TT can't see SCSI drives / devices (but otherwise works ok)

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

MRAtari
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 494
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 5:03 pm

TT can't see SCSI drives / devices (but otherwise works ok)

Postby MRAtari » Mon Nov 28, 2011 8:15 pm

i have a TT (late type REV H/J) which works fine apart from it can't see any SCSI hard drives plugged into either the port on the rear or internal

the internal and external drives i have used definately work ok as they do on other machines

i have changed the SCSI IC chip

still no joy

what else can i check?

:)

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4184
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: TT can't see SCSI drives / devices (but otherwise works

Postby DarkLord » Mon Nov 28, 2011 9:10 pm

Termination and ID number?
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

MRAtari
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 494
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 5:03 pm

Re: TT can't see SCSI drives / devices (but otherwise works

Postby MRAtari » Mon Nov 28, 2011 9:15 pm

am using HD Driver to "ID CHECK" and it can't see the drives

got nothing to do with ID number as HD Driver would "see" the drive on any ID

terminator resistors are in the TT and on the drives

User avatar
Mark_G
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 508
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2006 11:55 am
Location: Belgium

Re: TT can't see SCSI drives / devices (but otherwise works

Postby Mark_G » Mon Nov 28, 2011 9:36 pm

Sometimes on SCSI Device can block the chain.

Try first with one only one SCSI drive attached to the TT.

And, try also another scsi driver to check the devices.

Mark

MRAtari
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 494
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 5:03 pm

Re: TT can't see SCSI drives / devices (but otherwise works

Postby MRAtari » Mon Nov 28, 2011 10:22 pm

have tried with just internal scsi drive, then only external scsi drive

have used HD Driver version 7 and 8.1 and also Atari HD utilities

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4080
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: TT can't see SCSI drives / devices (but otherwise works

Postby Dal » Mon Nov 28, 2011 11:52 pm

Isn't there a SCSI fuse on a TT?
TT030: 4MB/16MB + Crazy Dots, Mega"SST" 12, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11993
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: TT can't see SCSI drives / devices (but otherwise works

Postby wongck » Tue Nov 29, 2011 12:40 am

MRAtari wrote:got nothing to do with ID number as HD Driver would "see" the drive on any ID
terminator resistors are in the TT and on the drives


I guess you already have the internal scsi-id as zero.
Put the terminators on the internal hard disk only and remove the terminator resistors that are on the TT motherboard.
I think you can only use one terminator pack, and that's the one on the hard disk.
Do not plug anything into the external scsi port.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

MRAtari
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 494
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 5:03 pm

Re: TT can't see SCSI drives / devices (but otherwise works

Postby MRAtari » Fri Dec 02, 2011 8:14 pm

Dal wrote:Isn't there a SCSI fuse on a TT?


dunno

can't see one, can anyone confirm if there is or not?

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1445
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: TT can't see SCSI drives / devices (but otherwise works

Postby frank.lukas » Fri Dec 02, 2011 10:17 pm

... no SCSI Fuse !
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4080
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: TT can't see SCSI drives / devices (but otherwise works

Postby Dal » Sat Dec 03, 2011 12:07 am

Just found this thread. Simbo seemed to think there is a fuse as well?
TT030: 4MB/16MB + Crazy Dots, Mega"SST" 12, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

MRAtari
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 494
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 5:03 pm

Re: TT can't see SCSI drives / devices (but otherwise works

Postby MRAtari » Sat Dec 03, 2011 8:28 am

hmmmm well there is no fuse "behind the scsi chip" just lot's of "0" rated resistors and then the scsi port

the Falcon has a fuse but nothing like that on the TT and nothing marked as a fuse either (usually the number on the mobo would be "F1" or similar)

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1445
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: TT can't see SCSI drives / devices (but otherwise works

Postby frank.lukas » Sat Dec 03, 2011 1:29 pm

... the fuse in the Falcon is for the SCSI Thermpower signal, the Atari TT have no Thermpower!
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

User avatar
TTowner
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 374
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 4:53 am
Location: NR Birmingham. UK
Contact:

Re: TT can't see SCSI drives / devices (but otherwise works

Postby TTowner » Thu Dec 22, 2011 1:46 am

Here are my tips on Scsi on the TT.
Try making sure your cable is orientated correctly Pin 1 of the scsi cable to pin 1 of the drive. Usually pin one eminates from the rear of the connectio on the main board closest to the back of the case. Some cables don't have the centre raised block (key) that signifies which way it fits to the HD.
Set the HD to anything other than ID0, try ID3.If you drive has tem power or termination jumpers on it remove them for this trial.
You can go back and re instate only if it is neccesary, some scsi drives are fussy about stuff like this.
Use icd 6.55 to start with. This software works well on older drives & most newer ones aswell.
Icd tools can look for drives with parity set.
If your drive has a jumper setting for parity. Install/remove it in turn and restart the TT.Don't forget to cold boot & if neccessary, warm boot just after the mem check as some drives take much longer to init & sometimes the scsi bus needs this also.
If you have a device you can connect externally, be ready to add this at a time your efforts get no results.
Use ICD tools to set TT as id 7 in the chain and connect the externmal scsi device then repeat the boot up,sometimes this will correct the drive seek issue. If it does not. Check that the external drive is terminated or not.
Terminate only the last device in the chain, this is usally an external device anyway.I use a CD rom drive as ID 6, its left in situe and on most of the time anyway.
Once you find the drives are recognised your then able to use any software to drive it you wish. HD driver is much better now than ICD. But ICD software is still a valuable tool.
Hades060 & 2 TT030 machines.Nova & Spektrum Graphics cards,1 Reibel network cards,1 Netusb,Slm Lazer printer, Epson GT600 flatbed, 2 SCSi to IDE interface + UltraSatan.Nakamachi 7 & 5 CD disk changers.Mega STE .[url]http://www.llill.co/5j
[/url]


Social Media

     

Return to “Professionals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests