Falcon SMD CPU question

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

MRAtari
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 494
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 5:03 pm

Falcon SMD CPU question

Postby MRAtari » Mon Jul 09, 2012 11:59 am

hi all

whilst looking for a replacemnt SMD CPU for a falcon i have found a source of them but they are 40mhz types instead of the standard 16mhz used

i just wanted to know if using this 40mhz chip would still be ok for a standard Falcon to run at 16mhz

any info appreciated thanks :)

User avatar
Cyprian
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 1862
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Falcon SMD CPU question

Postby Cyprian » Mon Jul 09, 2012 12:17 pm

yes, will works ok,
Portfolio / Lynx II / Jaguar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
SDrive / PAK68/3 / Lynx Multi Card / LDW Super 2000 / XCA12 / SkunkBoard / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Steem SSE / Aranym / Saint
http://260ste.appspot.com/

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4181
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: Falcon SMD CPU question

Postby Dal » Mon Jul 09, 2012 12:54 pm

Indeed - the clock rating should be interpreted as the maximum speed the IC has been certified to run at.
STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's


Social Media

     

Return to “Professionals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests