MP3 encoding

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

gwEm
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 220
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2004 4:43 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

MP3 encoding

Postby gwEm » Wed Feb 23, 2005 3:47 pm

hi,

i wonder if someone who has used the sector1 port of LAME has anykind of performance measurements, even very rough ones, on accelerated falcons.

bests

User avatar
[ProToS]
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2242
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 2:09 am
Location: Lourdes / France
Contact:

Postby [ProToS] » Wed Feb 23, 2005 7:07 pm

from my old and not updated lame mp3 encoding page (sector1 port)

with this command line they have made 20h on a F030/16mhz to
encode "the rayman dance.mp3" in download song section.
Yes 20h for 2mn12sec with Lame (+40h with bladeenc on the same computer)
SeeU
[ProToS]/Facebook

User avatar
CiH
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1136
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2004 4:34 pm
Location: Middle Earth (Npton) UK
Contact:

Postby CiH » Wed Feb 23, 2005 11:47 pm

I think you'll have to get a CT60 before you even
think of encoding MP3's ;-)

I remember doing an experiment with my CT2 set-up
some time ago, and this is a 50mhz machine with 68882
FPU, my tune of approx 1.5 minutes took the
best part of 2 hours!

I've yet to try out MP3 encoding on my CT60, but that
is on my list of things to do :-)

User avatar
[ProToS]
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2242
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 2:09 am
Location: Lourdes / France
Contact:

Postby [ProToS] » Thu Feb 24, 2005 2:54 am

lame.slb from aniplayer seem's to be more fast than lame.ttp (but the old bladeenc forget ;) )
I still another lame compiled binary but they seem to not work on some
conf
(I don't remember where I get it)

lame 3.70 (sector1 lame 3.51)
SeeU
[ProToS]/Facebook

User avatar
030falcon030
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 749
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 6:59 pm
Location: North Somerset.england
Contact:

Postby 030falcon030 » Thu Feb 24, 2005 8:16 am

is there actually a mp3 player for the falcon that works

User avatar
earx
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 353
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2003 7:09 am

Postby earx » Thu Feb 24, 2005 12:22 pm

aniplayer 2.20 does the trick, so does falcamp. i think for plain vanilla falcs falcamp is the best choice. for mp2 there are the bitmaster and nocrew players.

gwEm
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 220
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2004 4:43 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Postby gwEm » Thu Feb 24, 2005 12:24 pm

thanks protos and cih for the infos. 1.5 hours on ct2!! can we expect 20minutes on ct60? could be interesting.

to play mp3s i'm using falcamp, works good even on standard falcon.

gareth

User avatar
CiH
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1136
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2004 4:34 pm
Location: Middle Earth (Npton) UK
Contact:

Postby CiH » Thu Feb 24, 2005 8:08 pm

For players, Falcamp works fine, but if you've
got any form of acceleration, even a Nemesis or
Phantom class upgrade, go for Aniplayer.

The playback quality is better, and you do get
some sort of stereo support with it :-)

On a slightly related topic, you will need a
CT60 to tackle Ogg Vorbis files on Aniplayer, as
this replayer is not supported by the DSP ;-)

User avatar
030falcon030
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 749
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 6:59 pm
Location: North Somerset.england
Contact:

Postby 030falcon030 » Thu Feb 24, 2005 11:00 pm

all ive got is a plain unmodded falcon :( soon i will have 16mb ram:) and a cd drive and big hard drive :) but no ct2 or ct60 or any accelerator :(
well im going to give aniplayer a try, falcamp works ok but even though it says it has stereo it doesnt seem to :?

User avatar
[ProToS]
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2242
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 2:09 am
Location: Lourdes / France
Contact:

Postby [ProToS] » Fri Feb 25, 2005 1:31 am

if you whant a ct060 you could contact Czuba tech, he go to made a new batch
if they have 40 order
http://www.czuba-tech.com
SeeU
[ProToS]/Facebook

User avatar
030falcon030
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 749
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 6:59 pm
Location: North Somerset.england
Contact:

Postby 030falcon030 » Fri Feb 25, 2005 7:30 pm

lol i cant afford that i can barely afford £28 for 16mb ram

gwEm
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 220
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2004 4:43 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Postby gwEm » Tue Mar 01, 2005 11:22 am

man, be happy your standard falcon plays MP3s at all! this is of course a huge technical achievement by sector one. try playing mp3s on an amiga, or mac or pc of the same era.

User avatar
CiH
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1136
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2004 4:34 pm
Location: Middle Earth (Npton) UK
Contact:

Postby CiH » Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:48 pm

I've got a timing for my CT60 (66mhz) encoding
an mp3 with Aniplayer :-)

It takes the best part of 40 minutes, but this is
with a 7 minute tune, and a 50khz sample encoded
at 128mb/sec :-)

User avatar
[ProToS]
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2242
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 2:09 am
Location: Lourdes / France
Contact:

Postby [ProToS] » Sat Mar 05, 2005 6:52 pm

and with lame.ttp (sct.1) ?
SeeU
[ProToS]/Facebook

User avatar
[ProToS]
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2242
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 2:09 am
Location: Lourdes / France
Contact:

Postby [ProToS] » Sat Mar 05, 2005 6:55 pm

found where I got lame 3.70
http://membres.lycos.fr/pmandin/downloa ... .70.tar.gz

I know I have somewhere on my archive one more port of lame but bont found it atm
SeeU
[ProToS]/Facebook

gwEm
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 220
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2004 4:43 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Postby gwEm » Mon Mar 07, 2005 1:11 pm

just timed my work machine (1.5GHz Athlon) - it took about 30 seconds to encode a similar file with lame.dll 1.3

factoring the difference in clock frequency
1.5 / 0.066 = 22.7

0.5 * 22.7 = 11.4 minutes

interesting comparison


Social Media

     

Return to “Professionals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests