VOXX-Falcon Vocoder Fullversion?

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

User avatar
Crash
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 285
Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 1:12 pm

Re: VOXX-Falcon Vocoder Fullversion?

Postby Crash » Tue Jun 01, 2010 7:50 pm

It is best to try this without MiNT, and without any other programs or accessories while figuring this out. The SCSI clock mod may be related, as I think this is the same as the clock buffer mod aka clock patch. Perhaps a hardware guru can chime in here as to whether this should hurt or help Voxx, and if there may be variations in this modification. We'll have to see if anyone with or without this mod is able to run Voxx, in order to try and rule it out.

My Falcon is not a great example, since it has a CT60 installed with bus acceleration and lot of related on board modifications. I was able to run Voxx without any problems at stock speed. Still, I do not have the standard version of the clock patch as described here:

viewtopic.php?f=27&t=16181&start=0

Also, what resolution/color depth are you running in? I would recommend trying 256 then 16 colors @ 640x480.

User avatar
axxim
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue May 04, 2010 8:40 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: VOXX-Falcon Vocoder Fullversion?

Postby axxim » Thu Jun 17, 2010 4:20 pm

AtariSince1989 wrote:
Crash wrote:I sent a message to inquire in case of an error with the AMN site. I hope they haven't shut down, as things were looking very good there.

Don't think is an error, as has been reported that Facebook and Twitter accounts have disappear as well, and Donovan Logan is unreachable through e-mail.


Hi all.

Has someone reached Donovan or knows what happened to his site? There is a login but no register in the link. I've tried to contact him via mail but got an undeliverable mail message in return.

BTW... how is going Voxx on your Falcons?

User avatar
AtariSince1989
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 778
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 1:14 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: VOXX-Falcon Vocoder Fullversion?

Postby AtariSince1989 » Thu Jun 17, 2010 6:12 pm

axxim wrote:Has someone reached Donovan or knows what happened to his site? There is a login but no register in the link. I've tried to contact him via mail but got an undeliverable mail message in return.

Malcolm did a hell of a CSI work and managed to contact him. Look at the end of this posts

axxim wrote:BTW... how is going Voxx on your Falcons?

On my Falcon doesn't work. Crash said could be related with some mod (SCSI clock mod) I have on my Falcon :(

The installation instructions says "If you get only noise and the spectrum display id maxed then close it and try again (sync problems were reported)". Well I closed and tried again several times, even rebooting the Atari, but the only thing I get is the spectrum display id maxed.
- Atari 520 STe 4MB RAM + TOS 2.06 + UltraSatan
- Atari Falcon030 14MB RAM + TOS 4.04 + IDE-SD card HDD + NVRAM mod + SCSI buffer clock mod + EtherNEC
- Amstrad CPC 6128 + HxC USB Floppy Emulator
- Acorn A3010 4MB RAM + 40MB IDE HDD

Atari ST Essential software (The List)
My FTP Server: http://www.datavase.info/FTPserver (only from Midnight to 8am UK Time)
My music at http://soundcloud.com/datavase/

User avatar
Crash
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 285
Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 1:12 pm

Re: VOXX-Falcon Vocoder Fullversion?

Postby Crash » Fri Jun 18, 2010 1:30 am

I can't be sure that it is the clock mod, but can confirm that when my bus acceleration is enabled I get the pegged meters and white noise problem. As I recall, this is the same thing that happened on my old (not working) Falcon that also had one version of the clock mod and other changes too. I would imagine there is a hardware solution to trouble free audio plus VOXX compatibility, but do not know enough to figure that out. Maybe if I get my two broken Falcons fixed, I can at least do some testing.

User avatar
AtariSince1989
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 778
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 1:14 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: VOXX-Falcon Vocoder Fullversion?

Postby AtariSince1989 » Fri Jun 18, 2010 7:57 am

Crash wrote:I can't be sure that it is the clock mod, but can confirm that when my bus acceleration is enabled I get the pegged meters and white noise problem. As I recall, this is the same thing that happened on my old (not working) Falcon that also had one version of the clock mod and other changes too. I would imagine there is a hardware solution to trouble free audio plus VOXX compatibility, but do not know enough to figure that out. Maybe if I get my two broken Falcons fixed, I can at least do some testing.

Thanks for the info. I have not enough knowledge about electronics (I don't even know what the clock mod does :?). Can this clock mod be easily (and temporarily) disabled? If so, I could disable it to run VOXX.
- Atari 520 STe 4MB RAM + TOS 2.06 + UltraSatan
- Atari Falcon030 14MB RAM + TOS 4.04 + IDE-SD card HDD + NVRAM mod + SCSI buffer clock mod + EtherNEC
- Amstrad CPC 6128 + HxC USB Floppy Emulator
- Acorn A3010 4MB RAM + 40MB IDE HDD

Atari ST Essential software (The List)
My FTP Server: http://www.datavase.info/FTPserver (only from Midnight to 8am UK Time)
My music at http://soundcloud.com/datavase/

User avatar
axxim
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue May 04, 2010 8:40 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: VOXX-Falcon Vocoder Fullversion?

Postby axxim » Fri Jun 18, 2010 9:47 am

AtariSince1989 wrote:On my Falcon doesn't work. Crash said could be related with some mod (SCSI clock mod) I have on my Falcon :(

The installation instructions says "If you get only noise and the spectrum display id maxed then close it and try again (sync problems were reported)". Well I closed and tried again several times, even rebooting the Atari, but the only thing I get is the spectrum display id maxed.


Well this was one of the main issue I had with my Falcon those days and the cause of stopping my projects. This problem came more often each day until it was impossible for me to continue working with it.

My suspiction is that there may be a sync problem between the Audio Matrix and the DSP. If the Spectrum is maxed out, it would mean that the communication between the DSP and the GUI still works but that the audio serial data may be out of sync (shifted). As this issue came with the time it may be just a capacitor which value was near the specified limit and due to aging got out of spec.

I hope someone gets a solution for this.

Regarding Voxx I have bad news: My original Falcon hard disk which I have in my hands now, doesn't work any more. When I turn it on (attached to a USB interface) it starts to rotate for about 5 seconds and then stops. after a while it tries to start again and the procedure repeats again and again. The heads of the HD doesn't seem to get in action so there may be fault in the initialization....

Just in case that someone has an idea or it is an known issue, here the HD data:
Brand: CONNER Peripherials
Model: CP2064
SN: X9154K

User avatar
AtariSince1989
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 778
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 1:14 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: VOXX-Falcon Vocoder Fullversion?

Postby AtariSince1989 » Fri Jun 18, 2010 10:09 am

axxim wrote:My suspiction is that there may be a sync problem between the Audio Matrix and the DSP. If the Spectrum is maxed out, it would mean that the communication between the DSP and the GUI still works but that the audio serial data may be out of sync (shifted). As this issue came with the time it may be just a capacitor which value was near the specified limit and due to aging got out of spec.

That is very interesting :thumbs: Any idea how I could test it? Thanks a lot.
- Atari 520 STe 4MB RAM + TOS 2.06 + UltraSatan
- Atari Falcon030 14MB RAM + TOS 4.04 + IDE-SD card HDD + NVRAM mod + SCSI buffer clock mod + EtherNEC
- Amstrad CPC 6128 + HxC USB Floppy Emulator
- Acorn A3010 4MB RAM + 40MB IDE HDD

Atari ST Essential software (The List)
My FTP Server: http://www.datavase.info/FTPserver (only from Midnight to 8am UK Time)
My music at http://soundcloud.com/datavase/

User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4087
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Re: VOXX-Falcon Vocoder Fullversion?

Postby nativ » Fri Jun 18, 2010 10:31 am

Iphegny?

Would you be able to use this alongside? and for the required purpose? I don't think there are too many other pieces of Falcon Audio Diagnostic softwares!


Regards


:D
Atari STFM 512 / STe 4MB / Mega ST+DSP / Falcon 4MB 16Mhz 68882 - DVD/CDRW/ZIP/DAT - FDI / Jaguar / Lynx 1&2 / 7800 / 2600 / XE 130+SD Card // Sega Dreamcast / Mega2+CD2 // Apple G4

http://soundcloud.com/nativ ~ http://soundcloud.com/nativ-1 ~ http://soundcloud.com/knot_music
http://soundcloud.com/push-sounds ~ http://soundcloud.com/push-records

User avatar
AtariSince1989
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 778
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 1:14 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: VOXX-Falcon Vocoder Fullversion?

Postby AtariSince1989 » Fri Jun 18, 2010 11:01 am

nativ wrote:Iphegny?

For a second I thought you were insulting me in some modern way :mrgreen:

Anybody could send me a copy? Thanks a lot.
- Atari 520 STe 4MB RAM + TOS 2.06 + UltraSatan
- Atari Falcon030 14MB RAM + TOS 4.04 + IDE-SD card HDD + NVRAM mod + SCSI buffer clock mod + EtherNEC
- Amstrad CPC 6128 + HxC USB Floppy Emulator
- Acorn A3010 4MB RAM + 40MB IDE HDD

Atari ST Essential software (The List)
My FTP Server: http://www.datavase.info/FTPserver (only from Midnight to 8am UK Time)
My music at http://soundcloud.com/datavase/

User avatar
Crash
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 285
Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 1:12 pm

Re: VOXX-Falcon Vocoder Fullversion?

Postby Crash » Fri Jun 18, 2010 6:39 pm

axxim wrote:
AtariSince1989 wrote:Regarding Voxx I have bad news: My original Falcon hard disk which I have in my hands now, doesn't work any more. When I turn it on (attached to a USB interface) it starts to rotate for about 5 seconds and then stops. after a while it tries to start again and the procedure repeats again and again. The heads of the HD doesn't seem to get in action so there may be fault in the initialization....

I would guess that this may mean that it requires more current than the USB interface is providing? Do you know anyone with a Falcon your drive can be plugged into?
Last edited by Crash on Sat Jun 19, 2010 11:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
axxim
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue May 04, 2010 8:40 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: VOXX-Falcon Vocoder Fullversion?

Postby axxim » Sat Jun 19, 2010 7:27 pm

No it isn't the USB I/F power because it has a sepparate power supply. My friend connected it to his Falcon before he returned it to me telling the same problem.

User avatar
Crash
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 285
Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 1:12 pm

Re: VOXX-Falcon Vocoder Fullversion?

Postby Crash » Sat Jun 19, 2010 11:37 pm

I need to research this further. I'm sure that I have run into this problem at least once before, but can't recall if there is any solution.

User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1504
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: VOXX-Falcon Vocoder Fullversion?

Postby Eero Tamminen » Wed Aug 02, 2017 4:47 pm

Axxim, do you have any idea why the freeware version would freeze in Hatari right after it starts up? On DSP side it runs few DSP instructions (including DSP RESET), and on CPU side it doesn't run any instructions.

The above linked Voxx demo version doesn't freeze.


Social Media

     

Return to “Professionals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest