NOT about using the old one.

mpattonm wrote:while there are 3rd party COTS internal PSUs that might eventually fit be compatible, they do not work.

What does that mean?

jd
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 355
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 12:38 pm
Location: Ruislip, UK

Re: New Internal Falcon PSU for CT60, CT60e, CT63...

Postby jd » Mon Jun 10, 2019 11:09 am

Personally when my Falcon PSU died I never replaced it but took the internal PCB power connector outside the case and had a flying lead with a plug on it. I could then plug any ATX PSU into it. Extenal PSU I know but I could just extend the wires and hide it but I knew I would always have a rock solid easily replaceable PSU and that is something the Falcon needs to have.

Also frees up space in case for future upgrades etc.

mpattonm
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 396
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 8:52 am
Location: Czech republic
Contact:

Re: New Internal Falcon PSU for CT60, CT60e, CT63...

Postby mpattonm » Fri Jun 14, 2019 6:47 am

alexh wrote:
mpattonm wrote:while there are 3rd party COTS internal PSUs that might eventually fit be compatible, they do not work.

What does that mean?

Right. What I meant is there is no COTS AC/DC power supply that is known to be compatible with CT60. Basically, none of them (to my knowledge) works.

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4337
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: New Internal Falcon PSU for CT60, CT60e, CT63...

Postby joska » Fri Jun 14, 2019 7:29 am

GoldenGrahams wrote:Yes I've printed Joskas plastic psu/switch cover and am taking a look at that now, but what about the metal PSU (brick) mount and psu/switch cover combo by 10p6 at the start of THIS thread?


That design does not work, simply because the CT60 will not power on by switching on the PSU as that design does. Also, finding an ATX PSU small enough to fit inside the Falcon case is not easy.

GoldenGrahams wrote:It is the idea of securing the PSU brick of the PicoPSU INSIDE the Falcon that really interests me.


While I appreciate the original look of such a solution (I like my Ataris to look as standard as possible) there are two big advantages in an external power brick - it frees up space inside for the future SuperVidel and it moves the main heatsource out of the Falcon. But if you really want an internal brick I think the easiest solution is a PicoPSU and a small, internal 12V PSU.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64


Social Media

     

Return to “News & Announcements”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests