PH Easy Remote Print - RAW, LPD, Google Cloud Print & parallel port redirector

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, [ProToS], lp, moondog/.tSCc., Moderator Team

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12489
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

PH Easy Remote Print - RAW, LPD, Google Cloud Print & parallel port redirector

Postby wongck » Mon Nov 19, 2012 1:56 pm

PH Easy Remote Print is a GUI based remote print client using LPD protocol, RAW protocol and Google Cloud Print.

Use your shared network printer with your Atari easily.
Submitting remote print jobs are now just a simple drag & drop or use the parallel port redirector to directly sent your print job to the shared printer.

Prints to any printers in the web with Google Cloud Print.
Prints directly to your printer With RAW protocol.
For LPR protocol, a lpd service is required on a remote host (Windows, OSX or Linux).
pherp1.jpg

This apps runs on Mint with MintNet.

Get it from Probe House Software
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by wongck on Sun Jul 08, 2018 3:24 pm, edited 5 times in total.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63/CTPCI+ATI+RTL8139+USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4162
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: PH Easy Remote Print - GEM lpr client

Postby Dal » Mon Nov 19, 2012 2:09 pm

Great stuff! Very useful tool for printers that provide LPD.

Incidentally, it is possible to add TCP Printing service to Windows and then you can LPR print jobs to Windows which will then spool out to the device.
Mega"SST" 12, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12489
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: PH Easy Remote Print - GEM lpr client

Postby wongck » Mon Nov 19, 2012 2:26 pm

Dal wrote:Incidentally, it is possible to add TCP Printing service to Windows and then you can LPR print jobs to Windows which will then spool out to the device.

During development, I have sent print jobs to shared printers on Windows 7 Ultimate as well as Windows Server 2008.
You can easily add LPD service on Windows just by turning them on within Windows Features (control panel applet).
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63/CTPCI+ATI+RTL8139+USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

vido
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 607
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 7:39 pm

Re: PH Easy Remote Print - GEM lpr client

Postby vido » Mon Nov 19, 2012 2:34 pm

This is great!
This is solution the Atari computers needs today. Thank you!

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4162
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: PH Easy Remote Print - GEM lpr client

Postby joska » Mon Nov 19, 2012 7:32 pm

Great news :) I downloaded it tonight but unfortunately couldn't test printing (the printer is in our bedrom and our youngest was put to bed). I noticed a small bug - the menu/nice-name is missing the two preceding spaces.

And one suggestion: Add a small button that displays the numbers of jobs in the queue. Open the queue-window when this button is clicked on.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12489
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: PH Easy Remote Print - GEM lpr client

Postby wongck » Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:10 pm

Good idea.

You will know if the print job is sent to the queue as the status changes on the window.
If it is a home printer, most likely it will be printed immediately.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63/CTPCI+ATI+RTL8139+USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4162
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: PH Easy Remote Print - GEM lpr client

Postby joska » Tue Nov 20, 2012 8:43 am

Strange... I was about to try printing now, but whenever I start pherp.prg it just say "Cannot find RSC". I've deleted it, downloaded it again and restarted it, same problem. I've tried both with and without VFAT enabled, and also on ramfs and ext2fs. Tried starting it from both Thing! and bash. Same result. Really weird. Doesn't it do a simple rsrc_load("pherp.rsc")?

Edit: Looked in pherp.prg and it doesn't contain the string "pherp.rsc" at all. How does it load the rsc?

Edit: Tried all the different binaries in the archive with the same result.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12489
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: PH Easy Remote Print - GEM lpr client

Postby wongck » Tue Nov 20, 2012 9:29 am

OK, my mistake.... it is suppose to be ready for German language RSC, so your system is now not English I suppose. You're using a different system from when you looked at yesterday :P
It is missing pherpde.rsc, so make a copy of pherp.rsc to name of pherpde.rsc and it should load.

joska wrote:Looked in pherp.prg and it doesn't contain the string "pherp.rsc" at all. How does it load the rsc?


It just load the RSC using the normal way.
Weird.... I just did a strings pherp.prg | grep rsc and I also can't find it.... dunno why.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63/CTPCI+ATI+RTL8139+USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

cyberish
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 9:18 pm

Re: PH Easy Remote Print - GEM lpr client

Postby cyberish » Tue Nov 20, 2012 11:13 am

Amazing! Wongck, thank you for that!
Is there a way to make it work with Mac OS X (10.6. f.e.) ?

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12489
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: PH Easy Remote Print - GEM lpr client

Postby wongck » Tue Nov 20, 2012 11:33 am

cyberish wrote:Amazing! Wongck, thank you for that!
Is there a way to make it work with Mac OS X (10.6. f.e.) ?


You are welcome.
It should work for any LPD server.
I have not used OSX before, but I am sure OSX have a LPD server.
I have seen OSX tutorial for using LPR to print to Windows LPD server.
Normally LPR & LPD are together.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63/CTPCI+ATI+RTL8139+USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4162
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: PH Easy Remote Print - GEM lpr client

Postby joska » Tue Nov 20, 2012 12:17 pm

wongck wrote:OK, my mistake.... it is suppose to be ready for German language RSC, so your system is now not English I suppose. You're using a different system from when you looked at yesterday :P


You are completely right. Last night I did some testing on my Firebee which involved setting the TOS desktop language to German... However, XaAES language is still English. Are you checking the _AKP cookie? Maybe XaAES doesn't update this cookie.

I renamed the rsc and now it loads. Unfortunately I ran out of time so I couldn't test printing.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12489
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: PH Easy Remote Print - GEM lpr client

Postby wongck » Tue Nov 20, 2012 12:19 pm

Here official way mentioned by Apple Support.
http://support.apple.com/kb/PH6979

I am not sure if this works as I do not have a Mac at all.
let me know .... the good news. :wink:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63/CTPCI+ATI+RTL8139+USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12489
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: PH Easy Remote Print - GEM lpr client

Postby wongck » Tue Nov 20, 2012 12:24 pm

joska wrote: Are you checking the _AKP cookie? Maybe XaAES doesn't update this cookie.


No, I am using appl_getinfo(AES_LANGUAGE, &i, &foo, &foo, &foo);
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63/CTPCI+ATI+RTL8139+USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4162
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: PH Easy Remote Print - GEM lpr client

Postby joska » Tue Nov 20, 2012 12:52 pm

wongck wrote:No, I am using appl_getinfo(AES_LANGUAGE, &i, &foo, &foo, &foo);


Ok, then there's a bug in XaAES. It should definitely not report German here just because the TOS desktop is in German. It should report the XaAES language.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

Latz
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 232
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 6:02 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: PH Easy Remote Print - GEM lpr client

Postby Latz » Tue Nov 20, 2012 3:01 pm

Hello WongCK,
this is a very subtile way to inform me that another translation is needed ;)
If you would have sent a PM before the release, german version would have been
ready :)
Unfortunetly i can't test it here, my printer is attached to my Falcon.
I see what i can do.
Latz
Falcon/CT60 90MHz, 14+128 MB RAM, CTPCI/Radeon 9250/RTL8139, Carte Eiffel+LCD, 80GB IDE HD, DVD-RW.
Falcon/CT63 95MHz, 4+128 MB RAM, CTPCI/Radeon 9250/RTL8139, Carte Eiffel+LCD, 16GB IDE CF card, CD-RW.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12489
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: PH Easy Remote Print - GEM lpr client

Postby wongck » Tue Nov 20, 2012 3:21 pm

Latz wrote:this is a very subtile way to inform me that another translation is needed ;)
If you would have sent a PM before the release, german version would have been
ready :)

Did not want to impose on you :oops:
If you have the time to spare, you're are welcome to translate. :D
Thanks.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63/CTPCI+ATI+RTL8139+USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Latz
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 232
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 6:02 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: PH Easy Remote Print - GEM lpr client

Postby Latz » Thu Nov 22, 2012 9:32 am

Hello WongCK,
there are some problems with PH ERP here (MiNT 1-18-CUR/NVDI 5.03/XaAES/TeraDesk):
- There's no config-file created by the app.
- Crashes in config dialog when clicking on any editable field and on the other
editable field afterwards (LPD server+Print queue). XaAES errormessage:
(pherp): BUS ERROR: User PC=21DF594, Address: 2221B90 (basepage=21DA000, text=21DA100, data=21F9AF8, bss=21FA590)

No matter of that,German resource is nearly ready :)

Latz
Falcon/CT60 90MHz, 14+128 MB RAM, CTPCI/Radeon 9250/RTL8139, Carte Eiffel+LCD, 80GB IDE HD, DVD-RW.
Falcon/CT63 95MHz, 4+128 MB RAM, CTPCI/Radeon 9250/RTL8139, Carte Eiffel+LCD, 16GB IDE CF card, CD-RW.

Latz
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 232
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 6:02 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: PH Easy Remote Print - GEM lpr client

Postby Latz » Thu Nov 22, 2012 9:32 am

Hello WongCK,
there are some problems with PH ERP here (MiNT 1-18-CUR/NVDI 5.03/XaAES/TeraDesk):
- There's no config-file created by the app.
- Crashes in config dialog when clicking on any editable field and on the other
editable field afterwards (LPD server+Print queue). XaAES errormessage:
(pherp): BUS ERROR: User PC=21DF594, Address: 2221B90 (basepage=21DA000, text=21DA100, data=21F9AF8, bss=21FA590)

No matter of that,German resource is nearly ready :)

Latz
Falcon/CT60 90MHz, 14+128 MB RAM, CTPCI/Radeon 9250/RTL8139, Carte Eiffel+LCD, 80GB IDE HD, DVD-RW.
Falcon/CT63 95MHz, 4+128 MB RAM, CTPCI/Radeon 9250/RTL8139, Carte Eiffel+LCD, 16GB IDE CF card, CD-RW.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12489
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: PH Easy Remote Print - GEM lpr client

Postby wongck » Thu Nov 22, 2012 11:25 am

Ah... it crashes in MP mode. :(

Config file is not wrritten if either server or printer line is blank.
So if you cannot enter one of them it will not save anything.... which is an issue since at any one time only 1 is working.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63/CTPCI+ATI+RTL8139+USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12489
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: PH Easy Remote Print - GEM lpr client

Postby wongck » Thu Nov 22, 2012 12:21 pm

Latz wrote:H
- Crashes in config dialog when clicking on any editable field and on the other
editable field afterwards (LPD server+Print queue). XaAES errormessage:
(pherp): BUS ERROR: User PC=21DF594, Address: 2221B90 (basepage=21DA000, text=21DA100, data=21F9AF8, bss=21FA590)


Oh dammn.... I just did some testing.
It a fix I did for MagiC. :(
With that fix on, MagiC can use edit field, but Mint MP crash as you described.
With that fix removed, MagiC cannot use edit field but Mint MP does not crash.

Now what :roll: Have to choose one..... :cry:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63/CTPCI+ATI+RTL8139+USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4162
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: PH Easy Remote Print - GEM lpr client

Postby Dal » Thu Nov 22, 2012 12:23 pm

Is it possible to detect whether MagiC or Mint is running?
Mega"SST" 12, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

Latz
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 232
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 6:02 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: PH Easy Remote Print - GEM lpr client

Postby Latz » Thu Nov 22, 2012 12:27 pm

Hi,
MiNT MP is off here.
Latz
Edit: Even if i edit one of the lines, leave config with "OK" and quit
PH ERP then, there's no pherp.cfg anywhere.
Falcon/CT60 90MHz, 14+128 MB RAM, CTPCI/Radeon 9250/RTL8139, Carte Eiffel+LCD, 80GB IDE HD, DVD-RW.
Falcon/CT63 95MHz, 4+128 MB RAM, CTPCI/Radeon 9250/RTL8139, Carte Eiffel+LCD, 16GB IDE CF card, CD-RW.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12489
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: PH Easy Remote Print - GEM lpr client

Postby wongck » Thu Nov 22, 2012 1:47 pm

Latz wrote:Hi,
MiNT MP is off here.
Latz
Edit: Even if i edit one of the lines, leave config with "OK" and quit
PH ERP then, there's no pherp.cfg anywhere.


With MP off, I get no crash... :?: :?:
Yes, as long as 1 line is blank, it will not save nothing.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63/CTPCI+ATI+RTL8139+USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12489
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: PH Easy Remote Print - GEM lpr client

Postby wongck » Thu Nov 22, 2012 1:48 pm

Dal wrote:Is it possible to detect whether MagiC or Mint is running?

Yes, it is.
But that's not the solution, patching it to work then it will because an Apache program (a patchy program). :wink: :lol: :lol:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63/CTPCI+ATI+RTL8139+USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12489
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: PH Easy Remote Print - GEM lpr client

Postby wongck » Thu Nov 22, 2012 2:30 pm

Latz wrote:MiNT MP is off here.


Can you download and try out PH Currency Converter ?
Does it also crash for you when you move from edit field to edit field ?
It does not crash in MP/non-MP for me.
I found that the fix is already in this program.

When I put in the same fix in PH Easy Remote Print, it does not crash any more in MP.
So I actually already got a fix for it but I forgot all about it and did not apply here. :roll:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63/CTPCI+ATI+RTL8139+USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list


Social Media

     

Return to “Professionals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests