Looking for Stoop 1.05 Release

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

User avatar
rich
Little Green Desktop
Little Green Desktop
Posts: 212
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2003 4:43 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Looking for Stoop 1.05 Release

Postby rich » Wed Nov 22, 2006 10:20 am

Hi,

Does anyone have a registered copy of Stoop 1.05? I remember buying this great Falcon boot-starter years ago, but I can't find my copy anywhere, only the trial version. I'm about 90% sure that the author released the full thing as public domain towards the end of his interest with the Falcon, but I can't be sure of that.

I have the shareware version running at the moment and it's still as superb as ever :)

Cheers,

Rich

bj
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 466
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2003 10:30 am
Location: London

Postby bj » Wed Nov 22, 2006 10:56 am

Hi Rich
Yes he released a freeware key. So here you go:

STOOP Serial
freeware boot manager
------------------
open your stoop.cfg with a editor and
copy and paste this general key

stoop.cfg :
"
STOOP v105

User : PhilÿHodgkins
Code : ndoazQnf

---------------------------------
And for anyone interested here is Stoop 1.05 & Stoop 2 Beta
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
regards
BJ

User avatar
rich
Little Green Desktop
Little Green Desktop
Posts: 212
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2003 4:43 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Postby rich » Wed Nov 22, 2006 11:08 am

Thank you :)

User avatar
[ProToS]
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2242
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 2:09 am
Location: Lourdes / France
Contact:

Postby [ProToS] » Wed Nov 22, 2006 5:04 pm

perhaps it's better with code BB code

Code: Select all

open your stoop.cfg with a editor and
copy and paste this

stoop.cfg :
"
STOOP v105

User : PhilÿHodgkins
Code : ndoazQnf

etc ...............
"
 
SeeU
[ProToS]/Facebook

alienkidmj12
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 125
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 6:45 pm

Re: Looking for Stoop 1.05 Release

Postby alienkidmj12 » Mon Jun 29, 2015 7:56 pm

nice, thanks, shame he ended development.

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 368
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: Looking for Stoop 1.05 Release

Postby Kroll » Tue Oct 10, 2017 7:28 pm

Hi all,

I do not want to start a new thread, but I have a question to the users of this boot selector. I recently tried to install it on Falcon 030. For TOS I use various newdesk.inf files. All files with different names (for example: calamus.inf, papyrus.inf etc.) copied to a separate folder and set the destination file newdesk.inf on the C:\ drive,
I choose one option, press button "GO". but unfortunately there appear 2 bombs on the screen, and I have to restart the computer with the pressed CTRL key and newdesk.inf file has 0 bytes .

Someone has an idea and what could be wrong ?
Thank you very much in advance

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4072
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: Looking for Stoop 1.05 Release

Postby Dal » Wed Oct 11, 2017 2:22 am

2 bombs = Drive Not Ready

What type of "hard disk" and driver are you using?
TT030: 4MB/16MB + Crazy Dots, Mega"SST" 12, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 368
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: Looking for Stoop 1.05 Release

Postby Kroll » Wed Oct 11, 2017 11:50 am

I use it on IDE 2 Cf adapter and red 16 GB CF Kingstom Ultimate 266x, and HDdriver 9.10.
Maybe you are right, becuase I have a problem with this CF card with the newest Hddriver 10.02 and later. I can check with other CF card on this falcon

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 368
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: Looking for Stoop 1.05 Release

Postby Kroll » Wed Oct 11, 2017 8:01 pm

Dal wrote:2 bombs = Drive Not Ready

What type of "hard disk" and driver are you using?


Thank you very much for the correct suggestion, I changed the CF and everything is OK, it confirms my earlier observations that this card is damaged, now I will try to test Stoop with CT63 :)

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 368
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: Looking for Stoop 1.05 Release

Postby Kroll » Sat Oct 14, 2017 12:44 am

Dal wrote:2 bombs = Drive Not Ready

What type of "hard disk" and driver are you using?

As I mentioned in the above post, I also tried to install on second falcon with the CT63, first started it in 030 mode. I use an external 3.5-inch IDE drive (WD 80GB) and here I have this problem with two bombs, I tried on two different HDD . I think the hard drive is working, I've never had a problem with it, the same thing is for different Hddriver.
What do you think about it ?

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11976
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Looking for Stoop 1.05 Release

Postby wongck » Sat Oct 14, 2017 4:25 am

How about putting the CF from working system to the Ct63?
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 368
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: Looking for Stoop 1.05 Release

Postby Kroll » Sat Oct 14, 2017 9:03 am

In this falcon with CT63, I have problem with CF, it is not recognized in this computer, may be a problem with the power supply in 2.5 inch IDE connector.

Atarieterno
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 294
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2016 3:40 pm
Location: Spain

Re:

Postby Atarieterno » Sat Oct 14, 2017 9:49 am

bj wrote: Yes he released a freeware key. So here you go:

STOOP Serial
freeware boot manager
------------------
open your stoop.cfg with a editor and
copy and paste this general key

stoop.cfg :
"
STOOP v105

User : PhilÿHodgkins
Code : ndoazQnf

---------------------------------
And for anyone interested here is Stoop 1.05 & Stoop 2 Beta


Thanks !!
:cheers:
ST/fm/e, STacy, Mega ST/e, TT, Falcon, C-Lab MKX... and more music tools.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11976
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Looking for Stoop 1.05 Release

Postby wongck » Sat Oct 14, 2017 10:13 am

Could be due to the cable.
I had an unstable IDE on my Firebee because of the cable. After changing it was stable.
So may be you need a new IDE cable on your falcon.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 368
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: Looking for Stoop 1.05 Release

Postby Kroll » Sat Oct 14, 2017 5:47 pm

I think this is other problem,
I am connecting this short 2.5 inch (16 cm) cable with the IDE2CF adapter directly to second falcon/CT63 and the CF card is not detected properly. In this Falcon/CT63 I used 2.5 to 3.5 inch adapter and connect the 3.5" hard drive

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11976
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Looking for Stoop 1.05 Release

Postby wongck » Sun Oct 15, 2017 12:18 am

I suppose the 3.5" HDD takes the power from external source as taking from the 44pin cable would probably stress it.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 368
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: Looking for Stoop 1.05 Release

Postby Kroll » Sun Oct 15, 2017 12:44 am

Exactly, 3.5" HDD take a power from ATX power suply, which also supplies CT63.
So I guess there is a problem with powering the IDE2CF adapter from a 44 pin cable, that is why it does not work with the CF card but that is another problem, why does not it want to work STOOP with external HDD, I do not know still.

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 368
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: Looking for Stoop 1.05 Release

Postby Kroll » Mon Oct 16, 2017 2:38 pm

HI,
I think, that I found the cause of newdesk.inf problems on falcon with a external hard drive, it is not a problem with HDD, but with Stoop itself, I noticed that the newdesk.inf file can not have more than 8 KB, I can send two files, The difference is, one is OK, the other causes appear two bombs, or crash the computer, independent are you work in 030 or 060 mode.
Is it possible to resolve this problem or I will have to reduce the size of my newdesk.inf files :).

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11976
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Looking for Stoop 1.05 Release

Postby wongck » Mon Oct 16, 2017 3:09 pm

Have you try the stoopfix ?
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 368
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: Looking for Stoop 1.05 Release

Postby Kroll » Mon Oct 16, 2017 5:37 pm

I have checked and it is the same (independent stoopfix.prg is before or after stoop.prg), but I suppose, seeing the behavior when I run Stoopfix, the next program after stoop.prg in the AUTO folder sets the resolution permanently and always starts up with 1024x768x32 bit (Xbios) in SET VIdeo in TOS menu (of course when works in CTPCI and Radeon) and skips the newdesk.inf file settings.
Can you remember something about STOOPFIX.PRG?

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11976
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Looking for Stoop 1.05 Release

Postby wongck » Mon Oct 16, 2017 10:57 pm

I am not surprise that stoopfix does not work for you.
Like I mentioned it was for my own use, and so probably tailored to my system.
As I use Mint most of the time, the standard 1024x768 resolution I use in TOS is only for fixing if Mint goes wrong.

I cannot find the source code of stoopfix any more, so I am not sure what it does.
I think i better remove it from downloading area. Else ppl may ask for something that I cannot do without source code.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list


Social Media

     

Return to “Professionals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests