How to make SPIN! see my IDE slave cdrom??

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

User avatar
keropi
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2008 9:35 am
Location: Ioannina , Greece

How to make SPIN! see my IDE slave cdrom??

Postby keropi » Sun Apr 20, 2008 7:13 pm

OOOOhhhhh

I cannot make spin see my IDE cdrom, that HDDRIVER (registered) reports it as device 2.1 (ide slave , as configured)
I read the docs for plain TOS4 setup, and have these on my C:\AUTO folder:
Metados (contained in the archive)
ISO9660F.DOS
SPIN_SD.BOS
and config.sys that I have made:

Code: Select all

*BOS, C:\AUTO\SPIN_SD.BOS, A:17
     *DOS, C:\AUTO\ISO9660F.DOS, Z:A


still the device does not load, the error message is to quick to see... :oops:
I think it says that "device is not responding" or something, tried 3 cdroms so far, and hddriver's app sees them

User avatar
jfl
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 873
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 10:55 pm
Location: Liège, Belgium
Contact:

Re: How to make SPIN! see my IDE slave cdrom??

Postby jfl » Sun Apr 20, 2008 9:20 pm

keropi wrote:still the device does not load, the error message is to quick to see... :oops:

I can't help you directly since I don't use Spin but you can interrupt the boot process with Ctrl+S and resume it with Ctrl+q. Quite useful with a CT60...
Jean-François
GEMDict – GEMClip

User avatar
keropi
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2008 9:35 am
Location: Ioannina , Greece

Re: How to make SPIN! see my IDE slave cdrom??

Postby keropi » Sun Apr 20, 2008 9:59 pm

ah, thanks jfl, I will report the error message exactly now :) I might even solve it myself :P

User avatar
keropi
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2008 9:35 am
Location: Ioannina , Greece

Re: How to make SPIN! see my IDE slave cdrom??

Postby keropi » Mon Apr 21, 2008 6:05 am

OK, I saw the error now :mrgreen: it is a

"BOS error , device not responding , this drive is not installed...."

any clues? :?:

User avatar
[ProToS]
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2242
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 2:09 am
Location: Lourdes / France
Contact:

Re: How to make SPIN! see my IDE slave cdrom??

Postby [ProToS] » Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:06 pm

try with the last metados 2.76 include in this archive (in the spin archive you get metados 2.70)
http://storage.atari-source.org:8000/at ... bld028.lzh

as you use your cdrom under plain tos try to conf it to another letter than Z
SeeU
[ProToS]/Facebook

User avatar
PaulB
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2168
Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2002 10:56 pm
Location: You Kay

Re: How to make SPIN! see my IDE slave cdrom??

Postby PaulB » Mon Apr 21, 2008 7:56 pm

Letter P is usual for CD Rom Drives. You can set it to anything less (D-P) but P is best because it allows you to set lots of hard drive partitions before.


Social Media

     

Return to “Professionals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests