V2 booster ready for pre-orders

Latest news in the Atari world

Moderators: Mug UK, Silver Surfer, Moderator Team

User avatar
exxos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: V2 booster ready for pre-orders

Postby exxos » Thu Apr 21, 2016 1:52 pm

MEGA Buffer board. How many people are waiting for this ? These will be in kit form as I simply don't have time to build them up. They are simple enough and will do a page on the V2 page on my site soon.

mb.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

bugs
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 2:02 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: V2 booster ready for pre-orders

Postby bugs » Thu Apr 21, 2016 1:57 pm

Im waiting patiently :)

question though, do you think this is beneficial for machines without v2 as well?
Atari Falcon *2, Phantom,CT63, TT030, MegaSte with crazydots, Mega ST4 soon with exxo booster, Mega ST2, 1040STE, 1040STFM, 130xe *2, 1200xl nib, 800xl nib, 800, 400 (first computer from new) Lotharek MIST

User avatar
exxos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: V2 booster ready for pre-orders

Postby exxos » Thu Apr 21, 2016 2:08 pm

bugs wrote:Im waiting patiently :)

question though, do you think this is beneficial for machines without v2 as well?


:)

I'm not sure about fitting it to non-V2 machines. I can't see it doing any harm, it buffers the clocks which may help with stability on some revisions. If its a stock machine then it probably isn't going to matter to much either way. But if any mods are added of any kind, then its likely the buffer board will be needed. I have noticed even loading the 8mhz clock can cause the MEGA to go crazy. Mostly just random crashes. The buffer board actually has multiple outputs for each clock, so a lot of the MEGA clocks could be bypassed and routed though the buffer board if needed. Or if a upgrade needs the 8mhz line, then one can be taken from the buffer board rather than loading the MEGA's own 8mhz clock even more.

I'm building up one board right now, just want to make sure it works before I start putting together some kits :)
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

User avatar
exxos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: V2 booster ready for pre-orders

Postby exxos » Sun Apr 24, 2016 8:48 pm

I'm building up the last V2 boards currently (waiting on a stock of GAL's to arrive) Thanks to everyone who has ordered one, I hope the wait won't be to much longer :)

There are about 15 V2's left, so anyone who wants one should order one soon. I'm moving over to creating a couple versions of boosters for the STE next, so all my funds and time will be sunk into that next.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

User avatar
exxos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: V2 booster ready for pre-orders

Postby exxos » Fri May 06, 2016 7:30 pm

Last Batch of 10 (ever) of the V2.2 STFM/MEGA ST BOOSTER now finished after thousands of solder joints and one bad back later...

v2lb.jpg


http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/V22BOOSTER/index.htm
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

bugs
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 2:02 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: V2 booster ready for pre-orders

Postby bugs » Fri May 20, 2016 12:58 am

After installing the buffer board and booster in a Mega ST4 I have 2 questions,

I am able to boot in both tos 1.04 and tos 2.06. in both modes the screen shakes erratically from left to right from power on right to the desktop. I removed everything popped the 68000 back in and put the shifter back into the motherboard and machine boots fine and the display is stable. Leaving the 68000 cpu in I reinstalled the buffer board, machine boots fine but once again the screen shakes erratically. Pulled the cpu and put back the booster same thing. Also if I turn on the blitter with either tos I get 4 bombs. Any ideas?

Secondly, how can i switch this board between 8/16?
Atari Falcon *2, Phantom,CT63, TT030, MegaSte with crazydots, Mega ST4 soon with exxo booster, Mega ST2, 1040STE, 1040STFM, 130xe *2, 1200xl nib, 800xl nib, 800, 400 (first computer from new) Lotharek MIST

User avatar
exxos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: V2 booster ready for pre-orders

Postby exxos » Fri May 20, 2016 7:41 am

Can you post a clear image of the shifter board fitted ?
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

bugs
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 2:02 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: V2 booster ready for pre-orders

Postby bugs » Fri May 20, 2016 1:18 pm

Sure here you go. Fwiw that c66 was soldered to the shifter originally, I added it to the buffer board or the machine will not boot. no video.

20160520_073644_resized.jpg

20160520_073654_resized.jpg

20160519_203744_resized.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Atari Falcon *2, Phantom,CT63, TT030, MegaSte with crazydots, Mega ST4 soon with exxo booster, Mega ST2, 1040STE, 1040STFM, 130xe *2, 1200xl nib, 800xl nib, 800, 400 (first computer from new) Lotharek MIST

User avatar
exxos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: V2 booster ready for pre-orders

Postby exxos » Fri May 20, 2016 1:23 pm

Looks OK. Do you have a non-IMP shifter you can try in there? Also assume you have the 2 SMT caps on the bottom of the PCB ?
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

bugs
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 2:02 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: V2 booster ready for pre-orders

Postby bugs » Fri May 20, 2016 1:30 pm

Hmm Im not sure, I have a mega st2 Ill have to open up and see.

here is the buffer board itself.

As you can see in the last post the gal took a little shipping damage, any chance that could be an issue?

20160519_191614_resized.jpg

20160519_191623_resized.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Atari Falcon *2, Phantom,CT63, TT030, MegaSte with crazydots, Mega ST4 soon with exxo booster, Mega ST2, 1040STE, 1040STFM, 130xe *2, 1200xl nib, 800xl nib, 800, 400 (first computer from new) Lotharek MIST

User avatar
exxos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: V2 booster ready for pre-orders

Postby exxos » Fri May 20, 2016 1:32 pm

bugs wrote: Fwiw that c66 was soldered to the shifter originally, I added it to the buffer board or the machine will not boot. no video.


Wheres C66 ? Not sure what you mean with that... The IMP's have a diode in series with the 5V line (not really sure why) but generally they don't work without it.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

User avatar
exxos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: V2 booster ready for pre-orders

Postby exxos » Fri May 20, 2016 1:34 pm

bugs wrote:Hmm Im not sure, I have a mega st2 Ill have to open up and see.
here is the buffer board itself.
As you can see in the last post the gal took a little shipping damage, any chance that could be an issue?


The socket pins look a little dry and on one capacitors, so might be worth checking those ?

If you have a GAL programmer I can send a the jed file for you to verify it ?
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

bugs
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 2:02 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: V2 booster ready for pre-orders

Postby bugs » Fri May 20, 2016 1:35 pm

you can see it all the pics of the first post just above the buffer board, its blue.
Atari Falcon *2, Phantom,CT63, TT030, MegaSte with crazydots, Mega ST4 soon with exxo booster, Mega ST2, 1040STE, 1040STFM, 130xe *2, 1200xl nib, 800xl nib, 800, 400 (first computer from new) Lotharek MIST

bugs
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 2:02 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: V2 booster ready for pre-orders

Postby bugs » Fri May 20, 2016 1:41 pm

Ok, I will look for another shifter chip. Double check all the solder points and I have an ebay william eprom programmer knockoff, not sure if that can do gals.
Atari Falcon *2, Phantom,CT63, TT030, MegaSte with crazydots, Mega ST4 soon with exxo booster, Mega ST2, 1040STE, 1040STFM, 130xe *2, 1200xl nib, 800xl nib, 800, 400 (first computer from new) Lotharek MIST

User avatar
exxos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: V2 booster ready for pre-orders

Postby exxos » Fri May 20, 2016 1:44 pm

bugs wrote:you can see it all the pics of the first post just above the buffer board, its blue.


The blue thing is probably a diode not a capacitor. Its in series with the 5V line of the IMP shifter. The black wire you have should be put back on the 5V pin of the shifter where it was likely unsoldered from. Without it, the shifter will not have 5 volts as Atari cut the 5V track (normally) and went via the diode to supply the shifter with 5volts.

If you try another shifter, you will have to link the 5V on the shifter to the PSU or somewhere with 5volts as it wont get power otherwise.

If you have a scope, it may help to see what the 16mhz and 32mhz line is doing aswell.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

User avatar
troed
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1432
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:20 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: V2 booster ready for pre-orders

Postby troed » Fri May 20, 2016 1:59 pm

bugs wrote:in both modes the screen shakes erratically from left to right from power on right to the desktop


Can you estimate the nature of the shake? I.e, is it four, eight or 16 pixels back'n'forth (and in which resolution - and if it's a different amount depending on resolution). And only between two positions or more?

/Troed

bugs
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 2:02 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: V2 booster ready for pre-orders

Postby bugs » Fri May 20, 2016 2:22 pm

The black wire is soldered to the bottom of the buffer board shifter socket pin, initially it was soldered right on the imp chip. It is in the right place.

I have only tested high res. The shake initially starts off nearly a centimetre back and forth, it does settle down once the desktop displays to a few pixels. It is not consistant though.
Atari Falcon *2, Phantom,CT63, TT030, MegaSte with crazydots, Mega ST4 soon with exxo booster, Mega ST2, 1040STE, 1040STFM, 130xe *2, 1200xl nib, 800xl nib, 800, 400 (first computer from new) Lotharek MIST

User avatar
exxos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: V2 booster ready for pre-orders

Postby exxos » Fri May 20, 2016 2:29 pm

bugs wrote:The black wire is soldered to the bottom of the buffer board shifter socket pin, initially it was soldered right on the imp chip. It is in the right place.

I have only tested high res. The shake initially starts off nearly a centimetre back and forth, it does settle down once the desktop displays to a few pixels. It is not consistant though.


The black wire needs to be on pin 40 of the shifter, or can be done on the buffer board.

The issue you have seems to be what I had with my STE, it was bad regulation on the video circuit. I've not seen it happen on my MEGA ST though.

Those 33R resistors, you could try 68R or 100R in there, it may help if your board has bad noise issues.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator


Social Media

     

Return to “News & Announcements”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests