Mint on TT

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

User avatar
dexterslab
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 446
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 11:05 pm
Location: Greater Manchester, UK
Contact:

Mint on TT

Postby dexterslab » Thu Apr 23, 2009 10:38 am

right so i'll have my 2gb flash disk running in a day or so and i have total of 36mb ram in the TT so would like to look at installing mint.

The last time i played with it was when atari sent me multitos just after i'd bought my Falcon, so i'm a bit out of date :oops:

whats the difference between the flavours of mint like easymint, freemint etc and how would i choose which one to use? Same question goes for the AES alternatives...

Depending how i partition up my drive i'll have about 750mb to 1gb free. What other alternative filesystems are available under mint and what benefits do they carry?

With regard to my CrazyDots II card, how does this interract with mint & the new aes? I'm using NVDI ET4000 v3 at the moment.

and sorry for all the questions!

User avatar
Beetle
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2008 10:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Mint on TT

Postby Beetle » Fri Apr 24, 2009 1:31 am

Hi,

your TT already has a nice setup!

FreeMiNT is the one that is still maintained.

EasyMiNT is a GEM based Installer for FreeMiNT that
makes installing , well, Easy :)
I can warmly recommend the EasyMiNT install, it gives you a
solid working setup out of the box. Of course you can tweak
it to be more functional or make it look different.

EasyMiNT installs a full FreeMiNT 1.16.3a, if you want incl. MiNTnet and
even X11(which is, imho too slow on TT).

As desktop there comes the free and stable TeraDesk.
TeraDesk is available in a newer version in the meantime.
Easy to replace the older version with new.

As AES EasyMiNT sets up XaAES which is very good and the one i use.
You can , of course, setup your copy of N.Aes as well as the promising MyAES.
Its possible to login to MiNT console and choose the wanted AES from there,
in case you like to check them all out.
I'd recommend to go with th full release of XaAES. The one out of the EasyMiNT
package is reduced by some window designs and a full documented example configfile.

I run a Matrix VME graphics card with NVDI5, but had it running with NVDI3 before
i got my graphics card. I guess you can get you CrazyDots II run with NVDI3, too.
(NVDI5 recommended, though)

You need some MB space on your BGM C: partition and a LNX D: partition.
A free D: partition can be changed to LNX during EasyMiNT setup (will get erased,
make your backup)
I have a 400M BGM C:, 1G LNX D:, 400M BGM D: and a 34G FAT32 for my pics and
music (wave files).
Okay, a 10.000turns, 36 GB UWSCSI HD in a TT is overkill. But i had it here....

I have to say, access to LNX partition is faster than the FAT32 one. So, after testing this,
i'd not make a FAT32 partition anymore.

I hope that helps a bit to decide for you.

Image

Greets,
Beetle
What Atari do you want to modify today?

User avatar
dexterslab
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 446
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 11:05 pm
Location: Greater Manchester, UK
Contact:

Re: Mint on TT

Postby dexterslab » Fri Apr 24, 2009 7:36 am

perfect, thats answered a lot

so probably the only thing i might want to source beforehand is a copy of nvdi5

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12672
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Mint on TT

Postby wongck » Fri Apr 24, 2009 2:50 pm

My TT has only a 520 MB HDD but my Falc has a 20GB HDD.
Patitions on Falc as follows:
1. Drive C = BGM 999 MB
2. Drive D = EFS2 256 MB
3. Drive E = FAT32 18.7 GB

If there a unclean dismount of EFS2, the system will do a fsck on the EFS2 partition. I used to have 10GB of EFS2 and it took like eternity (OK, it's actually 30 mins or so) to finish doing the fsck. :roll: I want to use the Atari asap, not 30 mins later. So I resize the EFS2 partition smaller so that fsck can finish faster.

On my spare 40GB HDD, the drive E is like 38 GB large.
:mrgreen:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
rian_ata
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 269
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 10:00 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Mint on TT

Postby rian_ata » Sun Apr 26, 2009 9:14 pm

Beetle wrote:Hi,

I run a Matrix VME graphics card with NVDI5, but had it running with NVDI3 before
i got my graphics card. I guess you can get you CrazyDots II run with NVDI3, too.
(NVDI5 recommended, though)



Beetle,

do you have the Matrix card running with Mint? If yes, how did you set it up?

Regards,
Bas

User avatar
Beetle
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2008 10:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Mint on TT

Postby Beetle » Thu May 07, 2009 6:23 pm

Yes, its running with MiNT.

As i told, NVDI5 drives the card just fine.
All i had to do was adding a line to mint.cnf that calls the driver
and sets the desired gfx mode. (something like
exec cxdrv.prg C:\MATRIX\1280.CXS
or similar), where cxdrv.prg is the executable of the matrix driver disk,
which was meant to be run from AUTO folder but got replaced by NVDI.

I then get a test picture until XaAES starts up.

I'll edit this posting with the exact line when my TT is set up
again (next week).

Greets,
Beetle
What Atari do you want to modify today?

User avatar
dexterslab
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 446
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 11:05 pm
Location: Greater Manchester, UK
Contact:

Re: Mint on TT

Postby dexterslab » Wed May 13, 2009 8:40 am

just read the requirements, seems i have to use HDDRIVER?

HDDRIVER doesn't work on my TT for inexplicable reasons, so i guess i'm totally screwed using all of this?

User avatar
dexterslab
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 446
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 11:05 pm
Location: Greater Manchester, UK
Contact:

Re: Mint on TT

Postby dexterslab » Mon May 18, 2009 9:38 am

i have a work-around to my issues with hddriver thankfully and i now have a running mint/xaaes system after installing easymint with the basic and standard packages

how do i go about installing nvdi5 so i can use my crazydots2 video card and get rid of this 640x480 16 colour desktop!?


Social Media

     

Return to “Professionals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests