Falcon Doom

All about games on the Falcon, TT & clones

Moderators: Mug UK, [ProToS], lp, moondog/.tSCc., Moderator Team

Falcon Doom

Postby Womble » Wed Aug 24, 2005 9:48 pm

This seems to be a topic that comes round every so often but all the links in previous posts all end in 404s now.

Does anyone know where I can get the falcon doom app (google only shows multiple links back to the offline french ftp site) or upload the file here?

Also can anyone clear this point up - is it possible to PLAY doom on a 030 falcon? Some sites (cached but dead) seem to hint you can and others strongly claim all you can do is "view" the doom wads.
User avatar
Womble
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
 
Posts: 542
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 6:51 pm
Location: Melbourne, The Land Down Under

Postby ST Graveyard » Wed Aug 24, 2005 9:54 pm

Check out the site of Patrice Mandin
http://membres.lycos.fr/pmandin/

Maybe that would help?

cheers,
grave
Atari Legend - atari-forum - The ST Graveyard

Yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery ... Today is a gift!
User avatar
ST Graveyard
Obsessed with homicide
Obsessed with homicide
 
Posts: 1930
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2002 11:53 pm
Location: Belgium

Postby Womble » Wed Aug 24, 2005 11:22 pm

Oh ho - it most certainly would, I can see many late nights coming up.

Thanks muchly :)
User avatar
Womble
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
 
Posts: 542
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 6:51 pm
Location: Melbourne, The Land Down Under

Postby Womble » Fri Sep 02, 2005 4:05 pm

What are the chances - between my getting my falc HDD replacement and getting the URL - the site goes offline. Hopefully its not a permanent outage. :(

Oh well probably should get some sleep anyway.
User avatar
Womble
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
 
Posts: 542
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 6:51 pm
Location: Melbourne, The Land Down Under

Postby Mug UK » Fri Sep 02, 2005 4:12 pm

I can have a look amongst a wad of new downloads for it Womble .. but not until Sunday as it's drinks night tonight in Liverpool and computer fair tomorrow :)
Having sold 99.9% of my 1300+ collection of originals, I'm taking a bit of a back seat on the forum. I'll still do the front-of-house admin tasks as and when they're required but, for now, I'm enjoying my Xbox 360 time too much :)

Image
User avatar
Mug UK
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 10988
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 7:16 pm
Location: Heaton Chapel (UK)

Postby Womble » Fri Sep 02, 2005 4:19 pm

Thanks that would be appreciated, my timing is terrible :D
User avatar
Womble
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
 
Posts: 542
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 6:51 pm
Location: Melbourne, The Land Down Under

Postby 030falcon030 » Fri Sep 02, 2005 4:50 pm

Please tell me how to get the .wad files on a floppy disk even in .rip they dont fit and protos gave a dos/st program i could use to split it over 2disks but i never got it to work
Last edited by 030falcon030 on Fri Sep 02, 2005 4:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.
hmmm:/
I have an ste 4mb... with a 20mb powerdrive slimline and a cumana external fdd.
And a falcon 14mb w/ ct63 + ctpci
User avatar
030falcon030
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
 
Posts: 749
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 6:59 pm
Location: North Somerset.england

Postby 030falcon030 » Fri Sep 02, 2005 4:52 pm

I have 3 dooms for falcon but i havent a clue how to get the wad file onto the falcon (too big for floppy disk and i dont have a null modem cable) so im not too sure how well (if at all) any of them work.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by 030falcon030 on Sat Sep 03, 2005 1:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.
hmmm:/
I have an ste 4mb... with a 20mb powerdrive slimline and a cumana external fdd.
And a falcon 14mb w/ ct63 + ctpci
User avatar
030falcon030
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
 
Posts: 749
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 6:59 pm
Location: North Somerset.england

Postby Womble » Sat Sep 03, 2005 3:35 am

None of your attached files seem to be there 030

404 File Not Found: The File files/bad_mood_104.zip does not exist.

Re getting large files onto the falcy - I had the same problem and I was recommended a program called XSplitt, a splitter program for TOS and PC. Problem was that I couldnt get the PC part to work. You can tell how old it is due to the fact it mentions 286s and 386s in the txt. It aint gonna get the DOS env its expecting. The problems I had were twofold. The PC version will not work on any XP machine with SP2 - apparently one of the patches broke the way the DOS shell handles really old stuff. I had a good google around and the only fixes for the problem "ie same error with other old DOS progs" didnt fix this one. So I dragged out my old lappy that has XP SP1 on and hasnt seen a network for about a year and tried it on that. It ran but wouldnt accept the parameters I gave it on the CLI as per the doco. At this point I gave up on the PC part and used STEeM to run the TOS bit.

I assume you have a folder set up within steem to act as the HDD. Copy your file in there with the xsplit.prg file. Run Xsplit (med res or its a mess) and use the emulator to split the file into 1.4Mb chunks. It drops these back to the HDD folder within Steem. Then copy them to floppies and dump onto the falc. Run the same prg on the falcon and you can choose to reassemble. Worked very well.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Womble
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
 
Posts: 542
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 6:51 pm
Location: Melbourne, The Land Down Under

Postby tjlazer » Sat Sep 03, 2005 5:17 am

I vaguely remember tring it and was dissapointed, it ran and crashed, was slow, etc. Is there a better option out there? The Amiga has some great ports...
Atari Computer Collector since 1984

From the 8-bit Atari 400 to the 32-bit Atari TT030!
User avatar
tjlazer
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
 
Posts: 561
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 4:00 am
Location: Tacoma, WA USA

Postby Mug UK » Sat Sep 03, 2005 7:35 am

If you want, why not Multi-ZIP up the .WAD file into good old volumes (aka warez style!) DOOMWAD1.ZIP, DOOMWAD2.ZIP etc. files and then transfer them that way ..

You can specify what size volume to use (either 720 or 1.44)

... I am assuming though, that ST ZIP 2.6 can handle these?

Or maybe use LZH/ARJ if they will split into volume files?
Having sold 99.9% of my 1300+ collection of originals, I'm taking a bit of a back seat on the forum. I'll still do the front-of-house admin tasks as and when they're required but, for now, I'm enjoying my Xbox 360 time too much :)

Image
User avatar
Mug UK
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 10988
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 7:16 pm
Location: Heaton Chapel (UK)

Postby [ProToS] » Sat Sep 03, 2005 7:35 am

SeeU
[ProToS]/Facebook
User avatar
[ProToS]
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 2241
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 2:09 am
Location: Lourdes / France

Postby 030falcon030 » Sat Sep 03, 2005 1:18 pm

Stupid bloody forum :/
It should work now it did just then when i tried them does this forum delete its files after a while?
anyway thanks for that split program ive got the wad file on my falcon. bad mood and doom074 are good speeds but you can only explore the level. Pm doom has everything working but it a bit too slow to use on my falcon (16mhz 14mb ram) I wonder is there anything i coulddo to speed it up?
hmmm:/
I have an ste 4mb... with a 20mb powerdrive slimline and a cumana external fdd.
And a falcon 14mb w/ ct63 + ctpci
User avatar
030falcon030
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
 
Posts: 749
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 6:59 pm
Location: North Somerset.england

Postby Womble » Sat Sep 03, 2005 11:50 pm

Cool - i guess you re uploaded - i have all three now :) Thank 030
User avatar
Womble
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
 
Posts: 542
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 6:51 pm
Location: Melbourne, The Land Down Under

Postby Fantomas » Mon Sep 05, 2005 7:52 pm

Womble wrote:What are the chances - between my getting my falc HDD replacement and getting the URL - the site goes offline. Hopefully its not a permanent outage. :(

Oh well probably should get some sleep anyway.


Patrice Mandin is waiting for an "atari.org" url for his new website located here:

http://perso.wanadoo.fr/patrice.mandin/

fantomas
Fantomas
Atariator
Atariator
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun May 01, 2005 8:41 am
Location: France

Postby Womble » Mon Sep 05, 2005 8:23 pm

Ah right - well I got falc doom running - I wouldnt choose to play the game on that platform but its interesting to see it. Rather jerky and no sound but otherwise pretty cool.
User avatar
Womble
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
 
Posts: 542
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 6:51 pm
Location: Melbourne, The Land Down Under

Postby 030falcon030 » Tue Sep 06, 2005 4:18 pm

I've got another version with sound if you want it, but its extremely slow even with graphics turned to low and screen size very small.
hmmm:/
I have an ste 4mb... with a 20mb powerdrive slimline and a cumana external fdd.
And a falcon 14mb w/ ct63 + ctpci
User avatar
030falcon030
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
 
Posts: 749
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 6:59 pm
Location: North Somerset.england

Postby Womble » Tue Sep 06, 2005 8:18 pm

Yeh I'll give it a try :)
User avatar
Womble
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
 
Posts: 542
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 6:51 pm
Location: Melbourne, The Land Down Under

Postby 030falcon030 » Fri Sep 09, 2005 5:13 pm

Here it is.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
hmmm:/
I have an ste 4mb... with a 20mb powerdrive slimline and a cumana external fdd.
And a falcon 14mb w/ ct63 + ctpci
User avatar
030falcon030
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
 
Posts: 749
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 6:59 pm
Location: North Somerset.england

Postby 030falcon030 » Mon Sep 12, 2005 7:53 pm

On the old version with no sound click the ttp file and put in -falcon8 as the perimeter and its playable even on full screen (but its a lot faster if you make the screen a bit smaller) Ive nearly completed the game on it as well :D
hmmm:/
I have an ste 4mb... with a 20mb powerdrive slimline and a cumana external fdd.
And a falcon 14mb w/ ct63 + ctpci
User avatar
030falcon030
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
 
Posts: 749
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 6:59 pm
Location: North Somerset.england

Postby karlm » Wed Sep 14, 2005 1:39 am

does anyone know what happened to BadMood? It was looking mighty nice right up until everyone seemed to evaporate (Johan Klockars, Doug Little? et al)

was 3.16 the last release?

cheers

karlm
User avatar
karlm
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
 
Posts: 712
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2003 4:09 am
Location: Top of the World - Australia

Postby Fantomas » Thu Sep 22, 2005 10:01 pm

Do you know DOOM EMULATOR ENGINE by lord Chaos ?

Lord Chaos has coded the Falcon conversion of Doom - the legendary PC action game, Doom Emulator Engine (DEE.ZIP, 158 KB) which uses standard WAD files. This program needs more development because of its speed, but it is already a playable version

Here it is:

http://bigmac.eik.bme.hu/~marczi/down_e.html

Fantomas
Fantomas
Atariator
Atariator
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun May 01, 2005 8:41 am
Location: France

Postby 030falcon030 » Thu Sep 22, 2005 10:15 pm

No I didnt know about it but I will try it, is it still being worked on?
Thanks.
hmmm:/
I have an ste 4mb... with a 20mb powerdrive slimline and a cumana external fdd.
And a falcon 14mb w/ ct63 + ctpci
User avatar
030falcon030
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
 
Posts: 749
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 6:59 pm
Location: North Somerset.england

Re:

Postby kristjanga » Wed Jul 07, 2010 8:45 pm

Fantomas wrote:Do you know DOOM EMULATOR ENGINE by lord Chaos ?

Lord Chaos has coded the Falcon conversion of Doom - the legendary PC action game, Doom Emulator Engine (DEE.ZIP, 158 KB) which uses standard WAD files. This program needs more development because of its speed, but it is already a playable version

Here it is:

http://bigmac.eik.bme.hu/~marczi/down_e.html

Fantomas


does any one here have this doom engine?
this download link does not work!
kristjanga
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
 
Posts: 352
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2009 3:35 pm

Re: Falcon Doom

Postby NGF » Wed Mar 16, 2011 7:57 pm

Sorry about resurrecting this old thread but what is the current status on the different ports of DOOM for TT/Falcon? Are anyone still active working on a source port?
Have any ports managed to get full speed on vanilla flavoured TT or Falcon?
"4160" STE with Ultrasatan | Falcon 030 14MB with CF-reader | TT030 | STacy | 520STFM x 2 | 520ST x 2
User avatar
NGF
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
 
Posts: 324
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 9:22 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Next

Return to Games

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 1 guest