Atarimania News

Latest news in the Atari world

Moderators: Mug UK, Silver Surfer, Moderator Team

User avatar
kodak80
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 530
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2013 12:05 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: Atarimania News

Postby kodak80 » Fri Feb 20, 2015 10:05 am

I have just uploaded an STX dump to the Atarimania FTP of http://www.atarimania.com/game-atari-st-antago_11073.html

It is a conversion from the SCP image provided by Stefan JL using DrCoolZic's latest Aufit 0.9.

I have tested the STX and it works fine in Hitari.
Atari Falcon 030 | Atari 1040 STE | Atari 1040 STFM | Atari 1040 STF | Kryoflux & Supercard Pro Flux boards | MiniCosmosEx
Admin of Atari ST Review Magazine Archive: http://www.ataristreview.com

User avatar
Marakatti
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1358
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 9:58 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Atarimania News

Postby Marakatti » Fri Feb 20, 2015 10:11 am

Many thanks :)

I'm on vacation for the next two weeks so will do my best to add all the stuff sent to us lately :)
-------------< Member of Atarimania >-----------
-< ST / STe / Falcon030 / TT030 archiver >-
-------------> www.atarimania.com <-------------

User avatar
kodak80
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 530
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2013 12:05 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: Atarimania News

Postby kodak80 » Fri Feb 20, 2015 10:54 am

Cool. Nothing like have Internet access when on vacation. Make sure you get some downtime.

I have also upload a dump for http://www.atarimania.com/game-atari-st-andes-attack_11061.html

I have also uploaded a dump and image for Rugby League Coach [Audiogenic] but cannot find a reference on Atarimania.

Box art for http://www.atarimania.com/game-atari-st-z-out_10922.html and http://www.atarimania.com/game-atari-st-bad-company_8651.htmlis included.

I have also uploaded Brume's STX dump for Realm of the Trolls http://www.atarimania.com/game-atari-st-realm-of-the-trolls_10369.html

No rush to get them uploaded.
Atari Falcon 030 | Atari 1040 STE | Atari 1040 STFM | Atari 1040 STF | Kryoflux & Supercard Pro Flux boards | MiniCosmosEx
Admin of Atari ST Review Magazine Archive: http://www.ataristreview.com

User avatar
Stefan jL
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1296
Joined: Thu May 09, 2002 3:21 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Atarimania News

Postby Stefan jL » Fri Feb 20, 2015 10:03 pm

Those STX's from my SCP dumps have i not tested enough to add to the Atarimania database... actually so did the Antago STX (made from SCP using Aufit) not work at all for me in Steem... Kodak80 so you really did get it to play in Hatari?
I thought it was a Aufit problem first and had plans on contacting drcoolzic but it seems to be a Steem problem then... or pasti.dll?
Image

darwinmac
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 215
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2011 2:49 pm
Location: San Jose, USA

Atarimania News

Postby darwinmac » Fri Feb 20, 2015 10:50 pm

I tried to get the Antago STX to work in 1.8.0, but it only started to look load and then exited to the desktop. I tried both the old and new versions of aufit with the same result.

Bob C

User avatar
kodak80
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 530
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2013 12:05 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: Atarimania News

Postby kodak80 » Sat Feb 21, 2015 1:51 am

I definately have the Antago STX working in Hatari 1.8.0. I have Hatari set to ST, 1mb with 1.0.4 UK TOS.

I created the STX with the latest Aufit 0.9.

The STX I created can be downloaded here: https://www.dropbox.com/s/4zmgwirjvf9eku3/Antago%5BArt%20of%20Dreams%5D1990.stx?dl=0
Screenshots:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/9o3zanaglah5cgz/Screenshot%202015-02-21%2011.27.53.png?dl=0

https://www.dropbox.com/s/rki54afwce4b03s/Screenshot%202015-02-21%2011.33.00.png?dl=0

https://www.dropbox.com/s/dazosnpfyw4d6hu/Screenshot%202015-02-21%2011.37.23.png?dl=0

https://www.dropbox.com/s/zxdf8c6k3mn86x6/Screenshot%202015-02-21%2011.39.20.png?dl=0

After changing TOS images, I now have to press return/enter on the Antago splash screen to continue to boot but the STX still works for me.
Last edited by kodak80 on Sat Feb 21, 2015 10:48 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Atari Falcon 030 | Atari 1040 STE | Atari 1040 STFM | Atari 1040 STF | Kryoflux & Supercard Pro Flux boards | MiniCosmosEx
Admin of Atari ST Review Magazine Archive: http://www.ataristreview.com

User avatar
npomarede
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1288
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: France

Re: Atarimania News

Postby npomarede » Sat Feb 21, 2015 6:44 pm

kodak80 wrote:I definately have the Antago STX working in Hitari 1.8.0. I have Hitari set to ST, 1mb with 1.0.4 UK TOS.

Please, it's Hatari, not Hitari :D

User avatar
kodak80
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 530
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2013 12:05 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: Atarimania News

Postby kodak80 » Sat Feb 21, 2015 10:46 pm

OOpps. Sorry. Will correct my mistake.
Atari Falcon 030 | Atari 1040 STE | Atari 1040 STFM | Atari 1040 STF | Kryoflux & Supercard Pro Flux boards | MiniCosmosEx
Admin of Atari ST Review Magazine Archive: http://www.ataristreview.com

User avatar
LaurentS
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 280
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 5:41 pm

Re: Atarimania News

Postby LaurentS » Sun Feb 22, 2015 10:41 am

Hi,

AtariMania is a great site for atari/falcon games.
I'm just asking myself if it could be possible to add "Beats of rage" and "Racer 2" on it ?

Regards
Laurent

AtariZoll
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2978
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Atarimania News

Postby AtariZoll » Sun Feb 22, 2015 10:57 am

I'm sure they will gladly add them - just need to ask Marakatti :D
Will look Antago problem little later ..
Famous Schrodinger's cat hypothetical experiment says that cat is dead or alive until we open box and see condition of poor animal, which deserved better logic. Cat is always in some certain state - regardless from is observer able or not to see what the state is.

User avatar
Maartau
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2630
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2005 2:15 am
Location: France

Re: Atarimania News

Postby Maartau » Sun Feb 22, 2015 11:27 am

AtariZoll wrote:I'm sure they will gladly add them - just need to ask Marakatti :D
Will look Antago problem little later ..


Funny copylock :D ! I remind lots of hours @ tracing when there was no emuls.

But, now I let see by yourself : at least, a good game -> would be cool to have an HD/MF fully running :thumbs: .

darwinmac
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 215
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2011 2:49 pm
Location: San Jose, USA

Re: Atarimania News

Postby darwinmac » Mon Feb 23, 2015 2:14 am

kodak80 wrote:I definately have the Antago STX working in Hatari 1.8.0. I have Hatari set to ST, 1mb with 1.0.4 UK TOS.

I created the STX with the latest Aufit 0.9.


That is very interesting. I downloaded the Antago STX file from the Atarimania FTP site. I ran both the OS X version of Hatari 1.8.0 as well as the Windows Hatari 1.8.0 development version. I also had Hatari set to ST, 1mb with 1.0.4 UK TOS. Unfortunately, for me, I see the Antago load screen and it shows 6 dots. After that, it simply exits to the desktop. I unchecked the "Patch TOS for faster boot" option to see if that helped. Unfortunately, I have not found a way to get the STX of Antago to load.

I am interested if anyone else besides Kodak80 is able to load Antago. I did download another 1.0.4 UK TOS in case my version was corrupted.


Bob C

User avatar
kodak80
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 530
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2013 12:05 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: Atarimania News

Postby kodak80 » Mon Feb 23, 2015 9:01 am

I should add that I am running Windows 8.0 64 bit with the 64 bit version of Hatari. Not sure if this makes any difference.
Atari Falcon 030 | Atari 1040 STE | Atari 1040 STFM | Atari 1040 STF | Kryoflux & Supercard Pro Flux boards | MiniCosmosEx
Admin of Atari ST Review Magazine Archive: http://www.ataristreview.com

User avatar
npomarede
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1288
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: France

Re: Atarimania News

Postby npomarede » Mon Feb 23, 2015 9:19 am

I tested Antago.tx and it worked for me. Dev version of Hatari, with TOS 1.04 FR and 2 MB RAM, this config worked for me, but less RAM should be ok too.

darwinmac
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 215
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2011 2:49 pm
Location: San Jose, USA

Atarimania News

Postby darwinmac » Mon Feb 23, 2015 11:59 am

Thanks. I will try the latest dev version and see if that makes a difference.

darwinmac
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 215
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2011 2:49 pm
Location: San Jose, USA

Re: Atarimania News

Postby darwinmac » Tue Feb 24, 2015 2:57 am

Unfortunately, I never had any luck trying to load the Antago STX that I found at Atarimania. I tried both the Windows 64-bit version of the latest Hatari dev binary I could find (2 days ago) in Windows 10, the 32-bit version of the Windows dev binary in Windows 7 and the OS X release version of 1.8.0 in OS X 10.10.2.

Antago starts to load and shows 6 dots. At that point, it simply exits to the GEM desktop. I have tried 1.04 UK and 1.04 FR. With the 1.04 FR ROM that I found at Atariworld, Hatari simply locks up when I try to use it with either the OS X or Windows version.

Very strange.


Bob C

User avatar
npomarede
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1288
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: France

Re: Atarimania News

Postby npomarede » Tue Feb 24, 2015 11:21 am

I can't see any antago.stx at atarimania ? The one I tried was posted by kodak80 above.
Maybe try to start Hatari with a fresh hatari.cfg, something might be wrong in your config file, but I can't tell what.

darwinmac
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 215
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2011 2:49 pm
Location: San Jose, USA

Atarimania News

Postby darwinmac » Tue Feb 24, 2015 11:54 am

I found the file that Kodak80 uploaded to Atarimania's FTP site after having the same problem with the file that I found here. I will try starting Hatari without a config file and see what happens.

User avatar
npomarede
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1288
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: France

Re: Atarimania News

Postby npomarede » Tue Feb 24, 2015 11:59 am

darwinmac wrote:I found the file that Kodak80 uploaded to Atarimania's FTP site after having the same problem with the file that I found here. I will try starting Hatari without a config file and see what happens.

Also try to start without gemdos HD drive, this can cause some protections to fail sometimes.

darwinmac
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 215
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2011 2:49 pm
Location: San Jose, USA

Re: Atarimania News

Postby darwinmac » Wed Feb 25, 2015 2:58 am

I tried both the OS X release version on OS X 10.10.2, the 32-bit release version on Windows 7 (32-bit version), and the 64-bit release version on Windows 10 Tech Preview. When I tried the 1.04 French TOS that I found at atariworld.org, the Antago STX would always lock up with the sectors reading 4C:4C:0A. This happened whether I set Hatari to 1MB or 2MB. When I used the 1.04 UK TOS, Antago did not lock up. Unfortunately, I would see the Antago Loading message and 6 dots. After that, Antago would exit to the desktop. I did not see any bombs.

In all cases, I moved the hatari.cfg file to a new name and GEMDOS HD emulation was off. I rarely use the GEMDOS HD emulation. I only have one non-standard configuration file where it is turned on so I can easily access the CD-ROM.

It is really strange. I have had no other problems with any other STX file that has been uploaded here. I did find a cracked version that runs just fine in Hatari so it appears my problem is with the STX file.


Bob C

User avatar
npomarede
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1288
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: France

Re: Atarimania News

Postby npomarede » Wed Feb 25, 2015 7:30 pm

So, the final explanation :D

I tried to run it from another computer and then ... same problem like you reported, game exits prematurely.
After comparing the 2 hatari.cfg file between those 2 different PC, it turned out that the problem is related to the floppy "write protection" setting.
If "write protection" is set to OFF, game will exit, but if you set it to ON, game will start (whatever tos, ram, hd you might use).
I know some games refuse to start when write protection is off (to prevent writing on an original disk), but at least they display a warning in such cases (for example : Eco, Hover Sprint, Oids)

EDIT : this means http://www.atarimania.com/game-atari-st-antago_11073.html could be safely updated to point to this STX image.

Nicolas

User avatar
Stefan jL
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1296
Joined: Thu May 09, 2002 3:21 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Atarimania News

Postby Stefan jL » Wed Feb 25, 2015 8:08 pm

npomarede wrote:EDIT : this means http://www.atarimania.com/game-atari-st-antago_11073.html could be safely updated to point to this STX image.


Nope... that entry is for the french software version :)
But i wonder if it really was a french version of Antago, and i do not have access to the STX that was removed from the entry so i can check it.

EDIT... it turned out i had not disabled the second diskdrive in Steem and after doing it so did Antago play fine also in Steem :D
Image

User avatar
npomarede
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1288
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: France

Re: Atarimania News

Postby npomarede » Wed Feb 25, 2015 8:32 pm

Stefan jL wrote:EDIT... it turned out i had not disabled the second diskdrive in Steem and after doing it so did Antago play fine also in Steem :D

Strange, it works under Hatari with 1 or 2 drives.

User avatar
kodak80
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 530
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2013 12:05 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: Atarimania News

Postby kodak80 » Wed Feb 25, 2015 10:40 pm

I also now have it working in STEEM 3.6.4. It only worked whenl I set the disk image to READ ONLY. It did not boot until I set this.

In Hatari I also had the disk as Write Protected when it works. I have just tried the STX again in Hatari with Write Protect set to OFF and the disk does not boot and drops to the ST desktop. When I turn Write Protect to On, the disk boots and works fine.

My conslusion is that the disk must be checking that it is Write Protected or Read Only and does not boot if it is not.

Summary of working boot-up:
    Antago splash screen shows whilst loading and then pauses
    Pressing Return causes boot to continue and you see the message "ANTAGO Please Wait....."
    After a while you see another splash screen with ANTAGO Art of Dreams shown
    Press the Return button then takes you into the game options screen
Atari Falcon 030 | Atari 1040 STE | Atari 1040 STFM | Atari 1040 STF | Kryoflux & Supercard Pro Flux boards | MiniCosmosEx
Admin of Atari ST Review Magazine Archive: http://www.ataristreview.com

darwinmac
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 215
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2011 2:49 pm
Location: San Jose, USA

Re: Atarimania News

Postby darwinmac » Wed Feb 25, 2015 11:01 pm

Mystery solved! I have not had a game yet where the write protection setting mattered. I was not reading that setting to mean that the disk was write protected. For some reason, I thought it had to do with the drive and not the disk. However, looking at the preference window, that was my mistake. As soon as I turned on write protection, I saw the game's splash screen for the first time. I was wondering why the game started with a simple "Loading" screen.

Thanks for your help. If this gets approved at Atarimania, they need to add a note about this.While Antago is not my sort of game, now I know to try this setting in case I have problems in the future.


Bob C


Social Media

     

Return to “News & Announcements”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron