TT030: where to find terminators?

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1992
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

TT030: where to find terminators?

Postby mikro » Sat Aug 25, 2007 7:05 pm

hi,

i'm playing a little bit with my tt and i'm curious how it's with that termination.

if i understand it correctly, if i:

1. have both external and internal scsi devices i have to terminate both devices but not tt itself

2. have either internal or external scsi device i have to terminate that one and the tt

ok. question is, where the hell are that terminators :) i understand it's "somewhere near the scsi connector" but i have no idea what concretely and how to change their state.

look at the attached picture (taken by mobile phone, sorry): the red border marks "something" i think it could be it... but as I said, no idea how to chage termination on/off.

could any wise man help me to enlight this? :)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
tjlazer
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 635
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 4:00 am
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Contact:

Postby tjlazer » Sun Aug 26, 2007 9:21 am

You could get an external terminator for the port if you only have an internal drive. Not sure if its needed though, some setups run fine not terminated properly!
Atari Computer Collector since 1984

From the 8-bit Atari 400 to the 32-bit Atari TT030!

User avatar
jens
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 837
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2003 3:50 pm
Location: Hannover, Germany
Contact:

Postby jens » Sun Aug 26, 2007 8:13 pm

The 'something' you marked on your pic should be the right place to put termination resistors in.
I'm not too certain about how termination works and what has to be terminated on which setups.
Greetings, Jens

Falcon030 - TT030 - Mega/STe - 1040 STf - 520 ST+ - ST-Book - Milan 060

User avatar
Greenious
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1439
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 5:39 pm
Location: Sweden

Postby Greenious » Sun Sep 09, 2007 12:46 am

If you use both internal/external drives, you should leave it empty.

You terminate at the end of the physical scsi chain.

That said, there are 2 different terminators used for SCSI devices, one typ is used in pairs, one in 3s. TT use 3 pcs obviously.

I have both kinds lying around.

That said, if you use only one drive, termination is not always necessary. As long as the drive is terminated, it usually works if no other units are present.

So I suspect that getting those terminators would not be absolutely necessary.
Updated my guides as of june 28th, 2016. Check'em out and feedback!
viewtopic.php?t=5040


Social Media

     

Return to “Professionals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests