SSD and Falcon

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

User avatar
Linuxbuilders
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 1:48 pm
Location: Melbourne AU
Contact:

SSD and Falcon

Postby Linuxbuilders » Sat Jul 17, 2010 4:41 am

Hi,
I have managed to push 2G Transcend SSD drive into my falcon, it works however I am unable to do any other partition setup but full one 2G partition. I have tried several drivers but my atari does not like it. Any idea why? HDX dos not want to format it and hangs during partitioning, HDDUtils will format it but only some versions so I had to use one version to partition it and another to format it.

Thnx
In hell we will meet again...

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12704
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: SSD and Falcon

Postby wongck » Sat Jul 17, 2010 11:22 am

from what i can gather, only hddriver is able to format any partition > 2 GB.
my old post: viewtopic.php?f=27&t=14329&start=0

You should be able to partition 100GB with it.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

simbo

Re: SSD and Falcon

Postby simbo » Mon Jul 19, 2010 1:42 am

format the card
and partition to 2.047 GB not 2.048 or the falcon cant see it {if i remember}
i always use 2.000GB and leave the left over space
to use more than 2GB BGM at a time {per drive icon in tos4} you need an extendor
like adding bigdos before using hddriver
other wise you need to make a hddriver disk
that has bigdos in its autofolder
and then you can access big partitions and also format them at boot {not hdd load of driver}
for hdd add it to the auto folder at first make all parts then install magic to see other fat drives etc
as well as your BGM partitions
or use magiC on the boot partition of your 2GB drive part and access the lot

you must read the instructions for bigdos it has a falcon only prg to use

method is

make a 2GB boot partition as BGM add the driver to it
reboot to the hdd copy
copy all files from hddriver disk to a folder the working partition
start hddutil and point it to the copy of the driver on the hdd {the .sys}
then adjust its properties as needed and reboot {ctrl alt rshift del}

then add bigdosf{autofolder} or magiC to the hdd
then using hddutil the extendors are there then more than 2GB per icon and FAT16/ FAT32 is avalible

be carefull with windows XP etc

read this about 2 and 4GB fat16 limits in these o/s
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/118335/
so watch what cards {like sd cards or cf } you use as a primary drive or pc swap over card

especialy when you format a 4gb card in windows xp and use it with just bigdos
it may not see it even it will have trouble with fat 32 and 4gb cards

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4376
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: SSD and Falcon

Postby joska » Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:16 am

Linuxbuilders wrote:Hi,
I have managed to push 2G Transcend SSD drive into my falcon, it works however I am unable to do any other partition setup but full one 2G partition. I have tried several drivers but my atari does not like it. Any idea why? HDX dos not want to format it and hangs during partitioning, HDDUtils will format it but only some versions so I had to use one version to partition it and another to format it.


Sounds like an old version of HD-Driver. Also, why would you format such a drive?
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12704
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: SSD and Falcon

Postby wongck » Mon Jul 19, 2010 11:25 am

best bet will be hddriver v8 & above.
Only certain v7 works with large 2GB partition.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
Linuxbuilders
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 1:48 pm
Location: Melbourne AU
Contact:

Re: SSD and Falcon

Postby Linuxbuilders » Tue Jul 20, 2010 12:53 pm

thnx, why format? oh well just to see if all works, no other point in formatting ssd. Right?

Other question, anyone got SATAN DISK connected to falcon?

thnx
In hell we will meet again...

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4376
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: SSD and Falcon

Postby joska » Tue Jul 20, 2010 1:12 pm

Linuxbuilders wrote:thnx, why format? oh well just to see if all works, no other point in formatting ssd. Right?


Is it even possible to "format" in IDE drive with HDX? Usually this is (or atleast *was*) done by special tools provided by the harddisk manufacturer. What you need is to do a sector test. I don't think "formatting" IDE does anything at all.

Linuxbuilders wrote:Other question, anyone got SATAN DISK connected to falcon?


The Falcon doesn't have an ACSI-port, and AFAIK there is no SCSI-version of SatanDisk/Ultrasatan. Anyway, it would be pointless as you can use ordinary IDE->CF/SD adapters (or SCSI->CF if you can find one).
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12704
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: SSD and Falcon

Postby wongck » Wed Jul 21, 2010 11:54 am

joska wrote:
Linuxbuilders wrote:thnx, why format? oh well just to see if all works, no other point in formatting ssd. Right?


Is it even possible to "format" in IDE drive with HDX? Usually this is (or atleast *was*) done by special tools provided by the harddisk manufacturer. What you need is to do a sector test. I don't think "formatting" IDE does anything at all.


may be he means write all 0 to the sectors.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12704
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: SSD and Falcon

Postby wongck » Wed Jul 21, 2010 11:56 am

joska wrote:The Falcon doesn't have an ACSI-port, and AFAIK there is no SCSI-version of SatanDisk/Ultrasatan. Anyway, it would be pointless as you can use ordinary IDE->CF/SD adapters (or SCSI->CF if you can find one).


mine is SCSI->IDE and then IDE->SD :mrgreen:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

simbo

Re: SSD and Falcon

Postby simbo » Sat Jul 24, 2010 9:18 pm

scsi>< ide <<>>ide > sdcard is a better idea for use with cubase audio etc
and then you can use just about any driver

the sdcard adapter i have here will work if you do this like an ide disk {except v8X of hddriver}
and works aok with older version of hddriver as long as i use ide hard disk and not cfcard..

using cubase own scsi driver seems works aok... no issues reported as long as you leave the sdcard fixed disk {dont unplug it }
not sure if you can plug in another card as long as its the same geometry

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12704
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: SSD and Falcon

Postby wongck » Sun Jul 25, 2010 1:18 am

I am using v8.xx and it seems to be able to read/write into my fat32 sd card via that configuration.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

simbo

Re: SSD and Falcon

Postby simbo » Sun Jul 25, 2010 2:47 am

yes i have no problems way up to 32GB sd cards so far and fat 32
seems more limits fall

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12704
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: SSD and Falcon

Postby wongck » Sun Jul 25, 2010 11:20 am

It does seems that fat32 is limited to 32 GB as imposed by Microslop due to inefficient use of sectors.
But it should be good to read/write till a few TB.
I do not know if Mint impose these limitation. :roll:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Shredder11
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2434
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 2:23 pm
Location: West Yorkshire, United Kingdom (England)
Contact:

Re: SSD and Falcon

Postby Shredder11 » Sun Jul 25, 2010 1:30 pm

I normally stick with Sandisk flash media but how good are Kingston for compatibility and performance? I've been wanting to buy some SDHC cards for a while now.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12704
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: SSD and Falcon

Postby wongck » Sun Jul 25, 2010 1:36 pm

I have been using Kingston, not used any sandisk before.
Kingstons seems to be OK without any failures yet so far ... touch wood :mrgreen:
Lately I bought 2 x 2GB Toshiba SD which is class 4 cheaply... seems OK so far :roll:

I used them between my Atari SD reader, camera, PC.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Shredder11
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2434
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 2:23 pm
Location: West Yorkshire, United Kingdom (England)
Contact:

Re: SSD and Falcon

Postby Shredder11 » Sun Jul 25, 2010 3:24 pm

Great thanks for the info, I think I will buy some Kingston then seeing as they are cheaper than Sandisk.

Shredder11
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2434
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 2:23 pm
Location: West Yorkshire, United Kingdom (England)
Contact:

Re: SSD and Falcon

Postby Shredder11 » Mon Jul 26, 2010 4:18 pm

I changed my mind and ordered two Kingston 16GB Class 4 cards, instead of one big 32GB card like I said I would. For one it worked out cheaper and I still do not know how much space the STE and Falcon 030 HxC SD floppy disk images are going to take up. After a bit of hunting around I found a 24% money off coupon for the memorybits.co.uk (now called zoombits.co.uk) website, which made the 16GB cards about £20 each and delivery is free. Even with 24% off the 32GB card would have cost me £12 more than two 16GB cards. So after nearly two months I will finally get to plug in and try out my HxC SD Floppy emulator!

User avatar
Ektus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 245
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 2:58 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: SSD and Falcon

Postby Ektus » Mon Jul 26, 2010 5:52 pm

wongck wrote:It does seems that fat32 is limited to 32 GB as imposed by Microslop due to inefficient use of sectors.
But it should be good to read/write till a few TB.
I do not know if Mint impose these limitation. :roll:


MiNT (and also MagiC) don't know about this limitation. In my Milan, I've got a 3,5" IDE hard disc with 36GB and one single F32 partition. :angel:


With best regards
Ektus.
Schneider CPC464 (long retired), Atari Mega ST4 (retired), Falcon+CT2A, Falcon+CT63+CTPCI+Radeon 9250, Milan040+SCSI+Rage

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12704
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: SSD and Falcon

Postby wongck » Tue Jul 27, 2010 12:08 pm

Ektus wrote:MiNT (and also MagiC) don't know about this limitation. In my Milan, I've got a 3,5" IDE hard disc with 36GB and one single F32 partition. :angel:

Good to know... thanks for the information.
Any news of the CTPCI? :mrgreen:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
Ektus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 245
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 2:58 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: SSD and Falcon

Postby Ektus » Tue Jul 27, 2010 5:24 pm

wongck wrote:Any news of the CTPCI? :mrgreen:

Nothing that I would know of. Radeons are working, other cards are not :(
I've still got a couple CTPCI for sale on http://forum.atari-home.de/index.php?topic=6982.0 :)

With best regards
Ektus
Schneider CPC464 (long retired), Atari Mega ST4 (retired), Falcon+CT2A, Falcon+CT63+CTPCI+Radeon 9250, Milan040+SCSI+Rage

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12704
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: SSD and Falcon

Postby wongck » Wed Jul 28, 2010 11:48 am

Ektus wrote:
wongck wrote:Any news of the CTPCI? :mrgreen:

Nothing that I would know of. Radeons are working, other cards are not :(

Oh well...
Been waiting for it for several years now.
So a couple of months more makes no difference.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list


Social Media

     

Return to “Professionals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests