Falcon CPU Boosters, how many are out there?

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

User avatar
CiH
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1134
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2004 4:34 pm
Location: Middle Earth (Npton) UK
Contact:

Falcon CPU Boosters, how many are out there?

Postby CiH » Sun Aug 15, 2004 5:57 pm

Here's a good one for all you Atari historians 8)

I'm trying to get some idea of the sort of numbers that were made, of the various cpu accelerator cards for the Falcon. This is my (hopefully) comprehensive list of types;

Power Up - Simple 16 to 32mhz cpu clocker, very early, distributed by Atari Workshops in the UK.

Afterburner - Top of the range for its time (mid-nineties) 68040 booster.

Nemesis - System overclocker to 150% of normal Falcon speed, handled by Titan Designs/Black Scorpion in UK

Centurbo 1 - Rodolphe Czuba's version of this.

Phantom - Cheaper Czech-built Nemesis style overclocker.

Blow Up 3 - Boosted '030 to 40mhz, added fastram and screen resolution enhancer, another one from Atari Workshops.

Centurbo 2 - Total numbers made are available from czuba-tech website :-)

Veloce Falcon - To take Falcon to 40mhz, fastram capability, modelled on Veloce STe, never produced?

Tempest - PowerPC based, extensively written about, prototyped, but not made?! This started as contemporary with CT2!

CT60 - Figures most definitely available from czuba-tech website!

1. Does anyone have any information as to how many of these types were made? I do already have details for CT2 and CT60.

2. Are there any cpu boosters that I've missed off that list? Please feel free to fill in any gaps!

Okay, catch yawll later!

User avatar
[ProToS]
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2242
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 2:09 am
Location: Lourdes / France
Contact:

Re: Falcon CPU Boosters, how many are out there?

Postby [ProToS] » Sun Aug 15, 2004 10:59 pm

CiH wrote:Blow Up 3 - Boosted '030 to 40mhz, added fastram and screen resolution enhancer, another one from Atari Workshops.


error, this is Falcon FX board how include blowup, 40mhz and fastram

the have also:
Speed Resolution board 40mhz by Hard&Soft
Mighty Sonic 32 (with this one you have to put the 030 from the f030 on the accel board), fastram
Mighty Mic 32 (no fastram)
Skunk 32
SeeU
[ProToS]/Facebook

User avatar
CiH
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1134
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2004 4:34 pm
Location: Middle Earth (Npton) UK
Contact:

Postby CiH » Mon Aug 16, 2004 9:21 pm

"error, this is Falcon FX board how include blowup, 40mhz and fastram"

I humbly stand corrected, lousy memory ;-)

"the have also:
Speed Resolution board 40mhz by Hard&Soft
Mighty Sonic 32 (with this one you have to put the 030 from the f030 on the accel board), fastram
Mighty Mic 32 (no fastram)
Skunk 32"

Cool, some of these I heard of in passing, and some not at all before now. I guess we didn't see these in the UK. Same question as before, how many of them were produced? Are many of these still in use, as you don't hear a lot about them now?

Rodolphe got back in touch about the Centurbo 1, of which 330 were made :-) That makes around 800 of all types of accelerator that he's produced.

User avatar
jens
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 837
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2003 3:50 pm
Location: Hannover, Germany
Contact:

Postby jens » Mon Aug 16, 2004 9:43 pm

Btw: the FX-card, of which I own one and know someone who has another one that's not used, was sold by 'BowUp - Acher & Ebert & Seibert GbR', Munich, Germany.
Greetings, Jens

Falcon030 - TT030 - Mega/STe - 1040 STf - 520 ST+ - ST-Book - Milan 060

User avatar
[ProToS]
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2242
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 2:09 am
Location: Lourdes / France
Contact:

Postby [ProToS] » Tue Aug 17, 2004 2:37 pm

and one more:

DX-3 board from OXO Concept (accel board like a ct1)
SeeU
[ProToS]/Facebook

User avatar
jens
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 837
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2003 3:50 pm
Location: Hannover, Germany
Contact:

Postby jens » Tue Aug 17, 2004 10:36 pm

Wizztronics Barracuda 040:
33 mhz 6840 and two vme-bus-slots. Optional FastRam-card, 128 megs.
Greetings, Jens

Falcon030 - TT030 - Mega/STe - 1040 STf - 520 ST+ - ST-Book - Milan 060

User avatar
[ProToS]
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2242
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 2:09 am
Location: Lourdes / France
Contact:

Postby [ProToS] » Tue Aug 17, 2004 11:40 pm

the Barracuda is vaporware no ?
SeeU
[ProToS]/Facebook

User avatar
jens
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 837
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2003 3:50 pm
Location: Hannover, Germany
Contact:

Postby jens » Wed Aug 18, 2004 8:23 am

Vaporware? What's that?
Greetings, Jens

Falcon030 - TT030 - Mega/STe - 1040 STf - 520 ST+ - ST-Book - Milan 060

User avatar
aktiv8
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1489
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2003 4:31 pm
Location: Cardiff, South Wales

Postby aktiv8 » Wed Aug 18, 2004 9:26 am

jens wrote:Vaporware? What's that?


Vaporware means the product was/is shown and avertised but never materialised in the real world
>>> Trust me, I'm a Research Chemist.... <<<

User avatar
CiH
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1134
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2004 4:34 pm
Location: Middle Earth (Npton) UK
Contact:

Postby CiH » Wed Aug 18, 2004 6:22 pm

That is a good point, did the Barracuda actually make it out, or did it end up like the Tempest PPC board?

Also, has anyone got any numbers of these? Approximate or rumoured figures are okay as long as you say what they are ;-)

deez
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Aug 16, 2002 8:28 am

Postby deez » Wed Aug 18, 2004 10:24 pm

I remember having a HighSpeed40 in my first falcon. This was in 1996 and you could switch between 20 and 40MHz cpu.

It was pretty useless because it scrambled the RGB signal for some reason. Which, at the time, was very annoying since pretty much every demo back then was made for RGB and not VGA.

It was also very unstable, probably because of heating problems so I had it removed.

I also believe i hold some sort of record for owning most falcons with accelerators :)
here is a list:

CT2
Afterburner040
Nemesis
Mighty Sonic 32
CT60
HiSpeed40

I also have a CT1 somewhere (2nd prize, demo compo @ SV2k) but I never tried it.


Fredrik.

User avatar
jens
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 837
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2003 3:50 pm
Location: Hannover, Germany
Contact:

Postby jens » Thu Aug 19, 2004 2:07 pm

Well - I don't actually know if the barracuda was vaporware or not. Never seen such a thing myself but it is mentioned in chips'n'chips beside the FX-card which is pretty existent. :D
Greetings, Jens

Falcon030 - TT030 - Mega/STe - 1040 STf - 520 ST+ - ST-Book - Milan 060

User avatar
[ProToS]
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2242
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 2:09 am
Location: Lourdes / France
Contact:

Postby [ProToS] » Thu Aug 19, 2004 3:44 pm

for me Baracuda040 (from wiztronic), aligator040 (from oxo) and TempestPPC are vaporware
SeeU
[ProToS]/Facebook

User avatar
earx
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 353
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2003 7:09 am

Postby earx » Tue Aug 24, 2004 4:57 pm

don't forget the PowerUp 2. It just boosted the CPU to 32 MHz. But it was a very stable affair.

User avatar
CiH
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1134
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2004 4:34 pm
Location: Middle Earth (Npton) UK
Contact:

Postby CiH » Tue Aug 24, 2004 10:20 pm

Hiya Pieter,

PowerUp was already on my list :-)

I would agree with your comments, as I had personal experience of one in my CT2 Falcon, before I upgraded to the CT2.

It didn't do a lot GEM-wise, but was useful if you were doing cpu-heavy stuff, on the other hand, didn't it muck up anything that used rigid DSP timings?

User avatar
earx
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 353
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2003 7:09 am

Postby earx » Wed Aug 25, 2004 8:39 am

Exactly =) I didn't look too closely at your post obviously. I don't know if there are any differences between version 1 and 2.. The version 2 I had could be switched by means of cpx. And indeed, it was good for icing and zipping.

I know, in Holland, they first sold loads of highspeed 40's. But after a while those Falcons all came back with complaints ;) So that shop (MABN) switched to the more humble Powerup2.

User avatar
karlm
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 713
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2003 4:09 am
Location: Top of the World - Australia

Postby karlm » Thu Feb 10, 2005 10:07 pm

there were a couple of variants of the afterburner too, afaik. there is also that overclock hack which takes the 030 from 16mhz to 24mhz floating around. (some guy green!?)

I guess i must be the only person left with a falcon that is unmodded. :( only mods i have is unplug speaker and change ide from 80mb to 810mb.

anyone want to donate me a accelerator !? :P

karlm.

User avatar
jens
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 837
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2003 3:50 pm
Location: Hannover, Germany
Contact:

Postby jens » Sat Feb 12, 2005 11:37 pm

I know of others who don't have their falcon modded.
Greetings, Jens

Falcon030 - TT030 - Mega/STe - 1040 STf - 520 ST+ - ST-Book - Milan 060

User avatar
unseenmenace
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1961
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 9:33 pm
Location: Margate, Kent, UK
Contact:

Postby unseenmenace » Sun Feb 13, 2005 12:02 am

My Falcon came with a basic accelerator fitted. I think its a Powerup 1. It can be activated by software (I think it was a CPX) and has an LED to show if its on but the machine hangs after about 10 minutes of use with the accelerator on. Is this likely to be the CPU overheating and if so would fitting a heatsink to the CPU be worthwhile?
UNSEEN MENACE
Several STFM's, 4MB STE, 2MB TT with 1.2GB Hard Drive and 14MB Falcon with 540MB Hard Drive,
Lynx 2 and Jaguar with JagCD
Member of GamebaseST and AtariLegend team
Check out my website at http://unseenmenace.110mb.com

User avatar
[ProToS]
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2242
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 2:09 am
Location: Lourdes / France
Contact:

Postby [ProToS] » Sun Feb 13, 2005 12:17 am

yes it could help
SeeU
[ProToS]/Facebook

User avatar
unseenmenace
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1961
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 9:33 pm
Location: Margate, Kent, UK
Contact:

Postby unseenmenace » Sun Feb 13, 2005 12:55 am

Its irritating because it stops me from running Protracker STE which for some reason switches the accelerator on when you run it so of course it crashes shortly after. I'll get some thermal adhesive and see if can stick a heatsink to it then :)
UNSEEN MENACE
Several STFM's, 4MB STE, 2MB TT with 1.2GB Hard Drive and 14MB Falcon with 540MB Hard Drive,
Lynx 2 and Jaguar with JagCD
Member of GamebaseST and AtariLegend team
Check out my website at http://unseenmenace.110mb.com

User avatar
CiH
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1134
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2004 4:34 pm
Location: Middle Earth (Npton) UK
Contact:

Postby CiH » Sun Feb 13, 2005 8:11 pm

Powerup 1 is a cpu clock-doubler, taking it from
16 to 32 mhz. It is fine for anything to do
with the cpu, but minimal effect on desktop
speed etc.

I never heard of one overheating, but on
the other hand, later overclockers like Nemesis
restricted themselves to c.50% over the stock
Falcon speed, must have been for a reason ;-)

User avatar
unseenmenace
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1961
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 9:33 pm
Location: Margate, Kent, UK
Contact:

Postby unseenmenace » Sun Feb 13, 2005 10:30 pm

Having done a lot of overclocking I know the tricks and pitfalls but have never been involved with clocking Atari's. It occured to me though that its also possible that the CPU may not be receiving enough voltage to run at the accelerated speed. Does anyone know if its possible/safe to slightly overvolt a 68030? Of course I'll try just adding a heatsink first.
UNSEEN MENACE
Several STFM's, 4MB STE, 2MB TT with 1.2GB Hard Drive and 14MB Falcon with 540MB Hard Drive,
Lynx 2 and Jaguar with JagCD
Member of GamebaseST and AtariLegend team
Check out my website at http://unseenmenace.110mb.com

gwEm
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 220
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2004 4:43 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Postby gwEm » Mon Feb 14, 2005 12:18 pm

fitted a CT1 to my falc over the weekend... so 25MHz bus including 030. i felt the top of the chip, seemed pretty hot even at this 'low' frequency. so to me 32MHz seems like lunatic speed ;) i'm definately considering a little heatsink, even though the system is totally stable.

User avatar
jens
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 837
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2003 3:50 pm
Location: Hannover, Germany
Contact:

Postby jens » Mon Feb 14, 2005 1:51 pm

Well, my Falcon fitted with an FX-Card runs happily on 32 Mhz without additional cooling. :D
It also did 36 Mhz without problems. 8)
Greetings, Jens

Falcon030 - TT030 - Mega/STe - 1040 STf - 520 ST+ - ST-Book - Milan 060


Social Media

     

Return to “Professionals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests