strange Mint issue

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

emcclariion
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 186
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 6:37 pm

strange Mint issue

Postby emcclariion » Mon Mar 11, 2019 8:39 am

I had my TT all setup, Nova Mach 32, vanilla mint,....then the HD rattled and semi killed its self...if I leave to cool it would boot so copied my C drive to USB...I have lightning VME..

so I powered up my ultra satan and copied my backed up C to the C drive on my Ultra satan.

now mint will not boot, when it says booting from C drive it crashes, I even did a fresh original copy same thing?

WTF?, PS if i put the original SCSI drive back it will boot till it shuts off

suggestions
Atari TT Nova card Mach32, Lightning VME, 65MB of RAM, Mega STE 4MB, Nova ET4000 and Atari STE 4MB TOS 2.06 Netusb Ultrasatan 2

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4336
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: strange Mint issue

Postby joska » Mon Mar 11, 2019 9:15 am

Ultrasatan is on ACSI, while the internal drive is on SCSI. Have you set up the harddisk-driver correctly for ACSI? Does your TT boot correctly from Ultrasatan when MiNT is disabled?
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

emcclariion
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 186
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 6:37 pm

Re: strange Mint issue

Postby emcclariion » Mon Mar 11, 2019 9:34 am

Yes, it boots the mach 32 drivers and the Lightning drivers and I did a test with magic and it boots ok
Atari TT Nova card Mach32, Lightning VME, 65MB of RAM, Mega STE 4MB, Nova ET4000 and Atari STE 4MB TOS 2.06 Netusb Ultrasatan 2

User avatar
Gaiyan
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 402
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 3:39 pm
Contact:

Re: strange Mint issue

Postby Gaiyan » Mon Mar 11, 2019 10:00 am

Sounds like a corrupted file. Try re-copying all files with Kobold using verification.
Image

emcclariion
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 186
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 6:37 pm

Re: strange Mint issue

Postby emcclariion » Mon Mar 11, 2019 10:32 am

I have copied a new install off joska's site still fails ?
Atari TT Nova card Mach32, Lightning VME, 65MB of RAM, Mega STE 4MB, Nova ET4000 and Atari STE 4MB TOS 2.06 Netusb Ultrasatan 2

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4336
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: strange Mint issue

Postby joska » Mon Mar 11, 2019 10:47 am

Can you post a picture of the crash?
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4336
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: strange Mint issue

Postby joska » Mon Mar 11, 2019 10:48 am

Also, if you simply copied over the files it could be a problem with running order. What happens if you boot *only* MiNT, i.e. disable all other programs in the AUTO-folder.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

emcclariion
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 186
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 6:37 pm

Re: strange Mint issue

Postby emcclariion » Mon Mar 11, 2019 10:50 am

I will do, when I get home joska, I was pausing at each stage and it was saying booting from C think it said something about setting up environment variables, then the screen would go blank and it would be in TOS
Atari TT Nova card Mach32, Lightning VME, 65MB of RAM, Mega STE 4MB, Nova ET4000 and Atari STE 4MB TOS 2.06 Netusb Ultrasatan 2

emcclariion
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 186
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 6:37 pm

Re: strange Mint issue

Postby emcclariion » Mon Mar 11, 2019 10:52 am

also I have re done my running order, I will only boot the graphics card tonight and test
Atari TT Nova card Mach32, Lightning VME, 65MB of RAM, Mega STE 4MB, Nova ET4000 and Atari STE 4MB TOS 2.06 Netusb Ultrasatan 2

emcclariion
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 186
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 6:37 pm

Re: strange Mint issue

Postby emcclariion » Mon Mar 11, 2019 10:59 am

Just had a thought it could be NVDI as I copied that across, will confirm tonight
Atari TT Nova card Mach32, Lightning VME, 65MB of RAM, Mega STE 4MB, Nova ET4000 and Atari STE 4MB TOS 2.06 Netusb Ultrasatan 2

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4336
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: strange Mint issue

Postby joska » Mon Mar 11, 2019 11:02 am

Check the running order (unsorted view in desktop) on your SCSI drive and compare it with your Ultrasatan.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

emcclariion
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 186
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 6:37 pm

Re: strange Mint issue

Postby emcclariion » Tue Mar 12, 2019 8:14 am

I did some more testing, Removed NVDI still failed, so copied a fresh version of Mint still failed at the Kernel boot section...

so I thought I would treat the SD drive as normal HD, so no window/partitions only tos and copied the files to the drive via floppy...so the SD card does not go near windows.

still fail, I think the 0030 kernel is looking for a SCSI not a ASCSI drive?
Atari TT Nova card Mach32, Lightning VME, 65MB of RAM, Mega STE 4MB, Nova ET4000 and Atari STE 4MB TOS 2.06 Netusb Ultrasatan 2

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4336
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: strange Mint issue

Postby joska » Tue Mar 12, 2019 8:35 am

The kernel is not accessing SCSI or ACSI hardware directly but via the harddisk driver using the SCSIDRV interface.

Can you post pictures of the error message(s)/crash? And the running order in AUTO is...?
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

emcclariion
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 186
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 6:37 pm

Re: strange Mint issue

Postby emcclariion » Tue Mar 12, 2019 8:56 am

if I hold it between stages,
entering supervisor mode - done
booting from Done
MMU Setup - done
resident TOs 3.06
BIO bconmap() present

then is loads something and two bombs and back to GEM

AUTO
Standard nova drivers as before, I am loading USB, Storage, but that worked fine with the other build, else nothing else.

I will remove to tonight and try again, but i suspect the same thing will happen
Atari TT Nova card Mach32, Lightning VME, 65MB of RAM, Mega STE 4MB, Nova ET4000 and Atari STE 4MB TOS 2.06 Netusb Ultrasatan 2

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4336
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: strange Mint issue

Postby joska » Tue Mar 12, 2019 9:13 am

Disable *everything* in AUTO except mint.prg and see what happens. I'm not familiar with the USB stuff (have no USB hardware) but if I understand it correctly you should *not* load any USB-stuff in the autofolder when using MiNT, but use the kernel module instead.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

emcclariion
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 186
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 6:37 pm

Re: strange Mint issue

Postby emcclariion » Tue Mar 12, 2019 9:19 am

I did try it with Xboot so there was no drivers other than Nova and Mint0030.prg, but try again tonight
Atari TT Nova card Mach32, Lightning VME, 65MB of RAM, Mega STE 4MB, Nova ET4000 and Atari STE 4MB TOS 2.06 Netusb Ultrasatan 2

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4336
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: strange Mint issue

Postby joska » Tue Mar 12, 2019 9:29 am

I suggest you install a completely unmodified VanillaMiNT on a blank SD-card and test it. If it works, start adding stuff from your existing setup, one component between tests.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

emcclariion
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 186
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 6:37 pm

Re: strange Mint issue

Postby emcclariion » Tue Mar 12, 2019 6:09 pm

ight,

I downloaded the zip files again from your site Joska, unzipped and added them to a SC card.....checked all was correct.

Nothing else was added......bombs again....I am pretty sure the 030 kernal does not work with ultrasatan, I have ordered a SCSI to SD now..

Thanks
Atari TT Nova card Mach32, Lightning VME, 65MB of RAM, Mega STE 4MB, Nova ET4000 and Atari STE 4MB TOS 2.06 Netusb Ultrasatan 2

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4336
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: strange Mint issue

Postby joska » Tue Mar 12, 2019 6:27 pm

Which harddisk-driver are you using? How is it configured?

And again, it might be helpful if you can provide a screenshot/photo of the crash. I understand that this can be difficult though if MiNT simply exits/bombs out. Maybe you could enable boot logging?
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
Gaiyan
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 402
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 3:39 pm
Contact:

Re: strange Mint issue

Postby Gaiyan » Tue Mar 12, 2019 6:48 pm

I had a go on my TT. Indeed it does bomb. "Fixed" it by disabling memory protection.
Image

emcclariion
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 186
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 6:37 pm

Re: strange Mint issue

Postby emcclariion » Tue Mar 12, 2019 6:57 pm

]HDDRIVER 10.somthing.

Boot logging was described on my post this morning...

After I hit the key after that, it 2 bombs
Atari TT Nova card Mach32, Lightning VME, 65MB of RAM, Mega STE 4MB, Nova ET4000 and Atari STE 4MB TOS 2.06 Netusb Ultrasatan 2

emcclariion
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 186
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 6:37 pm

Re: strange Mint issue

Postby emcclariion » Tue Mar 12, 2019 7:37 pm

I did that when I was first testing turning of mem protection, but that was not a clean build we try again
Atari TT Nova card Mach32, Lightning VME, 65MB of RAM, Mega STE 4MB, Nova ET4000 and Atari STE 4MB TOS 2.06 Netusb Ultrasatan 2

emcclariion
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 186
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 6:37 pm

Re: strange Mint issue

Postby emcclariion » Tue Mar 12, 2019 7:42 pm

Just tried it still bombs, with mem protection off

I get my scsi to sd soon, if I hold my dodgy hd on its side it still boots the only difference is interface
Atari TT Nova card Mach32, Lightning VME, 65MB of RAM, Mega STE 4MB, Nova ET4000 and Atari STE 4MB TOS 2.06 Netusb Ultrasatan 2

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4336
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: strange Mint issue

Postby joska » Tue Mar 12, 2019 8:15 pm

Gaiyan wrote:I had a go on my TT. Indeed it does bomb. "Fixed" it by disabling memory protection.


And you were booting from an ACSI device? Very interesting. The main difference between ACSI and SCSI is that SCSI can DMA to both ST- and TT-RAM, while ACSI can only DMA to ST-RAM and needs a buffer in ST-RAM when transferring data to/from TT-RAM. Which harddisk driver are you using?

emcclariion wrote:Boot logging was described on my post this morning...


I mean the "Log to file" feature you can find in MiNT's bootmenu. Same menu where you enable/disable memoryprotection.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
Gaiyan
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 402
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 3:39 pm
Contact:

Re: strange Mint issue

Postby Gaiyan » Tue Mar 12, 2019 8:19 pm

joska wrote:
Gaiyan wrote:I had a go on my TT. Indeed it does bomb. "Fixed" it by disabling memory protection.


And you were booting from an ACSI device? Very interesting. The main difference between ACSI and SCSI is that SCSI can DMA to both ST- and TT-RAM, while ACSI can only DMA to ST-RAM and needs a buffer in ST-RAM when transferring data to/from TT-RAM. Which harddisk driver are you using?


Nope, this was Thunder IDE and HDDRIVER 10.14
Image


Social Media

     

Return to “Professionals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests