MyAES is here!

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

mikro
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1184
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: MyAES is here!

Postby mikro » Wed Aug 23, 2017 11:54 pm

OL wrote:GCC 020 version is still not stable with CT60 it look work as it should with PureC version!

Most likely a strict aliasing error but hard to say without sources... Ha! Now open source would help. ;)

jury
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 150
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 11:11 am
Location: Poland

Re: MyAES is here!

Postby jury » Thu Aug 24, 2017 1:40 pm

mikro wrote:Ha! Now open source would help. ;)


Hmm, I mostly doubt it. It didnt help in solving color problem in scummvm engine :p

mikro
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1184
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: MyAES is here!

Postby mikro » Thu Aug 24, 2017 1:58 pm

jury wrote:
mikro wrote:Ha! Now open source would help. ;)


Hmm, I mostly doubt it. It didnt help in solving color problem in scummvm engine :p

On the contrary, I had sent my patches to Saulot at one point. Open source doesn't guarantee he will share the result with you but that everyone can take a look. ;-)

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11852
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: MyAES is here!

Postby wongck » Thu Aug 24, 2017 3:45 pm

There are already so many software that source code are available.... but I do not see many of them being picked up and continue developed... like Zorro's zDesk desktop for example. So another piece of software being shared out ( Open source or source make available somewhere) does not means further development.
I rather see OL makes his MyAES better than having source code out in the open left in the dust of internet with the sun setting down over the hills like the ending of an old Western..... ( cue tune of whistling & mouth organ here )
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

mikro
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1184
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: MyAES is here!

Postby mikro » Thu Aug 24, 2017 10:54 pm

wongck: I think all the users of zView and formerly zWeather would strongly disagree with you. Hadn't Zorro released his source code, you'd be stuck with beta6 forever. The only reason why I didn't pick up zDesk as well was that I wasn't interested in yet another desktop but I did make it compilable and available at atariforge for the others.

Besides, the point being is that if MyAES had source open, I could have fixed the CT60/gcc issue. Now I can't so we all suffer.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11852
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: MyAES is here!

Postby wongck » Fri Aug 25, 2017 5:42 am

Hi Mikro, Thanks for being one of the most active developers in the community.
Let me clearly say that zDesk is just an example and not pinpoint you for the lack of progress in that program nor designed to spur you to do something.
May be I should have taken another example.... one of those other taskbar with source code released like SMU and MyTask. There are other examples that I can think of.... CD burners, web browsers, text editors etc to improve.

We need a battalion of you so that all these get picked up and we get great programs.

Also, OL did mention that when he leaves Atari, he will release the source codes, so it will be release some day like zDesk did.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2005
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: MyAES is here!

Postby calimero » Fri Aug 25, 2017 6:50 am

I did not realize that zDesk is available at atariforge!

btw
what is real name of Zorro? Did he wrote any Atari program in 80s and 90s?
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X

OL
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 445
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 6:59 am
Contact:

Re: MyAES is here!

Postby OL » Sat Aug 26, 2017 9:18 am

Neurotoxic wrote:Thanks for fixing it. Now MyAES works almost perfectly for me. :D



Unfortunately I can said GCC version of MyAES is not stable while PureC version is ok, but for you, you can use PureC version.

I'm now able to crash PureC when it compil .S files with GCC version (68000 or 68020) while it work fine under PureC. A bit strange but I can try to fix it.

I have found a new bug in protected mode, stupid but it not help at all.

This bug will be probably not easy at all to fix!

Olivier
OL

OL
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 445
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 6:59 am
Contact:

Re: MyAES is here!

Postby OL » Sat Aug 26, 2017 9:30 am

OL wrote:
Neurotoxic wrote:Thanks for fixing it. Now MyAES works almost perfectly for me. :D



Unfortunately I can said GCC version of MyAES is not stable while PureC version is ok, but for you, you can use PureC version.

I'm now able to crash PureC when it compil .S files with GCC version (68000 or 68020) while it work fine under PureC. A bit strange but I can try to fix it.

I have found a new bug in protected mode, stupid but it not help at all.

This bug will be probably not easy at all to fix!

Olivier


Perhaps not so hard, looks like something link to Zorro windframe with GCC, with standard windframe (Eric Reboux) it not crash!
OL

OL
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 445
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 6:59 am
Contact:

Re: MyAES is here!

Postby OL » Sat Aug 26, 2017 6:26 pm

OL wrote:
OL wrote:
Neurotoxic wrote:Thanks for fixing it. Now MyAES works almost perfectly for me. :D



Unfortunately I can said GCC version of MyAES is not stable while PureC version is ok, but for you, you can use PureC version.

I'm now able to crash PureC when it compil .S files with GCC version (68000 or 68020) while it work fine under PureC. A bit strange but I can try to fix it.

I have found a new bug in protected mode, stupid but it not help at all.

This bug will be probably not easy at all to fix!

Olivier


Perhaps not so hard, looks like something link to Zorro windframe with GCC, with standard windframe (Eric Reboux) it not crash!



Today I can said if kernel and windframe are compiled with different compiler there is issue, up to now I provide only PureC with PureC windframe for 68020 target and for other configuration all was compiled with GCC.
I have compiled today Zorro windframe with GCC and now looks work nice with GCC kernel but PureC crash and other applications with this windframe with PureC kernel, after check I thought have found an idea some register was not save in this case, I fix it and it continue to crash :-(
Now I don't know if it fix issues on CT60 with GCC in this case I could provide GCC only. I have sent to some users new archive for test.

Olivier
OL

OL
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 445
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 6:59 am
Contact:

Re: MyAES is here!

Postby OL » Sat Aug 26, 2017 7:29 pm

Hello

I think now issue is fixed!

you can doanload the patch:

http://myaes.lutece.net/telechargement/patch097.zip

Cross finger
OL

OL
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 445
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 6:59 am
Contact:

Re: MyAES is here!

Postby OL » Sun Aug 27, 2017 7:24 am

OL wrote:Hello

I think now issue is fixed!

you can doanload the patch:

http://myaes.lutece.net/telechargement/patch097.zip

Cross finger

First return said : Looks now GCC version work far better under CT60 but new windframe failed :-( so need use default windframe.



Olivier
OL

User avatar
Neurotoxic
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2017 9:29 pm
Location: Bremen (Germany)
Contact:

Re: MyAES is here!

Postby Neurotoxic » Sun Aug 27, 2017 10:05 am

OL wrote:
OL wrote:Hello

I think now issue is fixed!

you can doanload the patch:

http://myaes.lutece.net/telechargement/patch097.zip

Cross finger

First return said : Looks now GCC version work far better under CT60 but new windframe failed :-( so need use default windframe.



Olivier


I tried the most recent kernels on my Milan with the following results:

the pure c kernel just works fine with all winframes (default, dark (old and new) and milk). The gcc kernel just also works fine on my Milan with all the winframes.

I've got problems when using the milk winframe. Sometimes the upper strip and all the other window elements aren't displayed. A total white window is than displayed and in the upper strip "name" is displayed. I couldn't reproduce this strange phenomenon. It just sometimes happens.

There is also an issue using Atari Works. When Atari Works opens a window a transparent window is displayed that shows the background image. I attached a screenshot to this post showing the phenomenon. The white rectangle in the screenshot is caused by the fVDI catcher.

P.S. Sorry for the bad quality. I had to shrink the screenshot a little bit to upload it to the forum but the you may recognize the phenomenon I described.

works.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
520 ST(M) (TOS 1.02), Falcon030 (16 MHz, 16 MB RAM, CF-Card, MiNT & MyAES), Milan040 (25 MHz, 48 MB RAM, EasyMiNT 1.90), Firebee, PowerMac G5 Late 2005 (2 x 2,3 GHz, Mac OS 10.5), iMac 4K Late 2015 (intel Core i7 4 x 3,3 GHz, Mac OS 10.11.6), IBM XT SFD (640 KB RAM, DR DOS 6.0), Compaq LTE 5300 (Pentium/133 MHz, DR-DOS 7.03), AT-PC (Cyrix 6x86L/200 MHz, Windows 98 SE/MS-DOS 6.22 & Windows 3.11)

OL
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 445
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 6:59 am
Contact:

Re: MyAES is here!

Postby OL » Sun Aug 27, 2017 4:53 pm

OL wrote:
OL wrote:Hello

I think now issue is fixed!

you can doanload the patch:

http://myaes.lutece.net/telechargement/patch097.zip

Cross finger

First return said : Looks now GCC version work far better under CT60 but new windframe failed :-( so need use default windframe.



Olivier

An other user under CT60 continue to said GCC not work correctly, while PureC is ok, so I continue to try find explanation, the good news is I have fix some bugs even if it's not the main issue it is good to not lost time for nothing!
OL

OL
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 445
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 6:59 am
Contact:

Re: MyAES is here!

Postby OL » Sun Aug 27, 2017 4:56 pm

Neurotoxic wrote:
OL wrote:
OL wrote:Hello

I think now issue is fixed!

you can doanload the patch:

http://myaes.lutece.net/telechargement/patch097.zip

Cross finger

First return said : Looks now GCC version work far better under CT60 but new windframe failed :-( so need use default windframe.



Olivier


I tried the most recent kernels on my Milan with the following results:

the pure c kernel just works fine with all winframes (default, dark (old and new) and milk). The gcc kernel just also works fine on my Milan with all the winframes.

I've got problems when using the milk winframe. Sometimes the upper strip and all the other window elements aren't displayed. A total white window is than displayed and in the upper strip "name" is displayed. I couldn't reproduce this strange phenomenon. It just sometimes happens.

There is also an issue using Atari Works. When Atari Works opens a window a transparent window is displayed that shows the background image. I attached a screenshot to this post showing the phenomenon. The white rectangle in the screenshot is caused by the fVDI catcher.

P.S. Sorry for the bad quality. I had to shrink the screenshot a little bit to upload it to the forum but the you may recognize the phenomenon I described.

works.jpg


For Milk windframe, try just replace dwidget.ldg in milk folder by the dark windframe (coming from the new one)

For Atari Works this is quite old software I suppose it is not very multitask friendly software :-( , I will check but first need fix GCC version before
OL

User avatar
Neurotoxic
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2017 9:29 pm
Location: Bremen (Germany)
Contact:

Re: MyAES is here!

Postby Neurotoxic » Sun Aug 27, 2017 7:54 pm

Thanks for the hint. No need to hurry with fixing the Atari Works bug. First of all try to fix the gcc issue. I think it is important for the ct60 users. :)
520 ST(M) (TOS 1.02), Falcon030 (16 MHz, 16 MB RAM, CF-Card, MiNT & MyAES), Milan040 (25 MHz, 48 MB RAM, EasyMiNT 1.90), Firebee, PowerMac G5 Late 2005 (2 x 2,3 GHz, Mac OS 10.5), iMac 4K Late 2015 (intel Core i7 4 x 3,3 GHz, Mac OS 10.11.6), IBM XT SFD (640 KB RAM, DR DOS 6.0), Compaq LTE 5300 (Pentium/133 MHz, DR-DOS 7.03), AT-PC (Cyrix 6x86L/200 MHz, Windows 98 SE/MS-DOS 6.22 & Windows 3.11)

User avatar
Neurotoxic
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2017 9:29 pm
Location: Bremen (Germany)
Contact:

Re: MyAES is here!

Postby Neurotoxic » Wed Aug 30, 2017 6:21 pm

OL wrote:
For Milk windframe, try just replace dwidget.ldg in milk folder by the dark windframe (coming from the new one)


I did so and I didn't experience any problems until now. There's only a minor issue with the info part of the desktop window. The info part isn't displayed correct anymore. But it's only an issue with the milk winframe. The new dark theme doesn't have this display problem.

window.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
520 ST(M) (TOS 1.02), Falcon030 (16 MHz, 16 MB RAM, CF-Card, MiNT & MyAES), Milan040 (25 MHz, 48 MB RAM, EasyMiNT 1.90), Firebee, PowerMac G5 Late 2005 (2 x 2,3 GHz, Mac OS 10.5), iMac 4K Late 2015 (intel Core i7 4 x 3,3 GHz, Mac OS 10.11.6), IBM XT SFD (640 KB RAM, DR DOS 6.0), Compaq LTE 5300 (Pentium/133 MHz, DR-DOS 7.03), AT-PC (Cyrix 6x86L/200 MHz, Windows 98 SE/MS-DOS 6.22 & Windows 3.11)

OL
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 445
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 6:59 am
Contact:

Re: MyAES is here!

Postby OL » Wed Aug 30, 2017 8:39 pm

Neurotoxic wrote:
OL wrote:
For Milk windframe, try just replace dwidget.ldg in milk folder by the dark windframe (coming from the new one)


I did so and I didn't experience any problems until now. There's only a minor issue with the info part of the desktop window. The info part isn't displayed correct anymore. But it's only an issue with the milk winframe. The new dark theme doesn't have this display problem.

window.jpg


What is the issue, I not see what is wrong on the photo.

Soon new version, the GCC version start to work on CT60

Olivier
OL

User avatar
Neurotoxic
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2017 9:29 pm
Location: Bremen (Germany)
Contact:

Re: MyAES is here!

Postby Neurotoxic » Thu Aug 31, 2017 6:44 am

OL wrote:What is the issue, I not see what is wrong on the photo.


In the information part of the window (just the part under the title bar) usually e.g. "23567 bytes used in 20 items" are displayed. I'm using the the german version of teradesk so the translation of this part would be "23567 Bytes in 20 Objekten". You may recognize that the part "23567 Bytes" is missing.
520 ST(M) (TOS 1.02), Falcon030 (16 MHz, 16 MB RAM, CF-Card, MiNT & MyAES), Milan040 (25 MHz, 48 MB RAM, EasyMiNT 1.90), Firebee, PowerMac G5 Late 2005 (2 x 2,3 GHz, Mac OS 10.5), iMac 4K Late 2015 (intel Core i7 4 x 3,3 GHz, Mac OS 10.11.6), IBM XT SFD (640 KB RAM, DR DOS 6.0), Compaq LTE 5300 (Pentium/133 MHz, DR-DOS 7.03), AT-PC (Cyrix 6x86L/200 MHz, Windows 98 SE/MS-DOS 6.22 & Windows 3.11)

OL
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 445
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 6:59 am
Contact:

Re: MyAES is here!

Postby OL » Thu Aug 31, 2017 5:52 pm

Neurotoxic wrote:
OL wrote:What is the issue, I not see what is wrong on the photo.


In the information part of the window (just the part under the title bar) usually e.g. "23567 bytes used in 20 items" are displayed. I'm using the the german version of teradesk so the translation of this part would be "23567 Bytes in 20 Objekten". You may recognize that the part "23567 Bytes" is missing.



Ok I see with the new dwidgets.ldg?
OL

User avatar
Neurotoxic
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2017 9:29 pm
Location: Bremen (Germany)
Contact:

Re: MyAES is here!

Postby Neurotoxic » Thu Aug 31, 2017 6:40 pm

OL wrote:Ok I see with the new dwidgets.ldg?


Yes. Using the new dwidgets.ldg in the milk theme causes this problem. The new dark theme doesn't have this problem.
520 ST(M) (TOS 1.02), Falcon030 (16 MHz, 16 MB RAM, CF-Card, MiNT & MyAES), Milan040 (25 MHz, 48 MB RAM, EasyMiNT 1.90), Firebee, PowerMac G5 Late 2005 (2 x 2,3 GHz, Mac OS 10.5), iMac 4K Late 2015 (intel Core i7 4 x 3,3 GHz, Mac OS 10.11.6), IBM XT SFD (640 KB RAM, DR DOS 6.0), Compaq LTE 5300 (Pentium/133 MHz, DR-DOS 7.03), AT-PC (Cyrix 6x86L/200 MHz, Windows 98 SE/MS-DOS 6.22 & Windows 3.11)

OL
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 445
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 6:59 am
Contact:

Re: MyAES is here!

Postby OL » Thu Aug 31, 2017 8:56 pm

Neurotoxic wrote:
OL wrote:Ok I see with the new dwidgets.ldg?


Yes. Using the new dwidgets.ldg in the milk theme causes this problem. The new dark theme doesn't have this problem.


I'm able reproduce issue. The short term solution is to edit skin.cnf (text file) from milk folder, search "title_x_pos=1" to replace by: "title_x_pos=0"
OL

User avatar
Neurotoxic
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2017 9:29 pm
Location: Bremen (Germany)
Contact:

Re: MyAES is here!

Postby Neurotoxic » Fri Sep 01, 2017 8:45 pm

OL wrote:I'm able reproduce issue. The short term solution is to edit skin.cnf (text file) from milk folder, search "title_x_pos=1" to replace by: "title_x_pos=0"


Thanks. Now it's working. The information part of the window is displayed correctly. But the path in the title bar is now aligned to the left side. That's not a great problem for me. :)

Hopefully you can solve the ct60 issues.

Window.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
520 ST(M) (TOS 1.02), Falcon030 (16 MHz, 16 MB RAM, CF-Card, MiNT & MyAES), Milan040 (25 MHz, 48 MB RAM, EasyMiNT 1.90), Firebee, PowerMac G5 Late 2005 (2 x 2,3 GHz, Mac OS 10.5), iMac 4K Late 2015 (intel Core i7 4 x 3,3 GHz, Mac OS 10.11.6), IBM XT SFD (640 KB RAM, DR DOS 6.0), Compaq LTE 5300 (Pentium/133 MHz, DR-DOS 7.03), AT-PC (Cyrix 6x86L/200 MHz, Windows 98 SE/MS-DOS 6.22 & Windows 3.11)

OL
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 445
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 6:59 am
Contact:

Re: MyAES is here!

Postby OL » Sat Sep 09, 2017 12:29 pm

Hello all

new patch097.zip is available on MyAES website and full version have been updated too

I have fix a bug in windows rectangle list the impact was possible memory corruption with windows Backup option (perhaps other case I don't know this was a bug since first version of MyAES!)

Fix my new version of Zorro windframe, now alignment of info should be ok even with option title_x_pos=1 set in skin.cnf (this is the case with milk windframe)

Olivier
OL

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 314
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: MyAES is here!

Postby Kroll » Sat Sep 09, 2017 9:51 pm

Hello,
I noticed some abnormalities in displaying icons in the new version of Yopla (Myaes097),
Programs like:
PHweather,
PHclock,
FTPserver,
GEMJING,
MEG
I run at system startup and does not display icons (see appendix).
Yopla_new.jpg


How to load Yopla in older version (yopla.prg file is 26,346 bytes long and yopla.rsc has 166,222 bytes, is displayed correctly (see appendix)

Yopla_old.jpg


What do you think about it?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Social Media

     

Return to “Professionals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron