Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

Guest

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Postby Guest » Mon Aug 04, 2014 8:28 pm

viewtopic.php?f=27&t=20121&p=248211#p248211

i think 1 kits of bits also is sold

so 35 left....

i have the pcb its in progress as time allows weekends and nights
been repairing a few vintage acorns and stbook machine's so need to slot them in with chandlers TT's etc
and some home repairs

im too busy need a slave ,,, :angel:

User avatar
1st1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 855
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 11:48 am

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Postby 1st1 » Wed Aug 27, 2014 9:23 pm

Hello, actual status of the Magnum?

Additional question: What is the maximum height of the modules to fit into the TT chassis?
Power without the Price. It's not a bug. It's a feature. _/|\_ATARI

1040STFM in PC-Tower (PAK68/2, OvrScn, 4 MB, 1GB SCSI, CD-ROM...) * 2x Falcon 030 32GB/14MB+ScrnBlstrIII * 2x TT030 73GB/20MB+Nova * 520/1040STFM * 520/1040STE * 260/520ST/+ * some Mega ST * 2x Mega STE 500MB/4MB+M.CoCo * Stacy * STBook * SLM605 * SLM804 * SLM605 * SMM804 * SH 204/205 * Megafile 30/44/60 * SF314 * SF354 * 5x Pofo * PC3

User avatar
1st1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 855
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 11:48 am

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Postby 1st1 » Mon Sep 15, 2014 7:04 pm

Any news on the new Magnum board? I already have 2 pcs. of 128 MB PS/2 SIMMs.
Power without the Price. It's not a bug. It's a feature. _/|\_ATARI

1040STFM in PC-Tower (PAK68/2, OvrScn, 4 MB, 1GB SCSI, CD-ROM...) * 2x Falcon 030 32GB/14MB+ScrnBlstrIII * 2x TT030 73GB/20MB+Nova * 520/1040STFM * 520/1040STE * 260/520ST/+ * some Mega ST * 2x Mega STE 500MB/4MB+M.CoCo * Stacy * STBook * SLM605 * SLM804 * SLM605 * SMM804 * SH 204/205 * Megafile 30/44/60 * SF314 * SF354 * 5x Pofo * PC3

amadama
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2014 12:00 am
Location: USA

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Postby amadama » Wed Sep 24, 2014 10:31 pm

Hi,
I would like to purchase a Magnum TTRAM board also.
Thanks,
Alex

User avatar
1st1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 855
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 11:48 am

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Postby 1st1 » Sat Oct 11, 2014 2:16 pm

An news?
Power without the Price. It's not a bug. It's a feature. _/|\_ATARI

1040STFM in PC-Tower (PAK68/2, OvrScn, 4 MB, 1GB SCSI, CD-ROM...) * 2x Falcon 030 32GB/14MB+ScrnBlstrIII * 2x TT030 73GB/20MB+Nova * 520/1040STFM * 520/1040STE * 260/520ST/+ * some Mega ST * 2x Mega STE 500MB/4MB+M.CoCo * Stacy * STBook * SLM605 * SLM804 * SLM605 * SMM804 * SH 204/205 * Megafile 30/44/60 * SF314 * SF354 * 5x Pofo * PC3

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4178
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Postby Dal » Sat Oct 11, 2014 2:52 pm

I sent an email to simbo this morning. Hope he's ok - not heard from him for a while now.

It would be nice to see this completed soon...
Mega"SST" 12, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

Guest

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Postby Guest » Mon Oct 13, 2014 3:07 pm

hurrrrrY!!!! IM LOGED BACK IN after months of not being able to access data i know is aok... :cheers:
took almost 4 months to recover my desktop machine
the psu failed in a flame way took out all cards and etc past pci
the pci survived. the hdd i had to ask ebay for the electronics on it the platter was aok

eeek for electo ok for work
i have 5 units built and will start too send them out soon as i get time
my work seems to be best now the end of this very warm year goes on
so.. few weeks yet and ill send out the batch as my funds to do it appear
need to pay back first,.
make hay while the sun shines
all boards will be availible and sent end of the month

TXG/MNX
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 172
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2003 10:05 am

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Postby TXG/MNX » Mon Oct 27, 2014 8:23 pm

Is there is list of simms that are tested and work in this device ?

I have a MightyMic64 in one of my TT030 but this thing was very critical and not all sims did work..

User avatar
1st1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 855
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 11:48 am

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Postby 1st1 » Fri Nov 21, 2014 8:29 pm

Any news from the MagnumTT cards?
Power without the Price. It's not a bug. It's a feature. _/|\_ATARI

1040STFM in PC-Tower (PAK68/2, OvrScn, 4 MB, 1GB SCSI, CD-ROM...) * 2x Falcon 030 32GB/14MB+ScrnBlstrIII * 2x TT030 73GB/20MB+Nova * 520/1040STFM * 520/1040STE * 260/520ST/+ * some Mega ST * 2x Mega STE 500MB/4MB+M.CoCo * Stacy * STBook * SLM605 * SLM804 * SLM605 * SMM804 * SH 204/205 * Megafile 30/44/60 * SF314 * SF354 * 5x Pofo * PC3

User avatar
1st1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 855
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 11:48 am

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Postby 1st1 » Mon Dec 08, 2014 6:23 pm

Still no sign of live for the (my!) Magnum TT RAM card?
Power without the Price. It's not a bug. It's a feature. _/|\_ATARI

1040STFM in PC-Tower (PAK68/2, OvrScn, 4 MB, 1GB SCSI, CD-ROM...) * 2x Falcon 030 32GB/14MB+ScrnBlstrIII * 2x TT030 73GB/20MB+Nova * 520/1040STFM * 520/1040STE * 260/520ST/+ * some Mega ST * 2x Mega STE 500MB/4MB+M.CoCo * Stacy * STBook * SLM605 * SLM804 * SLM605 * SMM804 * SH 204/205 * Megafile 30/44/60 * SF314 * SF354 * 5x Pofo * PC3

piotrkni
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2014 1:52 pm

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Postby piotrkni » Sat Jan 03, 2015 9:18 am

hi,

I'm interested in 2 or 3 of those boards.For me and my friends ...

tnx

User avatar
AdamK
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 293
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 8:44 am

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Postby AdamK » Sat Jan 03, 2015 9:21 am

I would like to but take 2 units.
Atari: FireBee, Falcon030 + CT60e + SuperVidel + SvEthlana, TT, 520ST + 4MB ST RAM + 8MB TT RAM + CosmosEx + SC1435, 1040STFM + UltraSatan + SM124, 1040STE 4MB ST RAM + 8MB TT RAM + CosmosEx + NetUSBee + SM144 + SC1224, 65XE + U1MB + VBXE + SIDE2, Jaguar, Lynx II, 2 x Portfolio (HPC-006)

Adam Klobukowski [adamklobukowski@gmail.com]

Guest

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Postby Guest » Wed Jan 07, 2015 6:31 pm

the situation is i am trying to secure another maker for the pcb's
the factory has burned down

so looking for a cheep maker of 4 layers plated and finished board

6 boards i got are good others have a simm layout flaw

however i need a maker for 50 board ive completed as a hard task {had to snap this and that } 6 board


im put off by this

therefore for many reasons the whole project is bad
i want too rework the interface too the machine from 5v to 3.3v as a buffer set
and also i want too rework the ram layout and overlay too its ranges in the controllers
too allow the likes of ide and what it gives sata and pata
and also lan and perhaps {easily given an access range usb and wifi via lan}

A group effort is needed
although ive already layed out the ide setup too match the extra addresses for 4X ide etc
that was added by uwe for the interface made for the ste

however

its easy

help me

i have lots of connectors for the ttram bus 100 i just have 5 units made and tested for the old design hard to match ram magnumTT
i think if we work together we can have
68030 mmu controlled fast access ttram LAN IDE+{ WIFI } SATA PATA perhaps usb
is then easy leading to development of the usb on the ste etc carts and dma access types

so what do you all want?

some payed a few quid up front that got the parts

now we can turn it into a better interface

i will supply the ttram plug too those who want a few for development

1} i dont see the point in supplying a TTram upgrade
when it can be much more with plug in cards and adapters in one place at not much extra expense these days

2} i will make the magnum ttram upgrade board to exact people wanting it only
or refund the cash or put it into the finished update and limit the boards for this i need to make
due to the memory issues it needs it is too specific better to map it in a controller

3} people will help me and i think a 32 bit access to memory 64bit ram layout and overlayed addesses of interfaces on the TTram bus
is easily done and fast


so... lets get it done
i can supply a folder on pm for people who want oo get involved
its a TTRAM folder has all the projects made i can find for the TTRAM so we unify them and make a board with sdcard{ide} or and lan wifi etc usb

easy too do !!!!! :D

ideas help want or your cash back

im sick of people not fining the right ps2 edo 5v io 5v supply ram


its hard too get

too fekin hard and i want more :contract:

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4178
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Postby Dal » Wed Jan 07, 2015 6:48 pm

I suggest reworking the MagnumTT with a bus connector so that future functions like IDE, network or whatever can be developed and added at a later date.
Also, do away with the SIMM sockets and just populate the board with 256MB of RAM directly. No messing about trying to find compatible modules.

This should be a good compromise between development/testing time and costs.

Is this doable?
Mega"SST" 12, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

Guest

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Postby Guest » Wed Jan 07, 2015 7:27 pm

here is what i am talking about as a block diagram

i will layout a board
dedicated controllers for ide and lan are easy too add to a single mcu that translates the overlay too the TTRAM block

ram is as easy as edo 64pin chips etc needs looking at ,.. easy too get from hk in bulk perhaps 4 ic;s
but mapping etc the ram is easy as ide to overlay


so... 8 pin smd devices translate 3.3 to 5v and 5v too 3.3

the interface to the ram translates 3.3 to 5v and for data i/o
you use a bi dir pack its 4 pins each pack and is a clamp zener like this
i/o><res--z--res--z--res><i/o
res = 1k resistor
z = clamp zener 4.5v
works magic as a small smd 8 pin 4 bit pack,..
so we can use 3.3v ram the simms i think can be any type but better just too use 4 or 8 ic's i think 2 is avalible as 64pin package 32bit X 16

perhaps people just want 3.3 or 5v type jumper added and rework + a user interface to plug into too allow overlay???

its quite easy to negotiate with the mpu 030 too allow you none system controlled interaction with TTRAM
as ttram is uniformly controlled by the mpu so is transparent too the TT as running till looked at {request access}

TTRAM is something that hangs around till the system remembers too ask it when it asks it if its new data it shouldnt complain or break
some types of program may complain about TTRAM even being there .....

so...

as i said ill make the magnum TT avaible too those who still want it and only it
no probs
but i want to make a better more durable unit :coffe:
:cheers:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

TXG/MNX
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 172
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2003 10:05 am

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Postby TXG/MNX » Thu Jan 08, 2015 8:41 am

I still would want magnum tt but would like to have a new design interface aswell.
Can memory be expanded more then 256mb ? A few gb would be nice.
Also a cattamaran kind of speed upgrade would be something nice to have on it aswell.
How can i help to support this project? I don't have the electronic skills to help design it.

User avatar
qq1975b
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1077
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 9:15 am
Location: Barcelona

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Postby qq1975b » Thu Jan 08, 2015 10:04 pm

The TT is a powerful machine but a little forgot in developments. It is nice to see this, Simbo.

I find all the improvements very interesting...but in order (just my opinion):

IDE
USB (can plug anything there)
And....is it possible to have an expansion port for a VME graphic expander board just in case anyone finally wants to develop it? Simple graphic card: TT high res mode and 1024x768 with some colors :lol:
Trying to learn...

User avatar
Mindthreat
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 204
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2014 4:39 am
Contact:

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Postby Mindthreat » Thu Jan 08, 2015 11:37 pm

What is the actual benefit of having so much ram on such a machine? I mean... who actually uses it and for what/how?
"My attempt at trying to create cool things for the Atari Jaguar:" - http://www.RISCGames.com

User avatar
piku
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 190
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 5:17 am
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Contact:

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Postby piku » Thu Jan 08, 2015 11:39 pm

Compiling C++ software can take over 500MB at a time sometimes. Also, if you have a massive read cache the system will really start getting faster as the disk io is pretty slow.
piku http://www.atari-source.org http://rpmint.com/
CT60 Falcon - Dead Firebee - Some others ;)

User avatar
tenox
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 377
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 11:52 pm
Location: Sunnyvale, California
Contact:

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Postby tenox » Fri Jan 09, 2015 7:50 am

Agree on cache for compile. I know people who use TT for Calamus in DTP. These are usually memory hungry and benefit from large cache as well. I finally use TT for Atari SysV Unix, which also is memory hungry. To say that 256 MB is fine for me personally.

TXG/MNX
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 172
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2003 10:05 am

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Postby TXG/MNX » Fri Jan 09, 2015 6:36 pm

Just make a option to use the max memory a TT can support.

What is the maximum 512MB I read somewhere but I think a 68030 can address even more ...

User avatar
tenox
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 377
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 11:52 pm
Location: Sunnyvale, California
Contact:

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Postby tenox » Sun Jan 11, 2015 6:54 am

Okay so I have a small problem. I was lucky enough to receive a prototype board from simbo.

Unfortunately my luck ran our when it comes to finding a suitable memory. I have tried a couple of chips but they don't work. Simbo says that this is because even though the board says 5V, the individual chips are 3.3V.

I (and whoever else will be using Simbo's board) will need to find suitable memory chips.

Any ideas?

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4178
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Postby Dal » Sun Jan 11, 2015 8:15 am

As I said above, do away with the simm slots and just populate it with smd ram directly - max amount possible.
Mega"SST" 12, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

User avatar
qq1975b
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1077
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 9:15 am
Location: Barcelona

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Postby qq1975b » Sun Jan 11, 2015 12:10 pm

Dal wrote:As I said above, do away with the simm slots and just populate it with smd ram directly - max amount possible.


:thumbs: Probably easier and cheaper
Trying to learn...

User avatar
1st1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 855
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 11:48 am

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Postby 1st1 » Sun Jan 11, 2015 6:31 pm

I have two pieces os PS/2 SIMM 128 MB, which have been tested as Apple Performa copatible and my vendor used them in an Amiga 4000 before. So I am very certain that they would work with the Magnum TT. Is there any possiblility that I can test them in a board which already has been made?

For a first step that would be good enough for me.

As I now have two TTs a 2nd step would be interesting. If with modern memory chips it would be possible to shrink the memory function in space requirement it would be possible to add other functionality to the board, that sounds interesting. IDE/SATA/CF/SD (one of them is enough) is nice. Just as an idea: One PCIe-Express X1 slot to add a simple ATI radeon in the area of the VME-Slot? Ethernet is nice too but only optionally as we have now NetUSBee to order from Lotharek.
Power without the Price. It's not a bug. It's a feature. _/|\_ATARI

1040STFM in PC-Tower (PAK68/2, OvrScn, 4 MB, 1GB SCSI, CD-ROM...) * 2x Falcon 030 32GB/14MB+ScrnBlstrIII * 2x TT030 73GB/20MB+Nova * 520/1040STFM * 520/1040STE * 260/520ST/+ * some Mega ST * 2x Mega STE 500MB/4MB+M.CoCo * Stacy * STBook * SLM605 * SLM804 * SLM605 * SMM804 * SH 204/205 * Megafile 30/44/60 * SF314 * SF354 * 5x Pofo * PC3


Social Media

     

Return to “Professionals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests