Nova VME Bus Adapter Building Files ...

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., lp, [ProToS], Moderator Team

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12252
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Nova VME Bus Adapter Building Files ...

Postby wongck » Wed Jun 07, 2017 1:47 pm

Looks great :thumbs:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
edingacic
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 145
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2015 5:16 pm
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Nova VME Bus Adapter Building Files ...

Postby edingacic » Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:23 pm

My TT030 setup I would like to add VME card but I am not sure if it is compatible with CuBase ? Any users that have done this and can confirm compatibility?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1511
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Nova VME Bus Adapter Building Files ...

Postby frank.lukas » Sat Oct 14, 2017 8:28 pm

May be buy better an ECL to VGA Converter. With it you have 1280x960 mono and Cubase works fine with it.
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

User avatar
edingacic
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 145
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2015 5:16 pm
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Nova VME Bus Adapter Building Files ...

Postby edingacic » Sat Oct 14, 2017 10:35 pm

where can I buy one? Tenox has them now... what was the other converter that was similar and what is the difference? Would you sell that card for TT with that external box ? I would love to try if it works with CubaseScore

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1511
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Nova VME Bus Adapter Building Files ...

Postby frank.lukas » Sun Oct 15, 2017 3:45 pm

There -> viewtopic.php?f=27&t=30157

I tested Cubase Store 3.1 Crack with a Nova ET4000 Card in mono and color and it do not work. On a Atari TT under TT-Mid and TT-High all was fine ...
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

User avatar
edingacic
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 145
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2015 5:16 pm
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Nova VME Bus Adapter Building Files ...

Postby edingacic » Mon Nov 06, 2017 2:08 am

@frank.lukas Did you test ATARI TT under high mono with Nova ET4000 card? Did it work how was the performance compared to built in out? I am interested to find out if it speeds redraw when scrolling timeline backwards. This is where it is lacking the most.

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3877
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Nova VME Bus Adapter Building Files ...

Postby joska » Mon Nov 06, 2017 7:39 am

ET4000 has no hardware acceleration, so it's not any faster than standard TT high with NVDI.
Jo Even

Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

dimfil
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 7:48 am
Location: Athens, Greece

Re: Nova VME Bus Adapter Building Files ...

Postby dimfil » Mon Nov 06, 2017 9:32 am

joska wrote:ET4000 has no hardware acceleration, so it's not any faster than standard TT high with NVDI.


I already have the adapter and happy with my et4000!
Do you believe that a Mach32 has more to offer? I have found one and already ordered, still waiting to arrive. I know that theoretically it is a better card, but does that have any sense when used on an Atari? Does the driver take advantage of it?

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3877
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Nova VME Bus Adapter Building Files ...

Postby joska » Mon Nov 06, 2017 9:38 am

Yes, the Nova driver use the Mach's hardware acceleration. I have no experience with Mach32/64 on the TT, but had a Nova Mach64 in my Falcon for a couple of years and it was a lot faster than my TT's ET4000.
Jo Even

Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

dimfil
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 7:48 am
Location: Athens, Greece

Re: Nova VME Bus Adapter Building Files ...

Postby dimfil » Mon Nov 06, 2017 9:58 am

joska wrote:Yes, the Nova driver use the Mach's hardware acceleration. I have no experience with Mach32/64 on the TT, but had a Nova Mach64 in my Falcon for a couple of years and it was a lot faster than my TT's ET4000.


Thank you for answer!
Forgot to mention that I am going to use it on my Mega STe. The et4000 is still OK as it gives quite usable resolutions at 640x480 and 800x600 both at 256 colors while working MagiC 6.20.
1024x768x256 is working OK but brings the Mega Ste to the limit I think...

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1511
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Nova VME Bus Adapter Building Files ...

Postby frank.lukas » Mon Nov 06, 2017 10:51 am

My Mega STE has a Nova with MACH32 2MB VRAM card and it is ok and quicker than a ET4000. I have left 2MB of Ram with 1280x1024/256 Colors. I will order a MonSTer MSTE so I have more Ram ...
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

User avatar
edingacic
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 145
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2015 5:16 pm
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Nova VME Bus Adapter Building Files ...

Postby edingacic » Mon Nov 06, 2017 11:14 pm

it would be really helpful if someone with Mach32 card to run CuBase Score 2.0 r7 to see how it scrolls back with big arrangements. I could record a video and post it with vanilla card. I would love to get these VME cards but only if I am sure that they will work with Cubase and that cubase can use hardware acceleration form them. Not a lot of users with VME cards and high res mono monitors :(

piotrk
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 46
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2017 10:59 am

Re: Nova VME Bus Adapter Building Files ...

Postby piotrk » Sat Dec 09, 2017 11:51 am

Hi!

I have MSTE with Nova (VME to ISA from @frank.lukas) and ATI Mach32. Works perfectly. I tried to run cracked Cubase 2 that I found on the HD after I bought my MSTE, but doesn't work on VGA. Right now I'm waiting for Cubase 3/Score with red hardware dongle that I purchased few days ago. Maybe there is a chance...

Also I found miscellaneous sets of drivers:
1. https://silicon-heaven.org/atari/nova/MegaSTE/Mach32/
2. http://thebigconsultant.com/probe/hw-nova-tt.html

Additional info:
- I have one an accident that Cubase showed first screen (1024x768x2) and hanged after display modal window with error. Usually hangs during loading after I choose VDI driver (not quick)

Any change for English VME MENU? :) Every time I download some soft everything is in German... awesome that not in Chinese ;) It's funny for my, because i should rewrite those text from one monitor to my OSX Safari to Google Translate to understand what's going on... ;)

Maybe someone has other positive experience how to run Cubase with ISA VGA ?

Best,
Peter

piotrk
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 46
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2017 10:59 am

Re: Nova VME Bus Adapter Building Files ...

Postby piotrk » Sat Dec 09, 2017 1:14 pm

ISA Mach32 in MSTE

@frank.lukas test:
1.png



in my case:
1.png


This is big difference.... Is it case of FPU ?

Best,
Peter
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1511
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Nova VME Bus Adapter Building Files ...

Postby frank.lukas » Sat Dec 09, 2017 2:13 pm

I have a MC68881 FPU in my Atari Mega STE ...
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3877
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Nova VME Bus Adapter Building Files ...

Postby joska » Sat Dec 09, 2017 3:01 pm

Are you sure you uploaded the correct screenshots? They look identical to me.
Jo Even

Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
viking272
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 298
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 12:50 pm
Location: west of London, UK

Re: Nova VME Bus Adapter Building Files ...

Postby viking272 » Sat Dec 30, 2017 10:43 pm

piotrk wrote:ISA Mach32 in MSTE

This is big difference.... Is it case of FPU ?

Best,
Peter


These are the same images, what was your big difference Peter?

piotrk
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 46
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2017 10:59 am

Re: Nova VME Bus Adapter Building Files ...

Postby piotrk » Sun Dec 31, 2017 12:27 am

Sorry, I will check tomorrow.... I had about 150% performance not 242%...

piotrk
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 46
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2017 10:59 am

Re: Nova VME Bus Adapter Building Files ...

Postby piotrk » Mon Jan 01, 2018 11:36 pm

I have 171% in 640x480x2 MSTE 16Mhz with cache. So... How to make 242% ?

VME card and ATI Mach32

z.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

piotrk
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 46
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2017 10:59 am

Re: Nova VME Bus Adapter Building Files ...

Postby piotrk » Mon Jan 01, 2018 11:43 pm

Is it possibile to increase VDI* performance ?

piotrk
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 46
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2017 10:59 am

Re: Nova VME Bus Adapter Building Files ...

Postby piotrk » Tue Jan 02, 2018 11:13 pm

Maybe this is a problem? No GDOS and NVDI ? How can I fix it ?

1.png


2.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1511
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Nova VME Bus Adapter Building Files ...

Postby frank.lukas » Fri Feb 02, 2018 7:34 pm

Install NVDI5 with the option "NOVA" ...

So NVDI works only as GDOS with the Nova Driver.
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

piotrk
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 46
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2017 10:59 am

Re: Nova VME Bus Adapter Building Files ...

Postby piotrk » Fri Feb 02, 2018 9:27 pm

ok! thanx :)

User avatar
piku
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 161
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 5:17 am
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Contact:

Re: Nova VME Bus Adapter Building Files ...

Postby piku » Sat Feb 03, 2018 4:31 am

Has anyone figured out how to shoehorn one of these cards inside the TT case? I have inside now an Eiffel and an Ethernec, and switched to pico psu to make space. I removed the VME cage but I still can't figure out how to make enough space for both the vme card and the mach.
piku http://www.atari-source.org http://rpmint.com/
CT60 Falcon - Dead Firebee - Some others ;)

User avatar
krupkaj
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 261
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: Olomouc/Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Nova VME Bus Adapter Building Files ...

Postby krupkaj » Sun Feb 04, 2018 10:22 am

Here is my solution.

20180204_111202s.jpg

20180204_111500s.jpg


At the moment I use external SCSI disk and insternal SD2SCSI for the storage. The SD2SCSI still fits to the top of harddisk cover, not in in the picture.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Social Media

     

Return to “Professionals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest