Atari Falcon advice

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2047
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: Atari Falcon advice

Postby calimero » Wed Aug 09, 2017 3:31 pm

Just format flopy in HD format on PC and Falcon will read it.
Or you can format HD flopy on Falcon and PC will read it (select A icon on desktop and "Format" from dropdown menu).
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X

User avatar
trecool
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 127
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2016 2:49 pm
Location: Greece

Re: Atari Falcon advice

Postby trecool » Wed Aug 09, 2017 5:08 pm

I had some issues installing Magic on my Falcon. Some weird German error messages during the boot sequence(not always). At first I thought it had to do with hw or hd driver/cf card compatibility...I really can't tell.
Never had issues on my ST though.
I remember installing VanillaMint and feeling so good that I was finally able to use my bird and all this newer sw.
Maybe you should try both systems and tell us what do you think!

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3630
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Atari Falcon advice

Postby joska » Wed Aug 09, 2017 5:14 pm

trecool wrote:I had some issues installing Magic on my Falcon. Some weird German error messages during the boot sequence(not always). At first I thought it had to do with hw or hd driver/cf card compatibility...I really can't tell.


You're not alone. MagiC was never stable on my Falcon either, even if the exact same setup worked fine on a friend's Falcon. No problems on the TT and STE though.
Jo Even

Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3630
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Atari Falcon advice

Postby joska » Wed Aug 09, 2017 5:16 pm

Amigaz wrote:A quick question ... does the Falcon read PC formatted 720k floppys or 1.44mb formatted one's?


It reads both.

Amigaz wrote:I've formatted a 720k floppy on the PC and put some Atari stuff on it but I get a read error on thew Falcon ... the Falcon formats and reads floppys OK


Sounds like one or both of your floppy drives are bad (head alignment). Try formatting a HD disk on the Falcon and copy some stuff to it, and see if your PC can read it.
Jo Even

Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

AtariZoll
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2797
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Atari Falcon advice

Postby AtariZoll » Thu Aug 10, 2017 7:58 am

Amigaz wrote:A quick question ... does the Falcon read PC formatted 720k floppys or 1.44mb formatted one's?
I've formatted a 720k floppy on the PC and put some Atari stuff on it but I get a read error on thew Falcon ... the Falcon formats and reads floppys OK

Yes, it reads at PC used floppy formats (as logical ones) well. But since drives are now very old there are mechanical changes in them - namely the head position can change. It makes no problems when you format/write and read disk on same drive, because it will of course read exactly at same cylinder. But when you put disk in other drive, head may be positioned little away from that cylinder. and then read may be unreliable, and actually even write too, since no pure write (except when format) on disk, there is always some read involved.
Negative feedback has usually positive effect.


Social Media

     

Return to “Professionals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests