Falcon IDE - CF

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4106
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Falcon IDE - CF

Postby nativ » Tue Jun 17, 2008 7:00 pm

Hello,

Ppera, What have you done. . . to connect the CF card to the Falcon?
It appears as if you have connected the power from elsewhere?

Can you do a Photo guide if nesscercary?

What do you know about the CF wifi cards, can they be plugged straight in?
What's the max. size to use with the Falcon?
Is there a particular type of CF card thats more compatible?
And finally canyou split the Falcon's IDE to connect two or more devices?

Many thanks

Ashley
Atari STFM 512 / STe 4MB / Mega ST+DSP / Falcon 4MB 16Mhz 68882 - DVD/CDRW/ZIP/DAT - FDI / Jaguar / Lynx 1&2 / 7800 / 2600 / XE 130+SD Card // Sega Dreamcast / Mega2+CD2 // Apple G4

http://soundcloud.com/nativ ~ http://soundcloud.com/nativ-1 ~ http://soundcloud.com/knot_music
http://soundcloud.com/push-sounds ~ http://soundcloud.com/push-records

User avatar
karlm
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 713
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2003 4:09 am
Location: Top of the World - Australia

Re: Falcon IDE - CF

Postby karlm » Wed Jun 18, 2008 12:13 am

Ashley - iirc ppera had that in his STe, that is why the extra power. If you're replacing the hard disk in the Falcon, you only need the adapter, such as one like this...
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/3-x-CF-to-IDE-Compact-Flash-Adapter-Male-Bootable-B03_W0QQitemZ220245305443QQihZ012QQcategoryZ41993QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
the 2.5" ide cable is 44 pins as opposed to 40pins on a 3.5" ide cable. The extra pins are for power, and so the compact flash adapter gets the power directly from the cable, no external power source needed.
In the STe, there is no 'inbuilt' IDE, hence ppera's extra power. (But I could be wrong on that one - but definitely this is how it works on your Falcon030.)
Hope that helps!

karlm.

edit - it appears that ppera's CF adapter requires external power, from the floppy type connectors. This may make things more stable, but I'm guessing if a Falcon's IDE can push an older hard disk, then powering a compact flash drive should be a doddle. The ones I looked at above get their power directly from the cable. I've also got a 1.8" one too, so that you can plug microdrives in. (It's basically a bodged compact flash adapter...)

User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4106
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Re: Falcon IDE - CF

Postby nativ » Wed Jun 18, 2008 5:45 am

Hi,

Thanks!

I hope the Ste Ide/Cf comes together too!

Cheerio

Ashley
Atari STFM 512 / STe 4MB / Mega ST+DSP / Falcon 4MB 16Mhz 68882 - DVD/CDRW/ZIP/DAT - FDI / Jaguar / Lynx 1&2 / 7800 / 2600 / XE 130+SD Card // Sega Dreamcast / Mega2+CD2 // Apple G4

http://soundcloud.com/nativ ~ http://soundcloud.com/nativ-1 ~ http://soundcloud.com/knot_music
http://soundcloud.com/push-sounds ~ http://soundcloud.com/push-records

ppera

Re: Falcon IDE - CF

Postby ppera » Wed Jun 18, 2008 9:42 am

Things are explained in LAN thread.

More compatible CF cards? - Yes, Sandisk is best compatible, and is not cheapest.

Splitting - it may work, but is not guaranteed. Depends on many things. Only tests can give answer, for particular config.

User avatar
karlm
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 713
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2003 4:09 am
Location: Top of the World - Australia

Re: Falcon IDE - CF

Postby karlm » Thu Jun 19, 2008 11:58 pm

ppera - have you tried one of the dual CF adapters? From what I understand it is set up so that one is a master device and the other is a slave. I think the Falcon should be able to cope with the two devices ok, but was wondering if the power draw was up to the Falcon's IDE port.
cheers
karlm.

ppera

Re: Falcon IDE - CF

Postby ppera » Fri Jun 20, 2008 9:10 am

karlm wrote:ppera - have you tried one of the dual CF adapters? From what I understand it is set up so that one is a master device and the other is a slave. I think the Falcon should be able to cope with the two devices ok, but was wondering if the power draw was up to the Falcon's IDE port.


No. But I will try it on my way - adding another CF socket to 1 card adapter :D Of course that 1 card is master and another is slave. Power consumption is certainly not problem. 2 CF card still consumes less than 1 2.5' drive.
Problem is that CF cards are very sensitive on signal speed and levels. In case of 2 cards may happen that we go in unreliable conditions. However, I'm sure that Sandisk will do well in 2 card config - it is much more tolerant than Kingston for instance

ppera

Re: Falcon IDE - CF

Postby ppera » Wed Jun 25, 2008 9:43 am

Did short test with 2 CF cards on Falcon - worked well and fast.
Just to note that speed depends on used video connection and mode. Fastest is low res on TV/video. VGA is little slower. Reason is of course higher bus load by VGA or higher video modes. Pics are made in 16 color low res, video out.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
earx
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 353
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2003 7:09 am

Re: Falcon IDE - CF

Postby earx » Tue Jul 01, 2008 11:48 am

Ppera: 3.3 MB/sec over the Falcon's IDE? that's amazing. Highest I ever got was something like 2.5 or so. Do you have an accelerated ST bus?

ppera

Re: Falcon IDE - CF

Postby ppera » Tue Jul 01, 2008 12:28 pm

earx wrote:Ppera: 3.3 MB/sec over the Falcon's IDE? that's amazing. Highest I ever got was something like 2.5 or so. Do you have an accelerated ST bus?


It is direct HW access speed. CPU mode - blitter on Falcon is slower than, about 2.8 MB/sec. And made with contigous block of 10MB. Test is made on regular Falcon 30, only RAM is expanded to 14 MB. CF cards are faster ones, especially Sandisk, which can some 13 MB/sec on PC.

Speed with some installed hard disk driver is always slower, for some 5-15% . I should check speed of some popular drivers, when will have time. In this case it was driver for PC partitions installed, what must do byte-swap, so speed was only some 1600KB/sec. Should be in range of 2800-3000 KB/sec with AHDI partitioned IDE drives.

eagleliu
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 2:01 pm

Re: Falcon IDE - CF

Postby eagleliu » Sat Jul 05, 2008 8:56 am

Falcon CF IDE adapter? I really don't know this brand.It has many kinds of CF IDE adapter? Same as on website: http://www.shopsintech.com/index.php?cPath=1_17 ?

ppera

Re: Falcon IDE - CF

Postby ppera » Mon Jul 07, 2008 11:11 am

eagleliu wrote:Falcon CF IDE adapter? I really don't know this brand.It has many kinds of CF IDE adapter? Same as on website: http://www.shopsintech.com/index.php?cPath=1_17 ?


Nobody said that there is Falcon brand IDE-CF adapter. Read thread title again...


Social Media

     

Return to “Professionals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests