Falcon 030 and GFA Basic language

All about demos on the Falcon, TT & clones

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

3AtariSTE
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 190
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2006 3:18 pm
Location: Cagliari, ITALY
Contact:

Falcon 030 and GFA Basic language

Postby 3AtariSTE » Tue Oct 06, 2009 2:07 pm

Hi all
Just a question:
Is GFA-Basic poweful enough for makes demos, intro or games?

Maurizio
2xAtari 130XE+XF551+1050+XC11+XC12+SIO2PC+TouchTablet+LightPen+Philips CM8833II
Atari 1040STf (Boxed) + Atari 520STe + 5xAtari 1040STe 4Mb + 1x Jaguar....
Atari Italian Site: http://www.ataricomputers.altervista.org
Atari Italian Forum: http://ataricomputers.mastertopforum.net/

User avatar
Marcer
Atarilegend
Atarilegend
Posts: 4107
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 6:21 pm
Location: sweden
Contact:

Re: Falcon 030 and GFA Basic language

Postby Marcer » Tue Oct 06, 2009 3:02 pm

depends of what kind of results you expect.

Games "easy action, puzzlers" would do, as simpler intros/demos.
- Atari ST/FM/E - Mega sTe - Portfolio - Falcon 030 FX 3 in 1 -- Atari 7800/Lynx/Jaguar -
- FTP... Ask for info
- Atari Legend (Games all-a-round)
- Paradize (Chip Music)
- Elite (Atari Softs)
- The Legion (Demos)
- Alive Maggie Team
_/|\_YM-RockerZ_/|\_

3AtariSTE
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 190
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2006 3:18 pm
Location: Cagliari, ITALY
Contact:

Re: Falcon 030 and GFA Basic language

Postby 3AtariSTE » Wed Oct 07, 2009 9:30 am

Marcer wrote:depends of what kind of results you expect.

Games "easy action, puzzlers" would do, as simpler intros/demos.


Thx Marcer for your reply.
What i can't do with GFA-Basic?
What are the limits?
GFA-Basic on Falcon needs to external libraries?
2xAtari 130XE+XF551+1050+XC11+XC12+SIO2PC+TouchTablet+LightPen+Philips CM8833II
Atari 1040STf (Boxed) + Atari 520STe + 5xAtari 1040STe 4Mb + 1x Jaguar....
Atari Italian Site: http://www.ataricomputers.altervista.org
Atari Italian Forum: http://ataricomputers.mastertopforum.net/

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4773
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Falcon 030 and GFA Basic language

Postby simonsunnyboy » Wed Oct 07, 2009 4:55 pm

The limits are only your imagination!

With a few assembly helpers GFABASIC is almost as powerful as C on the Atari ST/Falcon.

For a few helper routines, try our GFABASIC library at http://paradize.atari.org/

Additionally there is a forum dedicated to GFABASIC at http://atari.gfa.forum.free.fr/index.php with both French and international sections available.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/ - STOT: http://www.npoi.de/stot/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

Jabber: simonsunnyboy@atari-jabber.org

3AtariSTE
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 190
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2006 3:18 pm
Location: Cagliari, ITALY
Contact:

Re: Falcon 030 and GFA Basic language

Postby 3AtariSTE » Wed Oct 07, 2009 7:51 pm

arrgh...assembler code is impossible for me :roll: (but always it was my dream). :)
I am a little atari basic (XL/XE) coder, so i don't think my mind is able to understand how a computer internally works . :lol:
Anyway, thanks a lot for the link (atari.gfa.forum.free.fr)...this seems very very interesting for me.

Again thanks, sunny

PS: sorry for my bad english 8)
2xAtari 130XE+XF551+1050+XC11+XC12+SIO2PC+TouchTablet+LightPen+Philips CM8833II
Atari 1040STf (Boxed) + Atari 520STe + 5xAtari 1040STe 4Mb + 1x Jaguar....
Atari Italian Site: http://www.ataricomputers.altervista.org
Atari Italian Forum: http://ataricomputers.mastertopforum.net/

User avatar
BoNuS
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 723
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 12:45 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Falcon 030 and GFA Basic language

Postby BoNuS » Wed Oct 07, 2009 8:00 pm

I made also a load of games on the Aari 800XL (never spread they really then, no internet ;) )
Using turbo ? Basic I believe, a very powerfull basic on the XL/XE serie with compiler.

I enjoy making games on the Falcon using GFA basic, and yes with the Falcon powerfull processor and the blitter
you can also make action games !!! Running in 1 VBL (Sync). But even in 2 VBL they are still quite good ( example Roxx
on the STE) I also made several demo's in GFA :)

For tracker music or chip sounds you caninline ASM code, but they are easy to get hold off and you don't have to
know ASM. Most of the come with a small piece of code thjat you can copy into your listing....

So the only thing now is: What where you thinking of making ???
http://bonus.home.xs4all.nl/
2 x Falcon 030 - a mint Atari TT - Mega STE - 2x STE - 1x Mega 2 - 2x STFM - 1 x STF - 3x SC1224 - 2x SM124 - 1x SM125 2x Portofolio+interface
- 3x 1435 monitor - 1 x Ult.Ripper cardridge - Mega 1,2,and 4 ( just to much Atari stuff)

3AtariSTE
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 190
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2006 3:18 pm
Location: Cagliari, ITALY
Contact:

Re: Falcon 030 and GFA Basic language

Postby 3AtariSTE » Wed Oct 07, 2009 8:44 pm

BoNuS wrote:I made also a load of games on the Aari 800XL (never spread they really then, no internet ;) )
Using turbo ? Basic I believe, a very powerfull basic on the XL/XE serie with compiler.

I enjoy making games on the Falcon using GFA basic, and yes with the Falcon powerfull processor and the blitter
you can also make action games !!! Running in 1 VBL (Sync). But even in 2 VBL they are still quite good ( example Roxx
on the STE) I also made several demo's in GFA :)

For tracker music or chip sounds you caninline ASM code, but they are easy to get hold off and you don't have to
know ASM. Most of the come with a small piece of code thjat you can copy into your listing....

So the only thing now is: What where you thinking of making ???


Hi mate
At the moment, never used turbo basic...but i know this is very powerful.
In the 1988/89 i used Atari basic only (see my two old games), and them are not compiled.
Beautiful graphics, but very very slooowwww!! :lol:

About Gfa Basic on Falcon (STe too) i would like to makes some game a/o demo, just to enjoy.
Well, i know the VBL word (Vertical Blank, i think), but your phrase "running in 1 / 2 VBL" is too for me! :wink:
Anyway, is intersting that i can to copy small piece of code in my listing..yes, that's a good idea. :)

I love "cartoon graphic", so my first approach will be makes little pieces of code about that (both Falcon and STe).
Also, i love "digital music" and i would utilize the STe and Falc hardware. :)
I would...(i hope my child let me works) :lol: :lol:
2xAtari 130XE+XF551+1050+XC11+XC12+SIO2PC+TouchTablet+LightPen+Philips CM8833II
Atari 1040STf (Boxed) + Atari 520STe + 5xAtari 1040STe 4Mb + 1x Jaguar....
Atari Italian Site: http://www.ataricomputers.altervista.org
Atari Italian Forum: http://ataricomputers.mastertopforum.net/

3AtariSTE
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 190
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2006 3:18 pm
Location: Cagliari, ITALY
Contact:

Re: Falcon 030 and GFA Basic language

Postby 3AtariSTE » Wed Oct 07, 2009 8:47 pm

I forgot my two old games (basic only) :D
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
2xAtari 130XE+XF551+1050+XC11+XC12+SIO2PC+TouchTablet+LightPen+Philips CM8833II
Atari 1040STf (Boxed) + Atari 520STe + 5xAtari 1040STe 4Mb + 1x Jaguar....
Atari Italian Site: http://www.ataricomputers.altervista.org
Atari Italian Forum: http://ataricomputers.mastertopforum.net/

User avatar
BoNuS
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 723
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 12:45 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Falcon 030 and GFA Basic language

Postby BoNuS » Thu Oct 08, 2009 8:12 pm

I have absolutly nothing left from my XL/XE period :( And I had some real nice games in T.Basic, even some that competed then in competions.
Shame I can't see/judge your games :) Would have been fun...

But I would say try it on the ST/E/Falcon. Might need a bit to get adjusted to (I still know I had to from a text based operating system
to a grapical system) but I managed.

O... the 1 or 2 vbl. If you can manage to get your game running in 1 VBL it runs as smooth as silk over the screen.
See those nice big scrollers in demo's. 2 VBL still looks good but just a little bit jerky maybe...
With puzzel games or alike this doesn't matter since there is no high pace action on the screen ;)
But run / jump / shoot games it's different...
http://bonus.home.xs4all.nl/
2 x Falcon 030 - a mint Atari TT - Mega STE - 2x STE - 1x Mega 2 - 2x STFM - 1 x STF - 3x SC1224 - 2x SM124 - 1x SM125 2x Portofolio+interface
- 3x 1435 monitor - 1 x Ult.Ripper cardridge - Mega 1,2,and 4 ( just to much Atari stuff)

3AtariSTE
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 190
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2006 3:18 pm
Location: Cagliari, ITALY
Contact:

Re: Falcon 030 and GFA Basic language

Postby 3AtariSTE » Fri Oct 09, 2009 2:02 pm

If u haven't a real 8-bit hw, you can to use the XL/XE emulator....Ok is not the same, but you can see my games. :D
I know myself, yeah. I would like makes a demos/games on my 130XE, on my STE and on my Falcon...but I should live 200ys and more!! :lol:

About VBL 1 and 2, how i can to play a game/demo in 1 or 2 vbl?
GFA special code or technique need?
2xAtari 130XE+XF551+1050+XC11+XC12+SIO2PC+TouchTablet+LightPen+Philips CM8833II
Atari 1040STf (Boxed) + Atari 520STe + 5xAtari 1040STe 4Mb + 1x Jaguar....
Atari Italian Site: http://www.ataricomputers.altervista.org
Atari Italian Forum: http://ataricomputers.mastertopforum.net/

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4773
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Falcon 030 and GFA Basic language

Postby simonsunnyboy » Fri Oct 09, 2009 5:10 pm

2 VBLS means the game/Demo loop takes twice as long until the enxt frame is ready to be shown.
E.q. half of movement speed on screen.

Try these:

1 VBL:

Code: Select all

CLS
FOR x%=0 to 319
  VSYNC
  PSET x%,100,1
NEXT x%


2 VBLs used:

Code: Select all

CLS
FOR x%=0 to 319
  VSYNC
  VSYNC
  PSET x%,100,1
NEXT x%
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/ - STOT: http://www.npoi.de/stot/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

Jabber: simonsunnyboy@atari-jabber.org

3AtariSTE
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 190
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2006 3:18 pm
Location: Cagliari, ITALY
Contact:

Re: Falcon 030 and GFA Basic language

Postby 3AtariSTE » Sat Oct 10, 2009 6:39 pm

Ok, i understood...thx Simonsunny. :)
Atari Basic (XL/XE) haven't VBL command (only with L.M. routine), but now i know that GFA is more powerful. :D
I have to learn so much about GFA, just i needs to printer a guide/manual about. :wink:

Just a question:
GFA is capable of multicolor sprites?

thx again
2xAtari 130XE+XF551+1050+XC11+XC12+SIO2PC+TouchTablet+LightPen+Philips CM8833II
Atari 1040STf (Boxed) + Atari 520STe + 5xAtari 1040STe 4Mb + 1x Jaguar....
Atari Italian Site: http://www.ataricomputers.altervista.org
Atari Italian Forum: http://ataricomputers.mastertopforum.net/

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4773
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Falcon 030 and GFA Basic language

Postby simonsunnyboy » Sat Oct 10, 2009 8:45 pm

Yes it is. However with plain GFA commands it will be a bit slow.

Anything with not heavy action (still background, few sprites moving (few as in 2 or 3 small ones)) is doable with plain GFA.
For larger things you have to use tricks or assembly language.

Just start and try things out and you will find out yourself.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/ - STOT: http://www.npoi.de/stot/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

Jabber: simonsunnyboy@atari-jabber.org

3AtariSTE
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 190
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2006 3:18 pm
Location: Cagliari, ITALY
Contact:

Re: Falcon 030 and GFA Basic language

Postby 3AtariSTE » Sun Oct 11, 2009 8:50 am

simonsunnyboy wrote:Yes it is. However with plain GFA commands it will be a bit slow.

Anything with not heavy action (still background, few sprites moving (few as in 2 or 3 small ones)) is doable with plain GFA.
For larger things you have to use tricks or assembly language.

Just start and try things out and you will find out yourself.


Perfect!
Thanks so much for the info, Simonsunny.
Yeah, i have to start and try...i am going for a new world. :D

Maurizio
2xAtari 130XE+XF551+1050+XC11+XC12+SIO2PC+TouchTablet+LightPen+Philips CM8833II
Atari 1040STf (Boxed) + Atari 520STe + 5xAtari 1040STe 4Mb + 1x Jaguar....
Atari Italian Site: http://www.ataricomputers.altervista.org
Atari Italian Forum: http://ataricomputers.mastertopforum.net/


Social Media

     

Return to “Demos”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest