SCART Cable...

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4178
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

SCART Cable...

Postby Dal » Wed Oct 10, 2007 3:10 pm

If I wanted to make a SCART cable that runs from the Monitor connector on my Falcon to a RGB SCART input, would I simply just need to connect the RGB signal and GND lines up?
Mega"SST" 12, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5158
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Postby simonsunnyboy » Wed Oct 10, 2007 4:21 pm

Don't forget the sync signals - and audio input with a lead to the headphone socket would be good if you care to have audio.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

ppera

Postby ppera » Wed Oct 10, 2007 5:20 pm

And how Falcon will know that is connected to SCART (TV) and not to VGA monitor?

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5158
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Postby simonsunnyboy » Wed Oct 10, 2007 6:01 pm

If you don't connect any of the monitor detect pins it seems to assume RGB/TV. Hence why my composite adaptor does work.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2035
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Postby mikro » Thu Oct 25, 2007 11:38 am

In fact, falcon detects 4 kinds of monitors:

- VGA
- SM124
- RGB
- TV (when no pin selected)

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4178
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Postby Dal » Fri Nov 02, 2007 1:44 pm

Been doing other things so haven't got around to this yet. Just looked at the pinouts for the Monitor Connector on the Falcon vs EuroSCART AV input and it looks like the wiring diagram should be the following:

Falcon -------------------> SCART
1 Red -------------------> 15 Red
2 Green -----------------> 11 Green
3 Blue -------------------> 7 Blue
4 Mono/Overlay --------> NC
5 GND (Common) ------> 21 GND (Common)
6 GND (Red) ------------> 13 GND (Red)
7 GND (Green) ---------> 9 GND (Green)
8 GND (Blue) -----------> 5 GND (Blue)
9 Audio Out -------------> NC
10 GND (Common) ----> 21 GND (Common)
11 GNF (Common) -----> 21 GND (Common)
12 Composite Sync ----> 20 VIDEO/Sync/Luminance Input)
13 Horizontal Sync -----> NC
14 Vertical Sync --------> NC
15 External Clock In ---> NC
17 +12v -----------------> 10 Function Select (AV Mode)
18 M1 --------------------> NC
19 M0 --------------------> NC

As the Monitor connector only appears to output mono audio, I'll take a separate feed from the H/phone out on the Falcon to pins 2, 4 and 6 on the SCART connector.
Mega"SST" 12, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4178
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Postby Dal » Sun Nov 04, 2007 2:43 pm

Can somebody confirm that I have the above wiring diagram correct? I'm not totally convinced that I need the +12v function select line... and if I do, should I put some resistance across it to be sure that I'm not going to do any damage?

Dal.
Mega"SST" 12, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

User avatar
techie_alison
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 1547
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2005 10:06 am
Location: Cambridge, UK
Contact:

Postby techie_alison » Sun Nov 04, 2007 3:30 pm

That 12v line is indeed correct :)

High is 9.5v to 12v.

http://www.js-technology.com/technical/ ... nector.pdf

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SCART

Basically all it does is to force a 4:3 mode. On some current televisions you can't switch between composite and RGB via the handset, and that's what pin-16 is for.

I also wouldn't put resistors on the RGB lines either. You're *supposed* to as dictated by the purists, bringing the ST's 1v signals down to 0.7v. But in experience it just creates ghosting around text and alike. On older televisions it does not do this, but certainly on the 3 modern LCDs I've tried it does. Removing the resistors limits this. Just turn the brightness down a bit to compensate.

There are some modern televisions out there where the ST doesn't work at all, along with other computers of the age. The sync signals that they generate are not *digitally* perfect as it were. On an older analogue electronics (not digital chips doing the signal processing) style television this isn't a problem. Modern consoles and alike output completely standard without tolerance signals, they're standard A1 perfect.

The analagy I've always used is like the difference between an audio signal going to your headphones, and the digital output dat stream from a CD player. Today's equipment is almost totally intolerant of variations. Which is why the consoles output signals are generated precisely by specialist chips, where as the older computers go through a few resistors and capacitors via some old chips that were cheap at the time yet did the job.

ppera

Postby ppera » Sun Nov 04, 2007 7:54 pm

Dal_1978 wrote:Can somebody confirm that I have the above wiring diagram correct? I'm not totally convinced that I need the +12v function select line... and if I do, should I put some resistance across it to be sure that I'm not going to do any damage?

Dal.


I'm pretty sure that Atari put there some resistor (despite beeing hard on money :D).


Social Media

     

Return to “Professionals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

cron