Falcon External CD-ROM

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

Mr.JT
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 205
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2004 2:44 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Falcon External CD-ROM

Postby Mr.JT » Wed Aug 15, 2007 4:25 pm

What do I need to get an external CD drive running on my falcon (with CDRW burning if possible?) I'm assuming an SCSI drive plus what software/adapters? Also are adapter cables available if I cannabalized an internal drive out of my (Dell) laptop?

If a post about this already exists I apologise - got bored of searching!!

User avatar
unseenmenace
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1961
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 9:33 pm
Location: Margate, Kent, UK
Contact:

Postby unseenmenace » Wed Aug 15, 2007 8:29 pm

Most laptop drives are IDE and would need a lot of arsing about to hook up to a SCSI connection. Best bet would be a ready made SCSI external CD drive which may only need a simple plug adapter to connect to the Falcons external SCSI port. You may be able to find one on Ebay or somewhere.

e.g:-

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/CD-Rewriter-In-external-SCSI-enclosure_W0QQitemZ220139564896QQihZ012QQcategoryZ3754QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

In fact there's loads:-

http://search.ebay.co.uk/search/search.dll?sofocus=bs&sbrftog=1&from=R10&_trksid=m37&satitle=external+scsi+cd&sacat=-1%26catref%3DC6&sargn=-1%26saslc%3D3&sadis=200&fpos=CT9+1TS&sabfmts=1&ga10244=10425&ftrt=1&ftrv=1&saprclo=&saprchi=&fsop=1%26fsoo%3D1
UNSEEN MENACE
Several STFM's, 4MB STE, 2MB TT with 1.2GB Hard Drive and 14MB Falcon with 540MB Hard Drive,
Lynx 2 and Jaguar with JagCD
Member of GamebaseST and AtariLegend team
Check out my website at http://unseenmenace.110mb.com

ppera

Postby ppera » Thu Aug 16, 2007 11:17 am

Maybe best would be to connect IDE burner on internal IDE port.
It will require of adding standard 40 pin IDE connector on it.

It's hard to find SCSI burner, while you can buy new DVD burner for 40 euros.

User avatar
Bnicke
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 141
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 10:05 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Postby Bnicke » Thu Aug 16, 2007 6:30 pm

ppera wrote:It's hard to find SCSI burner, while you can buy new DVD burner for 40 euros.

Well.. I have two :wink: but there is no free burning software... or is it?
/Niklas

ppera

Postby ppera » Fri Aug 17, 2007 12:37 pm

Bnicke wrote:
ppera wrote:It's hard to find SCSI burner, while you can buy new DVD burner for 40 euros.

Well.. I have two :wink: but there is no free burning software... or is it?


http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.php?t=9742&start=0

Use Search...

User avatar
jens
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 837
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2003 3:50 pm
Location: Hannover, Germany
Contact:

Postby jens » Tue Aug 21, 2007 10:35 am

Bnicke wrote:Well.. I have two :wink: but there is no free burning software... or is it?

I think there is CD Lab or something like that.
Didn't try it myself though...

I do own several scsi cd-burners as well.
Greetings, Jens

Falcon030 - TT030 - Mega/STe - 1040 STf - 520 ST+ - ST-Book - Milan 060


Social Media

     

Return to “Professionals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests