Falcon030 and Compact Flash Adapter

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

WuzZeH
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 2:31 pm

Falcon030 and Compact Flash Adapter

Postby WuzZeH » Mon Feb 25, 2008 2:03 pm

Hi,

I'm sure this question has been asked a dozen times, but could you confirm whether the following items on Ebay would be suitable for installation in my Falcon? Note I have ordered HD Driver 8.2.

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Bootable-Compact- ... dZViewItem

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/SEAGATE-5GB-COMPA ... dZViewItem

Is there anything else I should know? Can be it be fitted securely in the case without any rattling?

Thanks

User avatar
rian_ata
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 269
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 10:00 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Falcon030 and Compact Flash Adapter

Postby rian_ata » Mon Feb 25, 2008 3:39 pm

See some interesting stories at:

http://alive.atari.org/alive9/cf1.php

http://povcd.info/falcon.html - This one is using the same adapter you're referring to!

WuzZeH
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 2:31 pm

Re: Falcon030 and Compact Flash Adapter

Postby WuzZeH » Mon Feb 25, 2008 10:48 pm

Thanks!

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4343
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Falcon030 and Compact Flash Adapter

Postby joska » Tue Feb 26, 2008 12:48 pm

WuzZeH wrote:I'm sure this question has been asked a dozen times, but could you confirm whether the following items on Ebay would be suitable for installation in my Falcon? Note I have ordered HD Driver 8.2.

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Bootable-Compact- ... dZViewItem


No problem, I have similar adapters in both my Falcons and also in my Milan. You can find them a lot cheaper though.

WuzZeH wrote:http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/SEAGATE-5GB-COMPACT-FLASH-CF-II-MICRODRIVE-MEMORY-CARD_W0QQitemZ360026966948QQihZ023QQcategoryZ18871QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem


Should work fine, although in my experience there are som CF cards that doesn't work properly in IDE mode. Just a question though - why use a microdrive when a ordinary 2.5" HDD would work just as well? The point in having a CF adapter is IMO to use solid state memory and not tiny harddrives.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

WuzZeH
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 2:31 pm

Re: Falcon030 and Compact Flash Adapter

Postby WuzZeH » Tue Feb 26, 2008 10:35 pm

Should work fine, although in my experience there are som CF cards that doesn't work properly in IDE mode. Just a question though - why use a microdrive when a ordinary 2.5" HDD would work just as well? The point in having a CF adapter is IMO to use solid state memory and not tiny harddrives.


Well spotted, I recognised that after I posted the link, I'm definitely after a silent solution so I've purchased a 4GB CF Card instead.

User avatar
atari_mark
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 182
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2002 12:30 pm
Location: Wigan, England
Contact:

Re: Falcon030 and Compact Flash Adapter

Postby atari_mark » Thu Feb 28, 2008 1:50 pm

I did a small article about this when I replaced my failing 2.5" drive with a CF card adapter and did a 14MB RAM upgrade. Check it out at http://www.povcd.info/falcon.html

Mark
Mac Sys Data/Persistence Of Vision

Instructions said to install Windows 2000 or better so I installed Fedora.

ppera

Re: Falcon030 and Compact Flash Adapter

Postby ppera » Thu Feb 28, 2008 2:45 pm

joska wrote:...although in my experience there are som CF cards that doesn't work properly in IDE mode. Just a question though - why use a microdrive when a ordinary 2.5" HDD would work just as well? The point in having a CF adapter is IMO to use solid state memory and not tiny harddrives.


By may experience Kingston is problematic on ST. Sandisk is probably most safe choice - nobody reported that works not well.

simbo

Re: Falcon030 and Compact Flash Adapter

Postby simbo » Mon Mar 03, 2008 1:59 am

http://www.maplin.co.uk/module.aspx?Tab ... &U=Strat15
£19.99 inc vat + post or find on ebay perhaps someone know a better place to get it cheep
here is a nice little addin for compact flash adapter setups
will allow a sd or mmc card to be plugged into a cf card style adapter card

think the speed will be lower though
not sure
and also doesnt support type 1 just type 2 so perhaps something different is needed
seen this before ???? anyone used one £19.99

http://www.kustompcs.co.uk/acatalog/info_5440.html
£22.99 Inc VAT + post so will be 25 or £26
this one says it supports type 1 and 2 cf

http://www.kustompcs.co.uk/acatalog/info_5441.html
£26.00 Inc VAT + post so will be 30 or so

its brother supports two cf cards for a few quid more
useful to falcon TT owners im sure
one for system one sd mmc etc to be added as first link

ppera

Re: Falcon030 and Compact Flash Adapter

Postby ppera » Mon Mar 03, 2008 10:02 am

Simbo, do you sleep sometimes ? :)

simbo

Re: Falcon030 and Compact Flash Adapter

Postby simbo » Tue Mar 04, 2008 12:00 am

nice one ppera im a night owl
i sleep during the morning 5-12 {7hrs is all i get usualy}
as i dont like mornings till its bst time {too dark and cold } its gmt now... till later this month
better warm in bed with a woman when the worker bees are warming the hive !!! :idea:
in the summer ill wake up at 5am sleep at 11pm
the DX is better for radio in the early hours
i can access 20 meters to many diverse countrys not avalible at normal daylight hours



some better prices for sure
http://search.ebay.co.uk/search/search. ... o+sd%2Fmmc
here is a page of cf sd.mmc adapter /converter
cost is about £10

still brings the cost down quite a bit
on maplin crazy stuff

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/DUAL-slot-CF-to-4 ... dZViewItem

dual cf card holder for type1 type 2 cf bootable for £6

you can have as many ide drives as you like on a dual ide or single ide port
just placing 1K resistors in series with there i/o,s on its idc bus
and power down all to leave only a master and a slave active

User avatar
sh3-rg
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 438
Joined: Thu May 08, 2003 1:33 pm
Location: bolton - england
Contact:

Re: Falcon030 and Compact Flash Adapter

Postby sh3-rg » Tue Apr 01, 2008 9:46 pm

Are there some types of cf card that would not work with a falcon? Bought an Integral branded one & no matter how i format it on the pc the falcon will not see it :(

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4343
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Falcon030 and Compact Flash Adapter

Postby joska » Wed Apr 02, 2008 6:59 am

sh3-rg wrote:Are there some types of cf card that would not work with a falcon? Bought an Integral branded one & no matter how i format it on the pc the falcon will not see it :(


What is the problem? Is your hd-driver correctly configured? What kind of hd-driver are you using? If the card is properly connected and you have a good hd-driver (like HD-Driver 8.x), the card should be recognised when performing an ID-check regardless of how it's formatted. If it doesn't you probably need another card.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

ppera

Re: Falcon030 and Compact Flash Adapter

Postby ppera » Wed Apr 02, 2008 8:32 am

sh3-rg wrote:Are there some types of cf card that would not work with a falcon? Bought an Integral branded one & no matter how i format it on the pc the falcon will not see it :(


Certainly. IDE adapter in Falcon is pretty simple - it is just connected straight to CPU bus. It means that timing is not ideal.
Try with Sandisk, it is most safe choice. Of course, problem may be IDE-CF adapter too, but you will know where is the problem if will work with another card.

Btw. regardless of format, card should be recognised (drivers usually outprint Brand and model) .

User avatar
earx
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 353
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2003 7:09 am

Re: Falcon030 and Compact Flash Adapter

Postby earx » Wed Apr 02, 2008 11:33 am

sh3: format it with HDDriver (i use 8.21) with dos/windows compatibility flag on. you can't boot of it anymore, but it does the trick for atari<->pc transfers.

User avatar
sh3-rg
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 438
Joined: Thu May 08, 2003 1:33 pm
Location: bolton - england
Contact:

Re: Falcon030 and Compact Flash Adapter

Postby sh3-rg » Wed Apr 02, 2008 3:12 pm

Thanks for the help but I cannot format it on falcon as HDDriver (I own three originals of different versions bought with falcons, this one is 8.1something, I have not tried the older ones (7.something) because when that card is in the cf adapter it does not recognise that any ide devices are present. With my old card it is fine, they are both fine on PC is crappy cheapass usb card reader. I think I need to forget that card & buy a better brand, I'll give Sandisk a go. One thing I have noticed is that the PC writes files faster to it than to my old card. Oh well.. :)

User avatar
stimpy
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 305
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 2:47 pm
Location: Somerset, UK
Contact:

Re: Falcon030 and Compact Flash Adapter

Postby stimpy » Wed Apr 02, 2008 4:00 pm

Apparantly there are some fixes in the latest HDDriver (8.2/8.3?) that work better with CF. I tried a CF on my Falcon and couldn't get it to do much, but playing with the Demo version looked a lot more promising.
Netus-Bee,Repairs,Upgrades,EtherNEC,Eiffel

User avatar
sh3-rg
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 438
Joined: Thu May 08, 2003 1:33 pm
Location: bolton - england
Contact:

Re: Falcon030 and Compact Flash Adapter

Postby sh3-rg » Wed Apr 02, 2008 4:03 pm

Cheers for the tip, Stimpy.

eagleliu
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 2:01 pm

Re: Falcon030 and Compact Flash Adapter

Postby eagleliu » Thu Apr 03, 2008 2:45 pm

why buy from http://www.ebay.co.uk ,all prices seem too expensive.You can find cheap prices and all kinds of CF IDE adapers in the website: http://www.shopsintech.com

User avatar
sh3-rg
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 438
Joined: Thu May 08, 2003 1:33 pm
Location: bolton - england
Contact:

Re: Falcon030 and Compact Flash Adapter

Postby sh3-rg » Thu Apr 03, 2008 2:55 pm

eagleliu wrote:why buy from http://www.ebay.co.uk ,all prices seem too expensive.You can find cheap prices and all kinds of CF IDE adapers in the website: http://www.shopsintech.com


Those prices are higher & the site looks proper dodgy, no way would I use my credit card near a site that looks like it was made as a school project that got an F.

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4343
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Falcon030 and Compact Flash Adapter

Postby joska » Thu Apr 03, 2008 7:04 pm

eagleliu wrote:why buy from http://www.ebay.co.uk ,all prices seem too expensive.You can find cheap prices and all kinds of CF IDE adapers in the website: http://www.shopsintech.com


Then you have to take a closer look. The cheapest CF->IDE adapter on that website is 3 times more expensive than the ones I bought from Hong Kong on ebay.co.uk.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

eagleliu
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 2:01 pm

Re: Falcon030 and Compact Flash Adapter

Postby eagleliu » Sat May 03, 2008 1:47 pm

joska wrote:
eagleliu wrote:why buy from http://www.ebay.co.uk ,all prices seem too expensive.You can find cheap prices and all kinds of CF IDE adapers in the website: http://www.shopsintech.com


Then you have to take a closer look. The cheapest CF->IDE adapter on that website is 3 times more expensive than the ones I bought from Hong Kong on ebay.co.uk.


Really,we have big discount several months ago,the shipping cost only USD5 for 100gs,USD7 for 200gs,USD9 for 300gs .... and so on. It mean that you buy more,the price each item including shipping cost will be more cheap.All CF IDE adapters are here: http://www.shopsintech.com/index.php?cPath=1_17

simbo

Re: Falcon030 and Compact Flash Adapter

Postby simbo » Sat May 10, 2008 4:37 am

i prefer the ide to sdcard adapter cf is a little faster thou...

it appears as a hard disk to the falcon even using standard drivers and with extendos
can be used as a second drive on the slave
and is fully removable {or build what im making a 10 stack of cards you can change at will...from a buttons bank }

well this is the plan
the sdcard worked fine

i posted some links to the adapter

it costs £10 and i think £5 or less postage
again from hkong via ebay

i got a cf adapter for 99p free postage on ebay does type 1 or 2

User avatar
karlm
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 713
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2003 4:09 am
Location: Top of the World - Australia

Re: Falcon030 and Compact Flash Adapter

Postby karlm » Mon May 12, 2008 1:56 am

eagleliu wrote:Really,we have big discount several months ago,the shipping cost only USD5 for 100gs,USD7 for 200gs,USD9 for 300gs .... and so on. It mean that you buy more,the price each item including shipping cost will be more cheap.All CF IDE adapters are here:


Most people won't take nice to marketing trolls ....
You've informed people of your site, now play nice and don't badger.

karlm.
Last edited by karlm on Mon May 12, 2008 2:05 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
karlm
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 713
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2003 4:09 am
Location: Top of the World - Australia

Re: Falcon030 and Compact Flash Adapter

Postby karlm » Mon May 12, 2008 2:04 am

should have added that they are cheap as chips on ebay from hong kong ...

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Hard-Disk-Drive- ... dZViewItem

Has anyone tried using dual drives on the Falcon's bus? There are CF-IDE adapters that have dual (master/slave) options as well.

cheers

karlm

User avatar
atari_mark
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 182
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2002 12:30 pm
Location: Wigan, England
Contact:

Re: Falcon030 and Compact Flash Adapter

Postby atari_mark » Mon May 12, 2008 9:02 am

That's the one I used and they work great.
Mac Sys Data/Persistence Of Vision



Instructions said to install Windows 2000 or better so I installed Fedora.


Social Media

     

Return to “Professionals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests