Video Problem

All about demos on the Falcon, TT & clones

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

User avatar
paul92706
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1342
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 4:28 am
Location: Orange, CA

Video Problem

Postby paul92706 » Sun Jan 22, 2012 3:20 am

hi guys, im having this issue where my vhold just goes nuts, th demo just scrolls down the screen. the picture clarity and sound is great but it just scrolls. I am using the composite sync/video pin 12 and pin 10 grnd from the 19pin vga port out to an rca cable to video in of my TV now do i have to use the rf modulator port? if i use the rf modulator its to distorted i cant get a clear picture. maybe this issue is a frequency problem? thanks
Atari Falcon CT60/CTPCI 14MB+ 512mb ATI9250 + NetUSBee
Atari Falcon030 CF 4gb + NetUSBee+ 14MB Ram
Atari TT030 2meg STRAM/16meg TTRAM + Nova Adaptor +Maxtor SCSI HD + DaynaPort Pocket SCSI

User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2293
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece
Contact:

Re: Video Problem

Postby christos » Sun Jan 22, 2012 1:09 pm

Which demo are you trying to run?
Felix qui potuit rerum cognoscere causas.
My Atari blog

STOT Email address: stot(NoSPAM)atari(DOT)org

User avatar
paul92706
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1342
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 4:28 am
Location: Orange, CA

Re: Video Problem

Postby paul92706 » Sun Jan 22, 2012 4:56 pm

christos wrote:Which demo are you trying to run?

hi christos im trying to run dimensia and scarface i believe there RGB demos.
Atari Falcon CT60/CTPCI 14MB+ 512mb ATI9250 + NetUSBee
Atari Falcon030 CF 4gb + NetUSBee+ 14MB Ram
Atari TT030 2meg STRAM/16meg TTRAM + Nova Adaptor +Maxtor SCSI HD + DaynaPort Pocket SCSI

User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2293
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece
Contact:

Re: Video Problem

Postby christos » Sun Jan 22, 2012 6:28 pm

They are perhaps PAL. You are in NTSC land. What you describe sounds consistent.
Felix qui potuit rerum cognoscere causas.
My Atari blog

STOT Email address: stot(NoSPAM)atari(DOT)org

User avatar
paul92706
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1342
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 4:28 am
Location: Orange, CA

Re: Video Problem

Postby paul92706 » Sun Jan 22, 2012 8:12 pm

christos wrote:They are perhaps PAL. You are in NTSC land. What you describe sounds consistent.

makes sense, how do i go about fixing it? can i use the NVRAM config tool program?
Atari Falcon CT60/CTPCI 14MB+ 512mb ATI9250 + NetUSBee
Atari Falcon030 CF 4gb + NetUSBee+ 14MB Ram
Atari TT030 2meg STRAM/16meg TTRAM + Nova Adaptor +Maxtor SCSI HD + DaynaPort Pocket SCSI

User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2293
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece
Contact:

Re: Video Problem

Postby christos » Mon Jan 23, 2012 12:06 am

Sort of. While the falcon is NTSC and PAL the modulator in it is likely not (if that makes any sense). So in RGB it would work with both modes but in composite not really. So in all likelyhood, you'll get NTSC 50 and that might be enough. Also your tv needs to support PAL and while in europe our tv's generally support NTSC that might not be the case in the US. All you can do is try but I haven't been able to set up my falcon as NTSC. It will go to pal 60 when I set the NTSC bit in NVRAM.
Felix qui potuit rerum cognoscere causas.
My Atari blog

STOT Email address: stot(NoSPAM)atari(DOT)org

User avatar
paul92706
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1342
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 4:28 am
Location: Orange, CA

Re: Video Problem

Postby paul92706 » Mon Jan 23, 2012 4:08 am

christos wrote:Sort of. While the falcon is NTSC and PAL the modulator in it is likely not (if that makes any sense). So in RGB it would work with both modes but in composite not really. So in all likelyhood, you'll get NTSC 50 and that might be enough. Also your tv needs to support PAL and while in europe our tv's generally support NTSC that might not be the case in the US. All you can do is try but I haven't been able to set up my falcon as NTSC. It will go to pal 60 when I set the NTSC bit in NVRAM.

ok thanks christos for your information, i guess i will stick with vga demos, this whole pal and ntsc gets to technical for me.
Atari Falcon CT60/CTPCI 14MB+ 512mb ATI9250 + NetUSBee
Atari Falcon030 CF 4gb + NetUSBee+ 14MB Ram
Atari TT030 2meg STRAM/16meg TTRAM + Nova Adaptor +Maxtor SCSI HD + DaynaPort Pocket SCSI


Social Media

     

Return to “Demos”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest