MyAES is here!

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

User avatar
leech
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 869
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: MyAES is here!

Postby leech » Sun Oct 15, 2017 7:28 pm

I wish zdesk had been finished, it looked quite nice!
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (fully upgraded (soon!))
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

mikro
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1288
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: MyAES is here!

Postby mikro » Sun Oct 15, 2017 10:34 pm

Neurotoxic wrote:I think Mathias from the acp project was in contact with him due to zDesk perhaps we should ask him how to contact Zorro?

IIRC, even he lost him after some time. My last contact with him is from 2013. Then I tried writing him in 2016 about zDesk sources (as those on atariforge are too old) but no reply.

User avatar
Neurotoxic
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 91
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2017 9:29 pm
Location: Bremen (Germany)
Contact:

Re: MyAES is here!

Postby Neurotoxic » Mon Oct 16, 2017 7:20 am

mikro wrote:IIRC, even he lost him after some time. My last contact with him is from 2013. Then I tried writing him in 2016 about zDesk sources (as those on atariforge are too old) but no reply.


That's really bad. :( zDesk would have been a wonderful desktop for the firebee and for the fast Ataris and clones. With that application the functionality of the Finder of Mac OS 9 could have been reached . That would have been great! I think a really good desktop is missing the Atari world. We've got jinnee which isn't bad at all but the sources are lost and it's not working on the Firebee. But it has a very good functionality, perhaps sometimes to much. I'm using this desktop with Magic Milan. Than there's the Thing Desktop. That's a wonderful desktop for sure. I like it's functionality. It's perfect for me but it's not capable of using modern icons of 256 colours. So you've good the ugly look of the early or mid 90ies. That's really disappointing. And there is teradesk. You can give this desktop a very nice and modern look by using modern icon sets but it's functionality is very limited. I don't like it. There's also MDesk ahead. I'm not sure which way it will go? It has a nice look but I think for my needs it's to limited, too. So zDesk would have been the right solution for a modern Atari clone. A nice and modern look and a satisfying functionality that's like the Finder of Mac OS 9 and not like the concept of Teradesk that just copies the functionality of the original GEM desktop. That might be the right solution for the ST, Falcon and TT or the FPGA clones like the MIST but not for a high end clone like the Firebee. Just my opinion. I hope, I my not annoying anyone here.

Perhaps OL is still in contact with him? Did you try to contact Zorro via his youtube account? He uploaded a few videos of zDesk there. But I think you've done that already. I think he had or still has a facebook account. I once wrote to him via his facebook account to encourage him to keep on the development of zDesk but I've never got an answer. Does anyone know his real name or where he's living?
520 ST(M) (TOS 1.02), Falcon030 (16 MHz, 16 MB RAM, CF-Card, MiNT & MyAES), Milan040 (25 MHz, 48 MB RAM, EasyMiNT 1.90), Firebee, PowerMac G5 Late 2005 (2 x 2,3 GHz, Mac OS 10.5), iMac 4K Late 2015 (intel Core i7 4 x 3,3 GHz, Mac OS 10.11.6), IBM XT SFD (640 KB RAM, DR DOS 6.0), Compaq LTE 5300 (Pentium/133 MHz, DR-DOS 7.03), AT-PC (Cyrix 6x86L/200 MHz, Windows 98 SE/MS-DOS 6.22 & Windows 3.11)

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11976
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: MyAES is here!

Postby wongck » Mon Oct 16, 2017 11:15 am

It would be great if zDesk can be developed further.

IIRC, OL also has a desktop.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

OL
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 466
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 6:59 am
Contact:

Re: MyAES is here!

Postby OL » Mon Oct 16, 2017 6:54 pm

Neurotoxic wrote:
mikro wrote:IIRC, even he lost him after some time. My last contact with him is from 2013. Then I tried writing him in 2016 about zDesk sources (as those on atariforge are too old) but no reply.


That's really bad. :( zDesk would have been a wonderful desktop for the firebee and for the fast Ataris and clones. With that application the functionality of the Finder of Mac OS 9 could have been reached . That would have been great! I think a really good desktop is missing the Atari world. We've got jinnee which isn't bad at all but the sources are lost and it's not working on the Firebee. But it has a very good functionality, perhaps sometimes to much. I'm using this desktop with Magic Milan. Than there's the Thing Desktop. That's a wonderful desktop for sure. I like it's functionality. It's perfect for me but it's not capable of using modern icons of 256 colours. So you've good the ugly look of the early or mid 90ies. That's really disappointing. And there is teradesk. You can give this desktop a very nice and modern look by using modern icon sets but it's functionality is very limited. I don't like it. There's also MDesk ahead. I'm not sure which way it will go? It has a nice look but I think for my needs it's to limited, too. So zDesk would have been the right solution for a modern Atari clone. A nice and modern look and a satisfying functionality that's like the Finder of Mac OS 9 and not like the concept of Teradesk that just copies the functionality of the original GEM desktop. That might be the right solution for the ST, Falcon and TT or the FPGA clones like the MIST but not for a high end clone like the Firebee. Just my opinion. I hope, I my not annoying anyone here.

Perhaps OL is still in contact with him? Did you try to contact Zorro via his youtube account? He uploaded a few videos of zDesk there. But I think you've done that already. I think he had or still has a facebook account. I once wrote to him via his facebook account to encourage him to keep on the development of zDesk but I've never got an answer. Does anyone know his real name or where he's living?


I have unfortunately no more contact with Zorro. This really nice guy, very good programmer and nice designer.
OL

OL
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 466
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 6:59 am
Contact:

Re: MyAES is here!

Postby OL » Mon Oct 16, 2017 6:57 pm

wongck wrote:It would be great if zDesk can be developed further.

IIRC, OL also has a desktop.


Yes but I have no time to work on it, MyAES take me all my spare time, and it is designed to be very simple and light weight (even smaller than Teradesk). This is not useful for the moment unfortunately
OL

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11976
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: MyAES is here!

Postby wongck » Mon Oct 16, 2017 11:29 pm

Ah so, there is hope for a nice desktop after MyAES is ready.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

vido
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 536
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 7:39 pm

Re: MyAES is here!

Postby vido » Tue Oct 17, 2017 5:48 am

I dont think MyAES will be ever finished. I believe Olivier will have allways something new to implement of improved. He will have to decide to work on the desktop instead of MyAES. But MyAES is just great!

User avatar
Neurotoxic
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 91
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2017 9:29 pm
Location: Bremen (Germany)
Contact:

Re: MyAES is here!

Postby Neurotoxic » Tue Oct 17, 2017 6:45 am

Olivier just started work on MDesk that's a part of MyAES. So I think there's a chance to have a new nice desktop with a satisfying functionality some day. I think he might finish the work on the AES in the future and only has to make minor changes to MyAES after that. Than he could focus on the desktop of MyAES. It would be nice if there might be a MyAES package in the future budled with MiNT ready to use with some applications like the Firebee FreeMiNT edition.

Isn't there a chance that some talented guys may unite and can finish the development of zDesk in the near future? That would be really great! But the first great obstacle that must be overcome is how to make contact with Zorro? Does he have an account here? But I think that wouldn't help us anyway?
520 ST(M) (TOS 1.02), Falcon030 (16 MHz, 16 MB RAM, CF-Card, MiNT & MyAES), Milan040 (25 MHz, 48 MB RAM, EasyMiNT 1.90), Firebee, PowerMac G5 Late 2005 (2 x 2,3 GHz, Mac OS 10.5), iMac 4K Late 2015 (intel Core i7 4 x 3,3 GHz, Mac OS 10.11.6), IBM XT SFD (640 KB RAM, DR DOS 6.0), Compaq LTE 5300 (Pentium/133 MHz, DR-DOS 7.03), AT-PC (Cyrix 6x86L/200 MHz, Windows 98 SE/MS-DOS 6.22 & Windows 3.11)

vido
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 536
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 7:39 pm

Re: MyAES is here!

Postby vido » Tue Oct 17, 2017 8:10 am

It would be really great if zDesk would be finished! But best wiould be that Zorro would be part of the team or he would continue to develop further alone.
But I also believe to Olivier that sources are bad code.

The best would be to find a Zorros conntact and write him as a group of Atari users a nice thank you letter for work he done for Atari comunitly and we would really like to see zDesk finished ...

User avatar
Neurotoxic
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 91
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2017 9:29 pm
Location: Bremen (Germany)
Contact:

Re: MyAES is here!

Postby Neurotoxic » Tue Oct 17, 2017 8:29 am

vido wrote:The best would be to find a Zorros conntact and write him as a group of Atari users a nice thank you letter for work he done for Atari comunitly and we would really like to see zDesk finished ...


I think that would be the best idea! 8) We could collect a little bit money and add a little present to the letter. Even if he don't want to go on with the development he would give us the newest source code he wrote for zDesk. That by itself would be a great step forward, I think.
520 ST(M) (TOS 1.02), Falcon030 (16 MHz, 16 MB RAM, CF-Card, MiNT & MyAES), Milan040 (25 MHz, 48 MB RAM, EasyMiNT 1.90), Firebee, PowerMac G5 Late 2005 (2 x 2,3 GHz, Mac OS 10.5), iMac 4K Late 2015 (intel Core i7 4 x 3,3 GHz, Mac OS 10.11.6), IBM XT SFD (640 KB RAM, DR DOS 6.0), Compaq LTE 5300 (Pentium/133 MHz, DR-DOS 7.03), AT-PC (Cyrix 6x86L/200 MHz, Windows 98 SE/MS-DOS 6.22 & Windows 3.11)

OL
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 466
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 6:59 am
Contact:

Re: MyAES is here!

Postby OL » Tue Oct 17, 2017 5:18 pm

vido wrote:It would be really great if zDesk would be finished! But best wiould be that Zorro would be part of the team or he would continue to develop further alone.
But I also believe to Olivier that sources are bad code.

The best would be to find a Zorros conntact and write him as a group of Atari users a nice thank you letter for work he done for Atari comunitly and we would really like to see zDesk finished ...



I not understand very well, Zdesk is clean nice code, Zorro is better developper than me!

Mdesk will only work under MyAES.
OL

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3644
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: MyAES is here!

Postby joska » Tue Oct 17, 2017 5:31 pm

Neurotoxic wrote:Than there's the Thing Desktop. That's a wonderful desktop for sure. I like it's functionality. It's perfect for me but it's not capable of using modern icons of 256 colours.


I've used 256 colour icons with Thing! since 1997 or so.
Jo Even

Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
jfl
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 821
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 10:55 pm
Location: Liège, Belgium
Contact:

Re: MyAES is here!

Postby jfl » Tue Oct 17, 2017 6:42 pm

joska wrote:
Neurotoxic wrote:Than there's the Thing Desktop. That's a wonderful desktop for sure. I like it's functionality. It's perfect for me but it's not capable of using modern icons of 256 colours.

I've used 256 colour icons with Thing! since 1997 or so.

I never could get Thing to display 256 colour icons properly. Probably a palette thing but never could figure it out.
Jean-François
GEMDict – GEMClip

OL
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 466
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 6:59 am
Contact:

Re: MyAES is here!

Postby OL » Tue Oct 17, 2017 7:16 pm

vido wrote:I dont think MyAES will be ever finished. I believe Olivier will have allways something new to implement of improved. He will have to decide to work on the desktop instead of MyAES. But MyAES is just great!


I think you are true MyAES will never be finished!

For 0.97 there is still this:
- Fix fileselector issue (difficult I'm not able to compil working version of this software)
- Fix right access on ext2 partition

For 0.98 :
- Multi screen
- New form_do
- Support of pdlg functions
- More useful Mdesk
- Add task manager
- Add single mode
- Finish function of change background desktop
- CTRL + move window or resize to not move or resize window in realtime
...
OL

User avatar
Neurotoxic
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 91
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2017 9:29 pm
Location: Bremen (Germany)
Contact:

Re: MyAES is here!

Postby Neurotoxic » Wed Oct 18, 2017 6:28 am

joska wrote:
Neurotoxic wrote:Than there's the Thing Desktop. That's a wonderful desktop for sure. I like it's functionality. It's perfect for me but it's not capable of using modern icons of 256 colours.


I've used 256 colour icons with Thing! since 1997 or so.


Please tell me how! :)
520 ST(M) (TOS 1.02), Falcon030 (16 MHz, 16 MB RAM, CF-Card, MiNT & MyAES), Milan040 (25 MHz, 48 MB RAM, EasyMiNT 1.90), Firebee, PowerMac G5 Late 2005 (2 x 2,3 GHz, Mac OS 10.5), iMac 4K Late 2015 (intel Core i7 4 x 3,3 GHz, Mac OS 10.11.6), IBM XT SFD (640 KB RAM, DR DOS 6.0), Compaq LTE 5300 (Pentium/133 MHz, DR-DOS 7.03), AT-PC (Cyrix 6x86L/200 MHz, Windows 98 SE/MS-DOS 6.22 & Windows 3.11)

User avatar
Neurotoxic
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 91
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2017 9:29 pm
Location: Bremen (Germany)
Contact:

Re: MyAES is here!

Postby Neurotoxic » Wed Oct 18, 2017 6:38 am

OL wrote:I think you are true MyAES will never be finished!

For 0.97 there is still this:
- Fix fileselector issue (difficult I'm not able to compil working version of this software)
- Fix right access on ext2 partition

For 0.98 :
- Multi screen
- New form_do
- Support of pdlg functions
- More useful Mdesk
- Add task manager
- Add single mode
- Finish function of change background desktop
- CTRL + move window or resize to not move or resize window in realtime
...


The planed changes for version 0.98 are really great! In fact I don't need a multi screen function but a more useful Mdesk and a more smarter way of changing the background image would be really cool. The task manager is indeed a part that I miss a lot. So there are some more things to come. That's very good news. Thanks again for your work.

May there be a possibility that MyAES becomes a multilingual so e. g. an english and/or a german *.rsc file may be used?
520 ST(M) (TOS 1.02), Falcon030 (16 MHz, 16 MB RAM, CF-Card, MiNT & MyAES), Milan040 (25 MHz, 48 MB RAM, EasyMiNT 1.90), Firebee, PowerMac G5 Late 2005 (2 x 2,3 GHz, Mac OS 10.5), iMac 4K Late 2015 (intel Core i7 4 x 3,3 GHz, Mac OS 10.11.6), IBM XT SFD (640 KB RAM, DR DOS 6.0), Compaq LTE 5300 (Pentium/133 MHz, DR-DOS 7.03), AT-PC (Cyrix 6x86L/200 MHz, Windows 98 SE/MS-DOS 6.22 & Windows 3.11)

ldv-01
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 94
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 10:14 pm
Location: Italy

Re: MyAES is here!

Postby ldv-01 » Wed Oct 18, 2017 9:26 am

Same here. On the Falcon, I am able to display 256 color icons properly only when the video mode is set at 256 colors. With a HC/TC video mode the 16 color pictogram is used instead. Lod.

jfl wrote:
joska wrote:
Neurotoxin wrote:Than there's the Thing Desktop. That's a wonderful desktop for sure. I like it's functionality. It's perfect for me but it's not capable of using modern icons of 256 colours.

I've used 256 colour icons with Thing! since 1997 or so.

I never could get Thing to display 256 colour icons properly. Probably a palette thing but never could figure it out.

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3644
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: MyAES is here!

Postby joska » Wed Oct 18, 2017 10:09 am

Neurotoxic wrote:
joska wrote:I've used 256 colour icons with Thing! since 1997 or so.


Please tell me how! :)


By using an ICONS.RSC with 256 colour icons. Running perfectly fine on my Milan in 1280x1024 in 16 bit. Never tested with 32 bit. If the colours are all wrong then put a file "icons.pal" in $THINGDIR. The standard NVDI palette is probably what you want here.

This is with Thing! 1.29 from June 2000.
Jo Even

Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
jfl
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 821
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 10:55 pm
Location: Liège, Belgium
Contact:

Re: MyAES is here!

Postby jfl » Wed Oct 18, 2017 12:29 pm

joska wrote:
Neurotoxic wrote:
joska wrote:I've used 256 colour icons with Thing! since 1997 or so.

Please tell me how! :)

By using an ICONS.RSC with 256 colour icons. Running perfectly fine on my Milan in 1280x1024 in 16 bit. Never tested with 32 bit. If the colours are all wrong then put a file "icons.pal" in $THINGDIR. The standard NVDI palette is probably what you want here.

I'll be damned. I quickly tested this with an ARAnyM session I have here in 32bits and it works. The trick was the "icons.pal" file. I had it under "nvdi5.pal". I'll need to check this on my FireBee but I suspect it will work too. Cheers joska!
Jean-François
GEMDict – GEMClip

User avatar
Neurotoxic
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 91
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2017 9:29 pm
Location: Bremen (Germany)
Contact:

Re: MyAES is here!

Postby Neurotoxic » Wed Oct 18, 2017 12:50 pm

So the linear icon sets from the Firebee website may also work? There are 48 pts sets and one 32 pts set. At least the linear grey 32 pts set might work with the Thing desktop? That would be really nice. Only the small icons are missing but if there's be a chance to use a much more nicer icon set with the Thing desktop that would be great. I will test it tonight on my firebee.
520 ST(M) (TOS 1.02), Falcon030 (16 MHz, 16 MB RAM, CF-Card, MiNT & MyAES), Milan040 (25 MHz, 48 MB RAM, EasyMiNT 1.90), Firebee, PowerMac G5 Late 2005 (2 x 2,3 GHz, Mac OS 10.5), iMac 4K Late 2015 (intel Core i7 4 x 3,3 GHz, Mac OS 10.11.6), IBM XT SFD (640 KB RAM, DR DOS 6.0), Compaq LTE 5300 (Pentium/133 MHz, DR-DOS 7.03), AT-PC (Cyrix 6x86L/200 MHz, Windows 98 SE/MS-DOS 6.22 & Windows 3.11)

User avatar
jfl
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 821
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 10:55 pm
Location: Liège, Belgium
Contact:

Re: MyAES is here!

Postby jfl » Wed Oct 18, 2017 1:15 pm

Neurotoxic wrote:So the linear icon sets from the Firebee website may also work?

That's the icon set I tried.
Jean-François
GEMDict – GEMClip

User avatar
Neurotoxic
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 91
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2017 9:29 pm
Location: Bremen (Germany)
Contact:

Re: MyAES is here!

Postby Neurotoxic » Wed Oct 18, 2017 6:20 pm

Thank you very much joska! What a great tip! 8)

The Thing Desktop is even working with the FB-Basic icon set! That's a 48 pts set!

http://firebee.org/fb-bin/news?action=full_news&idnews=424&lng=EN&offset=0

So there is no cause to use all these nice icon sets that were made for Teradesk with the Thing desktop. I think the firebee site needs an update! :D Only the mini icons are missing. Perhaps we could ask L. Zanier to add some?

Good bye teradesk! I'm going to use the Thing desktop with the FB-Basic icon set and MyAES with the dark skin on my Firebee. That's going to rock! 8)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
520 ST(M) (TOS 1.02), Falcon030 (16 MHz, 16 MB RAM, CF-Card, MiNT & MyAES), Milan040 (25 MHz, 48 MB RAM, EasyMiNT 1.90), Firebee, PowerMac G5 Late 2005 (2 x 2,3 GHz, Mac OS 10.5), iMac 4K Late 2015 (intel Core i7 4 x 3,3 GHz, Mac OS 10.11.6), IBM XT SFD (640 KB RAM, DR DOS 6.0), Compaq LTE 5300 (Pentium/133 MHz, DR-DOS 7.03), AT-PC (Cyrix 6x86L/200 MHz, Windows 98 SE/MS-DOS 6.22 & Windows 3.11)

OL
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 466
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 6:59 am
Contact:

Re: MyAES is here!

Postby OL » Mon Nov 13, 2017 10:54 pm

Hello all

new fixs for Myaes 0.97:

- Fix objc_edit possible issue some caracter could not display depending content of template field
- Cursor edit field was not displayed at start
- Reduce memory splitting using jpeg.ldg (typically when was loaded backgroung desktop photo)
- Alert box button was quite difficult to hit, this is now fixed

All is on MyAES web page

Have fun

Olivier
OL

marss
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2002 12:29 pm

Re: MyAES is here!

Postby marss » Tue Nov 14, 2017 7:36 am

thanks


Social Media

     

Return to “Professionals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests