TT030 & connectivity to the new world

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12774
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: TT030 & connectivity to the new world

Postby wongck » Sun May 03, 2009 3:42 am

I guess it is time now to take a look at your IDE-SCSI card.
What is the model ? Is it is -E model ?
What is the firmware version?

I read from some old Mac forums that anything below -E is not working too well.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
dexterslab
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 446
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 11:05 pm
Location: Greater Manchester, UK
Contact:

Re: TT030 & connectivity to the new world

Postby dexterslab » Sun May 03, 2009 8:54 am

yea, i'm going to look at it today.

It's E model, problem is i have to drive 10 miles to my parents, pickup a scsi card, drive to work & put the card into my work machine (home machine is a microatx board and only has one PCI and thats used for the video card)... setup to use SCSI in DOS (eurrrg!) and then flash

overall, it's a real PITA Yellow_Colorz_PDT_31

User avatar
dexterslab
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 446
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 11:05 pm
Location: Greater Manchester, UK
Contact:

Re: TT030 & connectivity to the new world

Postby dexterslab » Sun May 03, 2009 12:27 pm

update:

didn't go well, got all the scsi/dos stuff working ok but the firmware updater just would not update.

Started the flash, it then asked to power off and on the idsc board, it then said : "ROM write error. or DIP-SW error."

and yes, i did have the FW update jumper in place

Tried it about 5-6 times, no luck

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12774
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: TT030 & connectivity to the new world

Postby wongck » Mon May 04, 2009 12:14 pm

dexterslab wrote:Started the flash, it then asked to power off and on the idsc board, it then said : "ROM write error. or DIP-SW error."


Don't worry.
Remove everything, and jumper back to normal operations.
Try to see what version it is - should be the newer version.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
dexterslab
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 446
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 11:05 pm
Location: Greater Manchester, UK
Contact:

Re: TT030 & connectivity to the new world

Postby dexterslab » Mon May 04, 2009 12:41 pm

no luck i'm afraid, it didn't update, shows v1.01

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12774
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: TT030 & connectivity to the new world

Postby wongck » Mon May 04, 2009 2:51 pm

Wow, v1.01 is rather old.
Mine was 1.21 and there is a newer fw.
I hope you still have that SCSI for wintel.
I will pm you my fw.
Last edited by wongck on Mon May 04, 2009 3:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12774
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: TT030 & connectivity to the new world

Postby wongck » Mon May 04, 2009 3:02 pm

dexterslab wrote:Started the flash, it then asked to power off and on the idsc board, it then said : "ROM write error. or DIP-SW error."

You need to remove the power.
When it ask you to power on, you need to set the jumper to normal, then put the power back on.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
dexterslab
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 446
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 11:05 pm
Location: Greater Manchester, UK
Contact:

Re: TT030 & connectivity to the new world

Postby dexterslab » Mon May 04, 2009 4:51 pm

wongck wrote:
dexterslab wrote:Started the flash, it then asked to power off and on the idsc board, it then said : "ROM write error. or DIP-SW error."

You need to remove the power.
When it ask you to power on, you need to set the jumper to normal, then put the power back on.


ahh, got it... flashed ok now to 1.27

repartitioned the card and installed hddriver, i then autoboot from the card... try accessing floppy disk...

i still get the two bombs bus error! :cry:

not much left to try now, only hardware problem in the TT

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12774
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: TT030 & connectivity to the new world

Postby wongck » Tue May 05, 2009 1:26 am

dexterslab wrote:ahh, got it... flashed ok now to 1.27

I don't like flashing the device, as I think that was what killed my Acard. May be I did it wrongly for that Acard.
The instructions are not very well written.... may be because some Jap wrote them. :wink:

dexterslab wrote:i still get the two bombs bus error! :cry:
not much left to try now, only hardware problem in the TT


Looks like then. :(
You are using TOS partition, not TOS/DOS partition? right?

If it's SCSI issues, then may be Simbo have some ideas.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
dexterslab
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 446
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 11:05 pm
Location: Greater Manchester, UK
Contact:

Re: TT030 & connectivity to the new world

Postby dexterslab » Tue May 05, 2009 8:33 am

one thing i did find though is i can leave JP7 enabled now (DMA) on the idsc card during all operations of hddriver so the firmware update has fixed something.

i will do more testing tonight to see if it's fixed the freezing while copying from floppy issue

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12774
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: TT030 & connectivity to the new world

Postby wongck » Tue May 05, 2009 1:54 pm

May sound daft, but leave it for a night and it may work after that.
may be some electronic needs resting after the flashing.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12774
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: TT030 & connectivity to the new world

Postby wongck » Tue May 05, 2009 1:55 pm

wongck wrote:May sound daft, but leave it for a night and it may work after that.
may be some electronic needs resting after the flashing.


due to the timezone difference, may be it's already a night ago since you updated the fw.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
dexterslab
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 446
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 11:05 pm
Location: Greater Manchester, UK
Contact:

Re: TT030 & connectivity to the new world

Postby dexterslab » Tue May 05, 2009 4:47 pm

just been through another load of testing... my proper internal terminators arrived and are now installed

this time using the ICD Pro 655 drivers, after partitioning, booting & copying files for a good 3/4 hour it seems to be working perfectly. So the freezing while copying seems to be fixed (touch wood) by the firmware update and/or the installation of the terminators.

HDDRIVER still doesn't work properly

i guess the big question now, if i use UltraSatan with the ICD drivers, will i still be able to use the SD cards on both atari and windows to exchange data?

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12774
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: TT030 & connectivity to the new world

Postby wongck » Wed May 06, 2009 3:14 pm

Congrats, at least you get no bombs using ICD pro.
Have you tried loading WinX?
May fix something.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
dexterslab
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 446
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 11:05 pm
Location: Greater Manchester, UK
Contact:

Re: TT030 & connectivity to the new world

Postby dexterslab » Wed May 06, 2009 6:26 pm

no, i've not tried winx yet. When i've finished archiving all my disks i'll be exploring the depths of mint so bugs in gem/tos wont be so much of an issue.

meanwhile down in Dexter's Lab:
This should be in the right place to allow another one to be installed next to it

Image

Image

Image

User avatar
FatRakoon
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 908
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2007 3:27 am
Location: Behind the grassy knoll
Contact:

Re: TT030 & connectivity to the new world

Postby FatRakoon » Wed May 06, 2009 8:59 pm

I too have a SCSI to IDE adapter in my TT

Mine is the Addonics one.

The CF card is a SANDISK 4GB one
The IDE to CF Adapter is set to MASTER
The Addonics adapter is set to ID0
I have 2 other SCSI HDs as well as the ZIP100 and a pair of CDRW Drives and these are all ID 1 to 6 and the TT being ID7
Im using HDDriver 8.16

It works perfectly.

---

Now in order to get DATA to and FROM a Windows PC, there is only 2 things that are needed.

1 - MAGIC or MiNT on the Atari
( These are needed to be able to read FAT32 Partitions )

2 - To use windows to format the MEDIA instead of the Atari.
( The Atari can read Windows partitioned FAT32 Disks but Windows has issues reading Atari Disks - even if they are setup right, they still dont play nice )
MSTE @ 16Mhz : 4MB+8MB : Magic & Jinnee
TT030 @ 32Mhz : 10+16MB : Magic & Jinnee
Falcon060 @ 95Mhz : 16+512MB : MiNT & Jinnee
More PCs than PC World has... Probably

User avatar
dexterslab
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 446
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 11:05 pm
Location: Greater Manchester, UK
Contact:

Re: TT030 & connectivity to the new world

Postby dexterslab » Thu May 07, 2009 8:12 am

thanks FatRakoon, just more proof there's something odd/unusual/broken with my TT and hddriver just doesn't like it

yea, well i think it's going to be a struggle to sort out the hddriver issue, which is a shame because i only bought it a few weeks ago!

So it looks like i'll be using the ICD drivers, which TBH is what i was using previously and with very very few issues.

As far as PC data interchange, both my internal drive and my ultrasatan (when it arrives) will both be quickly removeable and pluggable onto the PC, i can then just use one of ppera's utilities to read the drive and copy the files to the PC. Sure it's not plug and play, but it's not like i'll be doing it all the time.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12774
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: TT030 & connectivity to the new world

Postby wongck » Thu May 07, 2009 2:49 pm

Your CF adapter is nicer than mine.
Mine does not have the pinout for the reading LED.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12774
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: TT030 & connectivity to the new world

Postby wongck » Thu May 07, 2009 2:52 pm

Can you do a benchmark and see how fast it is?
I think my old CF card is the normal speed version.
A 133X version is capable of near to 20MB/s and so near to the TT SCSI speed.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
dexterslab
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 446
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 11:05 pm
Location: Greater Manchester, UK
Contact:

Re: TT030 & connectivity to the new world

Postby dexterslab » Thu May 07, 2009 4:42 pm

need to do some tests with other utils but the ICD RATEHD program says 1.8Mbyte/sec, which is close to twice as fast as the old quantum drive that its replaced, but then that dates from 1994.

the CF adaptor is actually one from one that comes with a PC style backplane slot, i simply removed the metal backplane which allows the use of the holes for mounting. I relocated the LED and replaced it with a 2pin header.

i am also tempted to try and mount the ultrasatan inside the drive enclosure, but lack of internal asci port will make for some interesting wiring, so we'll see

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12774
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: TT030 & connectivity to the new world

Postby wongck » Fri May 08, 2009 11:51 am

dexterslab wrote:need to do some tests with other utils but the ICD RATEHD program says 1.8Mbyte/sec, which is close to twice as fast as the old quantum drive that its replaced, but then that dates from 1994.


That's about the speed of the HDD I posted earlier. So a newer CF does indeed gives better results.

dexterslab wrote:i am also tempted to try and mount the ultrasatan inside the drive enclosure, but lack of internal asci port will make for some interesting wiring, so we'll see


You can install a 3 connector SCSI cable to replace the internal 2 connector cable. That way, you can put 2 SCSI devices on the internal port. It is power cable that will be a problem. Spliting too many times may result in low current.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
dexterslab
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 446
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 11:05 pm
Location: Greater Manchester, UK
Contact:

Re: TT030 & connectivity to the new world

Postby dexterslab » Fri May 15, 2009 7:53 am

i'll make a final post into this thread, its served its purpose...

the last test i did was to use my old (now blank) quantum scsi disk on it's own, i still get the bombs like in the previous video clip i did.

just want to say thanks to everyone who helped, i wouldn't have got this far without it :cheers:

i'll have rethink now what happens long term, if i should use it without mint, try to repair it or strip it for parts.


Social Media

     

Return to “Professionals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest