Begemed broke my Falcon, maybe?

All about demos on the Falcon, TT & clones

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., [ProToS], lp, Moderator Team

User avatar
10p6
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 4:28 am

Begemed broke my Falcon, maybe?

Postby 10p6 » Tue Apr 18, 2017 10:05 pm

Today I was playing the demo of Begemed on my Falcon and for a short while it seemed strange as the FX sound in the demo did not work, but the music and game play was fine. (I was wondering if the game had a button to toggle FX on and off.) Then all of a sudden the game crashed in the middle of the game (for me it usually crashed when trying to exit the game.)

So I tried to do a soft reset and nothing, then a hard reset and nothing. So then I powered it down for a short time and tried a restart and still nothing, not even the memory test. So then I removed the IDE drive and it still will not boot. I tried using 3 different display types and nothing. So do you think the game corrupted my Falcon, or my Falcon caused the game to crash. And any way to bring my Falcon back to life?

Thanks
Are you ready to 'PlayOne', and new 5200 and Jaguar controller coming soon.

http://www.facebook.com/10psix
http://www.youtube.com/10p6

User avatar
dhedberg
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 480
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:36 am
Contact:

Re: Begemed broke my Falcon, maybe?

Postby dhedberg » Tue Apr 18, 2017 10:14 pm

What happens when you turn it on? White screen? Black screen? Floppy activity?
Daniel, New Beat - http://newbeat.atari.org

User avatar
10p6
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 4:28 am

Re: Begemed broke my Falcon, maybe?

Postby 10p6 » Tue Apr 18, 2017 10:39 pm

dhedberg wrote:What happens when you turn it on? White screen? Black screen? Floppy activity?


Other than power light and fan, Nothing at all. I think I know what it is. I had a 16MB Wiztronics RAM board installed (with Simm slot), and when i swapped it for the stock Atari 4MB board it started working fine again. So I am thinking that is the cause of the Falcon not starting, but do not know if it is a bad Simm or bad Wiztronics board. The FX sound in Begemed still does not work though, but happily played to level 14.
Are you ready to 'PlayOne', and new 5200 and Jaguar controller coming soon.

http://www.facebook.com/10psix
http://www.youtube.com/10p6

mikro
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1070
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: Begemed broke my Falcon, maybe?

Postby mikro » Tue Apr 18, 2017 11:31 pm

Yeah, surely it was the game. ;-)

Maybe just some wire/joint got loose on the wizztronics card, SIMMs usually survive anything. Also, the pins on the motherboard can be an issue, try to clean them out.

User avatar
10p6
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 4:28 am

Re: Begemed broke my Falcon, maybe?

Postby 10p6 » Wed Apr 19, 2017 12:05 am

I just played numerous games and software without an issue or a crash. I also downloaded Begemed Falcon version again and still no FX sound though. Hmm
Are you ready to 'PlayOne', and new 5200 and Jaguar controller coming soon.

http://www.facebook.com/10psix
http://www.youtube.com/10p6

AtariZoll
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2653
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Begemed broke my Falcon, maybe?

Postby AtariZoll » Wed Apr 19, 2017 6:45 am

You should not accuse SW for damaging HW, "maybe" 8O
Only damage what can happen is some mechanical if SW constantly, over hours moves widely floppy heads, or similar.
English language is like bad boss on workplace: it expecting from you to strictly follow all, numerous rules, but self bending rules as much likes :mrgreen:

joska
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 3441
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Begemed broke my Falcon, maybe?

Postby joska » Wed Apr 19, 2017 7:08 am

AtariZoll wrote:Only damage what can happen is some mechanical if SW constantly, over hours moves widely floppy heads, or similar.


It is also possible - but not very likely - to cause "damage" if some bug in the software manages to screw up the contents of NVRAM.
Jo Even

Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64


Social Media

     

Return to “Demos”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest