Corrupt Newdesk.inf help

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

User avatar
mrbombermillzy
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 95
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2016 9:24 am

Corrupt Newdesk.inf help

Postby mrbombermillzy » Sat Aug 19, 2017 1:52 pm

I was mucking around with some German resolution enhancing PD utilities and managed to get myself into a bit of a pickle... :oops:

What I need to know is:

1.) Can I bypass the loading of the newdesk.inf file during boot? (So I can replace it)

2.) Does anyone know what the AES/VDI settings are in the .inf file? (To restore the 640x400x8 mode!)

Many thanks for any help here! I dont want to have to spend several hours imaging ~20Gb of data then dumping it back to the drive, (hoping it doesnt glitch and I lose all my partitions/data) just to reset this! lol

I can print a copy of my newdesk.inf file here if needed.

mikro
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1286
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: Corrupt Newdesk.inf help

Postby mikro » Sun Aug 20, 2017 4:07 am

Boot with CONTROL pressed, delete newdesk.inf and reboot.

User avatar
mrbombermillzy
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 95
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2016 9:24 am

Re: Corrupt Newdesk.inf help

Postby mrbombermillzy » Sun Aug 20, 2017 6:52 am

Thats great! Many thanks Mikro.

Now if only I can figure out how to remove the oversize 800x600 VDI/AES setting from my older saved newdesk.inf I wont have to scrap it and lose my cecile HDD partitions info. Perhaps theres some sort of document covering the desktop inf data?

Perhaps I should also mention its for a Falcon! :)

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11976
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Corrupt Newdesk.inf help

Postby wongck » Sun Aug 20, 2017 7:21 am

I think you can only set up to 640x480 using the standard desktop resolution.
For that 800x600 you probably have a program in Auto that sets it.
unless you have some other video hardware not mentioned.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
mrbombermillzy
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 95
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2016 9:24 am

Re: Corrupt Newdesk.inf help

Postby mrbombermillzy » Sun Aug 20, 2017 7:43 am

I removed everything from the auto folder. To be fair, I only had a TOS4.0x patcher and mouse accelerator in there anyway. That was my first thought and it didnt make any difference.

So I looked into it and apparently the newdesk.inf file can actually store stuff like screen settings and (apparently) screen sizing through VDI/AES. What I have is like a 'virtual' 806x600 screen that doesnt scroll to show the rest, and the Icons are all too far left and mainly off the screen.

Back to the inf file:
The lines towards the bottom of the file I can pretty much figure out, but the top end of the file reads like a hex editor! :)

Here it is if anyone can figure it out:

#a000000
#b000000
#c7770007000600070055200505552220770557075055507703111103
#d
#K 4F 53 4C 00 46 42 43 57 45 58 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 52 00 00 4D 56 00 00 00 @
#E 18 05 00 06 00 5B 00 00 00 00
#Q 41 70 73 70 7D 70
#W 00 00 08 06 4C 0C 00 C:\*.*@
#W 00 00 06 0F 4C 09 00 @
#W 00 00 0A 0F 34 09 00 @
#W 00 00 0E 01 34 09 00 @
#W 00 00 04 07 4C 0C 00 @
#W 00 00 0C 0B 4C 09 00 @
#W 00 00 08 0F 34 09 00 @
#W 00 00 06 01 34 09 00 @
#N FF 04 000 @ *.*@ @
#D FF 01 000 @ *.*@ @
#G 03 FF 000 *.APP@ @ @
#G 03 FF 000 *.PRG@ @ @
#Y 03 FF 000 *.GTP@ @ @
#P 03 FF 000 *.TTP@ @ @
#F 03 04 000 *.TOS@ @ @
#G 03 04 000 E:\STZIP26\STZIP.PRG@ *.ZIP@ @
#M 00 01 0B FF C SYSTEM OS@ @
#M 00 00 00 FF A FLOPPY DISK@ @
#M 01 00 00 FF B FLOPPY DISK@ @
#T 00 07 02 FF TRASH@ @
#M 00 02 0B FF D GAMES@ @
#M 00 03 0B FF E UTILITIES@ @
#M 00 04 0B FF F PROGRAMMING@ @
#M 00 05 0B FF G GRAPHICS@ @
#M 01 01 0B FF H AUDIO@ @
#M 01 02 0B FF I DEMOS@ @
#M 01 03 0B FF J DISKMAGS@ @
#M 01 04 0B FF K DOCUMENTS@ @
Last edited by mrbombermillzy on Sun Aug 20, 2017 10:10 am, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
mrbombermillzy
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 95
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2016 9:24 am

Re: Corrupt Newdesk.inf help

Postby mrbombermillzy » Sun Aug 20, 2017 7:50 am

I actually found a scanned computer mag article from ~1991 which explained some of the letter meanings and flag info, but It was for an older TOS (probably 1.02/1.4) and didnt mention any screen resolution info, just screen colour pattern. Maybe this didnt feature till later TOS versions?

User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1544
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: Corrupt Newdesk.inf help

Postby Eero Tamminen » Sun Aug 20, 2017 9:21 am

mrbombermillzy wrote:Now if only I can figure out how to remove the oversize 800x600 VDI/AES setting from my older saved newdesk.inf I wont have to scrap it and lose my cecile HDD partitions info. Perhaps theres some sort of document covering the desktop inf data?

Perhaps I should also mention its for a Falcon! :)


This was discussed a while ago on the emutos-devel mailing list as Roger has been adding *a lot* of missing GEM desktop functionality to EmuTOS lately. There were some news articles about it and the attached document.

For older machines the INF file machine format is documented, but unfortunately not the TOS 4.x additions (resolutions).
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
mrbombermillzy
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 95
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2016 9:24 am

Re: Corrupt Newdesk.inf help

Postby mrbombermillzy » Sun Aug 20, 2017 9:30 am

Thats the article that I was referring to.

I have seen books covering the AES/VDI, but they were published well before the Falcon appeared and I expect all the later features are not documented there.

User avatar
mrbombermillzy
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 95
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2016 9:24 am

Re: Corrupt Newdesk.inf help

Postby mrbombermillzy » Sun Aug 20, 2017 10:07 am

For those who need information on the older desktop.inf file, I found that ST News Vol.6 Issue.2 had a very concise article by Richard Karsmakers, with a very clear layout describing whats in the inf file.

At a push, I will just pull out the stuff that isnt covered in the article (maybe one line at a time!) until I have restored the corrupt resolution and the machine doesnt bomb out!

mikro
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1286
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: Corrupt Newdesk.inf help

Postby mikro » Sun Aug 20, 2017 11:01 am

mrbombermillzy wrote:Now if only I can figure out how to remove the oversize 800x600 VDI/AES setting from my older saved newdesk.inf I wont have to scrap it and lose my cecile HDD partitions info.

I think you're mixing unrelated stuff together. I'm 99.9% sure that Cecile doesn't store anything in NEWDESK.INF. If you're referring to hard disk partition icons, those are easy to recreate.

User avatar
mfro
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 676
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 10:33 am
Location: SW Germany

Re: Corrupt Newdesk.inf help

Postby mfro » Sun Aug 20, 2017 2:28 pm


User avatar
grobda
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 70
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 2:04 pm

Re: Corrupt Newdesk.inf help

Postby grobda » Sun Aug 20, 2017 3:30 pm

nice info, came across this thread trying to get rid of the damn cross hatch pattern on newdesk.inf for low/med resolutions as it looks really ugly on my CRT (#Q 41 40 43 40 43 40 -> #Q 41 40 73 70 73 70)

User avatar
mrbombermillzy
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 95
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2016 9:24 am

Re: Corrupt Newdesk.inf help

Postby mrbombermillzy » Sun Aug 20, 2017 9:05 pm

mikro wrote:
mrbombermillzy wrote:Now if only I can figure out how to remove the oversize 800x600 VDI/AES setting from my older saved newdesk.inf I wont have to scrap it and lose my cecile HDD partitions info.

I think you're mixing unrelated stuff together. I'm 99.9% sure that Cecile doesn't store anything in NEWDESK.INF. If you're referring to hard disk partition icons, those are easy to recreate.


Yes, I just meant the icons really. I wasnt sure how much info about the HDD was stored in the inf file and how much would be lost. Definitely did not want any risk of losing HDD data or even trying to remember the names of the drives for that matter! Thanks for clearing that up.

@Mfro: Thanks! It looks like we are starting to really get somewhere now!

:cheers:

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11976
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Corrupt Newdesk.inf help

Postby wongck » Sun Aug 20, 2017 11:33 pm

You may have saw this alredy
https://web.archive.org/web/20070630164 ... rv_kit.htm
Search for video settings, it is #E with all bits detailed out.
Falcon relevance towards the end of that section.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

mikro
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1286
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: Corrupt Newdesk.inf help

Postby mikro » Mon Aug 21, 2017 4:30 am

mrbombermillzy wrote:Yes, I just meant the icons really. I wasnt sure how much info about the HDD was stored in the inf file and how much would be lost. Definitely did not want any risk of losing HDD data or even trying to remember the names of the drives for that matter! Thanks for clearing that up.

Uhm so instead just booting with CONTROL, removing the old INF file, going to Options -> Install new devices (or so, forgot exact wording) in the Desktop and saving a new INF file you rather study the internal structure of NEWDESK.INF and ask 10 other people for advice, only to preserve your precious icon labels. ;)

User avatar
mrbombermillzy
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 95
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2016 9:24 am

Re: Corrupt Newdesk.inf help

Postby mrbombermillzy » Mon Aug 21, 2017 6:58 pm

@Mikro: lol. Not sure I asked 10 people for advice! Im basking in the information kindly supplied by the people here and trying to share my findings too! :)
Im pretty new at the more technical side of the ST/Falcon and Im not aware that I could re-install the HDD partition icons from a 'clean' save of newdesk.inf.(I didnt know 'Install Device..' would recognise the partitions). Perhaps Im being overly cautious, as its taken me a few months (!) to get my partitions how I want them...I didnt want to take the slightest risk until I was sure it wont bork the HDD!

Im sure I can sort it out ok, but would rather have as much info on the subject as possible, as blindly ripping parts out caused crashed desktops with bombs. It would be nice to know any ancillary information as it could be useful for other stuff.
Thankfully, I probably have enough provided links here to really get to actually understand the desktop information file. Thanks for that guys.

And for the record, from a learners point of view, Atari OS/DOS stuff is SO MUCH MORE straightforward than the Amiga equivalent, that its not even funny.

@wongck: Thats a great guide. Thanks.

User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1544
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: Corrupt Newdesk.inf help

Postby Eero Tamminen » Mon Aug 21, 2017 8:50 pm

mrbombermillzy wrote:Im sure I can sort it out ok, but would rather have as much info on the subject as possible, as blindly ripping parts out caused crashed desktops with bombs.


In general you're not supposed to edit INF files directly. :-)

The white space at the end of (some of) the lines in the INF file is significant.

User avatar
mrbombermillzy
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 95
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2016 9:24 am

Re: Corrupt Newdesk.inf help

Postby mrbombermillzy » Tue Aug 22, 2017 7:13 am

Oh. Thats interesting to know.

TBH, I would never have even touched the inf file had I not run some program that messed it up. However, as stated earlier, its good to learn this stuff anyway.

User avatar
grobda
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 70
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 2:04 pm

Re: Corrupt Newdesk.inf help

Postby grobda » Tue Aug 22, 2017 7:57 am

Eero Tamminen wrote:
mrbombermillzy wrote:Im sure I can sort it out ok, but would rather have as much info on the subject as possible, as blindly ripping parts out caused crashed desktops with bombs.


In general you're not supposed to edit INF files directly. :-)

The white space at the end of (some of) the lines in the INF file is significant.


You're not supposed to do a lot of stuff, wouldn't be much of a scene if everyone took their machine to an authorized service centre ;p

User avatar
mrbombermillzy
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 95
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2016 9:24 am

Re: Corrupt Newdesk.inf help

Postby mrbombermillzy » Wed Aug 23, 2017 6:47 pm

I managed to get some 'falcon time' tonight and attempted to boot...

OK, it seems holding CTRL at the right time (after the mem test) allows me to get to the desktop. Great! Ive got drive C: contents now. Im on the winning straight! Brilliant! :)
Last edited by mrbombermillzy on Wed Aug 23, 2017 7:18 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
mrbombermillzy
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 95
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2016 9:24 am

Re: Corrupt Newdesk.inf help

Postby mrbombermillzy » Wed Aug 23, 2017 7:08 pm

Everything is now back to as it was before that fateful day.

Many thanks for all your patience and help everyone!


Social Media

     

Return to “Professionals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest