NOVA adapter for TT, ATI MACH 64

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, [ProToS], lp, moondog/.tSCc., Moderator Team

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 444
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

NOVA adapter for TT, ATI MACH 64

Postby Kroll » Sat Mar 03, 2018 9:17 pm

HI,
I just got a NOVA adapter for testing. I have an Atari TT computer and I wanted to test it with the ATI MACH 64 card. At the moment I have put GAL SuperNova Plus, and driver from Idek webpage. After running the emulator.prg file the following message appears on the screen: TT Mach64 by Idek from September 22, 2016
Unfortunately, I do not know why, but I can only work in mono for example 800x600 or 1024x768, no attempt at 256 colors or higher that are not working.
Is it GAL for this card and if there are any other drivers ?

User avatar
paul92706
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1402
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 4:28 am
Location: Orange, CA

Re: NOVA adapter for TT, ATI MACH 64

Postby paul92706 » Tue Mar 06, 2018 4:08 pm

Did you set up your video config in Menu.prg i believe thats the name, its been so long i have used my TT with Nova and graphics card.
Atari Falcon CT60/CTPCI 14MB+ 512mb ATI9250 + NetUSBee
Atari Falcon030 CF 4gb + NetUSBee+ 14MB Ram
Atari TT030 2meg STRAM/16meg TTRAM + Nova Adaptor +Maxtor SCSI HD + DaynaPort Pocket SCSI

tuxie
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 3:39 pm

Re: NOVA adapter for TT, ATI MACH 64

Postby tuxie » Tue Mar 06, 2018 4:17 pm

Hello,
the ordering of the files in the Auto folder is important

emulator.prg
menu.prg
sta_vdi.prg
and there must be the emulator.bib and the sta_vdi.bib

when the menu is loaded you have to set the resolution and you have to set the output to Nova without GDOS (or something like this)

then it should work. I suggest to validate the resolution and when the res is working then you can save the values.

Regards

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 444
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: NOVA adapter for TT, ATI MACH 64

Postby Kroll » Wed Mar 07, 2018 12:34 am

OK I solved the problem, I had to change the jumper, I had probably set on my NOVA adapter for the Mega STE computer and not for TT :), and now I was able to get on my card the resolution 800x600x32 bits 1280x1024x256 colors
Thank you

Rustynutt
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 589
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon
Contact:

Re: NOVA adapter for TT, ATI MACH 64

Postby Rustynutt » Wed Jul 25, 2018 6:30 am

Cool, another happy video card user!
With all the neat hardware still being developed, amazing how one of the first enhancements in the Atari world is still spreading across the platform.

mzry
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 490
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: NOVA adapter for TT, ATI MACH 64

Postby mzry » Wed Aug 08, 2018 12:05 pm

What is the highest res you can use with the Mach64 in 24bit colour? I have one and it seems 800x600 is the highest, ideally I'd like 1024x768 if someone has a configuration file for me, if it is possible.
Falcon ct63e 060 - 256mb ram - phantom bus and dsp accel // Atari TT - Thunder and Storm IDE 64mb ram - Lightning VME - USB LAN - Ati Mach64 2mb

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1638
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: NOVA adapter for TT, ATI MACH 64

Postby frank.lukas » Wed Aug 08, 2018 12:37 pm

You have a MACH64 2MB Videoram card !?!

My MACH64 4MB Card can with the Atari TT 1280x1024/24bit 16,7Mill Colors ...
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

mzry
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 490
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: NOVA adapter for TT, ATI MACH 64

Postby mzry » Wed Aug 08, 2018 12:39 pm

wow, ok. Yes mine is 2mb but the Nova menu doesn't give me options for 1024x768 24bit which is what I would like. Menu gives me the option to try 1280x1024 24bit but when Mint loads I get 'out of sync error' on the monitor, so I was assuming that my card couldn't do it. Maybe I should try another monitor.
Falcon ct63e 060 - 256mb ram - phantom bus and dsp accel // Atari TT - Thunder and Storm IDE 64mb ram - Lightning VME - USB LAN - Ati Mach64 2mb

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1638
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: NOVA adapter for TT, ATI MACH 64

Postby frank.lukas » Wed Aug 08, 2018 1:41 pm

a 2MB card can make 1280x1024/256 Colors, 1024x768/15-16bit or 800x600/24bit colors ...
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE


Social Media

     

Return to “Professionals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests