by passing the HDD during boot sequence

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

pstriolo
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 1:19 pm

by passing the HDD during boot sequence

Postby pstriolo » Fri Dec 29, 2006 5:43 pm

Dear all,

I have a problem with my falcon : i would like to boot on the floppy drive (for example the Hddriver disk with an auto folder) and each time it's the hard disk drive that boot. The floppy drive is working well also.

Is there a trick to do to avoid that ?

I tried pressing control during boot sequence... but nothing seems to work.

Thanks for your help.

Philippe

User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2451
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece
Contact:

Postby christos » Fri Dec 29, 2006 6:00 pm

Press alternate

User avatar
Desty
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1964
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 2:36 pm
Location: 53 21N 6 18W
Contact:

Postby Desty » Fri Dec 29, 2006 9:06 pm

I guess it pays to experiment...? :lol:
tá'n poc ar buile!

User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2451
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece
Contact:

Postby christos » Fri Dec 29, 2006 9:21 pm

No you really have to press alternate.. It's programmed in the BIOS. :D

User avatar
Desty
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1964
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 2:36 pm
Location: 53 21N 6 18W
Contact:

Postby Desty » Fri Dec 29, 2006 10:49 pm

I believe you, I just thought it was funny that his question was "I've tried pressing control and I'm all out of ideas" and the answer was "press alternate" ;)
tá'n poc ar buile!

pstriolo
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 1:19 pm

Postby pstriolo » Sat Dec 30, 2006 6:47 am

The most ridiculous : i tried it anymore several times (it's listed in the manual as you said) but it doesn't work !!!

Maybe a problem of timing :lol:

Nevertheless thanks for your help.

Philippe

User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2451
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece
Contact:

Postby christos » Sat Dec 30, 2006 10:58 am

Probably, you need to press it the moment the memory test is completed, or exactly after a ctrl+alt+del. It should work unless there is something wrong with your keyboard.

User avatar
PaulB
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2168
Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2002 10:56 pm
Location: You Kay

Postby PaulB » Sat Dec 30, 2006 11:37 am

Wait until you see the floppy drive access light come on then press Alternate and keep it pressed down until the Falcon has finished booting.

pstriolo
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 1:19 pm

Postby pstriolo » Sat Dec 30, 2006 2:55 pm

Yess it works !!!

I was pressing the key too quickly. With the good timing it's ok.

Thanks.

Philippe


Social Media

     

Return to “Professionals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests