Free games to port?

All about games on the Falcon, TT & clones

Moderators: Mug UK, [ProToS], lp, moondog/.tSCc., Moderator Team

Free games to port?

Postby nativ » Mon Apr 20, 2009 4:00 pm

Hi,

If there ever was an excuse needed................... possible things to port?

Search.

Wild Metal , GTA / GTA 2 Rockstar free.


Thanks

Ashley
Atari STFM 512 / STe 4MB / Mega ST+DSP / Falcon 4MB 16Mhz 68882 - DVD/CDRW/ZIP/DAT - FDI / Jaguar / Lynx 1&2 / 7800 / 2600 / XE 130+SD Card // Sega Dreamcast / Mega2+CD2 // Apple G4

http://soundcloud.com/nativ ~ http://soundcloud.com/nativ-1 ~ http://soundcloud.com/knot_music
http://soundcloud.com/push-sounds ~ http://soundcloud.com/push-records
User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
 
Posts: 4070
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Re: Free games to port?

Postby Mug UK » Mon Apr 20, 2009 6:34 pm

Having sold 99.9% of my 1300+ collection of originals, I'm taking a bit of a back seat on the forum. I'll still do the front-of-house admin tasks as and when they're required but, for now, I'm enjoying my Xbox 360 time too much :)

Image
User avatar
Mug UK
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 10988
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 7:16 pm
Location: Heaton Chapel (UK)

Re: Free games to port?

Postby nativ » Mon Apr 20, 2009 6:40 pm

Wild Metal done in a Battlezone / No Second Prize / Hovercraft game on the falcon? style?

GTA 1&2 same as. (or as close to as poss.!) Probably better!

Just need to leech appropriate data! either that ! or build the qhole game from scratch!

I'm shortly to test Wild Metal on the Dreamcast!

Thanks

Ashley
Atari STFM 512 / STe 4MB / Mega ST+DSP / Falcon 4MB 16Mhz 68882 - DVD/CDRW/ZIP/DAT - FDI / Jaguar / Lynx 1&2 / 7800 / 2600 / XE 130+SD Card // Sega Dreamcast / Mega2+CD2 // Apple G4

http://soundcloud.com/nativ ~ http://soundcloud.com/nativ-1 ~ http://soundcloud.com/knot_music
http://soundcloud.com/push-sounds ~ http://soundcloud.com/push-records
User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
 
Posts: 4070
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Re: Free games to port?

Postby kristjanga » Sun Jan 17, 2010 4:26 pm

just a idea! atari forum could have a competition to port a game and we that would like that game (and can´t program)could give some money to that competition and that one that wins gets that money.
kristjanga
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
 
Posts: 352
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2009 3:35 pm

Re: Free games to port?

Postby BoNuS » Mon Jan 18, 2010 7:40 am

I know wild metal, it's an okay game :) But it looks to much like Battle Zone for my tast.

I have already seen so many games that I think of should be ported. Esp. free games or shareware alike.
Like the POP games (internet games) Most of the time the are vey easy but very addictief !!!
Already grapped / dump al load of gfx of those games and rebuild them to 16 colors.
Or for the Falcon to 256. If I only had 48 / 96 hours a day then I would probably have done some
already. And music isn't my thing.

I often see games with .ogg format music. They I convert them to wav or usable format for an
atari and then they are HUGH. So not really usable... Even downsampling them to 12,5 Khz isn't
enough to keep them in memory and still leave enough room for the game. Might think of Mp3
but then the relpay routine take just to much processor power.

For me (at the moment a kind of one-men-band) it's just to much to do but I would like to make
a go at it. The Men at war project is stuck because of lack of new music, code is 99% ready, gfx 90%
but music is too old and needs replacement. A few new levels maybe but then it ready and I can focs
on the next thing. Already started something but the engine isn't ready. Once that is okay it shouldn't
be much of a problem...

A fast and easy to use sprite routine in GFA would be helpfull, I already asked OTM to check it out for me.
As always these day's he is in a time crunch, so will take a (long long long (mid evil war)) while...
http://bonus.home.xs4all.nl/
2 x Falcon 030 - a mint Atari TT - Mega STE - 2x STE - 1x Mega 2 - 2x STFM - 1 x STF - 3x SC1224 - 2x SM124 - 1x SM125 2x Portofolio+interface
- 3x 1435 monitor - 1 x Ult.Ripper cardridge - Mega 1,2,and 4 ( just to much Atari stuff)
User avatar
BoNuS
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
 
Posts: 622
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 12:45 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Free games to port?

Postby MacFalcon » Mon Jan 18, 2010 9:33 am

Men at War is an excellent Falcon game and I hope that you will finish it!
I do like the music of the beta... But you are free to change ;)

Nice to see you still work on it! We played it on last OFAM and it was a
burner... very much fun!

Best regards,

Chris
User avatar
MacFalcon
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
 
Posts: 234
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2003 1:00 pm
Location: Muenchberg, Germany

Re: Free games to port?

Postby BoNuS » Mon Jan 18, 2010 2:56 pm

MacFalcon wrote:Men at War is an excellent Falcon game and I hope that you will finish it!
I do like the music of the beta... But you are free to change ;)

Nice to see you still work on it! We played it on last OFAM and it was a
burner... very much fun!

Best regards,

Chris


Thanx Chris, that's always very good to hear !!! This gives me an extra push to do so...

So if there are any musicians out there that can make a few "adrenaline pumping" games songs contact me.
There a a few things to take in consideration like size and volume ;)
http://bonus.home.xs4all.nl/
2 x Falcon 030 - a mint Atari TT - Mega STE - 2x STE - 1x Mega 2 - 2x STFM - 1 x STF - 3x SC1224 - 2x SM124 - 1x SM125 2x Portofolio+interface
- 3x 1435 monitor - 1 x Ult.Ripper cardridge - Mega 1,2,and 4 ( just to much Atari stuff)
User avatar
BoNuS
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
 
Posts: 622
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 12:45 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Free games to port?

Postby MacFalcon » Thu Feb 04, 2010 10:20 am

BoNuS wrote:Thanx Chris, that's always very good to hear !!! This gives me an extra push to do so...


Well that´s the point! Keep up the good work, it definately will be appreciated!

Great game man!
Falcon060, 100/25 MHz, 256 MB SD-RAM, PhantomPBS, CTPCI with Radeon, USB and Network Card. atari rulez!
User avatar
MacFalcon
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
 
Posts: 234
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2003 1:00 pm
Location: Muenchberg, Germany

Re: Free games to port?

Postby Cooper » Fri Feb 12, 2010 7:35 am

hi,

GGN hacked up the MP2 replayer by NoCrew to be used in GFA, you can grab it here :
http://atari.gfa.forum.free.fr/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=94

It uses the DSP so you have all the free time you want to do something else !

Only drawback is that the loopmode is broken, so if you want to replay the tune, you must relaunch it automatically (no need to reload it though). Otherwise i tried it and it works really neat!


Hope it helps...
*****************
Cooper/Paradize
STe / STf / Lynx
*****************
User avatar
Cooper
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 6:21 pm
Location: Nancy / France

Re: Free games to port?

Postby BoNuS » Fri Feb 12, 2010 9:06 pm

Cooper wrote:hi,

GGN hacked up the MP2 replayer by NoCrew to be used in GFA, you can grab it here :
http://atari.gfa.forum.free.fr/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=94

It uses the DSP so you have all the free time you want to do something else !

Only drawback is that the loopmode is broken, so if you want to replay the tune, you must relaunch it automatically (no need to reload it though). Otherwise i tried it and it works really neat!


Hope it helps...


Will have a look into it, just downloaded it. I'm using the Bitmaster routine at them moment
so I can use 4 channels of my own samples and 4 channel mod's. It works very good, but take a little
time. Since I hwant to play sample during the game if something happens (like a shot or something)
I don't know if just playing music will be enough. But I will try it :)

Thanx !!
http://bonus.home.xs4all.nl/
2 x Falcon 030 - a mint Atari TT - Mega STE - 2x STE - 1x Mega 2 - 2x STFM - 1 x STF - 3x SC1224 - 2x SM124 - 1x SM125 2x Portofolio+interface
- 3x 1435 monitor - 1 x Ult.Ripper cardridge - Mega 1,2,and 4 ( just to much Atari stuff)
User avatar
BoNuS
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
 
Posts: 622
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 12:45 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Free games to port?

Postby 030falcon030 » Wed Feb 17, 2010 12:56 am

Couldn't someone just crank some more optimisation into one of the doom ports and get one of them working acceptably on a falcon with 14mb and even fpu if it helps?
hmmm:/
I have an ste 4mb... with a 20mb powerdrive slimline and a cumana external fdd.
And a falcon 14mb w/ ct63 + ctpci
User avatar
030falcon030
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
 
Posts: 749
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 6:59 pm
Location: North Somerset.england

Re: Free games to port?

Postby nativ » Wed Feb 17, 2010 1:05 pm

The lesser seen FPU........

If you look at Delta by lineout (DSP) , Avena & Digital Chaos ( No DSP use? ) and erm trying to think of a FPU demo......
.....................
..........
......
. Dream Dimension by DHS .


Even Of Lasers and Men Isn't DSP based.

So there is 'potential'

Be really nice to see the Falcon fly!
Atari STFM 512 / STe 4MB / Mega ST+DSP / Falcon 4MB 16Mhz 68882 - DVD/CDRW/ZIP/DAT - FDI / Jaguar / Lynx 1&2 / 7800 / 2600 / XE 130+SD Card // Sega Dreamcast / Mega2+CD2 // Apple G4

http://soundcloud.com/nativ ~ http://soundcloud.com/nativ-1 ~ http://soundcloud.com/knot_music
http://soundcloud.com/push-sounds ~ http://soundcloud.com/push-records
User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
 
Posts: 4070
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Re: Free games to port?

Postby kristjanga » Fri Feb 19, 2010 3:13 pm

doom would be nice but I do not hink it would be possible to make it playable, even with FPU
well perhabs if floors and ceilings would be renderd without textures?? if that is possible
and then shrink the view window
but I am no programer so realy i don´t know
BUT Doom would be nice because today it´s running on almost any platform!!
kristjanga
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
 
Posts: 352
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2009 3:35 pm

Re: Free games to port?

Postby nativ » Fri Feb 19, 2010 6:20 pm

DOOM
There are a couple of attempts,

There is Ledgends of valour
Midimaze
and others inc. Wolf.
Atari STFM 512 / STe 4MB / Mega ST+DSP / Falcon 4MB 16Mhz 68882 - DVD/CDRW/ZIP/DAT - FDI / Jaguar / Lynx 1&2 / 7800 / 2600 / XE 130+SD Card // Sega Dreamcast / Mega2+CD2 // Apple G4

http://soundcloud.com/nativ ~ http://soundcloud.com/nativ-1 ~ http://soundcloud.com/knot_music
http://soundcloud.com/push-sounds ~ http://soundcloud.com/push-records
User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
 
Posts: 4070
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Re: Free games to port?

Postby LaurentS » Sat Feb 27, 2010 9:16 am

Hello,

> Even Of Lasers and Men Isn't DSP based.

I disagree here. Of Lasers and men is DSP based.
I've spent a few hours in the dsp code of this game to let it work under Hatari.

Bad mood is a quite fast dsp renderer, but not everything is finished.
Patrice's code is full working.

The best would be to mix patrice's code with badMood renderer, but I this this would still be slow on a standard falcon.

Regards,

Laurent
User avatar
LaurentS
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
 
Posts: 175
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 5:41 pm

Re: Free games to port?

Postby 030falcon030 » Sat Feb 27, 2010 2:20 pm

How about using the jaguar doom wad to make it slightly faster? It is slightly simplified compared to the pc one and it looks like someone has worked out how to change the wad files on jaguar doom as well.

But on the idea of games to port.
I would like to see a decent RTS, as currently the only atari compatible rts that exists is stune 2 which crashes all the time and runs in gem ( :roll: ).
hmmm:/
I have an ste 4mb... with a 20mb powerdrive slimline and a cumana external fdd.
And a falcon 14mb w/ ct63 + ctpci
User avatar
030falcon030
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
 
Posts: 749
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 6:59 pm
Location: North Somerset.england

Re: Free games to port?

Postby jury » Wed Mar 24, 2010 10:07 am

030falcon030 wrote:I would like to see a decent RTS


Exacly, a decent RTS would be a good idea for a Falcon :)
jury
Atari freak
Atari freak
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 11:11 am
Location: Poland

Re: Free games to port?

Postby wongck » Wed Mar 24, 2010 11:18 am

jury wrote:
030falcon030 wrote:I would like to see a decent RTS


Exacly, a decent RTS would be a good idea for a Falcon :)


Yes, there is no RTS.
May be get Bitmap brothers to port Z or Z2.
My Stuff: Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ FB/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
 
Posts: 10713
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East

Re: Free games to port?

Postby 030falcon030 » Wed Mar 24, 2010 5:42 pm

To be fair I think the Falcon could happily handle c&c and possibly red alert.
Its requirements may be higher but we don't have Windows using up all that power.
Just dreaming lol
Though I would love to see dune 2 and warcraft done properly (unlike stune which constantly crashes and no one finished it anyway.)
Last edited by 030falcon030 on Thu Mar 25, 2010 4:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.
hmmm:/
I have an ste 4mb... with a 20mb powerdrive slimline and a cumana external fdd.
And a falcon 14mb w/ ct63 + ctpci
User avatar
030falcon030
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
 
Posts: 749
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 6:59 pm
Location: North Somerset.england

Re: Free games to port?

Postby wongck » Thu Mar 25, 2010 11:52 am

What is Stune?
My Stuff: Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ FB/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
 
Posts: 10713
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East

Re: Free games to port?

Postby 030falcon030 » Thu Mar 25, 2010 4:49 pm

Stune is a clone of dune 2 that runs in tos and is not as refined as dune 2 and is buggy and crashes a lot for me at least. It has certainly got potential if anyone decided to pick it up and start trying to finish it.
hmmm:/
I have an ste 4mb... with a 20mb powerdrive slimline and a cumana external fdd.
And a falcon 14mb w/ ct63 + ctpci
User avatar
030falcon030
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
 
Posts: 749
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 6:59 pm
Location: North Somerset.england

Re: Free games to port?

Postby wongck » Fri Mar 26, 2010 12:30 pm

Where can I dl it?
My Stuff: Falcon CT63+CTPCI ATI R7500 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD EtherNEC/ FB/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
 
Posts: 10713
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East

Re: Free games to port?

Postby 030falcon030 » Fri Mar 26, 2010 3:20 pm

hmmm:/
I have an ste 4mb... with a 20mb powerdrive slimline and a cumana external fdd.
And a falcon 14mb w/ ct63 + ctpci
User avatar
030falcon030
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
 
Posts: 749
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 6:59 pm
Location: North Somerset.england

Re: Free games to port?

Postby nativ » Mon Apr 12, 2010 9:46 am

Nice to see this on the CT63 and maybe with 'reduced' / filtered graphics for the St and Falcon? Jaguar CD perhaps?


www.racer.nl


Regards
Atari STFM 512 / STe 4MB / Mega ST+DSP / Falcon 4MB 16Mhz 68882 - DVD/CDRW/ZIP/DAT - FDI / Jaguar / Lynx 1&2 / 7800 / 2600 / XE 130+SD Card // Sega Dreamcast / Mega2+CD2 // Apple G4

http://soundcloud.com/nativ ~ http://soundcloud.com/nativ-1 ~ http://soundcloud.com/knot_music
http://soundcloud.com/push-sounds ~ http://soundcloud.com/push-records
User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
 
Posts: 4070
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Re: Free games to port?

Postby 030falcon030 » Mon Apr 12, 2010 9:46 pm

Who thinks total annihilation the best rts game ever would be possible on ct63 + ctpci? 8)
hmmm:/
I have an ste 4mb... with a 20mb powerdrive slimline and a cumana external fdd.
And a falcon 14mb w/ ct63 + ctpci
User avatar
030falcon030
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
 
Posts: 749
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 6:59 pm
Location: North Somerset.england

Next

Return to Games

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 1 guest