Falcon HNY 2016 Demo

All about demos on the Falcon, TT & clones

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team


User avatar
lotek_style
Mod(ul)erator
Mod(ul)erator
Posts: 2372
Joined: Sat May 11, 2002 2:39 pm
Location: germany
Contact:

Re: Falcon HNY 2016 Demo

Postby lotek_style » Fri Jan 01, 2016 11:06 am

lotek style / the sirius cybernetics corporation
- musician - ascii-artist - swapper - archivist -

.tSCc. - low-tech atari cyberpunks since 1990
http://www.tscc.de/ | http://demozoo.org/ | http://www.lotekstyle.de/ | http://ymrockerz.atari.org/

User avatar
CiH
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1097
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2004 4:34 pm
Location: Middle Earth (Npton) UK
Contact:

Re: Falcon HNY 2016 Demo

Postby CiH » Fri Jan 01, 2016 12:16 pm

Happy new year Doug :-)
"Where teh feck is teh Hash key on this Mac?!"

User avatar
Atari030
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 539
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:14 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Falcon HNY 2016 Demo

Postby Atari030 » Fri Jan 01, 2016 12:29 pm

Happy new year and many thanks for all the hard work.

User avatar
Anima
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 654
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 9:43 am
Contact:

Re: Falcon HNY 2016 Demo

Postby Anima » Fri Jan 01, 2016 1:52 pm

Thanks Doug, happy new year to you and all Atarians as well. :)

User avatar
dhedberg
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 558
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:36 am
Contact:

Re: Falcon HNY 2016 Demo

Postby dhedberg » Fri Jan 01, 2016 7:41 pm

What a neat surprise! Happy New Year to you as well and to everyone else reading this!
Daniel, New Beat - http://newbeat.atari.org

DrTypo
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 73
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2011 12:57 pm
Location: Paris, France

Re: Falcon HNY 2016 Demo

Postby DrTypo » Fri Jan 01, 2016 8:29 pm

Thanks! Happy new year!

User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2063
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: Falcon HNY 2016 Demo

Postby calimero » Sat Jan 02, 2016 12:12 pm

Happy new year!

one question Doug, if you set static camera and leave raytrace long enough to calculate only one frame, how much time will it take to get 320x200 image in nice quality? btw I love RGB cells (mask) that you using; if you get far enough from monitor they looks really nice.
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X

User avatar
dml
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 3472
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 9:33 am

Re: Falcon HNY 2016 Demo

Postby dml » Sat Jan 02, 2016 12:27 pm

calimero wrote:one question Doug, if you set static camera and leave raytrace long enough to calculate only one frame, how much time will it take to get 320x200 image in nice quality? btw I love RGB cells (mask) that you using; if you get far enough from monitor they looks really nice.


It completely depends on the content. Best case it can take a fraction of a second. Worst case it can take minutes (hires with AA). So it's difficult to give a generic answer. All of the screens I made with it are balanced to maximize the pixel or cell count per frame without dropping the camera spline update FPS. The figures are different for each case.

The snowman isn't a trivial object so it probably would take a bunch of seconds to render out at 320x200 (both demos use 384x240).

There is one screen in 030 which renders the gallery image at 1/2 resolution and this takes maybe 3 or 4 seconds. The original version used mirrored back and front walls (to reference the screen from Polymania demo, and the original 1980s CGI/raytrace artwork itself) and rendered out display resolution with AA on edges but it really interrupted the pace of the demo and it was dropped for a lo-res version of the same thing.

User avatar
jvas
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 444
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 4:30 pm
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Re: Falcon HNY 2016 Demo

Postby jvas » Sat Jan 02, 2016 1:49 pm

Very nice! FYI: this one works fine with my accelerated DSP without any issue !!!

User avatar
dml
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 3472
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 9:33 am

Re: Falcon HNY 2016 Demo

Postby dml » Sat Jan 02, 2016 1:54 pm

jvas wrote:Very nice! FYI: this one works fine with my accelerated DSP without any issue !!!


Thanks for letting me know - I'll take a look at the other problem soon. Still not sure what's going on but might just be buggy code somewhere.

User avatar
jvas
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 444
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 4:30 pm
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Re: Falcon HNY 2016 Demo

Postby jvas » Sat Jan 02, 2016 2:00 pm

In 0three0 demo, even the loading "doughnut" is corrupt. Maybe this info helps ...

User avatar
dml
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 3472
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 9:33 am

Re: Falcon HNY 2016 Demo

Postby dml » Sat Jan 02, 2016 2:08 pm

jvas wrote:In 0three0 demo, even the loading "doughnut" is corrupt. Maybe this info helps ...


Can you PM me with a photo via your mobile or equivalent? The style of corruption might give me a clue before i look at the code. Maybe more than one photo from different bits, would be even better.

(If you can, just PM me rather than pasting into the thread)


Social Media

     

Return to “Demos”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest