[Solved] How to suppress XaAES alert popup

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12673
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

[Solved] How to suppress XaAES alert popup

Postby wongck » Thu Mar 28, 2019 12:20 am

So I encounter some application being corrupted and XaAES will popup an alert box stating application failed etc etc. :(
This is all good. But the mouse kind of hang (or very jerky & laggy) and the XaAES alert box is not topped so RETURN does not dismiss it. 8O
I know the system is not hung because my phclock is still ticking.... :P
Because mouse/keyboard lag so much, only thing is to reboot. :(

So is there anyway of suppressing the XaAES alert box but have it writing to the console instead? :shrug:
Last edited by wongck on Thu Mar 28, 2019 12:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4343
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: How to suppress XaAES alert popup

Postby joska » Thu Mar 28, 2019 6:30 am

Use the ALERT pipe maybe?
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1943
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: How to suppress XaAES alert popup

Postby mikro » Thu Mar 28, 2019 7:42 am

It also depends what the application was doing - if it hooked on the IKBD vectors, there is not much you can do.*

* Unless the app is clean enough to use etv_term.

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4343
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: How to suppress XaAES alert popup

Postby joska » Thu Mar 28, 2019 8:05 am

I have seen this many times with XaAES. Quite often when an application crashes the mouse becomes very slow and laggy. I have seen this on my Milan and Falcon060, MP always enabled. A reboot is required to restore the mouse.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4343
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: How to suppress XaAES alert popup

Postby joska » Thu Mar 28, 2019 8:42 am

I just remembered this feature:

Code: Select all

# alert_windows = <value>       (default is 0xffff)
#
# THE IMPLEMENTATION IS NOT DEFINATE AND ONLY PARTIAL AS OF NOW!!!
#
# alert_window is a bitmask indicating which alerts coming via the
# alert pipe will be shown in a window. The idea is that this mask
# is used to tell the AES which alerts you want like this;
#  bit 0 set -> show alerts with no icon
#  bit 1 set -> show alerts with INFO icon
#  bit 2 set -> show alerts with QUESTION icon
#  bit 3 set -> show alerts with STOP icon
#  etc., etc.
#
# Because there is no consideration as to which icon is used
# (for example, kernel's PROCESS KILLED alerts have icon #1, the same
# as used for other warnings/informative ALERTS), the implemention
# is not complete. So for now use this to either turn off or on alerts
# altogether. To turn on alert windows, use a mask where all bits are set,
# 0xffff, and to turn off clear all bits, 0x0000
#
#alert_windows = 0x0000
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

PeterS
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 246
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2007 1:53 pm
Location: England, GB

Re: How to suppress XaAES alert popup

Postby PeterS » Thu Mar 28, 2019 9:44 am

I've seen the sticky mouse issue many times. Sometimes Ctrl-Alt-M helps or a restart of XaAES if you can get it to respond enough.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12673
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: How to suppress XaAES alert popup

Postby wongck » Thu Mar 28, 2019 12:09 pm

Thanks Joska, I will try it. :D

ETA:
GREAT !!! it worked !! :thumbs:
No Xaaes alerts pop-up and error written into XaAES.LOG file.
But really a silent mode now, will not know an error occurred.
Would be better if it writes to the console instead.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1943
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: [Solved] How to suppress XaAES alert popup

Postby mikro » Thu Mar 28, 2019 12:43 pm

wongck (and others): if you have some test case, maybe you can present it on the mailing list. If the app doesn't do something super dirty and yet leaves XaAES in such bad shape, maybe there is something what can be done about it.

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4343
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: How to suppress XaAES alert popup

Postby joska » Thu Mar 28, 2019 1:40 pm

wongck wrote:Would be better if it writes to the console instead.


More from xaaes.cnf:

Code: Select all

# logfile <filename> (default xa_boot.log in the xaaes-startup-directory)
#
# set the name of the logfile
# if empty ("") debug-output to file is disabled.
#
# examples:
#
#logfile = ""
#logfile = C:\xaaes.log
#logfile = my.log
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12673
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: [Solved] How to suppress XaAES alert popup

Postby wongck » Thu Mar 28, 2019 2:08 pm

mikro wrote:wongck (and others): if you have some test case, maybe you can present it on the mailing list. If the app doesn't do something super dirty and yet leaves XaAES in such bad shape, maybe there is something what can be done about it.


I had COPS crashing couple of days back, and could not get to Mint.
I replaced COPS, it still crashed.
I replaced all my CPX in the folder, that stopped it from crashing.
It's not a bad app, it just an old hdd getting a hipcup now and then.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12673
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: How to suppress XaAES alert popup

Postby wongck » Thu Mar 28, 2019 2:09 pm

joska wrote:More from xaaes.cnf:

Thanks. I think I need to read that file again. :lol:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list


Social Media

     

Return to “Professionals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests