NetBSD Atari Port

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1768
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

NetBSD Atari Port

Postby frank.lukas » Tue Jan 20, 2009 9:13 pm

;D


TM> That's great! Now we can see that it's worth to keep up with old ports
TM> (it seems that retro computing is quite popular nowadays)

Actually it had had much more problem other than softint, but
now I'm really glad to see active users who are playing on
their favorite hardware

TM> Now that we have working NetBSD/Atari and release 5 coming, hopefully we
TM> can attract more Atari users to NetBSD!

You can count on me ;)

TM> -Tuomo
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

dro$$
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 7:21 am

Re: NetBSD Atari Port

Postby dro$$ » Wed Jan 21, 2009 7:24 am

Yes, NetBSD on Atari lives!

Here's some more detail I just posted over on the AtariAge forums:

I bought a TT030 on eBay last May. (http://atariage.com/forums/lofiversion/ ... 26254.html)

My intent was to get NetBSD (http://www.netbsd.org) up and running on it, which I was able to do. But I found out that the latest version that actually functioned was 1.6.1, released back in 2003. Nevertheless, I documented an install walkthrough here:
http://netbsd-ataritt.wikia.com/wiki/Ne ... tari_TT030

After quite a bit of work from some very dedicated folks on the port-atari mailing list, the latest daily builds of NetBSD 4 and 5 now boot and install! Essentially this means there is once again a modern BSD operating system you can run on your Atari. I encourage you to try it out!

Here's the gist of how to do an install...
1) Backup all your stuff. It's possible to install around AHDI partitions on your drive, but really you don't want to do this.
2) Copy files from ftp://ftp.netbsd.org/pub/NetBSD/NetBSD-daily/netbsd-5/[latest dir with an atari directory in it]/atari to a local machine. You'll need sysinst.fs.gz and the appropriate kernel (I use netbsd-ATARITT.gz).
3) Gunzip sysinst.fs.gz and netbsd-ATARITT.gz.
4) Format a 1.44mb floppy and use rawrite to write sysinst.fs to it.
5) Boot the TT030 and use loadbsd.ttp with the -b flag to load the appropriate kernel. The kernel won't fit on a floppy so you'll need to drop it on a CD, a HD, or access it via Ghostlink.
6) Follow the steps on my Wiki (http://netbsd-ataritt.wikia.com/wiki/Ne ... tari_TT030) to load the sysinst floppy, then go through the menu system. I install via FTP using a Riebl ethernet card, but you can also install via CD-ROM, etc.

Although my wiki really needs to be updated for 5.0, it should still be a lot of help. I'll be working on updating it in the next few weeks. If you hit an issue doing an install, definitely reach out to the port-atari mailing list (http://www.netbsd.org/mailinglists/#port-atari) for help.

User avatar
Mark_G
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 521
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2006 11:55 am
Location: Belgium

Re: NetBSD Atari Port

Postby Mark_G » Thu Jan 22, 2009 4:19 pm

Some one tried it ?


Mark

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1768
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: NetBSD Atari Port

Postby frank.lukas » Tue Jan 27, 2009 10:32 am

On my Atari TT walks NetBSD 3.1.1 ...


regards

frank
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

User avatar
Beetle
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2008 10:09 pm
Contact:

Re: NetBSD Atari Port

Postby Beetle » Tue Jan 27, 2009 2:32 pm

Frank, console only or do you have X running? Screenshot?
What Atari do you want to modify today?

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1768
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: NetBSD Atari Port

Postby frank.lukas » Wed Feb 04, 2009 8:52 am

I shot my screen, BSD direkt boot without a bootloader from TOS and without TOS ...

Image


and booting NetBSD 3.1.1 patch Kernel ...

Image



... for me it is all useless, without a ataritt Kernel with network support ... !

To install I use the 2.x installer and perhaps for a atari tt maschine the - netbsd-atari-BOOT-netbsd-3-20080721.gz - kernel ...

My System works normal, I can Log In. I never test X because my Network is not running. To run X a bootx kernel is need to run.
Last edited by frank.lukas on Thu Oct 14, 2010 5:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

PeterS
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 256
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2007 1:53 pm
Location: England, GB

Re: NetBSD Atari Port

Postby PeterS » Fri Feb 06, 2009 2:41 pm

I looked at Debian some years ago (woody) but the installer crashed the Milan (how naff is that?) So I took a brief look at BSD (can't remember which type).

The installation put me off so I went ahead and enhanced the basic Mint installation to a full-blown Mint using EasyMint.
If BSD was easier to install I might try it. I'd hate to wreck my Mint set-up. It's good to see that BSD has been updated for the Atari.
Does this version have support for more modern devices like USB or IRDA ?

Wasn't Mint based on BSD ?

abs
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 10:55 pm

Re: NetBSD Atari Port

Postby abs » Fri Feb 06, 2009 7:19 pm

frank.lukas wrote:... booting NetBSD 3.1.1 patch Kernel ...

... for me it is all useless, without a ataritt Kernel with network support ... !

To install I use the 2.x installer and perhaps for a atari tt maschine the - netbsd-atari-BOOT-netbsd-3-20080721.gz - kernel ...

My System works normal, I can Log In. I never test X because my Network is not running. To run X a bootx kernel is need to run.


The installation system has been significantly cleaned up for NetBSD 5 - it has been tested recently on Falcon and TT030, installing across network and from sets previously copied to a GEMDOS partition.
(The changes for installation from GEMDOS have only just been committed, so will show up in an official build in a day or so.)

Frank, given you have a working install would you be willing to test a NetBSD 5 ATARITT kernel.
http://mono.org/abs/atari-gemdos2/binary/kernel/netbsd-ATARITT.gz

You should be able to copy it onto your existing system and just boot it - it has compatibility enabled for NetBSD versions back to 1.1, so it should just work with your existing installation.


PeterS wrote:I looked at Debian some years ago (woody) but the installer crashed the Milan (how naff is that?) So I took a brief look at BSD (can't remember which type).

The installation put me off so I went ahead and enhanced the basic Mint installation to a full-blown Mint using EasyMint.
If BSD was easier to install I might try it. I'd hate to wreck my Mint set-up. It's good to see that BSD has been updated for the Atari.
Does this version have support for more modern devices like USB or IRDA ?

Wasn't Mint based on BSD ?


NetBSD should support PCI and USB devices on the Milan, though milan support has not been tested for a while :/
Do you have a spare disk on which you could test a NetBSD install? If not you can just test boot a kernel to see if it detects your devices:

It should boot, show a list of detected devices, and then sit there as it doesn't have any file system to use :)

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1768
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: NetBSD Atari Port

Postby frank.lukas » Mon Feb 09, 2009 4:02 pm

I should like to wait the NetBSD 4 and 5 port is ready ...


regards

frank
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

abs
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 10:55 pm

Re: NetBSD Atari Port

Postby abs » Mon Feb 09, 2009 10:37 pm

frank.lukas wrote:I should like to wait the NetBSD 4 and 5 port is ready ...


NetBSD 5 has just hit RC2 (the binaries are building to go up on the ftp site now). I would expect there will be *very* few changes between that and the final release (probably just release notes). Unless of course any issues are found. If you have half an hour spare to just test the above kernel to confirm it all works for you it would be most helpful. If you do see any issues then we can try to fix them for the release :)

PeterS
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 256
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2007 1:53 pm
Location: England, GB

Re: NetBSD Atari Port

Postby PeterS » Tue Feb 10, 2009 2:34 pm

I was thinking of wiping my old 2GB disc and it might be an opportunity to try an install of NetBSD on the Milan.
If I try it I think I would disconnect the existing 60GB GEM/Mint disc so that can't be affected.

If I get time I'll try the demo.

abs
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 10:55 pm

Re: NetBSD Atari Port

Postby abs » Tue Feb 10, 2009 11:53 pm

PeterS wrote:I was thinking of wiping my old 2GB disc and it might be an opportunity to try an install of NetBSD on the Milan.
If I try it I think I would disconnect the existing 60GB GEM/Mint disc so that can't be affected.

If I get time I'll try the demo.


The NetBSD 5.0 RC2 build has just finished :)
ftp://ftp.netbsd.org/pub/NetBSD/NetBSD-daily/netbsd-5-0-RC2/200902090142Z/atari/

I'm still updating the release notes, but the quickest way to test it is going to be:

a) uncompress installation/miniroot/sysinst.fs.gz and write it to a 1.4MB floppy disk
b) put installation/misc/loadbsd.ttp and binary/kernel/netbsd-MILAN-ISAIDE.gz into the same directory
c) Run loadbsd.ttp with '-b netbsd-M' (the above kernel filename but truncated) as an argument
d) It should load and prompt for a filesystem, put the disk in the drive and enter 'md2'

That should get you as far as the sysinst installer. If it doesn't let us know :)

Could I ask what ISA/PCI cards you have in your system?

PeterS
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 256
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2007 1:53 pm
Location: England, GB

Re: NetBSD Atari Port

Postby PeterS » Wed Feb 11, 2009 11:39 am

I have the following cards (IIRC):

ISA
- Soundblaster 16
PCI
- SCSI
- RTL8139 network
- Happauge Tv card
- ATI Rage Pro gfx card

abs
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 10:55 pm

Re: NetBSD Atari Port

Postby abs » Wed Feb 11, 2009 3:58 pm

PeterS wrote:I have the following cards (IIRC):

ISA
- Soundblaster 16
PCI
- SCSI
- RTL8139 network
- Happauge Tv card
- ATI Rage Pro gfx card


The default MILAN kernel only had a few PCI drivers enabled. I've just added a bunch more (there are now somewhat over 80, mainly SCSI and Network, though it should match the rage and may match the Happauge depending on the model) and put up a test kernel at http://mono.org/abs/netbsd-milan-isaide.gz

PeterS
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 256
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2007 1:53 pm
Location: England, GB

Re: NetBSD Atari Port

Postby PeterS » Wed Feb 11, 2009 4:22 pm

Excellent I should be able to give it a whirl this weekend at the latest.

There are only a few gfx and nic drivers for the Milan so the choice is fairly limited. It might not need all 80.

This list includes some that aren't specific to the Milan.
http://pagesperso-orange.fr/patrice.man ... o-pci.html

PeterS
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 256
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2007 1:53 pm
Location: England, GB

Re: NetBSD Atari Port

Postby PeterS » Thu Feb 12, 2009 9:32 am

abs wrote:a) uncompress installation/miniroot/sysinst.fs.gz and write it to a 1.4MB floppy disk
b) put installation/misc/loadbsd.ttp and binary/kernel/netbsd-MILAN-ISAIDE.gz into the same directory
c) Run loadbsd.ttp with '-b netbsd-M' (the above kernel filename but truncated) as an argument
d) It should load and prompt for a filesystem, put the disk in the drive and enter 'md2'

That should get you as far as the sysinst installer. If it doesn't let us know :)


I tried steps b and c (didn't have any floppies to hand).

Running from FreeMint/XaAES it opens a ttp window (toswin2) and then crashes the Milan completely. Frozen mouse pointer and dead keyboard, had to reset. I tried this with the netbsd file on FAT and FAT32 partitions.

Peter

abs
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 10:55 pm

Re: NetBSD Atari Port

Postby abs » Thu Feb 12, 2009 9:06 pm

PeterS wrote:Excellent I should be able to give it a whirl this weekend at the latest.

There are only a few gfx and nic drivers for the Milan so the choice is fairly limited. It might not need all 80.

This list includes some that aren't specific to the Milan.
http://pagesperso-orange.fr/patrice.man ... o-pci.html


This is the list of drivers in that kernel: http://mono.org/abs/pci.atari
There may be cards on that list which is not on the perso-pci one, which should work on NetBSD providing the Milan will ignore it when booting... :)

abs
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 10:55 pm

Re: NetBSD Atari Port

Postby abs » Thu Feb 12, 2009 11:44 pm

PeterS wrote:Excellent I should be able to give it a whirl this weekend at the latest.

There are only a few gfx and nic drivers for the Milan so the choice is fairly limited. It might not need all 80.

This list includes some that aren't specific to the Milan.
http://pagesperso-orange.fr/patrice.man ... o-pci.html


The list of pci drivers in the kernel on mono.org is at http://mono.org/abs/pci.atari

abs
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 10:55 pm

Re: NetBSD Atari Port

Postby abs » Fri Feb 13, 2009 9:19 am

PeterS wrote:Excellent I should be able to give it a whirl this weekend at the latest.

There are only a few gfx and nic drivers for the Milan so the choice is fairly limited. It might not need all 80.

This list includes some that aren't specific to the Milan.
http://pagesperso-orange.fr/patrice.man ... o-pci.html


The list of pci cards which should be supported in the kernel on mono.org is athttp://mono.org/abs/pci.atari

abs
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 10:55 pm

Re: NetBSD Atari Port

Postby abs » Fri Feb 13, 2009 9:25 am

PeterS wrote:I tried steps b and c (didn't have any floppies to hand).

Running from FreeMint/XaAES it opens a ttp window (toswin2) and then crashes the Milan completely. Frozen mouse pointer and dead keyboard, had to reset. I tried this with the netbsd file on FAT and FAT32 partitions.

Peter


That should certainly be enough to test it.

Thats... disappointing :(

Are you able to test the following kernels to see if they boot? (The loadbsd you have should be fine)

ftp://ftp.netbsd.org/pub/NetBSD/NetBSD- ... -ISAIDE.gz
ftp://ftp.netbsd.org/pub/NetBSD/NetBSD- ... -ISAIDE.gz

I'm trying to work out if its the additional drivers that are causing an issue, or if there is a problem eith 5.x on the Milan

Thanks!

PeterS
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 256
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2007 1:53 pm
Location: England, GB

Re: NetBSD Atari Port

Postby PeterS » Fri Feb 13, 2009 9:34 am

I'll try them later. Are they compiled for 68060 ? 030 or 040 should be ok most of the time too.

I have an ISA sound card, could that be the problem ?

Peter

abs
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 10:55 pm

Re: NetBSD Atari Port

Postby abs » Fri Feb 13, 2009 9:42 am

PeterS wrote:I'll try them later. Are they compiled for 68060 ? 030 or 040 should be ok most of the time too.

I have an ISA sound card, could that be the problem ?

Peter


It should be supporting 68060 fine - Tuomo in running a CT63 in his Falcon with the same compile options.

The BSD kernel config file is at : http://mono.org/abs/MILAN (for reference)

It *should* just ignore the ISA sound card.

If one or other of the kernels I referenced on NetBSD.org work, then we have a good starting point - we'll just need to work out where something broke :)

PeterS
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 256
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2007 1:53 pm
Location: England, GB

Re: NetBSD Atari Port

Postby PeterS » Fri Feb 13, 2009 10:16 am

Thanks.

Should loadbsd.ttp give any output before it launches the netbsd file ?

abs
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 10:55 pm

Re: NetBSD Atari Port

Postby abs » Fri Feb 13, 2009 11:45 am

PeterS wrote:Thanks.

Should loadbsd.ttp give any output before it launches the netbsd file ?


If run from TOS it should prompt for args (-b kernel-filename) otherwise.... hmm, it could be getting confused by the vga display. Do you have a TT or any more traditional boxes around on which you could test?

PeterS
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 256
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2007 1:53 pm
Location: England, GB

Re: NetBSD Atari Port

Postby PeterS » Fri Feb 13, 2009 11:51 am

Unfortunately no, I have an STfm but it's not accessable from here and it doesn't have networking or anything.


Social Media

     

Return to “Professionals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests