TT030 & connectivity to the new world

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12789
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: TT030 & connectivity to the new world

Postby wongck » Sat Apr 25, 2009 3:44 pm

dexterslab wrote:other than the scsi-id settings, what other jumper settings did you have on the idsc21 card?


I tried to mimic as much as possible as the original SCSI drive.
So I set SCSI-ID to 0 pin 1 = pin 2 = pin3 = 0
Set SCSI to SCSI-2 as I wanted it to be fast :D pin 4 = 0, pin 5 = 1 , pin 6 = 0
Set ATA transfer to be DMA mode ( fast ) pin 7 = 1
Normal operation pin 8 = 0
Terminator on pin 9 = 0

The ATA mode does not matter much as the TT will not see this.
SCSI-1 device should be able to talk to SCS9-2 device at a reduced instruction set, so there should be no issue to set IO-data to SCSi-2.

dexterslab wrote: my scsi bus isn't fully terminated so that might be a contributing factor


I don't think so because you can control the termination via the IO-Data. FYI, there is also no terminator resistor on my TT. Most SCSI devices have builtin terminators - my external SCSi HDD and SCSI CDROM (both have died), my SyQuest and the SCSILink have terminators that I can set. I think most TT do not have terminator resistor on the mobo. This is inline with Atari Corp cost cutting campaign, remove as much hardware from the computers :(
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12789
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: TT030 & connectivity to the new world

Postby wongck » Sat Apr 25, 2009 3:47 pm

Forgot one thing :wink:

there was a master / slave/ cable select on my CF adapter.
I set it to master as it is the only IDE device on the CF adapter.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12789
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: TT030 & connectivity to the new world

Postby wongck » Sat Apr 25, 2009 4:19 pm

Sorry to bump up an older post... I am trying to see what went wrong..

dexterslab wrote:could not write 'administrative sectors'. So i changed the jumper on the scsi adaptor from DMA to PIO (PIO is slower so figured it might be better).


On my Falc with Ct63, I encounter issues writting into FAT area and it also mess up my EFS2 partition on the internal IDE. But not yet on my TT SCSI HDD. I attributed my problem to the CT63 because after removing it, the FAT error was gone (but EFS2 needs rebuilding). My CT63 is now back at Rodophe, as I think it is faulty.

Actually if your IDE cannot do DMA, it will downgrade to PIO. So if the device cannot cope, it should auto adjust.

dexterslab wrote:Went to initialize partition and there's nothing listed! So i tried rebooting and one of the partitions appears in the initialize partition dialog, so i formatted that one, rebooted and there's two there now so formatted the other one. Installed hddriver onto the first partition for autoboot, it sometimes locked up or bombed during boot.


After partitioning, I always do a reboot so that the new partition are known to the system.
I never done an initialise nor a format to get the partition recognised by TOS. TOS just sees it as drive C on the reboot.
I can then copy stuff to it (normally my C drive backupfrom my external storage).
For my 2nd partiton, I normally have it as EFS2 so I need to do a mkefs2 before I can use it.

Did you set up generic SCSI to on?
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
dexterslab
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 446
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 11:05 pm
Location: Greater Manchester, UK
Contact:

Re: TT030 & connectivity to the new world

Postby dexterslab » Sun Apr 26, 2009 4:26 pm

more testing today...

went back to basics and started from scratch. I removed my crazydots video card and my megtt board. Replaced the internal scsi cable as the old one had been bent and kinked quite a bit over the years. Still only single ended termination (will be a few days before i can sort this).

So i'm back to a standard UKTOS3.06 TT with 4mb stram. with the idsc card i set scsi id to 0, with jumpers 5 and 7 ON.

booted with hddriver disk, device found but unable to partition in hdrutil.app. Always the CF access light flashes briefly but then it says 'unable to write administrative sectors'

powered down and changed jumper 7 to OFF. hdrutil.app is able to create and format the partitions now and install hddriver. After that i power down and reboot and allow it to boot from the CF card. Desktop shows, all drives present and looking good. I go to copy all the files from my hddriver floppy to one of the new partitions, in every case i get 2 bombs when the floppy disk is accessed, sometimes immediatly, sometimes after a few files or the system will just freeze (no bombs, just stops copying, mouse remains working.)

@simbo: couldn't find the options you mentioned in your PM, where abouts are they in the config utility?

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12789
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: TT030 & connectivity to the new world

Postby wongck » Mon Apr 27, 2009 1:41 pm

Bombs only when you copy from floppy to CF?
How about CF to CF - ie from one folder to another?
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
dexterslab
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 446
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 11:05 pm
Location: Greater Manchester, UK
Contact:

Re: TT030 & connectivity to the new world

Postby dexterslab » Mon Apr 27, 2009 2:31 pm

was unable to test properly due to not being able to copy anything from floppy, but i could create folders on the partitions without any problems

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12789
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: TT030 & connectivity to the new world

Postby wongck » Mon Apr 27, 2009 3:24 pm

I suppose this did not happen on your SCSI drive but only on your CF.
Your partition on the CF is smaller than 512MB like 500 MB?
Sometimes size does matters - it a long shot but no harm trying.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
dexterslab
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 446
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 11:05 pm
Location: Greater Manchester, UK
Contact:

Re: TT030 & connectivity to the new world

Postby dexterslab » Mon Apr 27, 2009 3:43 pm

my old quantum scsi drive works fine under the icd pro drivers (not tried it under hddriver), if i had a spare scsi drive i would try it with hddriver. I dont want to do anything to jeopardise my existing disk/data.

the partitions where created at 500mb on the CF card.

simbo

Re: TT030 & connectivity to the new world

Postby simbo » Mon Apr 27, 2009 11:03 pm

http://hddguru.com/content/en/software/ ... Wipe-Tool/

wongck can you let me know whats up with your ACARD and if you flash latest firmware to it ??

i have a few of there firmware dumps and found the latest one works for Cf adapters and SD only supported in last two flash parts

so perhaps it just needs flashed

when i got this acard unit i notices two pins shorted it was a reclaimed sold as seen on ebay

so i paired them and mine works fine for cdroms and writers and sdcard and cfcard etc
its a bit crap really as it only uses one scsi id and this allows only one drive so you cant have master slave uses say id0 and 1 or even id 2 and 5 etc

without another one

artik-wroc
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 133
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 1:30 pm
Location: Wroclaw - POLAND
Contact:

Re: TT030 & connectivity to the new world

Postby artik-wroc » Tue Apr 28, 2009 8:11 am


User avatar
dexterslab
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 446
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 11:05 pm
Location: Greater Manchester, UK
Contact:

Re: TT030 & connectivity to the new world

Postby dexterslab » Tue Apr 28, 2009 8:22 am

artik-wroc wrote:A bit of different solution:
http://www.reactivedata.com/3-SCSIBridg ... e%2007.pdf


yea i saw that when i was googling, didn't look into it further because it appeared there was a working solution using scsi-ide-cf, it also looked expensive :lol:

i'll email them and see how much they are

User avatar
dexterslab
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 446
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 11:05 pm
Location: Greater Manchester, UK
Contact:

Re: TT030 & connectivity to the new world

Postby dexterslab » Tue Apr 28, 2009 9:54 am

answer: £750 GBP 8O

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12789
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: TT030 & connectivity to the new world

Postby wongck » Tue Apr 28, 2009 1:43 pm

simbo wrote:wongck can you let me know whats up with your ACARD and if you flash latest firmware to it ??


It happened last year so I cannot remember exactly what went wrong.
It was detected by both Atari & WinTel. I was messing around with the settings. I also downloaded the flashing utiltity and firmware from the ACARD website. I think I flashed it as well. After that it was not working, not detected by Atari nor Wintel. :( I cannot remember whether it was the jumpering or flashing that affected it.

simbo wrote:its a bit crap really as it only uses one scsi id and this allows only one drive so you cant have master slave uses say id0 and 1 or even id 2 and 5 etc


Is there another card (other than those more expensive ones from Acard) that allows primary & master IDE drive on it? :?:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
dexterslab
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 446
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 11:05 pm
Location: Greater Manchester, UK
Contact:

Re: TT030 & connectivity to the new world

Postby dexterslab » Wed Apr 29, 2009 4:59 pm

todays news...

scsi terminator arrived, attached it and powered up and tested as previous... same thing; 2 bombs :roll:

so started thinking, whats common between hard disk access and floppy disk access? DMA, which got me thinking about ram. So i pulled out my 2mb stram card (my MegTT and CrazyDots cards are still removed). Rebooted and tried it again... no bombs when accessing floppy disk this time but it did still freeze while coopying to the disk. Here's a video clip of me trying it:

http://www.mr2.net/media/2mbst_freeze.wmv

So i went back and reinstalled the stram board and tried it again, no bombs again... so i am wondering if the bombs was due to a bad connection on the board and reinstalling might have cured it, but that doesn't fix my freezing issue :roll:

I'm getting that hacked off with it if i dont get it working i'll chuck the frickin thing in the skip and use an emulator :x :x :x

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12789
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: TT030 & connectivity to the new world

Postby wongck » Thu Apr 30, 2009 11:34 am

dexterslab wrote:my old quantum scsi drive works fine under the icd pro drivers (not tried it under hddriver), if i had a spare scsi drive i would try it with hddriver. I dont want to do anything to jeopardise my existing disk/data.

the partitions where created at 500mb on the CF card.


Man, :o I would certainly try the latest driver if I have it; because newer version normally fixes lots of bugs.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12789
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: TT030 & connectivity to the new world

Postby wongck » Thu Apr 30, 2009 11:46 am



Nice capture.

dexterslab wrote:So i went back and reinstalled the stram board and tried it again, no bombs again... so i am wondering if the bombs was due to a bad connection on the board and reinstalling might have cured it, but that doesn't fix my freezing issue :roll:


Can you try a ramdisk?
1. Copy from a: to ramdisk
2. Copy from ramdisk to CF.

I don't think it is because of your ram.
I think more of the new hardware being attached. I had experience the Acard failure after some testing.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
dexterslab
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 446
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 11:05 pm
Location: Greater Manchester, UK
Contact:

Re: TT030 & connectivity to the new world

Postby dexterslab » Thu Apr 30, 2009 12:54 pm

yea i think the IDSC card just doesn't like being on my TT, no idea why given yours works ok

i tried the same process using the icd 655 drivers this morning and get the same freezing effect

i'm going to be testing both drivers with a spare or cheap normal scsi drive

i will also be trying some different CF cards

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12789
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: TT030 & connectivity to the new world

Postby wongck » Thu Apr 30, 2009 2:29 pm

dexterslab wrote:i will also be trying some different CF cards


Yeah, May be it's the CF.
Mine was purchased some 4 years back.
So may be there is some change in technology and it became less compatible?
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
dexterslab
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 446
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 11:05 pm
Location: Greater Manchester, UK
Contact:

Re: TT030 & connectivity to the new world

Postby dexterslab » Thu Apr 30, 2009 6:48 pm

not sure if thats possible, the CF/ATA standard has been around for a long time... unless it's something to do with timings (CF can be a lot faster than a hard disk in some cases)

i just tried an old 1gb samsung card, same process... boot, partition, install hddriver and reboot from the CF card... The bombs-when-accessing-floppy returned :roll: :cry:

http://www.mr2.net/media/tt_twobombsdeath.wmv

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12789
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: TT030 & connectivity to the new world

Postby wongck » Fri May 01, 2009 9:37 am

dexterslab wrote:not sure if thats possible, the CF/ATA standard has been around for a long time... unless it's something to do with timings (CF can be a lot faster than a hard disk in some cases)

May be you really need old CF :(
I don't think so because I seen others using CF on the atari.

dexterslab wrote:i just tried an old 1gb samsung card, same process... boot, partition, install hddriver and reboot from the CF card... The bombs-when-accessing-floppy returned :roll: :cry:


Ok, try this:
go to my web page and find the programs Gemam & WinX at the Useful Atari Prgs.
(you may have them already)
Boot from floppy- by pass the HDDriver - with gemram & winX in a:\auto.
You will see some nice features for your desktop :D
Now run HDDriver from the floppy.
And try to copy some stuff.

Why do this? Because WinX fixes alot of funny GEM errors.

A long shot but....
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12789
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: TT030 & connectivity to the new world

Postby wongck » Fri May 01, 2009 10:38 am

Other than the old CF card, the other difference between is that I do not use HDDriver 8.23 bcos I do not have it.
But then it suppose to be the best around....
My tos is 3.06, your TOS is 3.06?
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
dexterslab
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 446
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 11:05 pm
Location: Greater Manchester, UK
Contact:

Re: TT030 & connectivity to the new world

Postby dexterslab » Fri May 01, 2009 11:15 am

i'll give that a try, but i'm using TOS 3.06 UK

that last clip was using a 3 year old 1gb card

given i have issues with both hddriver AND icd pro 655 drivers i'm pretty sure it's something with the TT itself maybe a faulting scsi or dma controller?

thanks for all your help with this, it's much appreciated!

User avatar
dexterslab
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 446
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 11:05 pm
Location: Greater Manchester, UK
Contact:

Re: TT030 & connectivity to the new world

Postby dexterslab » Sat May 02, 2009 1:07 pm

wongck wrote:Other than the old CF card, the other difference between is that I do not use HDDriver 8.23 bcos I do not have it.
But then it suppose to be the best around....
My tos is 3.06, your TOS is 3.06?


i dont suppose you could send me the hddriver.prg (or .sys) that you used in your tests for me to try on my system?

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12789
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: TT030 & connectivity to the new world

Postby wongck » Sat May 02, 2009 1:42 pm

dexterslab wrote:
wongck wrote:Other than the old CF card, the other difference between is that I do not use HDDriver 8.23 bcos I do not have it.
But then it suppose to be the best around....
My tos is 3.06, your TOS is 3.06?


i dont suppose you could send me the hddriver.prg (or .sys) that you used in your tests for me to try on my system?


But you have a better version!!
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12789
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: TT030 & connectivity to the new world

Postby wongck » Sat May 02, 2009 2:14 pm

I think it is your SCSI-IDE adapter card. Nothing to do with your DMA/SCSI on the mobo.
I had a bad SCSI-IDE once, so it depends on the seller.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list


Social Media

     

Return to “Professionals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests