NVDI - More fonts?

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

mzry
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 261
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:39 pm

NVDI - More fonts?

Postby mzry » Sat Dec 24, 2016 6:38 am

Heyas,

My NVDI only has franklin gothic and some other font installed, anyone know where I can get some more?

Thanks,

User avatar
jfl
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 805
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 10:55 pm
Location: Liège, Belgium
Contact:

Re: NVDI - More fonts?

Postby jfl » Sat Dec 24, 2016 7:55 am

mzry wrote:My NVDI only has franklin gothic and some other font installed, anyone know where I can get some more?

Depending on your NVDI version, anywhere you can get Speedo or TrueType or Postcript Type 1 fonts.
Jean-François
GEMDict – GEMClip

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11845
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: NVDI - More fonts?

Postby wongck » Sat Dec 24, 2016 8:37 am

NVDI 3 & above, you can just add True Type fonts that you find on the web. Just drop then into your C:\BTFONTS folder.
(some TTF may not work).
Reboot and you may find extra in your font list.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

mzry
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 261
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: NVDI - More fonts?

Postby mzry » Sat Dec 24, 2016 9:08 am

Thx a lot :) I tried it out and works great.

By the way, I can't seem to set my desktop font in Teradesk, it only allows me to use the system font. Do you guys know how I can change that? Thx

User avatar
jfl
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 805
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 10:55 pm
Location: Liège, Belgium
Contact:

Re: NVDI - More fonts?

Postby jfl » Sat Dec 24, 2016 9:39 am

mzry wrote:By the way, I can't seem to set my desktop font in Teradesk, it only allows me to use the system font. Do you guys know how I can change that? Thx

Teradesk only accepts monospaced fonts (like GDOS fonts, Courier, or any font with 'mono' in the name).
Jean-François
GEMDict – GEMClip

mzry
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 261
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: NVDI - More fonts?

Postby mzry » Sat Dec 24, 2016 10:02 am

Ah cool thanks. I got the directory font change to work, but there doesn't seem to be a way to set desktop icon text fonts or the top menu fonts.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11845
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: NVDI - More fonts?

Postby wongck » Sat Dec 24, 2016 10:06 am

Are you using TOS or Mint?
For TOS, you need to edit your assign.sys file.
For Mint, you can change with XaAES config file.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

mzry
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 261
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: NVDI - More fonts?

Postby mzry » Sat Dec 24, 2016 10:08 am

Mint, okay I'll check out my XaAES file. Thx again :)

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11845
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: NVDI - More fonts?

Postby wongck » Sat Dec 24, 2016 10:11 am

Should be inside your EXAMPLE.CNF.
Search for font_id.
Comments explains everything. have fun. :)
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 638
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Brasil
Contact:

Re: NVDI - More fonts?

Postby Faucon2001 » Sat Dec 24, 2016 12:36 pm

In fact for both TOS and Mint you can declare the system font in assign.sys once you use NVDI by putting a "s" in front of it, see example below.

Code: Select all

PATH = C:\GEMSYS

01p SCREEN.SYS
s monaco08.fnt
s monaco09.fnt
s monaco10.fnt
s monaco20.fnt

02p SCREEN.SYS
s monaco08.fnt
s monaco09.fnt
s monaco10.fnt
s monaco20.fnt

03p SCREEN.SYS
s monaco08.fnt
s monaco09.fnt
s monaco10.fnt
s monaco20.fnt

04p SCREEN.SYS
s monaco08.fnt
s monaco09.fnt
s monaco10.fnt
s monaco20.fnt

05p SCREEN.SYS
s monaco08.fnt
s monaco09.fnt
s monaco10.fnt
s monaco20.fnt

06p SCREEN.SYS
s monaco08.fnt
s monaco09.fnt
s monaco10.fnt
s monaco20.fnt

07p SCREEN.SYS
s monaco08.fnt
s monaco09.fnt
s monaco10.fnt
s monaco20.fnt

08p SCREEN.SYS
s monaco08.fnt
s monaco09.fnt
s monaco10.fnt
s monaco20.fnt

09p SCREEN.SYS
s monaco08.fnt
s monaco09.fnt
s monaco10.fnt
s monaco20.fnt

10p SCREEN.SYS
s monaco08.fnt
s monaco09.fnt
s monaco10.fnt
s monaco20.fnt

21  PCL.SYS

22  ESCP2.SYS

23  CANON.SYS

24  MACPRN.SYS

25  PIN.SYS

26  ATARILS.SYS

31  META.SYS

61  MEMORY.SYS

81  NTOFFICE.SYS

91  IMG.SYS
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music http://www.philippeworld.net/
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/emaappsarch/home

mzry
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 261
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: NVDI - More fonts?

Postby mzry » Sun Dec 25, 2016 2:25 am

Omg Faucon that's awesome. My user interface looks SO much better now!! Thanks so much :)

mzry
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 261
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: NVDI - More fonts?

Postby mzry » Sun Dec 25, 2016 2:33 am

:)

User avatar
Mark_G
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 505
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2006 11:55 am
Location: Belgium

Re: NVDI - More fonts?

Postby Mark_G » Sun Dec 25, 2016 9:52 am

Screenshot ?

mzry
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 261
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: NVDI - More fonts?

Postby mzry » Sun Dec 25, 2016 10:15 am

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B6vqgf6MYPD1Z1BCMGdtZDhQXzg

Just a camera screenie. As you can see it's a lot cleaner than the standard system font. Looks very mac :)

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11845
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: NVDI - More fonts?

Postby wongck » Mon Dec 26, 2016 2:00 am

mzry wrote: Looks very mac :)

I am not a Mac user, so the fonts or icons or both looks like a Mac?
I had used monaco way back when I started using on my 520 ST.
I abandon them now as they look too blocky.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

mzry
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 261
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: NVDI - More fonts?

Postby mzry » Mon Dec 26, 2016 3:21 am

It kind of looks like system 7 to me, kinda Garamond style. Hey man if you have cooler mono spaced fonts I could try it'd be awesome if you uploaded some for me, I'll give them a go.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11845
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: NVDI - More fonts?

Postby wongck » Mon Dec 26, 2016 3:40 am

I am using default fonts now.
I don't use icon modes for folder listing, I use text and the folder marker just do not look like 2 squares. I prefer the symbol of the original fonts.
Just me.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list


Social Media

     

Return to “Professionals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest