Atari ST 60Hz LCD External Scandoubler

Latest news in the Atari world

Moderators: Mug UK, Silver Surfer, Moderator Team

Atari ST 60Hz LCD External Scandoubler

Postby bid » Fri Mar 16, 2012 1:48 am

Anyone seen this "Atari ST 60Hz LCD External Scandoubler" on eBay yet?

Image

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Atari-ST-60Hz ... 828wt_1252

Wondering if this is useful to anyone? Cheers, Bid
Atari 520STe (4MB) from new (",), Atari Mega ST4 (given by customer), Atari Mega STe broken motherboard (with chips missing) and Atari TT030 (2MB now partly working, + some bits I am going to add soon)
Also, see my new blog about my Atari TT Adventures http://atari-bid.blogspot.com/ my company website http://www.thebigconsultant.com
User avatar
bid
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
 
Posts: 658
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 2:04 pm
Location: Rotherham

Re: Atari ST 60Hz LCD External Scandoubler

Postby bid » Fri Mar 16, 2012 1:49 am

Atari 520STe (4MB) from new (",), Atari Mega ST4 (given by customer), Atari Mega STe broken motherboard (with chips missing) and Atari TT030 (2MB now partly working, + some bits I am going to add soon)
Also, see my new blog about my Atari TT Adventures http://atari-bid.blogspot.com/ my company website http://www.thebigconsultant.com
User avatar
bid
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
 
Posts: 658
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 2:04 pm
Location: Rotherham

Re: Atari ST 60Hz LCD External Scandoubler

Postby DarkLord » Fri Mar 16, 2012 7:16 am

Interesting...but I still want one that will fit *internally*. :(
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
An Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org
User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
 
Posts: 3472
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA

Re: Atari ST 60Hz LCD External Scandoubler

Postby Dal » Fri Mar 16, 2012 9:35 am

It's one of these in a project box.

It looks good. Price may appear steep, but I know from experience doing this kind of thing how long it actually takes to prepare a project box. Add the soldering of all those lines in that fiddly 13-pin connector and test it all.

I see he's decided to draw power from the ST itself so he's given himself the added job of making that little joystick through port - I wonder if that really leaves enough room to plug a joystick into without the weight on the ST putting pressure on the port though??
FireBee, Falcon -Soundpool case: CT63@95Mhz + 14MB/512MB + 16GB SSD + FPU + Phantom 25/50 + SuperVidel + SoundPool FDI + FA8 + ADAT + Eiffel, TT030: 4MB/16MB + Crazy Dots, Mega"SST" 12, STbook, STacy 2, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's
User avatar
Dal
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 3215
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK

Re: Atari ST 60Hz LCD External Scandoubler

Postby Dal » Fri Mar 16, 2012 9:45 am

Just thinking about it, it's possible to draw a 12v line from the monitor port to power the board (it's rated 2v-12v). Then there's no need to draw from the joystick port - of course it depends a lot on how he took the sync.
FireBee, Falcon -Soundpool case: CT63@95Mhz + 14MB/512MB + 16GB SSD + FPU + Phantom 25/50 + SuperVidel + SoundPool FDI + FA8 + ADAT + Eiffel, TT030: 4MB/16MB + Crazy Dots, Mega"SST" 12, STbook, STacy 2, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's
User avatar
Dal
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 3215
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK

Re: Atari ST 60Hz LCD External Scandoubler

Postby spiny » Fri Mar 16, 2012 10:44 am

Dal wrote: but I know from experience doing this kind of thing how long it actually takes to prepare a project box. Add the soldering of all those lines in that fiddly 13-pin connector and test it all.



mine is a lot less tidy than that guys :D

Image

Image
User avatar
spiny
Disk Imager Supreme
Disk Imager Supreme
 
Posts: 1720
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 11:53 pm
Location: just outside bristol

Re: Atari ST 60Hz LCD External Scandoubler

Postby Amiga_Andy » Fri Mar 16, 2012 11:32 am

Dal wrote:Just thinking about it, it's possible to draw a 12v line from the monitor port to power the board (it's rated 2v-12v). Then there's no need to draw from the joystick port - of course it depends a lot on how he took the sync.

The 12v line from the monitor port is not strong enough to drive the GBS boards safely, it needs at least 2a where as the Atari only supplies around 100mA.
Last edited by Amiga_Andy on Fri Mar 16, 2012 11:51 am, edited 1 time in total.
Amiga_Andy
Atarian
Atarian
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2012 11:16 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Atari ST 60Hz LCD External Scandoubler

Postby Shredder11 » Fri Mar 16, 2012 11:44 am

The guy making this lives only two miles away from me, but I do not know him.
Shredder11
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
 
Posts: 2383
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 2:23 pm
Location: West Yorkshire, United Kingdom (England)

Re: Atari ST 60Hz LCD External Scandoubler

Postby wongck » Fri Mar 16, 2012 11:52 am

Shredder11 wrote:The guy making this lives only two miles away from me, but I do not know him.


Go ask for a demo of the device. Then you will know him. :mrgreen:
My Stuff: Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ FB/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
 
Posts: 10718
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East

Re: Atari ST 60Hz LCD External Scandoubler

Postby Dal » Fri Mar 16, 2012 12:13 pm

Amiga_Andy wrote:
Dal wrote:Just thinking about it, it's possible to draw a 12v line from the monitor port to power the board (it's rated 2v-12v). Then there's no need to draw from the joystick port - of course it depends a lot on how he took the sync.

The 12v line from the monitor port is not strong enough to drive the GBS boards safely, it needs at least 2a where as the Atari only supplies around 100mA.


Oh yes, 2A would be a bit rich certainly. Didn't see the board was that hungry at first :coffe:
FireBee, Falcon -Soundpool case: CT63@95Mhz + 14MB/512MB + 16GB SSD + FPU + Phantom 25/50 + SuperVidel + SoundPool FDI + FA8 + ADAT + Eiffel, TT030: 4MB/16MB + Crazy Dots, Mega"SST" 12, STbook, STacy 2, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's
User avatar
Dal
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 3215
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK

Re: Atari ST 60Hz LCD External Scandoubler

Postby rocket-dog » Fri Mar 16, 2012 12:14 pm

wongck wrote:
Shredder11 wrote:The guy making this lives only two miles away from me, but I do not know him.


Go ask for a demo of the device. Then you will know him. :mrgreen:


+1

You can be our roving reporter. :mrgreen:

Perhaps somebody should email him so we know he knows we exist?

I have one of those other boxes off ebay from China and it is OK, but only just OK. My SCART experiments aren't going to well with only my parent's 32" Sony giving me a decent picture. I can't fit that on my desk and secondly my parents might just notice their TV is missing (that is if I could come up with some way to smuggle out of their house.)
User avatar
rocket-dog
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
 
Posts: 776
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 3:13 pm
Location: Great Britain - The Kingdom of Mercia

Re: Atari ST 60Hz LCD External Scandoubler

Postby wongck » Fri Mar 16, 2012 12:19 pm

rocket-dog wrote: (that is if I could come up with some way to smuggle out of their house.)

Go Sainsbury, get some boxes, paint them to colour of the TV, make the swap when they are not looking.
My Stuff: Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ FB/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
 
Posts: 10718
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East

Re: Atari ST 60Hz LCD External Scandoubler

Postby Amiga_Andy » Fri Mar 16, 2012 12:43 pm

wongck wrote:Go Sainsbury, get some boxes, paint them to colour of the TV, make the swap when they are not looking.


lol!
Amiga_Andy
Atarian
Atarian
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2012 11:16 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Atari ST 60Hz LCD External Scandoubler

Postby CiH » Fri Mar 16, 2012 6:28 pm

Spiny, you've re-used an old TalkTalk modem box for your scan-doubler?
"Where teh feck is teh Hash key on this Mac?!"
User avatar
CiH
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
 
Posts: 893
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2004 4:34 pm
Location: Middle Earth (Npton) UK

Re: Atari ST 60Hz LCD External Scandoubler

Postby simonsunnyboy » Fri Mar 16, 2012 6:40 pm

Curious question, do these scandoublers only work with 60Hz output or do they happily eat 50Hz and overscan modes of the ST as well?
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/ - STOT: http://www.npoi.de/stot/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

Jabber: simonsunnyboy@atari-jabber.org
User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 4324
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany

Re: Atari ST 60Hz LCD External Scandoubler

Postby nativ » Fri Mar 16, 2012 6:53 pm

CiH wrote:Spiny, you've re-used an old TalkTalk modem box for your scan-doubler?



Old...... I have one just new! :D

The ST can get online now too eh Spiny!
Atari STFM 512 / STe 4MB / Mega ST+DSP / Falcon 4MB 16Mhz 68882 - DVD/CDRW/ZIP/DAT - FDI / Jaguar / Lynx 1&2 / 7800 / 2600 / XE 130+SD Card // Sega Dreamcast / Mega2+CD2 // Apple G4

http://soundcloud.com/nativ ~ http://soundcloud.com/nativ-1 ~ http://soundcloud.com/knot_music
http://soundcloud.com/push-sounds ~ http://soundcloud.com/push-records
User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
 
Posts: 4070
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Re: Atari ST 60Hz LCD External Scandoubler

Postby spiny » Fri Mar 16, 2012 8:35 pm

CiH wrote:Spiny, you've re-used an old TalkTalk modem box for your scan-doubler?


yeah, had a spare one and it's the right size :)
User avatar
spiny
Disk Imager Supreme
Disk Imager Supreme
 
Posts: 1720
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 11:53 pm
Location: just outside bristol

Re: Atari ST 60Hz LCD External Scandoubler

Postby spiny » Fri Mar 16, 2012 8:36 pm

simonsunnyboy wrote:Curious question, do these scandoublers only work with 60Hz output or do they happily eat 50Hz and overscan modes of the ST as well?



I've been watching loads of demos using mine and it appears to work perfectly with overscan, sync scrolling, split screen res etc :)
User avatar
spiny
Disk Imager Supreme
Disk Imager Supreme
 
Posts: 1720
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 11:53 pm
Location: just outside bristol

Re: Atari ST 60Hz LCD External Scandoubler

Postby Amiga_Andy » Mon Mar 19, 2012 5:15 pm

So, getting back on subject...

Is anyone interested in this scandoubler? I notice there are no bids on it yet!
Amiga_Andy
Atarian
Atarian
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2012 11:16 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Atari ST 60Hz LCD External Scandoubler

Postby simonsunnyboy » Mon Mar 19, 2012 5:21 pm

spiny wrote:
simonsunnyboy wrote:Curious question, do these scandoublers only work with 60Hz output or do they happily eat 50Hz and overscan modes of the ST as well?



I've been watching loads of demos using mine and it appears to work perfectly with overscan, sync scrolling, split screen res etc :)


Thanks...I ask because I have heard that professional made scandoublers are flaky to work and often don't get along with the ST video signal.
I once bought one to test and it didn't work well (with Composite video input that was).
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/ - STOT: http://www.npoi.de/stot/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

Jabber: simonsunnyboy@atari-jabber.org
User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 4324
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany

Re: Atari ST 60Hz LCD External Scandoubler

Postby Amiga_Andy » Tue Mar 20, 2012 9:27 am

simonsunnyboy wrote:I have heard that professional made scandoublers are flaky to work and often don't get along with the ST video signal.
I once bought one to test and it didn't work well (with Composite video input that was).

As long as you combine the hsync & vsync signals together and invert the result then it should work fine on all ST variations.

Only the STf models have composite video out, the others have composite sync on the same pin which is not the same thing! Also the signal is negative whereas most converters expect a positive signal, so inverting is required regardless! As the listing says it works with all ST models, I suspect this is what has been done.
Amiga_Andy
Atarian
Atarian
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2012 11:16 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Atari ST 60Hz LCD External Scandoubler

Postby Dal » Tue Mar 20, 2012 9:36 am

Amiga_Andy wrote:As the listing says it works with all ST models, I suspect this is what has been done.

Suspect? Reading the posts above, I had perhaps wrongly made the assumption that this was your item. :D
FireBee, Falcon -Soundpool case: CT63@95Mhz + 14MB/512MB + 16GB SSD + FPU + Phantom 25/50 + SuperVidel + SoundPool FDI + FA8 + ADAT + Eiffel, TT030: 4MB/16MB + Crazy Dots, Mega"SST" 12, STbook, STacy 2, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's
User avatar
Dal
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 3215
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK

Re: Atari ST 60Hz LCD External Scandoubler

Postby Amiga_Andy » Tue Mar 20, 2012 9:46 am

Dal wrote:
Amiga_Andy wrote:As the listing says it works with all ST models, I suspect this is what has been done.

Suspect? Reading the posts above, I had perhaps wrongly made the assumption that this was your item. :D

No mate, I have tried this with both the Amiga and ST on the GBS-8200 boards, worked great on the Amiga straight out of the box, ST was a nightmare beyond my abilities due to the circuitry required. Best I ever achieved was directly attaching hsync and vsync together and reducing the voltage using resistors, which sort of worked but not very well, and never did work out how to invert the signal.

Would be interesting to look inside the box and see how it has been achieved though!
Amiga_Andy
Atarian
Atarian
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2012 11:16 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Atari ST 60Hz LCD External Scandoubler

Postby Shredder11 » Tue Mar 20, 2012 9:50 am

Shredder11
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
 
Posts: 2383
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 2:23 pm
Location: West Yorkshire, United Kingdom (England)

Re: Atari ST 60Hz LCD External Scandoubler

Postby Amiga_Andy » Tue Mar 20, 2012 10:28 am

Shredder11 wrote:Ahhh you mean http://myworld.ebay.co.uk/andythepcfixer/ :wink:

This guy it seems to have done quite a trade in Amiga scandoublers judging by his feedback, maybe he's just branching out!
Amiga_Andy
Atarian
Atarian
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2012 11:16 pm
Location: Canada

Next

Return to News & Announcements

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 1 guest