Falcon 030 Hw mod

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., lp, [ProToS], Moderator Team

User avatar
Techman
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2004 3:14 pm
Location: Sweden

Falcon 030 Hw mod

Postby Techman » Tue Mar 17, 2009 6:22 pm

Help.

Today i'v got a falcon 030 to my collection. :D

But there is a modification on U63
On top of U63 there is a 74F04

R216, R222, R221 is removed.
pin 2,3,5,7,9,11.13 seems to be connected to ground
Pin 1 to R216
Pin 4 to U63 pin 4
Pin 6 to u63 pin 6
Pin 8 to R222
Pin 10 to R221
Pin12 cable has come of the PCB and i don't know where to solder it. :(

[Edit: corrected pin number]
Last edited by Techman on Wed Mar 18, 2009 4:21 am, edited 1 time in total.
Atari Falcon 030, 520ST, 520STFM, 1040STE (4meg), Mega ST4, Megafile 30, Portfolio, Lynx....

User avatar
[ProToS]
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2242
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 2:09 am
Location: Lourdes / France
Contact:

Re: Falcon 030 Hw mod

Postby [ProToS] » Tue Mar 17, 2009 11:43 pm

it's the falcon audio clock patch
SeeU
[ProToS]/Facebook

User avatar
Techman
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2004 3:14 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Falcon 030 Hw mod

Postby Techman » Wed Mar 18, 2009 4:20 am

[ProToS] wrote:it's the falcon audio clock patch


I thougt so to, but all patches i can find on internet is built on a 74xx08 and not on a 74xx04.
And also R216 and R222 should not have been removed.

And where should the loose cable go?
Atari Falcon 030, 520ST, 520STFM, 1040STE (4meg), Mega ST4, Megafile 30, Portfolio, Lynx....

simbo

Re: Falcon 030 Hw mod

Postby simbo » Sat Mar 28, 2009 11:35 pm

the pin 12 is a short wire

it will go to the small ferrite beed
its called L102

if it reaches over it does indeed connect to this point
L102 maybe missing if so it connects to the right hand pad {nearest the fan}

this is 32mhz to the buffer chip
this will come out on pin 13 and go to pin 1 3 5 7 9 11 to supply the buffered signal to each chip
via its pins 2 4 6 8 10

pin 12 is the input to a buffer of its own
then the output is fed back into the input of the rest then to the chipset

User avatar
Techman
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2004 3:14 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Falcon 030 Hw mod

Postby Techman » Mon Mar 30, 2009 6:07 pm

Well, the wire from pin 12 is very short and can only reach to R222 or R216.

I Removed the patch and added the two missing 22 Ohms resistor. Made a new patch from ataris own bulletin (The Falcon CPU-Clock signal patch) because i thought that someone had made a "home made patch".

Should i restore it to the "previous" patch with the 74xx04 or can i use it with the "new patch" (see attached file)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Atari Falcon 030, 520ST, 520STFM, 1040STE (4meg), Mega ST4, Megafile 30, Portfolio, Lynx....

User avatar
stimpy
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 305
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 2:47 pm
Location: Somerset, UK
Contact:

Re: Falcon 030 Hw mod

Postby stimpy » Tue Mar 31, 2009 9:30 pm

The pin numbers you got sound all wrong, are you reading it the right way? It shouldn't have anything to do with L102 or 32MHz, don't connect it to that!
Image
Netus-Bee,Repairs,Upgrades,EtherNEC,Eiffel

User avatar
Mark_G
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 513
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2006 11:55 am
Location: Belgium

Re: Falcon 030 Hw mod

Postby Mark_G » Tue Mar 31, 2009 10:31 pm

I think, you can use the 74F04 chip.

I found some info:

1. Remove SMD resistor R221,R216 and R222 between the CPU and COMBEL.
2. Bent the pins of the new 74F04 to the outside exept. no.14
3. Connect pin 2 to 9, 11 and 13 of the 74F04.
4. Place the 74F04 on PAL U63 as shown below.
5. Solder pin 14 of the 74F04 on pin 20 of U63.
6. Solder some wires as shown in the diagram below.

74F04img.gif
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Techman
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2004 3:14 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Falcon 030 Hw mod

Postby Techman » Wed Apr 01, 2009 5:06 am

Here is a picture of the "original" modification that was made when i got the Atari.
The cable in the red square is hanging in the air.
And the PCB track from R216 is cut off.
Pay attention to leg 4 and 6 on the 74F04.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Atari Falcon 030, 520ST, 520STFM, 1040STE (4meg), Mega ST4, Megafile 30, Portfolio, Lynx....

User avatar
Mark_G
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 513
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2006 11:55 am
Location: Belgium

Re: Falcon 030 Hw mod

Postby Mark_G » Wed Apr 01, 2009 3:16 pm

Hello,

I'm not a hardware specialist. I think some-one else can answer this question better than me.
Because pin 3 and 5 are not used, it seems OK to use pin 4 and 6 as support.
If I understand it good, pin 1 is an input. Pin 2 is the output of pin 1 , and connected to 9, 11 and 13 (input).
Pin 8, 10 and 12 are 'output' and needs to be connected to the resistors.
I see that the 'external' wires are not connected as written in the doc.

The cut trace, as shown on your photo is, is needed for a 74F08.

Maybe, the former owner tried the first clockpatch, and then he replaced it with the other one.
The clockpatch looks wrong, but again, I'm not specialist for that.

Werner Frey made a universal clockpatch, on a separate board.
Look at his website http://www.frey-d.de/werner/atari/atari.htm
You can download the schema's, and make the board with jumper yourself.

Mark

User avatar
Techman
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2004 3:14 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Falcon 030 Hw mod

Postby Techman » Wed Apr 01, 2009 6:04 pm

Yes, i also thing that the former owner have mixed up two diffrient patches.

But, what patch should i use?
The one with 74F04 and no resistors
or the
74LS08 with resistors and the cutted PCB track?
Atari Falcon 030, 520ST, 520STFM, 1040STE (4meg), Mega ST4, Megafile 30, Portfolio, Lynx....

User avatar
stimpy
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 305
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 2:47 pm
Location: Somerset, UK
Contact:

Re: Falcon 030 Hw mod

Postby stimpy » Wed Apr 01, 2009 8:32 pm

Pin 4,6 should not be touching the chip below! The following should be connected: 2,3, 5,9,11,13

The loose wire will attach to the via near the cut track, I reckon.
Netus-Bee,Repairs,Upgrades,EtherNEC,Eiffel

User avatar
Techman
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2004 3:14 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Falcon 030 Hw mod

Postby Techman » Thu Apr 02, 2009 6:10 pm

Yeah, but what should i do? I can't leave it like this?
Atari Falcon 030, 520ST, 520STFM, 1040STE (4meg), Mega ST4, Megafile 30, Portfolio, Lynx....

mikro
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1451
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Falcon 030 Hw mod

Postby mikro » Wed Apr 26, 2017 12:23 am

Accidentally found this old thread, just for the sake of completeness, yes, this seems to have an attempt to install second clock patch after the previous one (presumably the 74F08 version) didn't work.

However it's done a really strange way, it's fed from R216B, i.e. after the clock signal split behind R217. I agree with stimpy, the loose wire should go to R216T but it's not such an issue unless there was something on the expansion slot.

And yes, those legs 4 & 6 are really dangerous, these must have been forgotten to bend up.


Social Media

     

Return to “Professionals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: alektronic and 2 guests